yes, therapy helps!
The Theory of Cultivation: how does the screen influence us?

The Theory of Cultivation: how does the screen influence us?

June 26, 2022

If you have ever stopped to think about the daily hours that most people can get to watch TV or surf the Internet, you may have asked yourself this question: How does what we see on a screen influence our way of thinking?

This is one of the questions that from the social sciences it has tried to respond from what is known as Cultivation Theory .

What is the Theory of Cultivation?

Although its name may be confusing at first, in its origins the Theory of Cultivation it was basically a theory of communication that served as a starting point for study the effects that the prolonged exposure to television had on the way in which it is interpreted and imagines what society is .


In particular, the premise from which the Crop Theory operated at the beginning was that the more time you spend watching television, the more you come to believe that society is as it is reflected on the screen . In other words, the fact that getting used to a certain kind of television content means that it is assumed that what is being shown to us is representative of the world in which we live.

Although it was formulated in the 70s, currently the Theory of Cultivation is still valid, although with a small variation. It no longer focuses only on the effects of television, but rather It also tries to tackle digital media such as video games and the contents that can be found on the Internet .


Vicarious learning and digital media

In psychology there is a concept that is very useful to understand what the Theory of Cultivation is based on: Vicarious learning, exposed by Albert Bandura at the end of the 70s through his Theory of Social Learning.

This type of learning is, fundamentally, learning by observation; we do not need to take an action to judge the results of this and decide if it is useful or not . We can simply see what others do and learn from their successes and their mistakes indirectly.

With television, video games and the Internet, the same can happen. Through the screen we observe how several characters make decisions and how these decisions translate into good and bad consequences. These processes not only tell us about whether certain actions are desirable or not, they also communicate aspects about how the universe works in which these decisions are made , and this is where the Cultivation Theory intervenes.


For example, from the series Game of Thrones the conclusion can be drawn that pity is not an attitude that others assume as normal, but it can also be concluded that the most naive or innocent people are usually manipulated and abused by others. It can also be concluded that altruism barely exists, and that even samples of friendship are guided by political or economic interests.

On the one hand, Vicarious learning causes us to put ourselves in the shoes of certain characters and judge their failures and achievements just as we would if they were ours. On the other hand, the fact of having analyzed the results of an action from the point of view of that person causes us to draw a conclusion about the functioning of society and the power it has over the individual.

The possible bad influence of television

One of the focuses of attention that has been deepened from the Theory of Cultivation is in the study of what happens when we see a lot of violent content through the screens . This is an issue that often comes to us through alarmist headlines, for example when we start to explore the biography of adolescent murderers and we reach the (hasty) conclusion that they committed their crimes under the influence of a video game or a series of TV.

But the truth is that the amount of violence to which young people are exposed through a screen is a relevant issue for behavioral sciences; not in vain childhood and adolescence are stages of life in which you are very sensitive to the subtle teachings that are revealed by the environment .

And, if it is assumed that television and digital media in general have the power to make spectators act in a "desirable" way, being influenced by awareness campaigns or assuming the normality of homosexuality watching the series Modern Family, it is not unreasonable to think that the opposite can happen : that these same means make us more likely to reproduce undesirable behaviors, such as violent actions.

And it is these risky elements, more than the beneficial potential of the media, that generate more interest.At the end of the day, there is always time to discover the good part of digital media, but the dangers must be detected as soon as possible.

So, it would be perfectly possible that television and the Internet were leaving a strong imprint in the mindset of young people , and the chances that this influence is good are the same as it is bad, since it is not based only on the conclusions that are expressed directly in the dialogues, but it is an implicit learning. It is not necessary for a character to say clearly that he believes in the superiority of white people so that he assumes through his actions that he is racist.

Violence and the Theory of Cultivation

But nevertheless, It would be a mistake to assume that, according to the Culture Theory, televised violence makes us more violent . The effect this would have would be, in any case, to assume more or less unconsciously the idea that violence is an essential and very common component in society (or in a certain type of society).

That can make us become more violent because "everyone is doing it", but the opposite effect can also occur: as we believe that most people are aggressive, we feel good because we do not have the need to harm others and to excel in that aspect, which makes us resist more to fall in that type of behavior.

Concluding

The Theory of Cultivation is not based on an absolute and spectacular affirmation of the style of "seeing many racist people on television makes it begins to discriminate against blacks", but it is based on a much more subtle and humble idea: exposing ourselves to certain media causes us to confuse the social reality with the society shown in those media .

This phenomenon can involve many risks, but also opportunities; that depends on many other variables related to the characteristics of the viewers and the content transmitted in question.


The Mean World Syndrome -- Clip (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie de la cultivation: comment l'écran nous influence-t-il?

La théorie de la cultivation: comment l'écran nous influence-t-il?

Octobre 19, 2020

Si vous avez déjà arrêté de penser aux heures quotidiennes où la plupart des gens peuvent regarder la télévision ou surfer sur Internet, vous vous êtes peut-être posé la question suivante: Comment ce que nous voyons sur un écran influence-t-il notre façon de penser?

C’est l’une des questions que des sciences sociales il a essayé de répondre à partir de ce qu'on appelle la théorie de la culture .

Quelle est la théorie de la cultivation?

Bien que son nom puisse être déroutant au début, à ses origines, la théorie de la culture c'était essentiellement une théorie de la communication qui a servi de point de départ pour étudier les effets de l'exposition prolongée à la télévision sur la manière dont elle est interprétée et imaginer ce que la société est .


En particulier, l’hypothèse de départ de la théorie des cultures était la suivante: plus vous passez de temps à regarder la télévision, plus vous en venez à croire que la société est telle qu'elle se reflète à l'écran . En d'autres termes, le fait de s'habituer à un certain type de contenu télévisé signifie que l'on suppose que ce que l'on nous montre est représentatif du monde dans lequel nous vivons.

Bien qu’elle ait été formulée dans les années 70, la théorie de la culture est toujours valable, bien qu’elle varie légèrement. Il ne se concentre plus uniquement sur les effets de la télévision, mais plutôt Il tente également de s’attaquer aux médias numériques tels que les jeux vidéo et les contenus disponibles sur Internet. .


Apprentissage par procuration et médias numériques

En psychologie, il existe un concept très utile pour comprendre sur quoi repose la théorie de la cultivation: Apprentissage par procuration, exposé par Albert Bandura à la fin des années 70 grâce à sa théorie de l'apprentissage social.

Ce type d'apprentissage est fondamentalement un apprentissage par l'observation; nous n'avons pas besoin d'agir pour en juger les résultats et décider si cela est utile ou non . Nous pouvons simplement voir ce que font les autres et apprendre de leurs succès et de leurs erreurs indirectement.

Avec la télévision, les jeux vidéo et Internet, la même chose peut arriver. À travers l'écran, nous observons comment plusieurs personnages prennent des décisions et comment ces décisions se traduisent par de bonnes et de mauvaises conséquences. Ces processus nous indiquent non seulement si certaines actions sont souhaitables ou non, mais ils communiquent également des aspects concernant: comment fonctionne l'univers dans lequel ces décisions sont prises , et c’est là que la théorie de la culture intervient.


Par exemple, la série Game of Thrones permet de conclure que la pitié n’est pas une attitude que d’autres considèrent comme normale, mais aussi que les plus naïfs ou les plus innocents sont généralement manipulés et maltraités par d’autres. On peut aussi en conclure que l'altruisme existe à peine et que même des échantillons d'amitié sont guidés par des intérêts politiques ou économiques.

D'un côté, L’apprentissage par procuration nous incite à nous mettre à la place de certains personnages et à juger de leurs échecs et de leurs réalisations comme nous le ferions s'ils étaient les nôtres. D'autre part, le fait d'avoir analysé les résultats d'une action du point de vue de cette personne nous amène à tirer une conclusion sur le fonctionnement de la société et son pouvoir sur l'individu.

La mauvaise influence possible de la télévision

L’un des points d’attention approfondis par la théorie de la culture est l’étude de ce qui se passe quand on voit beaucoup de contenu violent à travers les écrans . C’est un problème qui nous préoccupe souvent par des manchettes alarmistes, par exemple lorsque nous commençons à explorer la biographie de meurtriers adolescents et que nous parvenons à la conclusion (hâtive) qu’ils ont commis leurs crimes sous l’influence d’un jeu vidéo ou d’une série de meurtres. télévision

Mais la vérité est que la quantité de violence à laquelle les jeunes sont exposés à travers un écran est un problème pertinent pour les sciences du comportement; pas en vain l'enfance et l'adolescence sont des étapes de la vie dans lesquelles vous êtes très sensible aux enseignements subtils révélés par l'environnement .

Et, s’il est supposé que la télévision et les médias numériques en général ont le pouvoir de faire en sorte que les spectateurs agissent de manière "souhaitable", étant influencés par des campagnes de sensibilisation ou supposant la normalité de l’homosexualité en regardant la série Modern Family, il n'est pas déraisonnable de penser que le contraire peut arriver : que ces mêmes moyens nous rendent plus susceptibles de reproduire des comportements indésirables, tels que des actions violentes.

Et ce sont ces éléments risqués, plus que le potentiel bénéfique des médias, qui suscitent plus d'intérêt.En fin de journée, il est toujours temps de découvrir le bon côté des médias numériques, mais les dangers doivent être détectés le plus rapidement possible.

Donc, il serait parfaitement possible que la télévision et Internet quittent une forte empreinte dans la mentalité des jeunes et les chances que cette influence soit bonne sont les mêmes que les mauvaises, car elles ne reposent pas uniquement sur les conclusions exprimées directement dans les dialogues, mais il s’agit d’un apprentissage implicite. Il n’est pas nécessaire qu’un personnage dise clairement qu’il croit en la supériorité des Blancs pour qu’il présume, à travers ses actes, qu’il est raciste.

Violence et théorie de la culture

Cependant, Ce serait une erreur de supposer que, selon la théorie de la culture, la violence télévisée nous rend plus violents . En tout état de cause, cela aurait pour effet d'assumer plus ou moins inconsciemment l'idée que la violence est un élément essentiel et très courant de la société (ou d'un certain type de société).

Cela peut nous rendre plus violents parce que "tout le monde le fait", mais l'effet inverse peut également se produire: en croyant que la plupart des gens sont agressifs, nous nous sentons bien parce que nous n'avons pas besoin de faire du mal aux autres. et exceller dans cet aspect, ce qui nous empêche de résister davantage à ce type de comportement.

En conclusion

La théorie de la culture ne repose pas sur une affirmation absolue et spectaculaire du style "voir beaucoup de personnes racistes à la télévision la discrimine contre les Noirs", mais repose sur une idée beaucoup plus subtile et humble: nous exposer à certains médias nous amène à confondre la réalité sociale avec la société représentée dans ces médias .

Ce phénomène peut comporter de nombreux risques, mais aussi des opportunités; cela dépend de nombreuses autres variables liées aux caractéristiques des téléspectateurs et au contenu transmis en question.


Point Culture : Les théories de fan au cinéma (2ème partie) (Octobre 2020).


Articles Connexes