yes, therapy helps!
The theory of human relations and its application to organizations

The theory of human relations and its application to organizations

June 16, 2024

The world of work has changed a lot throughout history. From the typical trades of the Middle Ages to the large and small companies in which we work today, going through the work in the factories after the Industrial Revolution, the changes both in regard to the vision of the work and in what involves the worker or the way in which it should be treated has been happening.

Within this field, numerous studies have been carried out from various disciplines such as psychology, leading some of them to changes in the vision of society and the employers of the worker and the importance of their welfare in their productivity.

Although initially the worker was seen as a "vague" who had to motivate mainly with the salary, little by little they were observed that there was a great amount of factors that influence the worker, his productivity and his general welfare. This progressive change would greatly help the Hawthorne studies and the elaboration of the theory of human relations , about which we will talk throughout this article.


  • Related article: "Psychology of work and organizations: a profession with a future"

Precedents in organizational psychology

While the fact that the human and relational factor is important in the workplace is nowadays considered something common and logical, the truth is that at the time that this notion was introduced, it meant a revolution. And is that the theory of human relations, elaborated by Elton Mayo , began to develop around the 30s.

At that time the general conception of organizations and work in it was a classic vision, focused on production and saw the worker as a vague and idle entity that needed to be spurred by the salary to work, or else understood as a machine that had to be guided from the positions of leadership (the only ones on whom depended the fact of organizing and dominating the company).


It would not be until the emergence of psychology and its application to the workplace and industry that the factors that affect the worker from a humanistic and psychological perspective would not begin to be analyzed. Thanks to that and to an increasing need both to humanize and to democratize production (dissatisfaction, abuses and workers' revolts were frequent), it would come to the elaboration of a conception closer to the industrial worker.

The theory of human relations

The theory of human relations is a theory of the psychology of organizations, which proposes that the most important part of an organization is human and interactive and that the worker's behavior is more related to belonging to a social group, their well-being with the environment and the existing social norms within said group that with the type of task performed, how it is structured or with the receipt of a specific salary (which was believed to be the sole motivator of the worker).


Basically, it establishes the importance of the social environment in which the worker develops and the psychological impact of this means when explaining behavior, performance and labor productivity.

In this theory, which appears as a reaction to excessive control over the task that existed during the time, the focus of interest stops being on the task itself and on how the organization is structured to focus on the worker and the network of social relationships and friendship what form within the organization.

Also, the worker no longer sees himself as an independent element whose performance depends solely on his will to begin to observe that it depends to a large extent on his relationship with the group and how it is organized.

Moreover, thanks to the studies carried out, it would begin to take into account the power of the network and links that are formed informally among workers, the importance of the perception of social support and the impact of these processes when it comes to improving the performance or reduce it to conform to the norm of the belonging group . It would also allow the development of new systems and strategies aimed at improving and optimizing the development of the members of the organization, as well as aspects such as the valuation of communications and feedback to employees.

  • You may be interested: "What is the Hawthorne Effect?"

The Hawthorne experiments

The theory of human relations and subsequent developments derive from the above-mentioned aspects, but probably one of the most important milestones that led to its birth were the Hawthorne experiments, conducted at the Hawthorne factory of Elton Mayo and other collaborators .

Initially these experiments were started in 1925 with the initial intention was look for a relationship between lighting and employee productivity , May begin to assess the working conditions (relatively good for the time) and the performance of workers in different lighting conditions. In this aspect they did not find great variability, but they were able to locate other variables of great importance: the psychosocial ones.

After that, they began to analyze, from 1928 to 1940, these humanistic and psychosocial factors. In a first phase would be analyzed the working conditions and the effect of the feelings and emotions of employees to work, the environment and even with respect to their role in it. From this it was extracted that personal consideration played a large role in the performance and satisfaction of workers .

It was in the second phase that one of the great divergences with the most classic theories was found: the behavior of the workers was more linked to the social and organizational than to the individual characteristics. This was achieved through a series of interviews in which researchers sought workers to express their opinion regarding their work.

In a third phase, the work groups and the interaction between workers were analyzed, with experiments in which a payment system was used in which only a high wage was maintained if there was an increase in the total production, to which the workers responded by uniformizing its productivity to go increasing it little by little reducing initially its level the most efficient ones to obtain that all could go increasing the total yield: they sought to be consistent in their performance in order that all the members of the group could have some stability.

There was so much punishment for those who did not respect the group norm (who did not follow the informal norm was pressured) as a search for compliance with the majority .

The fourth and final phase focused on studying the interaction between the formal organization of the company and the informal organization of employees, seeking an interaction in which workers could express their problems and conflicts. The conclusions of these experiments would lead to the generation of an interest in the employee and his connections, which would gradually expand.

Bibliographic references:

  • Chiavenato, I. (1999). General Introduction to Administrative Theory. (5th ed.) Editorial Mc Graw Hill.
  • Rivas, M.E. and López, M. (2012), Social and Organizational Psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 1. CEDE: Madrid.

The Human Relations Movement: Definition and Significance to Organizational Behavior (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie des relations humaines et son application aux organisations

La théorie des relations humaines et son application aux organisations

Juin 10, 2022

Le monde du travail a beaucoup changé au cours de l'histoire. Des métiers typiques du Moyen Âge aux petites et grandes entreprises dans lesquelles nous travaillons aujourd'hui, en passant par le travail dans les usines après la révolution industrielle, les changements à la fois en ce qui concerne la vision du travail et ce qui implique le travailleur ou la façon dont il devrait être traité a eu lieu.

Dans ce domaine, de nombreuses études ont été menées dans diverses disciplines telles que la psychologie, amenant certaines d'entre elles à modifier la vision de la société et des employeurs du travailleur et l'importance de leur bien-être dans leur productivité.

Bien qu’à l’origine, le travailleur fût perçu comme un "vague" qui devait principalement motiver par son salaire, on s’aperçut que de nombreux facteurs influaient sur le travailleur, sa productivité et son bien-être général. Ce changement progressif aiderait grandement les études Hawthorne et l'élaboration de la théorie des relations humaines , dont nous parlerons tout au long de cet article.


  • Article connexe: "Psychologie du travail et des organisations: un métier d'avenir"

Précédents en psychologie organisationnelle

Alors que le fait que le facteur humain et relationnel soit important sur le lieu de travail soit de nos jours considéré comme quelque chose de commun et de logique, la vérité est qu’au moment où cette notion a été introduite, cela signifiait une révolution. Et est-ce La théorie des relations humaines, élaborée par Elton Mayo , a commencé à se développer vers les années 30.

A cette époque, la conception générale des organisations et du travail était une vision classique, axée sur la production et considérait le travailleur comme une entité vague et oisive qui devait être encouragée par le salaire au travail, sinon compris comme une machine qui devait être guidée par les positions de leadership (les seules dont dépendait le fait d’organiser et de dominer l’entreprise).


Ce ne serait que par l'émergence de la psychologie et son application au lieu de travail et à l'industrie que les facteurs qui affectent le travailleur d'un point de vue humaniste et psychologique ne commenceraient à être analysés. Merci à cela et à un besoin croissant d'humaniser et de démocratiser la production (l'insatisfaction, les abus et les révoltes des travailleurs étaient fréquents), il s'agirait d'élaborer une conception plus proche de l'ouvrier.

La théorie des relations humaines

La théorie des relations humaines est une théorie de la psychologie des organisations, selon laquelle la partie la plus importante d'une organisation est humaine et interactive et que le comportement du travailleur est davantage lié à l'appartenance à un groupe social. leur bien-être avec l'environnement et les normes sociales existantes au sein dudit groupe, en fonction du type de tâche accomplie, de sa structure ou de la réception d'un salaire spécifique (considéré comme le seul facteur de motivation du travailleur).


Fondamentalement, il établit l'importance de l'environnement social dans lequel le travailleur se développe et l'impact psychologique de cela signifie pour expliquer le comportement, la performance et la productivité du travail.

Dans cette théorie, qui apparaît comme une réaction au contrôle excessif exercé sur la tâche pendant le temps, l’intérêt cesse d’être centré sur la tâche elle-même et sur la manière dont l’organisation est structurée pour se concentrer sur le travailleur et le réseau de relations sociales et d'amitié quelle forme au sein de l'organisation.

En outre, le travailleur ne se voit plus comme un élément indépendant dont la performance dépend uniquement de sa volonté de commencer à constater que cela dépend dans une large mesure de sa relation avec le groupe et de son organisation.

De plus, grâce aux études réalisées, il commencerait à prendre en compte la puissance du réseau et des liens formés de manière informelle entre les travailleurs, l’importance de la perception du soutien social et l’impact de ces processus sur l’amélioration la performance ou la réduire se conformer à la norme du groupe d'appartenance . Cela permettrait également de développer de nouveaux systèmes et stratégies visant à améliorer et optimiser le développement des membres de l'organisation, ainsi que des aspects tels que l'évaluation des communications et le retour d'informations vers les employés.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Quel est l'effet Hawthorne?"

Les expériences Hawthorne

La théorie des relations humaines et des développements ultérieurs découlent des aspects susmentionnés, mais les expériences Hawthorne menées à l'usine Hawthorne d'Elton Mayo et d'autres collaborateurs ont probablement été l'un des jalons les plus importants qui ont conduit à sa naissance. .

Initialement, ces expériences ont été commencées en 1925 avec l’intention initiale était rechercher une relation entre l'éclairage et la productivité des employés , Peut commencer à évaluer les conditions de travail (relativement bonnes pour l’époque) et les performances des travailleurs dans différentes conditions d’éclairage. Sous cet aspect, ils n'ont pas trouvé de grande variabilité, mais ils ont pu localiser d'autres variables d'une grande importance: les variables psychosociales.

Après cela, ils ont commencé à analyser, de 1928 à 1940, ces facteurs humanistes et psychosociaux. Dans une première phase, seraient analysées les conditions de travail et l’effet des sentiments et des émotions des employés sur le travail, l’environnement et même par rapport à leur rôle. De cela, il a été extrait que la considération personnelle a joué un grand rôle dans la performance et la satisfaction des travailleurs .

C'est au cours de la deuxième phase que l'une des grandes divergences avec les théories les plus classiques a été découverte: le comportement des travailleurs était davantage lié aux caractéristiques sociales et organisationnelles qu'aux caractéristiques individuelles. Ceci a été réalisé grâce à une série d'entretiens au cours desquels des chercheurs ont demandé aux travailleurs d'exprimer leur opinion sur leur travail.

Dans une troisième phase, les groupes de travail et l’interaction entre travailleurs ont été analysés, avec des expériences dans lesquelles un système de paiement était utilisé, dans lequel seul un salaire élevé était maintenu en cas d’augmentation de la production totale. sa productivité pour aller l'augmenter petit à petit en réduisant initialement son niveau les plus efficaces pour obtenir que tout puisse aller en augmentant le rendement total: ils ont cherché à être cohérent dans leur performance afin que tous les membres du groupe puissent avoir une certaine stabilité.

Il y avait tellement de punitions pour ceux qui ne respectaient pas la norme du groupe (qui ne suivaient pas la norme informelle sous pression) comme une recherche de conformité à la majorité .

La quatrième et dernière phase s'est concentrée sur l'étude de l'interaction entre l'organisation formelle de l'entreprise et l'organisation informelle des employés, en recherchant une interaction dans laquelle les travailleurs pourraient exprimer leurs problèmes et leurs conflits. Les conclusions de ces expériences susciteraient un intérêt pour l’employé et ses relations, qui se développeraient progressivement.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Chiavenato, I. (1999). Introduction générale à la théorie administrative. (5 e éd.) Éditorial Mc Graw Hill.
  • Rivas, M.E. et López, M. (2012), Psychologie sociale et organisationnelle. Manuel de préparation du CEDE PIR, 1. CEDE: Madrid.

2. 2. L'école des relations humaines (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes