yes, therapy helps!
The theory of moral development of Lawrence Kohlberg

The theory of moral development of Lawrence Kohlberg

April 30, 2024

The study of morality is something that is constantly generating dilemmas, doubts and theories.

Practically all people have asked themselves at some point about what is right and what is not, about the best way to prioritize how to become a good person, or even about the same meaning of the word "moral". However, many less have proposed to study not only what is good, evil, ethics and morality, but the way we think about those ideas.

If the first is the task of the philosophers, the second enters fully into the field of psychology, in which highlights the moral development theory of Lawrence Kohlberg .


Who was Lawrence Kohlberg?

The creator of this theory of moral development, Lawrence Kohlberg, he was an American psychologist born in 1927 that in the second half of the 20th century , from the University of Harvard, was devoted largely to investigate the way in which people reason in moral problems.

That is to say, instead of worrying about studying the appropriateness or inappropriateness of actions, as philosophers like Socrates did, he studied the norms and rules that could be observed in human thinking in relation to morality.

The similarities between Kohlberg's theory and Piaget's

His research was fruit of Kohlberg's theory of moral development, which was heavily influenced by the theory of the four phases of cognitive development of Jean Piaget. Like Piaget, Lawrence Kohlberg believed that in the evolution of the typical modes of moral reasoning there are qualitatively different stages of each other, and that curiosity to learn is one of the main engines of mental development throughout the different phases of life. lifetime.


In addition, both in Kohlberg's and Piaget's theory there is a basic idea: the development of the way of thinking goes from mental processes very focused on the concrete and the directly observable to the abstract and more general.

In the case of Piaget, this meant that in our early childhood we tend to think only of what we can perceive directly in real time, and that little by little we are learning to reason about abstract elements that we can not experience in the first person.

In the case of Lawrence Kohlberg, it means that the group of people to whom we can come to desire the good is getting bigger and bigger to the point of including those we have not seen or know. The ethical circle is increasingly becoming more extensive and inclusive, although what matters is not so much the gradual expansion of this, but the qualitative changes that occur in the moral development of a person as it evolves. In fact, Kohlberg's theory of moral development is based on 6 levels .


The three levels of moral development

The categories that Kohlberg used to indicate the level of moral development are a way of expressing the substantial differences that occur in someone's way of reasoning as they grow and learn.

These 6 stages fall into three broad categories: the pre-conventional phase, the conventional and the post-conventional phase .

1. pre-conventional phase

In the first phase of moral development, which according to Kohlberg usually lasts until 9 years, the person judges the events according to the way in which they affect it .

1.1. First stage: orientation to obedience and punishment

In the first stage, the individual only thinks about the immediate consequences of their actions, avoiding the unpleasant experiences linked to the punishment and seeking the satisfaction of their own needs.

For example, in this phase, the innocent victims of an event tend to be considered guilty , for having suffered a "punishment", while those that harm others without being punished do not act badly. It is an extremely egocentric reasoning style in which good and evil have to do with what each individual experiences separately.

1.2. Second stage: orientation to self-interest

In the second stage, people start to think beyond the individual, but egocentricity is still present . If in the previous phase it is not conceivable that there is a moral dilemma in itself because there is only one point of view, in this it begins to recognize the existence of clashes of interests.

Faced with this problem, people in this phase opt for relativism and individualism, not identifying with collective values: each defends his own and works accordingly. It is believed that, if agreements are established, they must be respected so as not to create a context of insecurity that harms individuals.

2. Conventional phase

The conventional phase is usually what defines the thinking of adolescents and many adults. In her, the existence of both a series of individual interests and a series of social conventions about what is good is taken into account and what is bad that helps to create a collective ethical "umbrella".

2.1. Third stage: orientation towards consensus

In the third stage, good actions are defined by how they affect the relationships one has with others. Therefore, people who are in the consensus orientation stage try to be accepted by the rest and they strive to make their actions fit very well into the set of collective rules that define what is good .

Good and bad actions are defined by the motives behind them and the way in which these decisions fit into a series of shared moral values. The attention is not fixed on how good or bad they may sound certain proposals, but on the objectives behind them.

2.2. Fourth stage: guidance to the authority

In this stage of moral development, the good and the bad emanate from a series of norms that are perceived as separate from the individuals . The good is to comply with the rules, and the evil is to break them.

There is no possibility of acting beyond these rules, and the separation between the good and the bad is as definite as the standards are. If in the previous stage the interest is put more in those people who know each other and who can show approval or rejection for what one does, here the ethical circle is broader and encompasses all those persons subject to the law.

3. Post-conventional phase

The people who are in this phase have as their reference their own moral principles that, in spite of not having to coincide with the established norms, they rely on both collective values ​​and individual freedoms, not exclusively on self-interest.

3.1. Stage 5: orientation towards the social contract

The way of moral reasoning proper to this stage arises from a reflection on whether laws and norms are correct or not, that is, if they shape a good society.

It is thought about the way in which society can affect the quality of life of people , and one also thinks about the way in which people can change norms and laws when they are dysfunctional.

That is to say, that there is a very global view of moral dilemmas, by going beyond the existing rules and adopting a distanced theoretical position. The fact of considering, for example, that slavery was legal but illegitimate and that in spite of that it existed as if it were something totally normal would enter into this stage of moral development.

3.2. Stage 6: orientation towards universal principles

The moral reasoning that characterizes this phase is very abstract , and is based on the creation of universal moral principles that are different from the laws themselves. For example, it is considered that when a law is unfair, changing it should be a priority. In addition, decisions do not emanate from assumptions about the context, but from categorical considerations based on universal moral principles.


Kohlberg's Theory of Moral Development Explained! (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie du développement moral de Lawrence Kohlberg

La théorie du développement moral de Lawrence Kohlberg

Septembre 16, 2022

L’étude de la moralité génère constamment des dilemmes, des doutes et des théories.

Pratiquement tout le monde s’est demandé à un moment ou à un autre ce qui était bien ou non, quelle était la meilleure façon de donner la priorité à la façon de devenir une bonne personne, voire le même sens du mot le mot "moral". Cependant, beaucoup moins ont proposé d’étudier non seulement ce qui est bien, ce qui est mal, l’éthique et la moralité, mais aussi la façon dont nous pensons à ces idées.

Si le premier est la tâche des philosophes, le second entre pleinement dans le domaine de la psychologie, dans lequel souligne la théorie du développement moral de Lawrence Kohlberg .


Qui était Lawrence Kohlberg?

Le créateur de cette théorie du développement moral, Lawrence Kohlberg, il était un psychologue américain né en 1927 que dans la seconde moitié du 20e siècle , de l’Université de Harvard, s’est largement consacré à l’étude de la façon dont les gens raisonnent dans les problèmes moraux.

C'est-à-dire qu'au lieu de se préoccuper d'étudier l'opportunité ou l'inopportunité des actions, comme le firent les philosophes comme Socrate, il étudia les normes et les règles que l'on pouvait observer dans la pensée humaine en relation avec la moralité.

Les similitudes entre la théorie de Kohlberg et celle de Piaget

Ses recherches sont le fruit de la théorie du développement moral de Kohlberg, fortement influencée par la théorie des quatre phases du développement cognitif de Jean Piaget. À l'instar de Piaget, Lawrence Kohlberg pensait que l'évolution des modes de raisonnement moral typiques comportait des étapes qualitativement différentes les unes des autres et que la curiosité d'apprendre était l'un des principaux moteurs du développement mental au cours des différentes phases de la vie. la vie


De plus, la théorie de Kohlberg et de Piaget contient une idée de base: le développement de la pensée va de processus mentaux très concentrés sur le concret et l'observable directement à l'abstrait et plus général.

Dans le cas de Piaget, cela signifiait que, dans notre petite enfance, nous avons tendance à ne penser qu'à ce que nous pouvons percevoir directement en temps réel, et que nous apprenons peu à peu à raisonner sur des éléments abstraits que nous ne pouvons pas expérimenter à la première personne.

Dans le cas de Lawrence Kohlberg, cela signifie que le groupe de personnes à qui nous pouvons en venir à souhaiter le bien devient de plus en plus grand au point d’inclure celles que nous n’avons pas vues ou connues. Le cercle éthique devient de plus en plus étendu et inclusif, bien que l’important ne soit pas tant l’extension progressive de celle-ci, mais les changements qualitatifs qui se produisent dans le développement moral d’une personne au fur et à mesure de son évolution. En fait La théorie du développement moral de Kohlberg est basée sur 6 niveaux .


Les trois niveaux de développement moral

Les catégories utilisées par Kohlberg pour indiquer le niveau de développement moral sont un moyen d’exprimer les différences substantielles qui se produisent dans le raisonnement d’une personne au cours de sa croissance et de son apprentissage.

Ces 6 étapes entrent dans trois grandes catégories: la phase pré-conventionnelle, la phase conventionnelle et la phase post-conventionnelle .

1. phase pré-conventionnelle

Dans la première phase du développement moral, qui dure habituellement jusqu'à 9 ans selon Kohlberg, la personne juge les événements en fonction de la manière dont ils l'affectent .

1.1. Première étape: orientation vers l'obéissance et la punition

Dans la première étape, l'individu ne pense qu'aux conséquences immédiates de ses actes, évitant les expériences déplaisantes liées à la punition et cherchant à satisfaire ses propres besoins.

Par exemple, dans cette phase, les victimes innocentes d'un événement ont tendance à être considérées comme coupables , pour avoir subi un "châtiment", tandis que ceux qui nuisent à autrui sans être punis n'agissent pas mal. C'est un style de raisonnement extrêmement égocentrique dans lequel le bien et le mal ont à voir avec ce que chaque individu expérimente séparément.

1.2. Deuxième étape: orientation vers l'intérêt personnel

Dans la deuxième étape, les gens commencent à penser au-delà de l'individu, mais l'égocentrisme est toujours présent . Si, dans la phase précédente, il n’est pas concevable qu’il existe un dilemme moral en soi, car il n’ya qu’un seul point de vue, il commence à reconnaître l’existence de conflits d’intérêts.

Face à ce problème, les individus de cette phase optent pour le relativisme et l'individualisme, sans s'identifier aux valeurs collectives: chacun défend les siens et travaille en conséquence. On pense que si des accords sont conclus, ils doivent être respectés afin de ne pas créer un contexte d'insécurité préjudiciable aux individus.

2. Phase conventionnelle

La phase conventionnelle est généralement ce qui définit la pensée des adolescents et de nombreux adultes. En elle, on prend en compte l'existence d'une série d'intérêts individuels et d'une série de conventions sociales sur ce qui est bon et ce qui est mauvais, cela aide à créer un "parapluie" éthique collectif.

2.1. Troisième étape: orientation vers le consensus

Dans la troisième étape, les bonnes actions sont définies par la manière dont elles affectent les relations que l'on a avec les autres. Par conséquent, les personnes qui sont au stade de l’orientation par consensus essaient d’être acceptées par les autres et ils s’efforcent d’adapter très bien leurs actions à l’ensemble des règles collectives qui définissent ce qui est bon .

Les bonnes et les mauvaises actions sont définies par les motifs qui les sous-tendent et par la manière dont ces décisions s’inscrivent dans une série de valeurs morales communes. L'attention n'est pas fixée sur la pertinence ou non de certaines propositions, mais sur les objectifs qui les sous-tendent.

2.2. Quatrième étape: orientation vers l'autorité

Dans cette phase de développement moral, le bien et le mal émanent d'une série de normes perçues comme distinctes des individus . Le bien consiste à respecter les règles et le mal à les enfreindre.

Il n’ya aucune possibilité d’agir au-delà de ces règles et la séparation entre le bien et le mal est aussi nette que les normes. Si, à l'étape précédente, on s'intéresse davantage aux personnes qui se connaissent et peuvent manifester leur approbation ou leur rejet de ce que l'on fait, le cercle éthique est plus large et englobe toutes les personnes soumises à la loi.

3. Phase post-conventionnelle

Les personnes qui sont dans cette phase ont comme référence leurs propres principes moraux que, même s'ils ne doivent pas coïncider avec les normes établies, ils s'appuient à la fois sur des valeurs collectives et sur les libertés individuelles, et non exclusivement sur leur propre intérêt.

3.1. Étape 5: orientation vers le contrat social

Le raisonnement moral propre à cette étape découle d'une réflexion sur le fait de savoir si les lois et les normes sont correctes ou non, c'est-à-dire si elles façonnent une bonne société.

On réfléchit à la manière dont la société peut affecter la qualité de vie des gens , et on pense aussi à la façon dont les gens peuvent changer les normes et les lois quand elles sont dysfonctionnelles.

C’est-à-dire qu’il existe une vision très globale des dilemmes moraux, en allant au-delà des règles existantes et en adoptant une position théorique distanciée. Le fait de considérer, par exemple, que l'esclavage était légal mais illégitime et que malgré cela, il existait comme s'il s'agissait d'une chose tout à fait normale entrerait dans cette phase de développement moral.

3.2. Étape 6: orientation vers des principes universels

Le raisonnement moral qui caractérise cette phase est très abstrait et repose sur la création de principes moraux universels différents des lois elles-mêmes. Par exemple, on considère que lorsqu'une loi est injuste, sa modification devrait être une priorité. De plus, les décisions ne découlent pas d'hypothèses sur le contexte, mais de considérations catégoriques fondées sur des principes moraux universels.


les stades du jugement moral selon L. Kohlberg (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes