yes, therapy helps!
The Theory of Attachment and the bond between parents and children

The Theory of Attachment and the bond between parents and children

May 10, 2021

The attachment theory is a theory that was born a century ago, specifically in the year 1907, to explain individual differences (also called attachment styles) about how people think, feel and behave in interpersonal relationships.

The concept of "attachment" refers to the emotional links that people form with other people throughout their lives , first with their parents, and then with their friends, their partner, their partners and their children.

The beginning: Bowlby's addiction theory

There are different views on this theory, but the best known is that of John Bowlby, considered the father of the theory of attachment. He thought that Attachment begins in childhood and continues throughout life , and affirmed that there are behavioral control systems that are innate and that are necessary for the survival and procreation of human beings.


Attachment and exploration systems are central to their theory, since from very young children have an innate behavior that leads them to want to explore new things, but when they feel in danger or frightened, their first reaction is to seek protection and security of your primary caregiver.

The "strange situation" and the types of attachment according to Mary Ainsworth

Bowlby laid the foundations for the theory, but another important figure in the study of attachment is Mary Ainsworth, one of the most recognized psychologists for her contribution to this theory. Ainsworth also thought that control systems existed, but he went a little further and proposed his concept of "strange situation", with which he added to the theory of attachment three styles of behavior: insurance, Insecure-Evolutionary and Insecure-Ambivalent. Later, other authors identified other types of attachment, such as anxious attachment or disorganized attachment.


Types of attachment

The strange situation refers to the laboratory process in which the child is studied in interaction with his mother and with a strange adult, that is, in a situation with someone who is not familiar. The results of Ainsworth's longitudinal study led him to conclude that:

  • The kind of secure attachment It is characterized because the child seeks protection and safety of the mother and receives constant care. The mother is usually a loving person and shows and is constantly emotional, which allows the child to develop a self-concept and positive self-confidence. In the future, these people tend to be warm, stable and with satisfactory interpersonal relationships.
  • The type of avoidant attachment It is characterized because the small one is raised in an environment in which the nearest carer stops attending constantly to the protection needs of the latter. This is counterproductive to the child's development, since it does not help him acquire the feeling of self-confidence he will need later in life. Therefore, children (and adults as well when they have grown up) feel insecure and displaced by the experiences of abandonment in the past.
  • The type of ambivalent attachment It is characterized because these individuals respond to separation with great anguish and often mix their attachment behaviors with protests and constant anger. This is because they have not correctly developed the necessary emotional skills, nor have they had expectations of trust or access to caregivers.

The four types of attachment according to Hazan and Shaver

Later, during the 1980s, Cindy Hazan and Phillip Shaver expanded the attachment theory to adult love relationships . These identified four attachment styles: secure attachment, anxious-worried attachment, avoidant-independent attachment Y disorganized addiction.


1. Secure attachment

They are adults who present a more positive view of themselves and their interpersonal relationships . They are not worried about privacy or independence, because they feel safe.

2. Worried-anxious attachment

They are people who often seek constant approval from others and the couple's continuous response . Therefore, they are dependent, distrustful individuals and have an unpositive view of themselves and their interpersonal relationships. They have high levels of emotional expression and impulsiveness.

3. Avoidant-independent attachment

They are individuals who they usually isolate themselves because they do not feel comfortable in intimacy with other people , so they are very independent. They see themselves as self-sufficient and without the need for close relationships. They usually suppress their feelings.

4. Disorganized attachment

Adults with distrustful attachment they are characterized because they have contradictory feelings in their interpersonal relationships . That is, they may feel both desiring and uncomfortable with emotional intimacy. They usually see themselves with little value and distrust others. Like the previous ones, they seek less intimacy and often suppress their emotions.

Fundamental principles for a secure parent-child bond

It is clear that, as many investigations have shown, the attitude of parents towards their children will be decisive when it comes to their child's development . Therefore, parents should be careful when treating their children and should have patience to grow up healthy and with a strong personality to deal with situations that may arise in the future.

In summary, it is important that parents try to:

  • Understand children's signals and how they communicate
  • Create a base of security and trust
  • Respond to your needs
  • Embrace him, caress him, show him affection and play with him
  • Take care of your own emotional and physical wellbeing since it will affect the behavior towards your child

Science Bulletins: Attachment Theory—Understanding the Essential Bond (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie de l'attachement et le lien entre parents et enfants

La théorie de l'attachement et le lien entre parents et enfants

Février 18, 2019

Le théorie de l'attachement est une théorie qui est née il y a un siècle, en particulier en 1907, pour expliquer les différences individuelles styles d'attachement) sur la façon dont les gens pensent, ressentent et se comportent dans les relations interpersonnelles.

Le concept de "l'attachement" fait référence aux liens émotionnels que les gens forment avec d'autres personnes tout au long de leur vie , d'abord avec leurs parents, puis avec leurs amis, leur partenaire, leurs partenaires et leurs enfants.

Le début: la théorie de la dépendance de Bowlby

Il existe différents points de vue sur cette théorie, mais la plus connue est celle de John Bowlby, considéré comme le père de la théorie de l'attachement. Il pensait que L'attachement commence dans l'enfance et se poursuit toute la vie et a affirmé qu'il existait des systèmes de contrôle du comportement innés et nécessaires à la survie et à la procréation des êtres humains.


Les systèmes d’attachement et d’exploration sont au cœur de leur théorie car, dès leur plus jeune âge, ils ont un comportement inné qui les pousse à vouloir explorer de nouvelles choses. de votre principal responsable.

La "situation étrange" et les types d'attachement selon Mary Ainsworth

Bowlby a jeté les bases de la théorie, mais une autre figure importante dans l'étude de l'attachement est Mary Ainsworth, l'une des psychologues les plus reconnues pour sa contribution à cette théorie. Ainsworth pensait également que les systèmes de contrôle existaient, mais il est allé un peu plus loin et a proposé son concept de "situation étrange", avec lequel il a ajouté à la théorie de l'attachement trois styles de comportement: Assurance, Insécurité-évolutionnaire e Non sécurisé-ambivalent. Plus tard, d'autres auteurs ont identifié d'autres types d'attachement, tels que l'attachement anxieux ou l'attachement désorganisé.


Types d'attachement

La situation étrange fait référence au processus de laboratoire dans lequel l'enfant est étudié en interaction avec sa mère et avec un adulte étrange, c'est-à-dire dans une situation avec une personne inconnue. Les résultats de l'étude longitudinale d'Ainsworth l'ont amené à conclure que:

  • Le type d'attachement sécurisé Il se caractérise par le fait que l'enfant recherche la protection et la sécurité de la mère et reçoit des soins constants. La mère est généralement une personne aimante qui montre et est constamment émotive, ce qui permet à l'enfant de développer un concept de soi et une confiance en soi positive. A l'avenir, ces personnes ont tendance à être chaleureuses, stables et à avoir des relations interpersonnelles satisfaisantes.
  • Le type d'attachement évitant Il se caractérise par le fait que le petit est élevé dans un environnement dans lequel le soignant le plus proche cesse de répondre aux besoins de protection de ce dernier. Ceci est contre-productif pour le développement de l'enfant, car cela ne l'aide pas à acquérir le sentiment de confiance en soi dont il aura besoin plus tard dans la vie. Par conséquent, les enfants (et les adultes quand ils ont grandi) ne se sentent pas en sécurité et sont déplacés par les expériences d'abandon du passé.
  • Le type d'attachement ambivalent Cela se caractérise par le fait que ces personnes réagissent à la séparation avec une grande angoisse et combinent souvent leurs comportements d'attachement avec des protestations et une colère constante. En effet, ils n’ont pas développé correctement les compétences émotionnelles nécessaires et n’ont pas non plus eu d’attentes de confiance ou d’accès aux aidants naturels.

Les quatre types d'attachement selon Hazan et Shaver

Plus tard, dans les années 1980, Cindy Hazan et Phillip Shaver élargi la théorie de l'attachement aux relations amoureuses adultes . Ils ont identifié quatre styles de pièce jointe: pièce jointe sécurisée, attachement inquiet et inquiet, attachement indépendant de l'évitant et dépendance désorganisée.


1. Pièce jointe sécurisée

Ce sont des adultes qui présenter une vision plus positive d'eux-mêmes et de leurs relations interpersonnelles . Ils ne s'inquiètent ni de la vie privée ni de l'indépendance, car ils se sentent en sécurité.

2. Attachement inquiet et anxieux

Ce sont des gens qui cherchent souvent l'approbation constante des autres et la réponse continue du couple . Par conséquent, ils sont des individus dépendants, méfiants et ont une vision non positive d'eux-mêmes et de leurs relations interpersonnelles. Ils ont des niveaux élevés d'expression émotionnelle et d'impulsivité.

3. Attachement indépendant de l'agent d'évitement

Ce sont des individus qui ils s'isolent généralement parce qu'ils ne se sentent pas à l'aise dans l'intimité avec les autres , donc ils sont très indépendants. Ils se considèrent comme autonomes et sans avoir besoin de relations proches. Ils répriment généralement leurs sentiments.

4. Attachement désorganisé

Adultes avec attachement méfiant ils sont caractérisés parce qu'ils ont des sentiments contradictoires dans leurs relations interpersonnelles . Autrement dit, ils peuvent se sentir à la fois désireux et mal à l'aise avec une intimité émotionnelle. Ils se voient généralement avec peu de valeur et se méfient des autres. Comme les précédents, ils recherchent moins d'intimité et répriment souvent leurs émotions.

Principes fondamentaux pour un lien de sécurité parent-enfant

Il est clair que, comme de nombreuses enquêtes l’ont montré, l'attitude des parents envers leurs enfants sera déterminante pour le développement de leur enfant . Par conséquent, les parents doivent faire attention lorsqu'ils traitent leurs enfants et doivent avoir la patience de grandir en bonne santé et dotés d'une forte personnalité pour faire face aux situations pouvant survenir à l'avenir.

En résumé, il est important que les parents essaient de:

  • Comprendre les signaux des enfants et leur façon de communiquer
  • Créer une base de sécurité et de confiance
  • Répondre à vos besoins
  • Embrasse-le, caresse-le, montre-lui de l'affection et joue avec lui
  • Prenez soin de votre propre bien-être émotionnel et physique, car cela affectera le comportement envers votre enfant.

La relation d'attachement et de détachement avec l'enfant (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes