yes, therapy helps!
The society of the spectacle: a reflection on postmodernity

The society of the spectacle: a reflection on postmodernity

November 27, 2021

Nowadays we live convulsive moments at the level of society, politics and economy . It is assumed that part of the global financial crisis that besieged us for exactly ten years, but also points to another reason, one more psychological or, rather, psychosocial. A lack of understanding about the society we are and what we want to be. "A crisis of values," say philosophers and sociologists from around the world. The economic activity in good times would have been a mirage of what we thought it had to be, and now only its facet remains. kitsch.

The concept of the society of the show is now more than twenty years since it was conceived by the hand of the French author, thinker and philosopher Guy Ernest Debord (1931-1994). This author wrote a book of less than 200 pages to describe what he saw as the new deception of the twentieth century. Compared the model of society, the emerging capitalist, with what became religion in past times: a mere control of people creating a fictitious reality and that has never existed, such as consumption.


  • Maybe you're interested: "What is Political Psychology?"

What is the society of the show?

The idea of ​​the society of the spectacle arises from the situationist thought of the fifties of the last century. Guy Debord received influences from modern cinema, from European lyricists and from the most radical Marxist and anarchist thoughts. Thus founded the International Lettrist in 1952 , critical magazine with the urban model that was being forged after the period of World War.

Just five years later, in 1957, the Situationist International (IS) was founded, an organization of revolutionary intellectuals and artists who they went against capitalism that was being implemented in European society. In addition, it was a fierce vindication against class society and against the culture of Western civilization of capitalist domination. This movement was nourished by the extreme left ideologies of authors such as Georg Lukács or Rosa Luxemburg.


A decade later, the founder of the Situationist group, having compiled enough information and observations of daily life, wrote his most famous work: The Society of the Spectacle (1967). This book was a masterly thesis of critical debate against the society of modern capitalism, as well as its impact on the identity of people. "Everything that was directly lived, moves away today in a representation", assured the writer of the work.

The values ​​of postmodern society

The situationists of the time had great contributions to cultural and intellectual revolts around the world, from the western world to the eastern, paying special attention to the Spring of 1968 (Prague Spring), opposing great resistance against the values ​​that were inculcated in modern societies. Capitalism, consumption, image, status, materialism. It was intended to break with those predetermined and artificial values to create a purer, sentimental and humanistic model.


For Guy Debord the model of advanced capitalist production marked our lifestyle, our way of relating to others and the values ​​acquired based on the show . As a spectacle, we understand the representation of these values ​​by the media, the cinema, advertisements and advertising banners that magnify false ideas and feelings, according to critics.

The values ​​of the society of the spectacle that are still present today, suggest the belief of an artificial reality as its being our natural environment. The normalization of these precepts as a method of coexistence. The vehicle, the devices, the types of trips we make, all of them mercantile concepts that respond to an erroneous idealization of what should be life based on the image that is given to others .

Psychogeography as a breakthrough method

One of the keys to overcome some of the stereotypes marked by Western capitalism, was what Guy called the "detour" method, a way to draw a different direction to what society has accustomed us. Thus, psychogeography was a very effective experimental method that aimed to mark an indefinite route wandering through urban environments and not predetermined by the pace of society.

It was about walking, generating natural situations and experiences of chance (that's why it was called Situationism). According to another expert in the field, the Spaniard Luis Navarro, a situation can be a spontaneous or constructed moment, according to how each person wants or needs to create their own reality . From this point of view, this is one of the master lines of the society of the spectacle, to put in doubt the scheme created for a society to be "functional and civilized".

Situationism today

Many social movements today are direct heirs of the Situationism of the twentieth century. The global crisis of the financial system that erupted more than a decade ago is directly a crisis of the current capitalist system (heir also of the last century). For this reason, platforms such as "Occupy Wall Street", the page of global recognition as "Wikileaks" or the activist hackers of "Anonymous", are presented as tools to fight against the established culture .

At the national level, in Spain, the so-called "15M Movement" has been translated into peaceful protests that began in the large cities of the country in demand for wage cuts, the retreat of civil rights such as housing or a stable job or the political disaffection felt by citizens against their representative leaders. Corruption has been the last pillar of this phenomenon that continues to be strengthened at present.


The Society of the Spectacle: A Postmodern Condition (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La société du spectacle: une réflexion sur la postmodernité

La société du spectacle: une réflexion sur la postmodernité

Mai 20, 2022

Actuellement nous vivons des moments convulsifs au niveau de la société, de la politique et de l'économie . On suppose qu'une partie de la crise financière mondiale nous a assiégés pendant exactement dix ans, mais indique également une autre raison, davantage psychologique ou plutôt psychosocial. Un manque de compréhension de la société que nous sommes et de ce que nous voulons être. "Une crise de valeurs", disent des philosophes et des sociologues du monde entier. L’activité économique dans les périodes de prospérité aurait été un mirage de ce que nous pensions devoir être, et il n’en reste maintenant que la facette. kitsch.

Le concept de la société du spectacle est maintenant plus de vingt ans depuis qu'il a été conçu par la main de l'auteur français, penseur et philosophe Guy Ernest Debord (1931-1994). Cet auteur a écrit un livre de moins de 200 pages pour décrire ce qu'il considérait comme la nouvelle supercherie du vingtième siècle. Comparé au modèle de société, le capitaliste émergent, à ce qui était devenu une religion dans le passé: un simple contrôle des personnes créant une réalité fictive et qui n’a jamais existé, comme la consommation.


  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie politique?"

Quelle est la société de la série?

L'idée de la société du spectacle découle de la pensée situationniste des années cinquante du siècle dernier. Guy Debord a été influencé par le cinéma moderne, par des paroliers européens et par les idées marxistes et anarchistes les plus radicales. Alors ça a fondé le lettriste international en 1952 , magazine critique avec le modèle urbain qui se forgeait après la période de la guerre mondiale.

Cinq ans plus tard, en 1957, l’Internationale Situationniste (IS) était créée. Elle était une organisation d’intellectuels et d’artistes révolutionnaires. ils sont allés contre le capitalisme cela a été mis en œuvre dans la société européenne. En outre, c’était une revendication farouche contre la société de classe et contre la culture de la civilisation occidentale à domination capitaliste. Ce mouvement s'est nourri des idéologies d'extrême gauche d'auteurs tels que Georg Lukács ou Rosa Luxemburg.


Une décennie plus tard, le fondateur du groupe situationniste, après avoir rassemblé suffisamment d'informations et d'observations sur la vie quotidienne, écrivit son ouvrage le plus célèbre: La société du spectacle (1967). Ce livre était une thèse magistrale d'un débat critique contre la société du capitalisme moderne, ainsi que de son impact sur l'identité des personnes. "Tout ce qui a été vécu directement s'éloigne aujourd'hui dans une représentation", a assuré l'écrivain.

Les valeurs de la société postmoderne

Les situationnistes de l'époque apportèrent une grande contribution aux révoltes culturelles et intellectuelles dans le monde entier, du monde occidental au monde oriental, en portant une attention particulière au printemps 1968 (printemps de Prague), opposant une grande résistance aux valeurs inculquées. dans les sociétés modernes. Capitalisme, consommation, image, statut, matérialisme. Il était destiné à rompre avec ces valeurs prédéterminées et artificielles créer un modèle plus pur, sentimental et humaniste.


Pour Guy Debord, le modèle de production capitaliste avancée a marqué notre mode de vie, notre manière de nous relier aux autres et les valeurs acquises en fonction du spectacle . En spectacle, nous comprenons la représentation de ces valeurs par les médias, le cinéma, les publicités et les bannières publicitaires qui magnifient les idées fausses et les sentiments erronés, selon les critiques.

Les valeurs de la société du spectacle, toujours présentes aujourd'hui, suggèrent la conviction d'une réalité artificielle comme étant notre environnement naturel. La normalisation de ces préceptes en tant que méthode de coexistence. Le véhicule, les appareils, les types de trajet que nous effectuons sont tous des concepts mercantiles répondant à une idéalisation erronée de ce qui devrait être la vie basée sur l'image donnée aux autres .

La psychogéographie comme méthode révolutionnaire

Une des clés pour surmonter certains des stéréotypes marqués par le capitalisme occidental était ce que Guy a appelé la méthode du "détour", une manière de tracer une direction différente de celle à laquelle la société nous a habitués. Ainsi, la psychogéographie était une méthode expérimentale très efficace qui visait à tracer un itinéraire indéfini errant dans des environnements urbains et non prédéterminée par le rythme de la société.

Il s'agissait de marcher, de générer des situations naturelles et des expériences de hasard (c'est pourquoi on l'appelait le situationnisme). Selon un autre expert sur le terrain, l’Espagnol Luis Navarro, une situation peut être un moment spontané ou construit, en fonction de la manière dont chaque personne veut ou doit créer sa propre réalité . De ce point de vue, il s’agit d’une des lignes maîtresses de la société du spectacle, de mettre en doute le schéma créé pour une société "fonctionnelle et civilisée".

Le situationnisme aujourd'hui

De nombreux mouvements sociaux sont aujourd'hui les héritiers directs du situationnisme du XXe siècle. La crise mondiale du système financier qui a éclaté il y a plus de dix ans est directement une crise du système capitaliste actuel (héritier également du siècle dernier). Pour cette raison, des plateformes telles que "Occupy Wall Street", la page de reconnaissance mondiale en tant que "Wikileaks" ou les pirates activistes de "Anonymous", sont présentées comme suit: des outils pour lutter contre la culture établie .

Au niveau national, en Espagne, le "Mouvement des 15 millions" s'est traduit par des manifestations pacifiques qui ont débuté dans les grandes villes du pays pour réclamer des réductions de salaire, le retrait des droits civils tels que le logement, un emploi stable ou la liberté. désaffection politique ressentie par les citoyens à l’égard de leurs représentants. La corruption est le dernier pilier de ce phénomène qui continue de s’intensifier.


Georges VIGARELLO sport et postmodernité (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes