yes, therapy helps!
The tabula rasa theory of John Locke

The tabula rasa theory of John Locke

June 15, 2024

One of the main tasks of philosophy is to inquire about the nature of the human being, especially in relation to his mental life. In what way do we think and experience reality? In the seventeenth century the debate on this issue had two opposing sides: the rationalists and the empiricists.

One of the most important thinkers of the group of empiricists was John Locke, English philosopher who laid the foundations of the mechanistic conception of the human being . In this article we will see what were the general approaches of his philosophy and his theory of tabula rasa.

  • Related article: "How are Psychology and Philosophy alike?"

Who was John Locke?

John Locke was born in 1632 in an England that had already begun to develop a philosophical discipline separate from religion and the bible. During his youth he received a good education, and in fact he was able to complete his university education in Oxford.


On the other hand, also since young Locke was interested in politics and philosophy. It is in the first field of knowledge in which he stood out most, and he wrote a lot about the concept of social contract, like other English philosophers like Thomas Hobbes. However, beyond politics he also made important contributions to philosophy.

The tabula rasa theory of John Locke

What follows are the foundations of John Locke's philosophy in regard to his conception of the human being and the human mind. In particular, we will see what role did the concept of the tabula rasa have in its thought .

1. Innate ideas do not exist

Unlike the rationalists, Locke denied the possibility that we were born with mental schemes that give us information about the world. Instead, as a good empiricist, Locke defended the idea that knowledge is created through experience, with the succession of events that we live, which leaves a residue in our memories.


So, in practice Locke conceived the human being as an entity that comes into existence with nothing in mind, a tabula rasa in which there is nothing written .

2. The variety of knowledge is expressed in different cultures

If there were innate ideas, in that case all human beings would share a part of their knowledge. However, in the time of Locke it was already possible to know through various books the different cultures scattered around the world, and the similarities between people paled before the strange discrepancies that could be found even in the most basic: myths about the creation of the world, categories to describe animals, religious concepts, habits and customs, etc.

3. Babies do not show anything

This was another of the great criticisms against the rationalism that Locke wielded. When they come to the world, Babies do not show anything , and they have to learn even the most basic. This is evidenced by the fact that they can not even understand the most basic words, nor do they recognize dangers as basic as fire or precipices.


4. How are knowledge created?

Because Locke believed that knowledge is constructed, he was obliged to explain the process by which this process occurs. That is, the way in which the tabula rasa gives way to a system of knowledge about the world.

According to Locke, experiences make a copy of what our senses capture in our minds. With the passage of time, we learn to detect patterns in those copies that remain in our mind, which makes the concepts appear. In turn, these concepts are also combined with each other, and from this process generate more complex concepts and difficult to understand at first. Adult life is governed by this last group of concepts , which define a higher intellect form.

Criticisms of Locke's empiricism

John Locke's ideas are part of another era, and therefore there are many criticisms we can make against his theories. Among them is the way in which he raises his way of inquiring about the creation of knowledge. Although babies seem ignorant in almost everything, it has been shown that they come into the world with certain predispositions to associate certain types of information from a determined way .

For example, the fact of seeing an object allows them to recognize it using only touch, which indicates that in their head they are already capable of transforming that original literal copy (the vision of the object) into something else.

On the other hand, knowledge is not composed of more or less imperfect "copies" of what happened in the past, since memories change constantly, or even mix.This is something that the psychologist Elisabeth Loftus demonstrated: the strange thing is that a memory remains unchanged, and not the opposite.


John Locke's Blank Slate Theory (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie de la tabula rasa de John Locke

La théorie de la tabula rasa de John Locke

Mai 26, 2022

L’une des tâches principales de la philosophie est d’enquêter sur la nature de l’être humain, en particulier en ce qui concerne sa vie mentale. De quelle manière pensons-nous et faisons-nous l'expérience de la réalité? Au dix-septième siècle, le débat sur cette question avait deux faces opposées: les rationalistes et les empiristes.

L'un des penseurs les plus importants du groupe des empiristes était John Locke, philosophe anglais qui a jeté les bases de la conception mécaniste de l'être humain . Dans cet article, nous verrons quelles étaient les approches générales de sa philosophie et de sa théorie de la tabula rasa.

  • Article connexe: "En quoi la psychologie et la philosophie sont-elles semblables?"

Qui était John Locke?

John Locke est né en 1632 dans une Angleterre qui avait déjà commencé à développer une discipline philosophique distincte de la religion et de la bible. Au cours de sa jeunesse, il a reçu une bonne éducation et a pu terminer ses études universitaires à Oxford.


D'autre part, le jeune Locke s'intéressait également à la politique et à la philosophie. C'est dans le premier domaine de connaissance dans lequel il s'est le plus distingué, et il a beaucoup écrit sur le concept de contrat social, à l'instar d'autres philosophes anglais comme Thomas Hobbes. Cependant, au-delà de la politique, il a également apporté d'importantes contributions à la philosophie.

La théorie de la tabula rasa de John Locke

Ce qui suit sont les fondements de la philosophie de John Locke en ce qui concerne sa conception de l'être humain et de l'esprit humain. En particulier, nous verrons quel rôle le concept de la tabula rasa avait-il dans sa pensée .

1. Les idées innées n'existent pas

Contrairement aux rationalistes, Locke a nié la possibilité que nous soyons nés avec des schémas mentaux qui nous renseignent sur le monde. En tant que bon empiriste, Locke a défendu l'idée que la connaissance est créée par l'expérience, avec la succession d'événements que nous vivons, ce qui laisse un résidu dans nos mémoires.


Donc, dans la pratique, Locke a conçu l’être humain comme une entité qui naît de rien, une tabula rasa dans laquelle il n'y a rien d'écrit .

2. La variété des connaissances s'exprime dans différentes cultures

S'il y avait des idées innées, dans ce cas, tous les êtres humains partageraient une partie de leurs connaissances. Cependant, à l'époque de Locke, il était déjà possible de connaître, grâce à différents livres, les différentes cultures dispersées à travers le monde et les similitudes entre les peuples avant les étranges contradictions que l'on pouvait trouver même dans le plus fondamental création du monde, catégories pour décrire les animaux, concepts religieux, us et coutumes, etc.

3. Les bébés ne montrent rien

C’était là une autre des grandes critiques contre le rationalisme exercée par Locke. Quand ils viennent au monde, Les bébés ne montrent rien , et ils doivent apprendre même les plus élémentaires. Cela est prouvé par le fait qu’ils ne peuvent même pas comprendre les mots les plus élémentaires et ne reconnaissent pas non plus les dangers aussi fondamentaux que le feu ou les précipices.


4. Comment les connaissances sont-elles créées?

Parce que Locke croyait que la connaissance est construite, il a été obligé d'expliquer le processus par lequel ce processus se produit. C’est-à-dire la manière dont la tabula rasa cède la place à un système de connaissance du monde.

Selon Locke, les expériences font une copie de ce que nos sens capturent dans nos esprits. Au fil du temps, nous apprenons à détecter des motifs dans les copies qui restent dans notre esprit, ce qui fait apparaître les concepts. À leur tour, ces concepts sont également combinés les uns avec les autres, ce qui génère des concepts plus complexes et difficiles à comprendre au début. La vie adulte est régie par ce dernier groupe de concepts , qui définissent une forme d'intellect supérieur.

Critiques de l'empirisme de Locke

Les idées de John Locke font partie d'une autre époque et nous pouvons donc formuler de nombreuses critiques à l'encontre de ses théories. Parmi eux se trouve la manière dont il élève sa manière d’enquêter sur la création du savoir. Bien que les bébés semblent ignorants dans presque tout, il a été démontré qu’ils venaient au monde avec certains prédispositions à associer certains types d'informations d'un manière déterminée .

Par exemple, le fait de voir un objet leur permet de le reconnaître en utilisant uniquement le toucher, ce qui indique qu'ils sont déjà capables dans leur tête de transformer cette copie littérale originale (la vision de l'objet) en quelque chose d'autre.

Par contre, le savoir ne se compose pas de "copies" plus ou moins imparfaites de ce qui s’est passé, car les mémoires changent constamment, voire se mélangent.C'est ce que la psychologue Elisabeth Loftus a démontré: ce qui est étrange, c'est qu'un souvenir reste inchangé et non l'inverse.


POLITICAL THEORY - John Locke (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes