yes, therapy helps!
The theory of self-determination: what it is and what it proposes

The theory of self-determination: what it is and what it proposes

July 23, 2024

The human being is, by definition, an active being: we are continuously carrying out a great variety of behaviors in order to stay alive, adapt to the environment or develop ourselves in such a way that we can deal with the vicissitudes and needs that arise throughout our life cycle. We use the means at our disposal, both internally and at the level of those available in the media, in order to act.

But ... why do we act? What moves us ?. These seemingly simple questions have led to the elaboration of a great diversity of theories regarding what it is that moves us to act. One of these theories, which actually brings together a series of subtheories about it, is the theory of self-determination . It is about this last one that we are going to talk about throughout this article.


  • Related article: "Dualism in Psychology"

The theory of self-determination: what does it tell us?

It is called the theory of self-determination to a macro-theory developed mainly by Decí and Ryan, which aims to establish to what extent human behavior is influenced by different factors that affect our motivation to act , with special emphasis on the idea of ​​self-determination or ability to decide voluntarily what and how to do it as a fundamental explanatory element.

The main objective of the theory of self-determination aims to understand human behavior in such a way that such knowledge can be generalized to all situations that human beings of all cultures can encounter, and may affect any sphere, sphere or vital domain.


In this sense, this theory focuses on motivation as the main element to analyze , valuing the existence of an accumulation of energy generated by different human needs that will subsequently acquire a direction or orientation towards the satisfaction of those needs.

It must be taken into account that in this sense they are of great importance the personality and the biological and autobiographical elements of the person in question , the context in which their behavior moves and the concrete situation in which it is carried out, being elements that influence each other and that affect the possible appearance of different types of motivation.

Self-determination would be the degree to which we ourselves voluntarily direct our behavior through increasingly internal forces, being the motivation increasingly appropriate to the will and the desire to perform the behavior instead of being mediated by environmental elements that make the realization of the action necessary. We are active beings that tend to develop , grow and seek and integrate the perceived experience both at the level of external and internal elements, given that all this will allow us now and in the future to have resources to meet our needs. It is important, therefore, both what comes from the environment and what is innate and impulsive.


We are before a theory that integrates and part of conceptions of different psychological paradigms, among which behavioral and humanistic stand out. On the one hand, a search for rigorous and scientific information is maintained that explains the mechanisms by which we direct our behavior towards achieving a motivating goal (in a similar way to the behaviorist) and on the other acquiring the vision of the human being as an active entity and directed towards purposes and goals proper to humanistic psychology.

Also, we must bear in mind that this theory has applicability in almost all areas, since motivation is something necessary for the implementation of any type of activity: from academic training and work to leisure, through the relationships.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of motivation: the 8 motivational sources"

Five major sub-theories

As mentioned above, the theory of self-determination can be identified as a macro-theory aimed at investigating the functioning of motivation with regard to the determination of one's own behavior. This implies that the theory itself is made up of a set of different interrelated subtheories in order to work on the subject of motivation and self-determination. These sub-theories are mainly the five that follow.

1. Theory of basic psychological needs

One of the main theories that make up the theory of self-determination is that of basic psychological needs. These needs refer to psychic constructs that the human being needs to be motivated towards behavior, leaving aside the merely physiological components (such as the need to eat or drink).The different studies carried out within this approach have determined the existence of at least three types of basic psychological needs that explain human behavior : the need for autonomy, the need for self-competence and the need for linkage or relationship.

The first of these, autonomy, refers to the need of the human being (and of other beings) to know themselves or to consider themselves as beings capable of influencing through conduct in their own life or in reality. This need implies that the subject sees his actions as something that has a real and palpable effect, that he is able to exercise his will with a certain control over what he does and what it entails: it is more than anything the need to feel free to choose. It is fundamental in the emergence of a personal identity , and in the cases in which it does not develop fully, behaviors of passivity and dependence may appear as well as sensations of uselessness and hopelessness.

The need to perceive one's own competition is in the background linked to the previous one, in the sense that it is based on the ability to control what happens based on their own actions, but in this case it is centered on the belief that we have enough resources to carry out a behavior. It is the belief that we are capable and the sensation of being skillful , that the action we have chosen to carry out autonomously will be able to be put to good use thanks to our ability and have a certain impact on what happens.

Finally, the need for relationship or bonding is a constant in gregarious beings like the human being: we need to feel part of a group, with which to interact in a positive way and establishing mutually supportive relationships.

2. Theory of causal orientations

Another fundamental element of the theory of self-determination is that of the theory of causal orientations, in which it is intended to elucidate what moves us or in what direction we direct our efforts. In this sense, the theory establishes the existence of three major types of motivation: intrinsic or autonomous, extrinsic or controlled and impersonal or demotivated.

In the case of intrinsic or autonomous motivation, it represents that force that motivates us in such a way that the performance comes from internal forces , carrying out the conduct due to the pleasure of doing it. Part of a time when all the basic needs mentioned above are well resolved, at which time we act only based on our will and choice. It is the kind of motivation that implies a greater degree of self-determination and that is more linked to psychic well-being.

The extrinsic motivation, on the contrary, arises from a lack of satisfaction of some of the psychic or physiological needs which are intended to be replaced by the performance of the behavior. We are facing an action that is carried out because this will allow or facilitate a reduction of a lack status. Usually the behavior is considered as controlled in order to satisfy the need . Although there is some self-determination, this is present to a lesser degree than in intrinsic motivation.

Finally, impersonal motivation or motivation is derived from the feeling of lack of competence and autonomy: we believe that our actions do not predict possible changes and have no effect on reality, not being able to control what happens to us or reality. All needs have been frustrated, something that leads to hopelessness and lack of motivation.

3. Theory of cognitive evaluation

The third of the subteories that make up the theory of self-determination, in this case is worked from the premise that the existence of innate and human interests, receiving events that occur in the medium (whether external or internal) a different assessment at the cognitive level and generating different degrees of motivation.

Participates in the subject's life experience, as well as the history of learning about the consequences and effects of their performance with the environment. These interests are analyzed in order to explain the differences in levels of intrinsic motivation , but also how it affects the extrinsic or what aspects or phenomena favor a decrease in motivation. This interest is also derived from the perception of how the interaction with the world allows or not the attainment of basic needs.

In conclusion, we can determine that the theory of cognitive evaluation states that the main elements that predict our interest in different aspects of reality are the sensation and the attribution of control that we perform, the perceived competence, the orientation of the motivation (if is to get something or not) and the situation or external factors.

4. Theory of organic integration

The theory of organic integration is a proposal that aims to analyze the degree and manner in which different types of extrinsic motivation exist, depending on the degree of internalization or assimilation of the regulation of one's behavior .

This internalization, whose development will gradually generate the ability for motivation to stop relying on external elements and born intrinsic motivation, will emerge throughout the development of the self based on the acquisition of values ​​and norms social. In this sense, four major types of extrinsic motivation can be distinguished according to what type of behavior regulation takes place.

First we have external regulation , in which one acts to obtain a reward or to avoid a harm or punishment being the behavior totally directed and controlled by the outside.

With a slightly more internalized regulation, the extrinsic motivation by introjected regulation occurs when, in spite of the fact that the behavior is still carried out to obtain prizes or to avoid punishments, the administration or evasion of these are given at an internal level, not depending on what external agents carry out.

After it we can find the extrinsic motivation by identified regulation , in the beginning to be given a value of their own to the activities carried out (although they are still carried out by search / avoidance of prizes / punishments).

The fourth and last, very close to the inherent intrinsic regulation of the motivation of the same name but which nevertheless continues to be governed by external elements, is the extrinsic motivation that arises through integrated regulation. In this case, the behavior is seen as positive and favorable for the person and in itself and without assessing rewards or punishments, but still not done because it generates enjoyment for itself.

5. Theory of the content of the goals

Finally, and although different authors do not incorporate it into the theory of self-determination, other of the most relevant theories that have an impact on this is the content theory of goals. In this sense, as in motivation, we find intrinsic and extrinsic goals. The first ones are based on the search for psychological well-being and person development , consisting principally of goals of personal growth, affiliation, health and contribution to the community or generativity.

As regards the extrinsic ones, they are our own goals and aimed at obtaining something from the outside of the person and being dependent on the environment: mainly we find needs for appearance, economic / financial success and fame / social consideration. Now, the fact that a goal is intrinsic or extrinsic does not imply that the motivation that leads to it is necessarily the one that shares its adjective: it is possible to have intrinsic motivation to obtain extrinsic goals or vice versa.

Bibliographic references:

  • Ryan, R.M. & Deci, E.L. (2000). The Theory of Self-Determination and the Facilitation of Intrinsic Motivation, Social Development and Welfare. American Psychologist, 55 (1): 68-78.
  • Stover, J.B., Bruno, F.E., Uriel, F.E. and Liporace, M.F. (2017). Theory of Self-determination: a theoretical revision. Perspectives in psychology, 14 (2).

PhD Thesis Proposal - Design of Persuasive Apps Based on Self-Determination Theory (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie de l'autodétermination: ce que c'est et ce qu'elle propose

La théorie de l'autodétermination: ce que c'est et ce qu'elle propose

Avril 22, 2019

L’être humain est, par définition, un être actif: nous adoptons en permanence une grande variété de comportements afin de rester en vie, de nous adapter à l’environnement ou de nous développer de manière à pouvoir faire face aux vicissitudes et aux besoins qui en découlent. tout au long de notre cycle de vie. Nous utilisons les moyens à notre disposition, à la fois en interne et au niveau de ceux disponibles dans les médias, pour agir.

Mais ... pourquoi agissons-nous? Qu'est-ce qui nous touche? Ces questions apparemment simples ont conduit à l’élaboration d’une grande diversité de théories sur ce qui nous pousse à agir. Une de ces théories, qui rassemble en réalité une série de sous-théories à ce sujet, est la théorie de l'autodétermination . C’est à propos de ce dernier dont nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.


  • Article connexe: "Dualisme en psychologie"

La théorie de l'autodétermination: que nous dit-elle?

C'est ce qu'on appelle la théorie de l'autodétermination, une macro-théorie développée principalement par Decí et Ryan, qui vise à établir dans quelle mesure le comportement humain est influencé par différents facteurs. facteurs qui affectent notre motivation à agir , avec un accent particulier sur l’idée d’autodétermination ou de capacité à décider volontairement quoi et comment le faire en tant qu’élément explicatif fondamental.

L’objectif principal de la théorie de l’autodétermination est de comprendre le comportement humain de manière à ce que cette connaissance puisse être généralisée à toutes les situations que peuvent rencontrer les êtres humains de toutes les cultures et toucher toute sphère, sphère ou domaine vital.


Dans ce sens, cette théorie se concentre sur la motivation comme élément principal à analyser , valorisant l’existence d’une accumulation d’énergie générée par différents besoins humains, qui acquiert par la suite une direction ou une orientation vers la satisfaction de ces besoins.

Il faut tenir compte du fait qu’en ce sens ils ont une grande importance la personnalité et les éléments biologiques et autobiographiques de la personne en question , le contexte dans lequel leur comportement évolue et la situation concrète dans laquelle il se déroule, étant des éléments qui s’influencent mutuellement et qui influent sur l’apparition possible de différents types de motivation.

L'autodétermination serait le degré auquel nous dirigeons volontairement notre comportement par le biais de forces internes croissantes, constituant la motivation de plus en plus appropriée à la volonté et au désir de réaliser le comportement au lieu d'être influencé par des éléments environnementaux qui rendent la réalisation de l'action nécessaire. Nous sommes des êtres actifs qui ont tendance à se développer , grandir, rechercher et intégrer l’expérience perçue, tant au niveau des éléments externes qu’internes, étant donné que tout cela nous permettra de disposer de ressources suffisantes pour répondre à nos besoins actuels et futurs. Il est donc important de savoir ce qui vient de l'environnement et ce qui est inné et impulsif.


Nous sommes devant une théorie qui intègre et fait partie de conceptions de différents paradigmes psychologiques, parmi lesquels se distinguent comportemental et humaniste. D'une part, une recherche d'informations rigoureuses et scientifiques est maintenue, ce qui explique les mécanismes par lesquels nous orientons notre comportement vers la réalisation d'un objectif motivant (de la même manière que le comportementaliste) et d'autre part. acquérir la vision de l'être humain en tant qu'entité active orientée vers des buts et des objectifs propre à la psychologie humaniste.

Nous devons également garder à l’esprit que cette théorie est applicable dans presque tous les domaines, car la motivation est un élément nécessaire à la mise en œuvre de tout type d’activité: de la formation académique au travail, en passant par les loisirs, relations interpersonnelles

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de motivation: les 8 sources de motivation"

Cinq théories principales

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, la théorie de l'autodétermination peut être identifiée comme une macro-théorie visant à étudier le fonctionnement de la motivation en ce qui concerne la détermination de son propre comportement. Cela implique que la théorie elle-même est constituée d'un ensemble de différentes théories interreliées afin de travailler sur le sujet de la motivation et de l'autodétermination. Ces sous-théories sont principalement les cinq suivantes.

1. Théorie des besoins psychologiques de base

L'une des principales théories constituant la théorie de l'autodétermination est celle des besoins psychologiques de base. Ces besoins font référence à des constructions psychiques que l'être humain doit être motivé par le comportement, en laissant de côté les composants purement physiologiques (tels que le besoin de manger ou de boire).Les différentes études réalisées dans le cadre de cette approche ont déterminé l’existence de au moins trois types de besoins psychologiques de base qui expliquent le comportement humain : le besoin d'autonomie, le besoin d'auto-compétence et le besoin de lien ou de relation.

Le premier d'entre eux, l'autonomie, fait référence au besoin de l'être humain (et des autres êtres) de se connaître ou de se considérer comme des êtres capables d'influencer par le biais de sa propre vie ou de sa réalité. Ce besoin implique que le sujet voit ses actions comme quelque chose qui a un effet réel et palpable, qu'il est capable d'exercer sa volonté avec un certain contrôle sur ce qu'il fait et ce que cela implique: il s'agit avant tout du besoin de se sentir libre choisir C’est fondamental dans l’émergence d’une identité personnelle et dans les cas où elle ne se développe pas pleinement, des comportements de passivité et de dépendance peuvent apparaître ainsi que des sensations d'inutilité et de désespoir.

Le besoin de percevoir sa propre concurrence est en arrière-plan lié au précédent, dans le sens où il est basé sur la capacité de contrôler ce qui se passe en fonction de ses propres actions, mais dans ce cas, il est centré sur la conviction que nous avons assez de ressources pour mener à bien un comportement. C'est la conviction que nous sommes capables et la sensation d'être habile , que les actions que nous avons choisies de mener de manière autonome pourront être mises à profit grâce à notre capacité et auront un impact certain sur ce qui se passe.

Enfin, le besoin de relation ou de lien est une constante chez les êtres grégaires comme l’être humain: nous devons nous sentir membres d’un groupe, avec lesquels nous pourrons interagir de manière positive et établir des relations mutuellement solidaires.

2. Théorie des orientations causales

Un autre élément fondamental de la théorie de l'autodétermination est celui de la théorie des orientations causales, dans laquelle elle vise à élucider ce qui nous pousse ou dans quelle direction nous orientons nos efforts. En ce sens, la théorie établit l'existence de trois types principaux de motivation: intrinsèque ou autonome, extrinsèque ou contrôlée et impersonnelle ou démotivée.

Dans le cas de la motivation intrinsèque ou autonome, il représente cette force qui nous motive de telle sorte que la performance vient des forces internes , effectuant la conduite en raison du plaisir de le faire. Une partie du temps où tous les besoins de base mentionnés ci-dessus sont bien résolus, alors nous agissons uniquement en fonction de notre volonté et de notre choix. C’est le type de motivation qui implique un plus grand degré d’autodétermination et qui est davantage lié au bien-être psychique.

La motivation extrinsèque, au contraire, provient d'un manque de satisfaction de certains des besoins psychiques ou physiologiques qui sont destinés à être remplacés par la performance du comportement. Nous sommes confrontés à une action menée parce que cela permettra ou facilitera la réduction du statut de manque. Généralement le comportement est considéré comme contrôlé afin de satisfaire le besoin . Bien qu'il y ait une certaine autodétermination, celle-ci est moins présente que dans la motivation intrinsèque.

Enfin, la motivation impersonnelle ou la motivation découle du sentiment d'incompétence et d'autonomie: nous pensons que nos actions ne prédisent pas les changements possibles et n'ont pas d'effet sur la réalité, ne permettant pas de contrôler ce qui nous arrive ou cette réalité. Tous les besoins ont été frustrés, ce qui conduit au désespoir et au manque de motivation.

3. Théorie de l'évaluation cognitive

Le troisième des sous-domaines qui composent la théorie de l'autodétermination, dans ce cas-ci, est basé sur le principe que l'existence d'intérêts personnels et innés, recevant des événements qui se produisent dans le médium (externe ou interne), est différente. évaluation au niveau cognitif et générer différents degrés de motivation.

Participe à l'expérience de vie du sujet, ainsi qu'à l'historique d'apprentissage sur les conséquences et les effets de ses performances avec l'environnement. Ces intérêts sont analysés afin d’expliquer les différences de niveaux de motivation intrinsèque , mais aussi comment cela affecte l'extrinsèque ou quels aspects ou phénomènes favorisent une diminution de la motivation. Cet intérêt découle également de la perception de la manière dont l’interaction avec le monde permet ou non de répondre aux besoins fondamentaux.

En conclusion, nous pouvons déterminer que la théorie de l'évaluation cognitive stipule que les principaux éléments prédictifs de notre intérêt pour différents aspects de la réalité sont la sensation et l'attribution du contrôle que nous effectuons, la compétence perçue, l'orientation de la motivation (si nécessaire). est d'obtenir quelque chose ou non) et la situation ou des facteurs externes.

4. Théorie de l'intégration organique

La théorie de l'intégration organique est une proposition qui vise à analyser le degré et la manière dont différents types de motivation extrinsèque existent, en fonction du degré d'internalisation ou d'assimilation de la régulation du comportement .

Cette internalisation, dont le développement générera progressivement la capacité de motivation pour cesser de compter sur des éléments externes et sur la motivation intrinsèque née, émergera tout au long du développement de soi, basée sur l'acquisition de valeurs et de normes social. En ce sens, quatre types principaux de motivation extrinsèque peuvent être distingués en fonction du type de régulation du comportement qui a lieu.

En premier lieu nous avons une réglementation externe , dans lequel on agit pour obtenir une récompense ou pour éviter un préjudice ou une sanction étant le comportement totalement dirigé et contrôlé par l’extérieur.

Avec une réglementation légèrement plus intériorisée, la motivation extrinsèque par régulation introjectée se produit lorsque, malgré le fait que le comportement est toujours pratiqué pour obtenir des prix ou pour éviter des sanctions, leur administration ou leur fraude sont données au niveau interne, indépendamment ce que les agents externes effectuent.

Ensuite, nous pouvons trouver la motivation extrinsèque par une réglementation identifiée , au début, se voir attribuer une valeur propre aux activités réalisées (bien qu’elles soient toujours réalisées en cherchant / évitant des prix / punitions).

La quatrième et dernière, très proche de la régulation intrinsèque inhérente à la motivation du même nom mais qui reste néanmoins régie par des éléments externes, est la motivation extrinsèque qui découle de la régulation intégrée. Dans ce cas, le comportement est considéré comme positif et favorable pour la personne et en soi et sans évaluation des récompenses ou des punitions, mais pas encore fait parce qu'il génère du plaisir pour lui-même.

5. Théorie du contenu des objectifs

Enfin, et bien que différents auteurs ne l’incorporent pas dans la théorie de l’autodétermination, une autre des théories les plus pertinentes ayant un impact sur celle-ci est la théorie du contenu des objectifs. Dans ce sens, comme dans la motivation, nous trouvons des objectifs intrinsèques et extrinsèques. Les premiers sont basés sur la recherche du bien-être psychologique et du développement de la personne , consistant principalement en objectifs de croissance personnelle, d’affiliation, de santé et de contribution à la communauté ou à la générativité.

En ce qui concerne les aspects extrinsèques, ce sont nos propres objectifs et viser à obtenir quelque chose de l'extérieur de la personne et d'être dépendants de l'environnement: nous trouvons principalement des besoins en apparence, un succès économique / financier et une considération de renommée / sociale. Or, le fait qu'un objectif soit intrinsèque ou extrinsèque n'implique pas que la motivation qui y conduit soit nécessairement celle qui partage son adjectif: il est possible d'avoir une motivation intrinsèque pour obtenir des objectifs extrinsèques ou inversement.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Ryan, R.M. & Deci, E.L. (2000). Théorie de l'autodétermination et facilitation de la motivation intrinsèque, du développement social et du bien-être. American Psychologist, 55 (1): 68-78.
  • Stover, J.B., Bruno, F.E., Uriel, F.E. et Liporace, M.F. (2017). Théorie de l'autodétermination: une révision théorique. Perspectives in psychology, 14 (2).

L’approche socio-écologique (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes