yes, therapy helps!
The Theory of Individuality by Royce and Powell

The Theory of Individuality by Royce and Powell

March 1, 2021

The concept of "personality" has given rise to a great diversity of theories that try to explain what it is and how it can be measured and studied. Some authors have tried throughout the history to elaborate a theoretical model that allows to integrate the different existing theories with a general theory that explains the existence of individual differences.

One of the most ambitious proposals in this regard is the The individuality theory of Royce and Powell.

  • Related article: "The Theory of Personality proposed by Carl Rogers"

What is the theory of the individuality of Royce and Powell?

The theory of the individuality of Royce and Powell pretends to be an integrating theory of the different theories concerning the study of personality and individual differences . Specifically from the general theory of systems, factor analysis and experimental methodology.


This theory is based on the consideration that the behavior is not caused by a single factor but the origin of this is multiple (incorporating biological and social factors).

He also considers that personality is a stable construct over time, although it can vary throughout life or in different situations and is aimed at the achievement of goals and the search for personal meaning. Finally, it also starts from the idea that individual differences can be found in all the different areas of the psyche.

It is a model that considers that each person, although it can be compared with others by having all specific features, possesses them to a degree different from all others. in a way that makes him a unique individual . It is a general and introductory model, very ambitious, on which different investigations can be made.


  • Related article: "Differential Psychology: history, objectives and methods"

Personality within the model: what is it and what is it for?

The model proposed by the Individuality theory of Royce and Powell considers the personality in a generic way, as a systems organization that allow to translate, transform and integrate psychic information. This is detailed to a greater extent in the structure proposed by these authors.

Regarding its function, it is established that the main objective of the personality is to find meaning to the world and to the person, in a way that tries to make the reality more manageable.

The personality gives rise to different aspects such as emotions, beliefs, values, lifestyle, personal identity and how to conceptualize reality.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Differences between personality, temperament and character"

A structure in three large systems

The theory of the individuality of Royce and Powell stipulates that within the personality can be found six systems organized in a hierarchical way, which can be grouped into three categories according to their function and complexity. These categories allow divide them into translators, transformers and integrators systems . The different systems are acquired throughout the development, starting with the translators to generate as the rest grows.


1. Translator systems

The concept of translator system of the theory of the individuality of Royce and Powell refers to all those components of the person that allow, as the name suggests, translate the stimulation so that the internal pass to the outside and the outside to the inside.

Within these systems are the sensory system and the motor system . In both, temporality and spatiality can be found in the form of a subsystem, so that a process of sequential and simultaneous translation is made.

Sensory system

Refers to the set of elements that allows capture the external reality so that external information can be processed by other systems.

Motor system

On this occasion, the motor system refers to the set of processes that allow energy to pass to act . That is to say, the motor system is the one in charge of making the movement.

2. Transformer systems

The transforming systems are those that are in charge of processing the information obtained or directed by or to the translating systems. Between the transforming systems they emphasize the cognitive system and the affective system.

Cognitive system

The cognitive system is that whose main function is to transform and work the information coming from the environment in such a way that contribute to make us understand the environment .

Within it we can observe as subsystems the perception or mechanism by which we manipulate the information coming from the outside, the conceptualization (equivalent to the intelligence in this model) as the way in which concepts are formed from the transformation of the data into verbal and abstract material and the extraction of information on the relationships between elements, and the symbolization or creation of metaphorical constructs based on said data.

Affective system

The affective system is one of those that best allows to see the influence of other theories of the personality in the theory of individuality of Royce and Powell. This system transforms the information captured from the outside in a way that produces alterations in the level of mental and physical activation . It is made up of the subsystems of emotional stability, emotional independence and extraversion-introversion.

3. Integrating systems

The third and most important element when explaining behavior and individual differences is the group of integrating systems, whose main function is that of direct how the information will be processed and what this will mean in the previous systems. Within the integrating systems are the style and value systems.

Style system

The main function of the style system is to determine how the information will be processed, directly affecting the transformer systems in a way that affects the vision we have of the world and the kind of affectivity that we have.

The style system has in turn three subsystems: the empirical one that is in charge of aspects such as cognitive reliability and extraversion introversion at the cognitive level, the rational one in which cognitive level allows conceptualization while maintaining independence at the level emotional, and the metaphorical one in which symbolization and emotional stability are allowed.

Value system

The value system directs the beliefs of people and their motivations , providing interests and needs. Within the value system we can find three major subsystems: the ego, the social and the intrinsic.

The ego system is the one that regulates self-preservation and identity, as well as the behavior patterns that we usually use. It is linked to emotional stability and the symbolization capacity . The social system is responsible for the procedures that define the type of interaction we maintain with others and the perception of them. Finally, the intrinsic system is linked to motivation and goal orientation, allowing the generation of concepts and our independence.

Bibliographic references:

  • Hernangómez, L. and Fernández, C. (2012). Psychology of personality and differential. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 07. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Bermúdez, J. (2004). Psychology of the Personality. Theory and research (Vols. I and II). Didactic Unit of the UNED. Madrid.

Alan Watts ~ The Art Of Dealing With Pain (March 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie de l'individualité par Royce et Powell

La théorie de l'individualité par Royce et Powell

Septembre 21, 2021

Le concept de "personnalité" a donné lieu à une grande diversité de théories qui tentent d'expliquer ce que c'est et comment on peut le mesurer et l'étudier. Certains auteurs ont essayé tout au long de l'histoire d'élaborer un modèle théorique permettant d'intégrer les différentes théories existantes à une théorie générale expliquant l'existence de différences individuelles.

Une des propositions les plus ambitieuses à cet égard est la La théorie de l'individualité de Royce et Powell.

  • Article connexe: "La théorie de la personnalité proposée par Carl Rogers"

Quelle est la théorie de l'individualité de Royce et Powell?

La théorie de l'individualité de Royce et de Powell prétend être une théorie intégratrice des différentes théories concernant l'étude de la personnalité et des différences individuelles . Plus précisément de la théorie générale des systèmes, de l'analyse factorielle et de la méthodologie expérimentale.


Cette théorie est basée sur la considération que le comportement n'est pas causé par un seul facteur mais son origine est multiple (intégrant des facteurs biologiques et sociaux).

Il considère également que la personnalité est une construction stable dans le temps, même si elle peut varier au cours de la vie ou dans différentes situations et vise à atteindre des objectifs et à rechercher un sens personnel. Enfin, nous partons de l’idée que des différences individuelles peuvent être trouvées dans tous les domaines de la psyché.

C'est un modèle qui considère que chaque personne, bien qu'elle puisse être comparée à d'autres en présentant toutes les caractéristiques spécifiques, les possède à un degré différent de toutes les autres. d'une manière qui fait de lui un individu unique . C'est un modèle général et introductif, très ambitieux, sur lequel différentes investigations peuvent être menées.


  • Article connexe: "Psychologie différentielle: histoire, objectifs et méthodes"

Personnalité dans le modèle: de quoi s'agit-il et à quoi sert-il?

Le modèle proposé par la théorie de l'individualité de Royce et Powell considère la personnalité de manière générique, en tant qu'organisation de systèmes qui permettent de traduire, transformer et intégrer des informations psychiques. Ceci est plus détaillé dans la structure proposée par ces auteurs.

En ce qui concerne sa fonction, il est établi que l’objectif principal de la personnalité est de trouver un sens au monde et à la personne, de manière à rendre la réalité plus gérable.

La personnalité donne lieu à différents aspects tels que émotions, croyances, valeurs, style de vie, identité personnelle et comment conceptualiser la réalité.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Différences entre personnalité, tempérament et caractère"

Une structure en trois grands systèmes

La théorie de l'individualité de Royce et de Powell stipule qu'il est possible de trouver dans la personnalité six systèmes organisés de manière hiérarchique, qui peuvent être regroupés en trois catégories en fonction de leur fonction et de leur complexité. Ces catégories permettent divisez-les en traducteurs, transformateurs et intégrateurs . Les différents systèmes sont acquis tout au long du développement, à commencer par les traducteurs pour générer au fur et à mesure que le reste grandit.


1. Systèmes de traduction

Le concept de système de traduction de la théorie de l'individualité de Royce et de Powell fait référence à toutes les composantes de la personne qui permettent, comme son nom l'indique, de traduire la stimulation de manière à ce que les processus internes passent à l'extérieur et à l'extérieur vers l'extérieur. intérieur

Au sein de ces systèmes sont le système sensoriel et le système moteur . Dans les deux cas, la temporalité et la spatialité peuvent être trouvées sous la forme d'un sous-système, de sorte qu'un processus de traduction séquentielle et simultanée est créé.

Système sensoriel

Fait référence à l'ensemble d'éléments qui permet capturer la réalité externe afin que les informations externes puissent être traitées par d'autres systèmes.

Système moteur

A cette occasion, le système moteur fait référence à la ensemble de processus qui permettent à l'énergie de passer à agir . C'est-à-dire que c'est le système moteur qui est chargé de faire le mouvement.

2. Systèmes de transformateur

Les systèmes de transformation sont ceux qui sont chargés de traiter les informations obtenues ou dirigées par les systèmes de traduction. Entre les systèmes transformants, ils mettent l'accent sur le système cognitif et le système affectif.

Système cognitif

Le système cognitif est celui dont la fonction principale est de transformer et de travailler les informations provenant de l'environnement de manière à: contribuer à nous faire comprendre l'environnement .

À l'intérieur de celui-ci, nous pouvons observer comme sous-systèmes la perception ou le mécanisme par lequel nous manipulons les informations venant de l'extérieur, la conceptualisation (équivalente à l'intelligence de ce modèle) comme la manière dont les concepts sont formés à partir du transformation des données en matériel verbal et abstrait et l'extraction d'informations sur les relations entre les éléments, et la symbolisation ou la création de constructions métaphoriques basées sur lesdites données.

Système affectif

Le système affectif est l'un de ceux qui permet le mieux de voir l'influence d'autres théories de la personnalité dans la théorie de l'individualité de Royce et Powell. Ce système transforme les informations saisies de l’extérieur de manière à produire altérations du niveau d'activation mentale et physique . Il est constitué des sous-systèmes de stabilité émotionnelle, d'indépendance émotionnelle et d'extraversion-introversion.

3. Systèmes d'intégration

Le troisième élément, le plus important pour expliquer le comportement et les différences individuelles, est le groupe des systèmes intégrateurs, dont la fonction principale est celle de: diriger le traitement de l'information et ce que cela signifiera dans les systèmes précédents. Les systèmes d’intégration comprennent les systèmes de style et de valeur.

Système de style

La fonction principale du système de style est de déterminer comment l’information sera traitée, affectant directement les systèmes de transformateur d'une manière qui affecte la vision que nous avons du monde et le type d'affectivité que nous avons.

Le système de style comporte à son tour trois sous-systèmes: l’empirique qui prend en charge des aspects tels que la fiabilité cognitive et l’introversion de l’extraversion au niveau cognitif, le rationnel dans lequel le niveau cognitif permet la conceptualisation tout en maintenant l’indépendance au niveau émotionnelle et métaphorique dans laquelle la symbolisation et la stabilité émotionnelle sont autorisées.

Système de valeur

Le système de valeur dirige les croyances des gens et leurs motivations , fournissant des intérêts et des besoins. Dans le système de valeurs, nous pouvons trouver trois sous-systèmes principaux: l'ego, le social et l'intrinsèque.

Le système du moi est celui qui régit la préservation de soi et l'identité, ainsi que les modèles de comportement que nous utilisons habituellement. Il est lié à stabilité émotionnelle et capacité de symbolisation . Le système social est responsable des procédures qui définissent le type d'interaction que nous entretenons avec les autres et leur perception. Enfin, le système intrinsèque est lié à la motivation et à l’orientation vers les objectifs, ce qui permet la génération de concepts et notre indépendance.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Hernangómez, L. et Fernández, C. (2012). Psychologie de la personnalité et différentielle. Manuel de préparation du CEDE PIR, 07. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Bermúdez, J. (2004). Psychologie de la personnalité. Théorie et recherche (Vols I et II). Unité didactique de l'UNED. Madrid

J. Krishnamurti - Saanen 1980 - Public Talk 2 - The movement of thought and becoming (Septembre 2021).


Articles Connexes