yes, therapy helps!
The theory of the four humors, of Hippocrates

The theory of the four humors, of Hippocrates

October 1, 2022

Psychology is one of the younger sciences, but that does not mean that it has not been developed over centuries, or even millennia.

In fact, some of the big questions he tries to answer started generating theories more than 2,000 years ago. The theory of the four humors, related to the different personality classes that we can find in human beings, is an example of that. It was proposed by the Greek Hippocrates.

The origins of the theory of the four humors

By the fifth century BC, Ancient Greece, which was the cradle of what would become Western civilization, was already beginning to forge theories about why we are the way we are and do what we do. Actually this kind of theoretical proposals had also appeared before in other areas of the planet, but the Greek case was of special importance because there the technical advances of Asia and Egypt were united with the philosophy and the powerful cultural and philosophical activity of the area.


Greece was a region in which knowledge was disseminated in a much freer way than, for example, in the Persian Empire, where the teaching of writing was very centralized and was basically used for trade and administration.

That explains that in just three centuries Ancient Greece could become a reference for the development of philosophy and science (a more embryonic phase). But Greek science, like what happened in other parts of the world, was mixed with religions and a vision of the world still based on old myths. That is what explains the emergence of the theory of the four humors .

What is the theory of the four humors?

Originally, the theory of the four humors, proposed for the first time by the Greek physician Hippocrates, was based on the assumption that the human body is composed of four basic substances (the so-called "humors") and that the equilibria and imbalances in the amounts of these substances in an organism determines the health of this.


These humors corresponded to the elements air, fire, earth and water , that some years before had been indicated by the philosopher Empedocles as the raw materials of everything that exists.

Thus, the theory of the four humors was not isolated from the way in which reality was understood in Ancient Greece, but it was connected with a belief about the origin of the planet and the cosmos in general; supposedly, all reality was a combination of different quantities of these four elements, and from there arose the theory of the four humors. The properties of these four elements, in turn, were reflected in the characteristics of the four humors that according to Hippocrates flowed through the human body.

The different humors according to Hippocrates

And what were these humors? Each of them expresses concrete physical characteristics, in the line of the thinkers of the time, who tried to describe reality from everyday properties and easily identifiable materially. Explained very above, were these:


1. Black bile

Substance linked to the element earth , whose properties were cold and dryness.

2. Yellow bile

Humor corresponding to the element of fire . His qualities were warmth and dryness.

3. Blood

The substance linked to the element of air , whose properties were warmth and humidity.

4. Phlegm

The substance related to water , whose properties are cold and humidity.

The moods and the personality

For Hipócrates and a good part of the doctors who assimilated the theories of the first one during the later centuries, the theory of the four humors offered a basis on which to work in medicine, no matter how precarious . Thus, many treatments for diseases consisted of modifying the diet of the patients so that, by ingesting certain foods, their humoral levels would be balanced. In some cases, bloodletting was performed so that patients lost fluid for the same purpose.

But this basis for medicine was not the only thing that emerged from the theory of the four humors. Some thinkers expanded it to be able to explain not only the health of people, but also the trends of their behavior and their mental life. Among these researchers Galen of Pergamum, a Roman physician and philosopher born in the second century AD. C .

The ideas of Galen

For Galen, the imbalances in the quantities of humors had an influence on the way we think, feel and act . Put another way, their proportions were the basis of people's temperament.In a natural way, each individual has levels of humors that very rarely are fully proportioned, and that is what explains personality differences.

When the black bile humor predominates, for example, he believed that the person tended to be melancholic and prone to sadness and the expression of intense emotions, while in individuals in whom there is a higher proportion of phlegm than the rest of the substances. Temperament would be characterized by its tendency to rational analysis of situations and its ability to remain calm.

The personality types were the following

As we have seen, according to this humoral view of the human being, health was found in the balance of these substances (the logic of the balances between fundamental elements was very frequent at the time). It was believed that some diseases or special situations could cause this disproportion to grow, aggravating the person's health and / or causing their temperament to become more extreme and discordant with respect to the way of being of others.

1. Blood

It corresponded to happy and optimistic people , with a tendency to express their affection for others and with confidence in themselves. It corresponded to the substance of the blood.

2. Melancholic

Temperament defined by the presence of a large amount of black bile, his associated temperament is sad, with artistic sensitivity and easy to move .

3. Phlegmatic

Corresponding to the phlegm humor, the people associated with this temperament would be cold and rational .

4. Choleric

Temperament related to yellow bile, it would express itself in passionate people, of easy anger and with great energy .

The theory of the four temperaments, today

The theory born with Empedocles and Hippocrates and expanded by Galen was one of the pillars of medicine until the Renaissance. Beyond this historical stage, however, it has served as an inspiration to some psychologists interested in the study of individual differences and personality, including Hans Eysenck.

You have to bear in mind that this classification system has no scientific value ; in any case, it can serve to inspire when developing theories and hypotheses that, with time, come to have empirical evidence in their favor.


Hippocrates Galen and the Four Humours (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie des quatre humeurs, d'Hippocrate

La théorie des quatre humeurs, d'Hippocrate

Janvier 17, 2022

La psychologie est l’une des sciences les plus jeunes, mais cela ne signifie pas qu’elle n’a pas été développée au cours des siècles, ni même des millénaires.

En fait, certaines des grandes questions auxquelles il tente de répondre ont commencé à générer des théories il y a plus de 2 000 ans. La théorie des quatre humeurs, liée aux différentes classes de personnalité que nous pouvons trouver chez l'homme, en est un exemple. Il a été proposé par le grec Hippocrate.

Les origines de la théorie des quatre humeurs

Dès le Ve siècle avant notre ère, la Grèce antique, berceau de ce qui allait devenir la civilisation occidentale, commençait déjà à élaborer des théories sur la raison pour laquelle nous sommes comme nous sommes et faisons ce que nous faisons. En réalité, ce type de propositions théoriques était également apparu dans d’autres régions de la planète, mais le cas grec revêtait une importance particulière car les avancées techniques de l’Asie et de l’Égypte étaient unies à la philosophie et à la puissante activité culturelle et philosophique de la région.


La Grèce était une région dans laquelle le savoir était diffusé de manière beaucoup plus libre que, par exemple, dans l'empire persan, où l'enseignement de l'écriture était très centralisé et était essentiellement utilisé pour le commerce et l'administration.

Cela explique que dans seulement trois siècles, la Grèce antique pourrait devenir une référence pour le développement de la philosophie et de la science (une phase plus embryonnaire). Mais la science grecque, comme ce qui s’est passé dans d’autres parties du monde, était mélangée à des religions et à une vision du monde toujours fondée sur de vieux mythes. C’est ce qui explique l’émergence de la théorie des quatre humeurs .

Quelle est la théorie des quatre humeurs?

À l'origine, la théorie des quatre humeurs, proposée pour la première fois par le médecin grec Hippocrate, reposait sur l'hypothèse que le corps humain était composé de quatre substances de base (les "humeurs") et que les équilibres et les déséquilibres du corps humain. la quantité de ces substances dans un organisme en détermine la santé.


Ces humeurs correspondaient aux éléments air, feu, terre et eau , que le philosophe Empedocles avait indiqué quelques années auparavant comme la matière première de tout ce qui existe.

Ainsi, la théorie des quatre humeurs n'était pas isolée de la manière dont la réalité était comprise dans la Grèce antique, mais elle était liée à une croyance concernant l'origine de la planète et du cosmos en général; supposément, toute la réalité était une combinaison de quantités différentes de ces quatre éléments, et de là est née la théorie des quatre humeurs. Les propriétés de ces quatre éléments, à leur tour, se reflétaient dans les caractéristiques des quatre humeurs qui, selon Hippocrate, traversaient le corps humain.

Les différentes humeurs selon Hippocrate

Et quels étaient ces humeurs? Chacune d'elles exprime des caractéristiques physiques concrètes, à l'instar des penseurs de l'époque, qui ont tenté de décrire la réalité à partir de propriétés de tous les jours et facilement identifiable matériellement. Expliqué très haut, étaient ceux-ci:


1. bile noire

Substance liée à l'élément terre , dont les propriétés étaient le froid et la sécheresse.

2. bile jaune

Humour correspondant à l'élément feu . Ses qualités étaient la chaleur et la sécheresse.

3. du sang

La substance liée à l'élément d'air , dont les propriétés étaient la chaleur et l'humidité.

4. flegme

La substance liée à l'eau , dont les propriétés sont le froid et l’humidité.

Les humeurs et la personnalité

Pour Hipocrates et une bonne partie des docteurs qui ont assimilé les théories du premier au cours des derniers siècles, la théorie des quatre humeurs offrait une base sur laquelle travailler en médecine, aussi précaire soit-il . Ainsi, de nombreux traitements pour les maladies consistaient à modifier le régime alimentaire des patients afin que, en ingérant certains aliments, leurs niveaux humoraux soient équilibrés. Dans certains cas, une saignée a été réalisée de sorte que les patients perdent du liquide dans le même but.

Mais cette base pour la médecine n'était pas la seule chose qui a émergé de la théorie des quatre humeurs. Certains penseurs l'ont élargi pour pouvoir expliquer non seulement la santé des personnes, mais également les tendances de leur comportement et de leur vie mentale. Parmi ces chercheurs, Galen of Pergamum, médecin et philosophe romain né au deuxième siècle de notre ère. C .

Les idées de Galen

Pour Galen, les déséquilibres dans les quantités d'humeurs ont influencé notre façon de penser, de ressentir et d'agir . En d'autres termes, leurs proportions étaient à la base du tempérament des gens.De manière naturelle, chaque individu a des niveaux d'humeurs très rarement proportionnés, ce qui explique les différences de personnalité.

Lorsque la bile noire prédominait, par exemple, il pensait que la personne avait tendance à être mélancolique et sujette à la tristesse et à l'expression d'émotions intenses, tandis que chez les individus chez qui il y avait une plus grande proportion de mucosités que le reste des substances. Le tempérament se caractériserait par sa tendance à l'analyse rationnelle des situations et à sa capacité à rester calme.

Les types de personnalité étaient les suivants

Comme nous l'avons vu, selon cette conception humorale de l'être humain, la santé se retrouvait dans l'équilibre de ces substances (la logique des équilibres entre éléments fondamentaux était très fréquente à l'époque). On croyait que certaines maladies ou situations spéciales pouvaient faire croître cette disproportion, aggravant la santé de la personne et / ou rendant son tempérament plus extrême et discordant par rapport à la manière d'être des autres.

1. du sang

Cela correspondait à des gens heureux et optimistes , avec une tendance à exprimer leur affection pour les autres et avec confiance en eux-mêmes. Cela correspondait à la substance du sang.

2. mélancolique

Tempérament défini par la présence d’une grande quantité de bile noire, son tempérament associé est triste, avec une sensibilité artistique et facile à déplacer .

3. Flegmatique

Correspondant au flegme humour, les personnes associées à ce tempérament seraient froides et rationnelles .

4. Choleric

Tempérament lié à la bile jaune, il s’exprimerait en passionnés, de colère facile et avec beaucoup d’énergie .

La théorie des quatre tempéraments, aujourd'hui

La théorie née avec Empedocles et Hippocrate et développée par Galen fut l'un des piliers de la médecine jusqu'à la Renaissance. Au-delà de ce stade historique, il a toutefois inspiré certains psychologues intéressés par l'étude des différences individuelles et de la personnalité, dont Hans Eysenck.

Vous devez garder à l'esprit que ce système de classification n'a aucune valeur scientifique ; dans tous les cas, cela peut servir d’inspiration lors de l’élaboration de théories et d’hypothèses qui, avec le temps, en viennent à apporter des preuves empiriques en leur faveur.


ICONOLOGIE #2 : Les Tempéraments (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes