yes, therapy helps!
The theory of limited rationality by Herbert Simon

The theory of limited rationality by Herbert Simon

June 15, 2024

Human cognition is limited and imperfect: even if we managed to obtain all available information about a problem that we must solve, our reasoning failures would prevent us from making the optimal decision.

This is the main proposal of the theory of limited rationality proposed by Herbert Simon . His model has had important applications in the economics and psychology of organizations, and to a large extent still applies today.

  • Related article: "Are we rational or emotional beings?"

Herbert A. Simon, the author

Herbert Alexander Simon was born in Pennsylvania in 1916. He carried out his studies in social sciences and mathematics at the University of Chicago; in 1943 he received his doctorate in political science.


Later Simon He was a professor of psychology, political science and computer science at the University of Berkeley and Carnegie Mellon, where he worked until his death, in 2001.

He titled "Administrative Behavior" to his first book, which appeared in 1947 and became his most famous work. It was in this work that he proposed the theory of limited rationality for the first time.

Your model of human behavior he had a fundamental influence in the social sciences in general and in the economy in particular. Simon's ideas have been applied with special frequency in the field of organizations.


The model of limited rationality

The theory of limited rationality of Herbert Simon suggests that people we make decisions in a partially irrational way because of our cognitive, information and time limitations.

This model emerged as a reaction to the theories of rationality, very popular in the political and economic sciences, which propose that humans are rational beings that decide what is the optimal solution for each problem using all the available information.

However, according to Simon and the authors who succeeded him, it is very difficult to make completely rational decisions because our resources to process information are limited, especially when the problems are complex, as is often the case in everyday life. Facing the classic idea of ​​"economic man" Simon promoted that of the 'administrative man', unable to grasp the complexity of the world and the interrelation between its elements.


The model of limited rationality affirms that people use heuristics when it comes to finding solutions. Heuristics are defined as general and simple rules what we use to solve problems; although they may be useful in many cases, in others they produce cognitive biases, that is, systematic deviations in reasoning.

The availability heuristic, for example, refers to the fact that people tend to have more frequent and frequent information in mind because we can access it more easily. Thus, if we had a traffic accident recently, we are more likely to overestimate the probability of suffering another.

  • Related article: "" Heuristic ": the mental shortcuts of human thought"

The process of decision making

According to Simon, rational decision-making consists of solving problems by choosing the most appropriate alternative from those available. The decision will be more correct the more likely it is to achieve the desired effect and the more efficient it will be.

This author divided the rational decision-making process into three steps . First, all possible alternatives are identified; then the results that would be obtained with each one are analyzed. Finally, the most appropriate solution is chosen, comparing the effectiveness and efficiency of each of the available options.

However, we will never be able to optimally apply this procedure because it is impossible to determine all the possible solutions to a problem, as well as to adequately predict its consequences.

In his works, Simon said that in administrative behavior and in the organizational environment It is advisable to prioritize efficiency over adequacy when adopting solutions. On the other hand, in private decisions this is not so important since they do not affect the functioning and performance of an organization as a whole.

Developments of this theory

The model of Herbert Simon has been modified and extended by different economists, psychologists and computer scientists. Next we will mention the developments and most important applications of the theory of limited rationality .

1. Ariel Rubinstein

This Israeli economist and mathematician raised the need to determine which are the most appropriate decision-making procedures in his book "Modeling Bounded Rationality" (1998). The purpose of their contributions to the model of limited rationality is that the principles provided by it can be applied in different areas.

2. Edward Tsang

Tsang, a graduate in business administration and a doctorate in computer science, says that the organisms or agents that use better heuristics and algorithms make more rational decisions.

For Tsang, these aspects are equivalent to computational intelligence, a concept used to refer to the learning capacity of computers from data obtained through observation and experimentation.

3. Huw Dixon

The British economist Huw Dixon proposed a general formula for decision-making based on Simon's model. According to Dixon, assuming that people will opt for solutions close to the optimum does not require an in-depth analysis of decision making within the framework of limited rationality.

4. Gerd Gigerenzer

Gigerenzer is a German psychologist interested in decision-making, specifically in limited rationality and heuristics. According to this author, heuristics are in many cases more effective than optimal decision-making procedures , since they are not as irrational as other theorists raise and allow to solve problems very efficiently.

5. Daniel Kahneman

The Israeli Kahneman is a famous psychologist for having obtained a Nobel prize in economics . His most important contributions have to do with the description of heuristics and cognitive biases, carried out jointly with Amos Tversky.

Kahneman believes that the model of limited rationality can be very useful to overcome the limitations of economic theories on rational decision making.


Herbert Simon (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie de la rationalité limitée de Herbert Simon

La théorie de la rationalité limitée de Herbert Simon

Mai 16, 2022

La cognition humaine est limitée et imparfaite: même si nous parvenions à obtenir toutes les informations disponibles sur un problème que nous devons résoudre, nos échecs de raisonnement nous empêcheraient de prendre la décision optimale.

C’est la proposition principale du théorie de la rationalité limitée proposée par Herbert Simon . Son modèle a eu d’importantes applications en économie et en psychologie des organisations et s’applique encore dans une large mesure aujourd’hui.

  • Article connexe: "Sommes-nous des êtres rationnels ou émotionnels?"

Herbert A. Simon, l'auteur

Herbert Alexander Simon est né en Pennsylvanie en 1916. Il a effectué ses études en sciences sociales et en mathématiques à l'Université de Chicago. en 1943, il obtint son doctorat en sciences politiques.


Plus tard, Simon Il était professeur de psychologie, de sciences politiques et d'informatique. à l’Université de Berkeley et à Carnegie Mellon, où il a travaillé jusqu’à sa mort, en 2001.

Il a intitulé "Comportement administratif" dans son premier livre, paru en 1947 et qui est devenu son ouvrage le plus célèbre. C'est dans ce travail qu'il a proposé pour la première fois la théorie de la rationalité limitée.

Votre modèle de comportement humain il a eu une influence fondamentale dans les sciences sociales en général et dans l'économie en particulier. Les idées de Simon ont été appliquées avec une fréquence particulière dans le domaine des organisations.


Le modèle de rationalité limitée

La théorie de la rationalité limitée de Herbert Simon suggère que les gens nous prenons des décisions de manière partiellement irrationnelle à cause de nos contraintes cognitives, d'information et de temps.

Ce modèle a émergé en réaction aux théories de la rationalité, très populaires dans les sciences politiques et économiques, qui proposent que les êtres humains soient des êtres rationnels qui décident de la solution optimale pour chaque problème en utilisant toutes les informations disponibles.

Cependant, selon Simon et les auteurs qui lui ont succédé, il est très difficile de prendre des décisions tout à fait rationnelles car nos ressources pour traiter les informations sont limitées, en particulier lorsque les problèmes sont complexes, comme cela est souvent le cas dans la vie quotidienne. Face à l'idée classique de "l'homme économique" Simon a promu celui de «l'homme administratif», incapable de saisir la complexité du monde et l'interrelation entre ses éléments.


Le modèle de rationalité limitée affirme que les gens utilisent des méthodes heuristiques pour trouver des solutions. Les heuristiques sont définies comme des règles générales et simples ce que nous utilisons pour résoudre les problèmes; bien qu’ils puissent être utiles dans de nombreux cas, ils produisent dans d’autres des biais cognitifs, c’est-à-dire des déviations systématiques du raisonnement.

L'heuristique de disponibilité, par exemple, fait référence au fait que les gens ont tendance à avoir plus souvent des informations en tête parce que nous pouvons y accéder plus facilement. Ainsi, si nous avons récemment eu un accident de la route, nous risquons davantage de surestimer la probabilité d’en subir un autre.

  • Article connexe: "" Heuristique ": les raccourcis mentaux de la pensée humaine"

Le processus de prise de décision

Selon Simon, la prise de décision rationnelle consiste à résoudre des problèmes en choisissant l’alternative la plus appropriée parmi celles disponibles. La décision sera d'autant plus correcte que plus il est probable que l'effet souhaité sera obtenu et plus il sera efficace.

Cet auteur divisé le processus de prise de décision rationnelle en trois étapes . Premièrement, toutes les alternatives possibles sont identifiées; ensuite, les résultats qui seraient obtenus avec chacun sont analysés. Enfin, la solution la plus appropriée est choisie, en comparant l'efficacité et l'efficience de chacune des options disponibles.

Cependant, nous ne pourrons jamais appliquer cette procédure de manière optimale car il est impossible de déterminer toutes les solutions possibles à un problème, ainsi que de prévoir correctement ses conséquences.

Dans ses travaux, Simon a dit que dans le comportement administratif et dans l'environnement organisationnel Il est conseillé de privilégier l'efficacité par rapport à l'adéquation en adoptant des solutions. Par contre, dans les décisions privées, cela n’est pas très important car elles n’affectent pas le fonctionnement et les performances de l’organisation dans son ensemble.

Développements de cette théorie

Le modèle de Herbert Simon a été modifié et étendu par différents économistes, psychologues et informaticiens. Ensuite, nous mentionnerons les développements et applications les plus importantes de la théorie de la rationalité limitée .

1. Ariel Rubinstein

Cet économiste et mathématicien israélien a souligné la nécessité de déterminer les procédures de prise de décision les plus appropriées dans son livre "Modeling Bounded Rationality" (1998). Le but de leurs contributions au modèle de rationalité limitée est que les principes fournis par celui-ci puissent être appliqués dans différents domaines.

2. Edward Tsang

Tsang, un diplômé en administration des affaires et un doctorat en informatique, dit que les organismes ou agents qui utilisent de meilleures heuristiques et les algorithmes prennent des décisions plus rationnelles.

Pour Tsang, ces aspects sont équivalents à l'intelligence informatique, un concept utilisé pour faire référence à la capacité d'apprentissage des ordinateurs à partir de données obtenues par l'observation et l'expérimentation.

3. Huw Dixon

L'économiste britannique Huw Dixon a proposé une formule générale pour la prise de décision basée sur le modèle de Simon. Selon Dixon, supposer que les gens opteront pour des solutions proches de l'optimum ne nécessite pas une analyse en profondeur de la prise de décision dans le cadre d'une rationalité limitée.

4. Gerd Gigerenzer

Gigerenzer est un psychologue allemand qui s'intéresse à la prise de décision, notamment à la rationalité limitée et à l'heuristique. Selon cet auteur, les heuristiques sont dans de nombreux cas plus efficace que les procédures de prise de décision optimales , car ils ne sont pas aussi irrationnels que d’autres théoriciens le soulignent et permettent de résoudre les problèmes de manière très efficace.

5. Daniel Kahneman

L’Israélien Kahneman est un psychologue réputé pour avoir obtenu un prix Nobel d'économie . Ses contributions les plus importantes concernent la description des heuristiques et des biais cognitifs, réalisée conjointement avec Amos Tversky.

Kahneman pense que le modèle de rationalité limitée peut être très utile pour surmonter les limites des théories économiques sur la prise de décision rationnelle.


Comprendre les organisations (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes