yes, therapy helps!
The Theory of Justice by John Rawls

The Theory of Justice by John Rawls

May 14, 2024

Undoubtedly, if there has been a dominant figure in political philosophy during the second half of the twentieth century, that is the figure of John Bordley Rawls (1921 - 2002).

The Theory of Justice by John Rawls , which is also a form of social contract, has been the main form of philosophical foundation of liberalism in its social aspect, as well as a point of reference of compulsory confrontation for other political currents.

The experiment of the "original position"

Rawls's theory of justice, which has at its core the mental experiment of the "original position", exhibited in his magnum opus "A Theory of Justice" (1971), is also a proposal about human subjectivity and the ultimate motives that govern moral behavior.


The mental experiment of the original position aims to ground the basic principles of justice from a reflection that, by hiding certain knowledge about our concrete life circumstances behind a "veil of ignorance", allows us to reflect as free and equal persons on what should be the basic principles of justice .

The influence of Kant's moral imperative

The thought experiment of John Rawls can be traced back to philosophers like Hume or Kant. In fact, there is a clear relationship between the original position and the Kantian moral imperative, since the latter is based on the foundation of moral principles through a reflection based on the rational capacity of the subject, and not in their belonging to a certain group cultural or historical


The difference would be that, while Kant assumes that it is possible to arrive at these principles individually, Rawls raises the original position as a deliberation exercise between people who will occupy different places in society, although at the time of the original position they do not know what those places will be.

Thus, it is not only an abstract deduction of universal moral principles made individually by each person, but is also a form of social contract that lays the foundations of justice and the basic structure of society.

Another difference with Kant would be that, although the former conceived his categorical imperative as a principle to which any rational being can arrive, Rawls rectified his theory later to affirm that his original position is only feasible in historical societies that recognize his principles basic freedom and equality.


  • Related article: "Types of philosophy and main currents of thought"

The veil of ignorance

As we have seen, Rawls assumes that people who deliberate in the original position they do not know what position they will occupy in society in the future . They do not know, therefore, what social class they will belong to or what positions of power they will occupy. They also do not know what natural abilities or psychological dispositions they have that could give them an advantage over other people.

In fact, for Rawls, the natural lottery is neither fair nor unfair, but what does have to do with justice is how a society deals with the natural differences between people. Finally, these people know that they will have a certain conception of the good (of what a life must be lived in a meaningful way) that will guide their lives, and that as rational beings they will be able to reconsider and modify with the passage of time.

Contrary to other theories of justice, John Rawls does not presuppose any historically inherited conception of the good that functions as the foundation of justice. If so, the subjects would not be free. For Rawls, the principles of justice are generated in the original position and they are not prior to this. It is the principles arising from the original position that would mark the limits of future conceptions of the good chosen by each person in their concrete life.

Thus, the participants in the original position are conceived as representatives of specific people forced, however, to deliberate under the veil of ignorance .

The participants of the original position experiment

But these subjects are not totally ignorant. They do not know any details of their lives as concrete subjects, but they do they are supposed scientific knowledge about human nature (knowledge of biology, psychology, as well as a presupposition of the validity of neo-classical economic theory) that allows them to know how they will behave in their lives, so that they can negotiate with others on equal terms the best principles in the to substantiate justice.

In addition, these people are presupposed a sense of justice, which means that they want to meet the standards recognized as fair after the negotiation process.

Finally, Rawls presupposes that the subjects of the original position are mutually disinterested, which does not necessarily mean that they are selfish beings, but in the context of the original position his interest is only to negotiate with the limitation of the veil of ignorance in favor of a future concrete person that they represent. Your motivation is this and not the benefit.

The principles of justice

From here, Rawls extracts a series of primary social goods necessary for the development of the "moral powers", the aforementioned sense of justice, as well as the ability to review and pursue a certain conception of the good.

Sayings primary social goods are rights and freedoms , opportunities, income and wealth or the social bases to respect oneself (as an education that prepares us for life in society as well as a minimum income).

Rawls applies the theory of rational choice to the uncertainty conditions of the original position to extract the principles of justice. The first principle that it extracts from the original position is that according to which each person must have the greatest basic freedoms possible to allow the rest of the members of society also have these freedoms. These freedoms are freedom of expression, association or thought. This principle grounds the idea of ​​freedom.

The second principle grounds equality . According to Rawls, the abstract rational subjects that deliberate in the original position would go so far as to argue that economic and social inequalities are permissible insofar as they work in favor of the greatest possible benefit for the most disadvantaged in society and depend on positions open to all. in conditions of equal opportunities.

What is the best way to organize society?

Since the participants in the original position do not know what place they will occupy in society, that is, they do not know what social or natural advantages they will have to compete for the different positions and positions in society, they would conclude that the most rational and safe is to maximize the minimums, the so-called "maximin" .

According to the maximin, the limited resources of a society must be distributed so that the least favored can live in an acceptable way.

Moreover, it is not simply a matter of distributing a limited range of resources in a fair manner, but that distribution allows society as a whole is productive and based on cooperation. Thus, inequalities can only make sense once those minimum needs have been met for all, and only as long as they work for society, especially the most disadvantaged.

In this way, the participants in the original position ensure that, occupying the place they occupy in society, they will live in a dignified manner and will be able to compete for access to the different possible positions. When the participants in the original position have to choose between different theories of justice, they will choose justice as equity proposed by Rawls against other theories such as utilitarianism.

Furthermore, according to Rawls, his conception of justice as equity can be translated into political positions such as liberal socialism or liberal democracy , where there is private property. Neither communism nor free market capitalism would allow articulating a society based on justice understood as equity.

  • Related article: "The 9 rules of democracy that Aristotle proposed"

The legacy of John Rawls

Of course, a theory like that of Rawls, central in the reflections on politics and justice, has provoked a lot of criticism. For example, libertarian thinkers such as Robert Nozick (1938 - 2002) are against redistribution by the government, since that contradicts the basic right to enjoy the fruits of one's work.

He has also received criticisms by communitarian thinkers for his conception of subjectivity. As is clear from his theory, for Rawls human beings, in everything that responds to articulate the foundations of society, can be reduced to rational beings (or, as he would say, reasonable).

The society would be constituted with an agreement among equals prior to the different conceptions of the good. However, from the communitarianism it is argued that there is no possible subject that is not preceded by a conception of the good.

According to this conception, we can not make decisions that base the principles of justice apart from the common values ​​that have shaped us as subjects. These thinkers have a conception of the subject as constituted in relation to their cultural and social environment, so that subjectivity can not be reduced to an abstract entity and individual.

John Rawls is undoubtedly the political philosopher who had the most impact in the second half of the twentieth century. His theories have not only helped to ground certain political positions, but have served as horizon from which to think justice and politics , even from opposite political positions.

Bibliographic references:

  • Freeman, S. (2017). Original Position. [online] Plato.stanford.edu. Available here
  • Rawls, J. (1980). Kantian Constructivism in Moral Theory. The Journal of Philosophy, 77(9), p.515.
  • Rawls, J. (2000). A theory of justice (1st ed). Cambridge (Massachusetts) [etc.]: Harvard University Press.

John Rawls' Theory of Justice (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie de la justice par John Rawls

La théorie de la justice par John Rawls

Mars 4, 2021

Sans aucun doute, s'il y a eu une figure dominante de la philosophie politique au cours de la seconde moitié du XXe siècle, c'est bien la figure de John Bordley Rawls (1921 - 2002).

La théorie de la justice par John Rawls , qui est aussi une forme de contrat social, a été la principale forme de fondement philosophique du libéralisme dans son aspect social, ainsi qu’un point de référence de la confrontation obligatoire pour les autres courants politiques.

L'expérience de la "position originale"

La théorie de la justice de Rawls, qui repose essentiellement sur l'expérience mentale de la "position initiale", exposé dans son magnum opus "Une théorie de la justice" (1971), est également une proposition sur la subjectivité humaine et les motivations ultimes qui régissent le comportement moral.


L’expérience mentale de la position initiale vise à fonder les principes fondamentaux de la justice d’une réflexion qui, en dissimulant certaines connaissances sur nos circonstances concrètes de la vie derrière un "voile d’ignorance", nous permet de réfléchir en tant que personnes libres et égales aux hommes. quels devraient être les principes de base de la justice .

L'influence de l'impératif moral de Kant

L'expérience de pensée de John Rawls peut être attribuée à des philosophes tels que Hume ou Kant. En fait, il existe un lien clair entre la position initiale et l'impératif moral kantien, puisque ce dernier repose sur le fondement de principes moraux à travers une réflexion basée sur le principe fondamental. la capacité rationnelle du sujet et non son appartenance à un certain groupe culturel ou historique


La différence serait que, alors que Kant suppose qu'il est possible d'arriver à ces principes individuellement, Rawls soulève la question position initiale en tant qu'exercice de délibération entre des personnes qui occuperont différentes places dans la société, même si, au moment de la position initiale, elles ne savaient pas quelles seraient ces places.

Ainsi, il ne s'agit pas seulement d'une déduction abstraite de principes moraux universels établis individuellement par chaque personne, mais également d'une forme de contrat social qui jette les bases de la justice et la structure de base de la société.

Une autre différence avec Kant serait que, bien que le premier ait conçu son impératif catégorique comme un principe auquel tout être rationnel puisse arriver, Rawls a ensuite rectifié sa théorie pour affirmer que sa position initiale n’est réalisable que dans les sociétés historiques qui reconnaissent ses principes. liberté fondamentale et égalité.


  • Article connexe: "Types de philosophie et principaux courants de pensée"

Le voile de l'ignorance

Comme nous l’avons vu, Rawls suppose que les personnes qui délibèrent dans la position initiale ils ne savent pas quelle position ils occuperont dans la société à l'avenir . Ils ne savent donc pas à quelle classe sociale ils appartiendront ni quels postes de pouvoir ils occuperont. Ils ne savent pas non plus quelles sont leurs capacités naturelles ou leurs dispositions psychologiques qui pourraient leur donner un avantage sur d’autres personnes.

En fait, pour Rawls, la loterie naturelle n'est ni juste ni injuste, mais ce qui a à voir avec la justice, c'est comment une société gère les différences naturelles entre les personnes. Enfin, ces personnes savent qu’elles auront une certaine conception du bien qui guidera leur vie (qu’une vie doit être vécue de manière significative) et qu’elles pourront, en tant qu’êtres rationnels, pouvoir les repenser et les modifier au fil du temps.

Contrairement à d’autres théories de la justice, John Rawls ne présuppose aucune conception du bien héritée de l’histoire, qui fonctionne comme le fondement de la justice. Si tel était le cas, les sujets ne seraient pas gratuits. Pour Rawls, les principes de justice sont générés dans la position d'origine et ils ne sont pas avant cela. Ce sont les principes découlant de la position initiale qui marqueraient les limites des conceptions futures du bien choisies par chaque personne dans leur vie concrète.

Ainsi, les participants à la position initiale sont conçus comme des représentants de personnes spécifiques forcé, cependant, à délibérer sous le voile de l'ignorance .

Les participants de l'expérience de position d'origine

Mais ces sujets ne sont pas totalement ignorants. Ils ne connaissent aucun détail de leur vie en tant que sujets concrets, mais ils ils sont supposés être des connaissances scientifiques sur la nature humaine (connaissance de la biologie, de la psychologie ainsi que de la présupposition de la validité de la théorie économique néo-classique) leur permettant de savoir comment ils se comporteront dans leur vie, de manière à pouvoir négocier avec les autres, sur un pied d'égalité, les meilleurs principes de la société. pour justifier la justice.

En outre, ces personnes supposent un sens de la justice, ce qui signifie qu'elles veulent respecter les normes reconnues comme équitables après le processus de négociation.

Enfin, Rawls présuppose que les sujets de la position d'origine sont mutuellement désintéressés, ce qui ne signifie pas nécessairement qu'ils sont des êtres égoïstes, mais dans le contexte de la position d'origine. son intérêt est seulement de négocier avec la limitation du voile de l'ignorance en faveur d'une future personne concrète qu'ils représentent. Votre motivation est la suivante et non l’avantage.

Les principes de la justice

À partir de là, Rawls extrait une série de biens sociaux primaires nécessaires au développement des "pouvoirs moraux", du sens de la justice susmentionné, ainsi que de la capacité de réviser et de poursuivre une certaine conception du bien.

Paroles les biens sociaux primaires sont des droits et des libertés , opportunités, revenus et richesses ou bases sociales pour se respecter (en tant qu’éducation qui nous prépare à la vie en société ainsi qu’à un revenu minimum).

Rawls applique la théorie du choix rationnel aux conditions d'incertitude de la position d'origine pour extraire les principes de justice. Le premier principe qu’il tire de la position initiale est celui selon lequel chaque personne doit avoir les plus grandes libertés fondamentales possible de laisser le reste des membres de la société jouir également de ces libertés. Ces libertés sont la liberté d'expression, d'association ou de pensée. Ce principe fonde l'idée de liberté.

Le deuxième principe fonde l'égalité . Selon Rawls, les sujets rationnels abstraits qui délibèrent dans la position initiale iraient jusqu'à prétendre que les inégalités économiques et sociales sont tolérées dans la mesure où ils agissent en faveur des plus grands avantages possibles pour les plus défavorisés de la société et dépendent de positions ouvertes à tous. dans des conditions d'égalité des chances.

Quelle est la meilleure façon d'organiser la société?

Étant donné que les participants au poste initial ne savent pas quelle place ils occuperont dans la société, c’est-à-dire qu’ils ne savent pas quels avantages sociaux ou naturels ils auront à se faire concurrence pour occuper différents postes et positions dans la société, ils concluraient que le plus rationnel et sûr est de maximiser les minimums, le soi-disant "maximin" .

Selon le maximin, les ressources limitées d'une société doivent être distribuées de manière à ce que les moins favorisés puissent vivre de manière acceptable.

De plus, il ne s’agit pas simplement de répartir équitablement une gamme limitée de ressources, mais cette répartition permet la société dans son ensemble est productive et basé sur la coopération. Ainsi, les inégalités ne peuvent avoir de sens que lorsque tous ces besoins minimaux ont été satisfaits, et seulement tant qu'ils travaillent pour la société, en particulier les plus défavorisés.

De cette manière, les participants au poste d'origine s'assurent que, occupant la place qu'ils occupent dans la société, ils vivront de manière digne et pourront concourir pour accéder aux différents postes possibles. Lorsque les participants à la position initiale devront choisir entre différentes théories de la justice, ils choisiront la justice en tant qu'équité proposée par Rawls par rapport à d'autres théories telles que l'utilitarisme.

De plus, selon Rawls, sa conception de la justice en tant qu’équité peut être traduite en positions politiques telles que le socialisme libéral ou la démocratie libérale , où il y a une propriété privée. Ni le communisme ni le capitalisme de marché libre ne permettraient d'articuler une société fondée sur la justice comprise comme une équité.

  • Article connexe: "Les 9 règles de la démocratie proposées par Aristote"

L'héritage de John Rawls

Bien entendu, une théorie comme celle de Rawls, au centre des réflexions sur la politique et la justice, a suscité de nombreuses critiques. Par exemple, des penseurs libertaires tels que Robert Nozick (1938 - 2002) s'opposent à la redistribution par le gouvernement, car cela contredit le droit fondamental de jouir du fruit de son travail.

Il a également reçu critiques de penseurs communautaires pour sa conception de la subjectivité. Comme il ressort clairement de sa théorie, pour Rawls, les êtres humains peuvent être réduits à des êtres rationnels (ou, comme il dirait, raisonnables) dans tout ce qui répond à la formulation des fondements de la société.

La société serait constituée avec un accord entre égaux avant les différentes conceptions du bien. Cependant, du communautarisme, il est avancé qu’aucun sujet possible n’est précédé d’une conception du bien.

Selon cette conception, nous ne pouvons pas prendre de décisions qui fondent les principes de justice en dehors des valeurs communes qui nous ont façonnés en tant que sujets. Ces penseurs ont une conception du sujet comme étant constituée par rapport à leur environnement culturel et social, de sorte que la subjectivité ne peut être réduite à une entité abstraite et individuel.

John Rawls est sans aucun doute le philosophe politique qui a eu le plus grand impact dans la seconde moitié du vingtième siècle. Ses théories ont non seulement contribué à fonder certaines positions politiques, mais ont également servi horizon à partir duquel penser la justice et la politique , même à partir de positions politiques opposées.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Freeman, S. (2017). Position d'origine. [en ligne] Plato.stanford.edu. Disponible ici
  • Rawls, J. (1980). Le constructivisme kantien dans la théorie morale. Le journal de la philosophie, 77(9), p.515.
  • Rawls, J. (2000). Une théorie de la justice (1ère ed). Cambridge (Massachusetts) [etc.]: Harvard University Press.

Justice#1 : résumé de la Théorie de la Justice, J. Rawls (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes