yes, therapy helps!
The Sociocultural Theory of Lev Vygotsky

The Sociocultural Theory of Lev Vygotsky

May 27, 2022

In what sense and proportion can culture and society influence the cognitive development of the kids? Is there any kind of relationship between cognitive development and the complex collaborative process carried out by adults in education and learning (specific and general) that the children receive?

In the same way, what are the main implications of the Sociocultural Theory of Vygotsky for education and cognitive assessment of children?

The Sociocultural Theory of Lev Vygotsky

The Sociocultural Theory Vygotsky puts the accent on the proactive participation of minors with the environment that surrounds them, being the cognitive development the result of a collaborative process. Lev Vygotsky (Russia, 1896-1934) argued that children develop their learning through social interaction: they acquire new and better cognitive abilities as a logical process of their immersion in a way of life.


Those activities that are carried out in a shared way allow children to internalize the thinking and behavioral structures of the society that surrounds them , appropriating them.

Learning and "Zone of proximal development"

According to Vygotsky's Sociocultural Theory, the role of adults or more advanced partners is to support, direct and organize the child's learning, in the step before he can be able to master those facets, having internalized the structures behavioral and cognitive that the activity demands. This orientation is more effective in offering help to the children so that they cross the development zone proximal (ZPD) , that we could understand as the gap between what they are already capable of doing and what they still can not achieve on their own.


The children who are in the ZPD for a specific task are close to being able to do it autonomously, but they still need to integrate some key thinking. However, with the right support and guidance, they are able to successfully complete the task. To the extent that the collaboration, supervision and responsibility of learning are covered, the child progresses adequately in the formation and consolidation of their new knowledge and learning.

The metaphor of the scaffolding

There are several followers of Vygotsky's Sociocultural Theory (for example: Wood, 1980, Bruner and Ross, 1976) who have brought up the metaphor of the 'Scaffolding 'To refer to this learning mode. The scaffolding it consists of the temporary support of the adults (teachers, parents, tutors ...) who provide the child with the objective of carrying out a task until the child is able to carry it out without outside help.


One of the researchers who starts from the theories developed by Lev Vygotsky, Gail Ross , studied in a practical way the process of scaffolding in children's learning. Instructing children between three and five years old, Ross used multiple resources. She used to control and be the center of attention of the sessions, and used slow and dramatized presentations to the students in order to show that the achievement of the task was possible . Dr. Ross became the one in charge of anticipating everything that was going to happen. It controlled all the parts of the task in which the children worked in a degree of complexity and magnitude proportionate to the previous skills of each one.

The way in which it presented the tools or objects that were the object of learning allowed the children to discover how to solve and perform the task themselves, in a more efficient way than if they had only been explained how to solve it. It is in this sense that Vygotsky's Sociocultural Theory points out the "zone" between what people can understand when they are shown something in front of them, and what they can generate autonomously. This zone is the zone of proximal development or ZPD that we mentioned earlier (Bruner, 1888).

Sociocultural theory: in context

The Sociocultural Theory of the Russian psychologist Lev Vygotsky has transcendental implications for education and the evaluation of cognitive development. Tests based on the ZPD, which emphasize the potential of the child, represent an invaluable alternative to standardized intelligence tests, which usually emphasize knowledge and learning already carried out by the child. Thus, many children benefit from the guidance sociocultural and open that Vygotsky developed.

Another of the fundamental contributions of the contextual perspective has been the emphasis on the social aspect of development . This theory defends that the normal development of children in a culture or a group pertaining to a culture may not be an adequate norm (and therefore can not be extrapolated) to children from other cultures or societies.

  • We recommend you read: "The Theory of Psychosocial Development of Erikson"

Bibliographic references:

  • Daniels, H. (Ed.) (1996). An Introduction to Vygotsky, London: Routledge.
  • Van der Veer, R., & Valsiner, J. (eds.) (1994). The Vygotsky Reader. Oxford: Blackwell.
  • Yasnitsky, A., van der Veer, R., Aguilar, E. & Garcia, L.N. (Eds.) (2016). Vygotski revisited: a critical history of its context and legacy. Buenos Aires: Miño and Dávila Editores.

Vygotsky sociocultural development | Individuals and Society | MCAT | Khan Academy (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie socioculturelle de Lev Vygotsky

La théorie socioculturelle de Lev Vygotsky

Septembre 10, 2022

Dans quel sens et quelle proportion la culture et la société peuvent-elles influencer le développement cognitif des enfants? Existe-t-il une relation quelconque entre le développement cognitif et le processus de collaboration complexe mis en œuvre par les adultes dans les domaines de l'éducation et de l'apprentissage (spécifiques et généraux) que reçoivent les enfants?

De même, quelles sont les principales implications de la Théorie socioculturelle de Vygotsky pour l'éducation et l'évaluation cognitive des enfants?

La théorie socioculturelle de Lev Vygotsky

La théorie socioculturelle Vygotsky met l'accent sur la participation proactive des mineurs à l'environnement qui les entoure, à savoir: développement cognitif le résultat d'un processus collaboratif. Lev Vygotsky (Russie, 1896-1934) a soutenu que les enfants développent leur apprentissage par le biais de l'interaction sociale: ils acquièrent de nouvelles capacités cognitives, améliorées, en tant que processus logique de leur immersion dans un mode de vie.


Les activités menées de manière partagée permettent aux enfants d'intégrer les structures de pensée et de comportement de la société qui les entoure. en les appropriant.

Apprentissage et "Zone de développement proximal"

Selon la théorie socioculturelle de Vygotsky, le rôle des adultes ou de partenaires plus avancés est de soutenir, de diriger et d'organiser les apprentissages de l'enfant, dans la mesure où il est capable de maîtriser ces aspects, ayant intériorisé les structures. comportementale et cognitive que l'activité exige. Cette orientation est plus efficace pour aider les enfants à traverser la zone de développement. proximal (ZPD) , que nous pourrions comprendre comme étant l’écart entre ce qu’ils sont déjà capables de faire et ce qu’ils ne peuvent toujours pas réaliser seuls.


Les enfants qui participent à la ZPD pour une tâche spécifique sont sur le point de pouvoir le faire de manière autonome, mais ils doivent néanmoins intégrer certaines pensées clés. Cependant, avec le soutien et les conseils appropriés, ils peuvent mener à bien cette tâche. Dans la mesure où la collaboration, la supervision et la responsabilité de l'apprentissage sont couvertes, l'enfant progresse convenablement dans la formation et la consolidation de ses nouvelles connaissances et apprentissages.

La métaphore de l'échafaudage

Il existe plusieurs adeptes de la théorie socioculturelle de Vygotsky (par exemple: Wood, 1980, Bruner et Ross, 1976) qui ont évoqué la métaphore deÉchafaudages 'Se référer à ce mode d'apprentissage. Le échafaudage il s'agit du soutien temporaire des adultes (enseignants, parents, tuteurs, etc.) qui donnent à l'enfant l'objectif de s'acquitter de sa tâche jusqu'à ce que l'enfant puisse le faire sans aide extérieure.


Un des chercheurs qui part des théories développées par Lev Vygotsky, Gail Ross , a étudié de manière pratique le processus d’échafaudage dans l’apprentissage des enfants. En enseignant aux enfants âgés de trois à cinq ans, Ross a utilisé plusieurs ressources. Elle avait l'habitude de contrôler et d'être le centre d'attention des sessions, et utilisé des présentations lentes et théâtralisées aux étudiants afin de montrer que la réalisation de la tâche était possible . Le Dr Ross devint le responsable de l'anticipation de tout ce qui allait se passer. Il contrôlait toutes les parties de la tâche dans lesquelles les enfants travaillaient avec un degré de complexité et d'ampleur proportionnel aux compétences précédentes de chacun.

La manière dont il a présenté les outils ou objets qui ont fait l’objet de l’apprentissage a permis aux enfants de découvrir comment résoudre et effectuer la tâche eux-mêmes, de manière plus efficace que si on leur avait seulement expliqué comment le résoudre. C'est dans ce sens que la théorie socioculturelle de Vygotsky met en évidence la "zone" entre ce que les gens peuvent comprendre quand on leur montre quelque chose devant eux et ce qu'ils peuvent générer de manière autonome. Cette zone est la zone de développement proximal ou ZPD dont nous avons parlé précédemment (Bruner, 1888).

Théorie socioculturelle: en contexte

La théorie socioculturelle du psychologue russe Lev Vygotsky a des implications transcendantales pour l'éducation et l'évaluation du développement cognitif. Les tests basés sur le ZPD, qui mettent l'accent sur le potentiel de l'enfant, représentent une alternative précieuse aux tests d'intelligence standardisés, qui mettent généralement l'accent sur les connaissances et l'apprentissage déjà réalisés par l'enfant. Ainsi, de nombreux enfants bénéficient des conseils socioculturel et ouvrez que Vygotsky développé.

Une autre contribution fondamentale de la perspective contextuelle a été la accent mis sur l'aspect social du développement . Cette théorie défend que le développement normal des enfants dans une culture ou un groupe appartenant à une culture peut ne pas être une norme adéquate (et ne peut donc pas être extrapolé) à des enfants d'autres cultures ou sociétés.

  • Nous vous recommandons de lire: "La théorie du développement psychosocial d'Erikson"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Daniels, H. (Ed.) (1996). Une introduction à Vygotsky, Londres: Routledge.
  • Van der Veer, R. et Valsiner, J. (éd.) (1994). Le lecteur Vygotsky. Oxford: Blackwell.
  • Yasnitsky, A., van der Veer, R., Aguilar, E. et Garcia, L.N. (Eds.) (2016). Vygotski revisité: une histoire critique de son contexte et de son héritage. Buenos Aires: Miño et Dávila Editores.

LEV VYGOTSKY, LE PSYCHOLOGUE MÉCONNU - 60 secondes de PSY #23 (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes