yes, therapy helps!
The theory of the motivations of David McClelland

The theory of the motivations of David McClelland

July 30, 2022

The theory of the motivations of David McClelland It is one of the most well-known psychological models of human needs, especially in the business and organizational spheres.

In this article, we will analyze the theory of McClelland's three needs and the most significant antecedents for its emergence. We will focus mainly on detailing your contributions on the three types of motivation: membership, achievement and power .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Humanist Psychology: history, theory and basic principles"

Introduction to the psychology of motivation

In the year 1943 the American psychologist Abraham Maslow published in the magazine Psychological Review an article in which he presented his hierarchical theory of needs. This model, popularly known as "the Maslow pyramid", was a fundamental milestone in the evolution of the psychology of motivation.


Maslow defined five categories of needs; from more to less basic, it is about the physiological needs (nutrition, sleep, sex, etc.), security (housing, employment, health), love and belonging (friendship, sexual intimacy), recognition (self-confidence, professional success) and self-realization (creativity, spontaneity, morality).

In the years that followed the popularization of Maslow's model, multiple similar approaches appeared, such as McClelland's theory of three needs, which we will describe next. Many of these models are framed in humanistic psychology, which claimed the tendency to personal growth of the human beings.


The motivation has been a subject little studied by the behaviorism and the orientations that followed it, since they focus on the observable behavior; From this perspective, it is more usual to conceptualize motivation as the incentive value that is given to a reinforcement, although sometimes ambiguous concepts such as the "impulse" are included.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The personality theory of Abraham Maslow"

The theory of the three needs of McClelland

In the early sixties, David McClelland described in his book The Achieving Society ("The Realizing Society") his theory of the three needs. It defines three types of motivations shared by all people, regardless of their culture, gender and any other variable, although these may influence the prevalence of one or other needs.


According to this author, motivations should be understood as unconscious processes, similar to psychoanalytic approaches. That is why McClelland recommends the use of the thematic apperception test by Henry A. Murray , which belongs to the category of psychological evaluation projective tests, in order to assess the needs.

1. Need for affiliation

People with high affiliation motivation have strong desires to belong to social groups. They also seek to please others, so they tend to accept the opinions and preferences of the rest. They prefer collaboration to competition , and they are bothered by situations that involve risks and lack of certainty.

According to McClelland these people tend to be better as employees than as leaders because of their greater difficulty in giving orders or in prioritizing organizational objectives. However, it should be mentioned that they have been described two types of leader: the task, associated with high productivity, and the socio-emotional , specialist in maintaining group motivation.

The importance of the need for affiliation had previously been highlighted by Henry Murray, creator of the thematic apperception test. The same can be said of the needs for achievement and power, which served as the basis for McClelland's proposal.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of motivation: the 8 motivational sources"

2. Need for achievement

Those who score high in need of achievement feel intense impulses to reach goals that involve a high level of challenge , and do not oppose taking risks in order to achieve it, provided it is calculated. In general they prefer to work alone than in the company of other people and they like to receive feedback on the tasks they perform.

McClelland and other authors affirm that the need for achievement is influenced by personal abilities to set goals, by the presence of an internal locus of control (perception of self-responsibility over life events) and by the promotion of independence by parents during childhood.

3. Need for power

Unlike the most affiliates, those in which the motivation of power predominates enjoy competing with others - for that reason to win, of course. Those who have a high need for power value social recognition very much and They seek to control other people and influence their behavior , often for selfish reasons.

McClelland distinguishes two types of need for power: that of socialized power and that of personal power. People who are closer to the first type tend to be more concerned about others, while those who have a high personal power motivation want above all to gain power for their own benefit.

People with a high motivation for power who do not simultaneously have a high level of personal responsibility have a greater probability of carrying out psychopathological externalizing behaviors , as physical aggressions and excessive consumption of substances.

Bibliographic references:

  • Maslow, A. H. (1943). A theory of human motivation. Psychological Review, 50 (4): pp. 370-396.
  • McClelland, D. C. (1961). The Achieving Society. Princeton, New Jersey: Van Nostrand.

McClelland’s theory of motivation (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie des motivations de David McClelland

La théorie des motivations de David McClelland

Janvier 22, 2022

La théorie des motivations de David McClelland C'est l'un des modèles psychologiques les plus connus des besoins humains, en particulier dans les domaines des affaires et de l'organisation.

Dans cet article, nous analyserons la théorie des trois besoins de McClelland et les antécédents les plus significatifs de son émergence. Nous nous concentrerons principalement sur le détail de vos contributions sur la trois types de motivation: adhésion, réalisation et pouvoir .

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Psychologie humaniste: histoire, théorie et principes de base"

Introduction à la psychologie de la motivation

En 1943 le psychologue américain Abraham Maslow publié dans le magazine Examen psychologique un article dans lequel il présentait sa théorie hiérarchique des besoins. Ce modèle, connu sous le nom de "pyramide de Maslow", a été une étape fondamentale dans l'évolution de la psychologie de la motivation.


Maslow a défini cinq catégories de besoins; du plus fondamental au moins fondamental, il s’agit des besoins physiologiques (nutrition, sommeil, sexe, etc.), de la sécurité (logement, emploi, santé), de l’amour et du sentiment d’appartenance (amitié, intimité sexuelle), de la reconnaissance (confiance en soi, réussite professionnelle) et la réalisation de soi (créativité, spontanéité, moralité).

Dans les années qui ont suivi la vulgarisation du modèle de Maslow, de nombreuses approches similaires sont apparues, telles que la théorie des trois besoins de McClelland, que nous décrirons ensuite. Beaucoup de ces modèles sont encadrés dans la psychologie humaniste, qui a affirmé la tendance à la croissance personnelle des êtres humains.


La motivation a été un sujet peu étudié par le behaviorisme et les orientations qui l'ont suivi, car ils se concentrent sur le comportement observable; De ce point de vue, il est plus courant de conceptualiser la motivation comme la valeur d’incitation donnée au renforcement, bien que des concepts parfois ambigus tels que "l’impulsion" soient inclus.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "La théorie de la personnalité d'Abraham Maslow"

La théorie des trois besoins de McClelland

Au début des années soixante, David McClelland décrit dans son livre La société qui réalise ("The Realizing Society") sa théorie des trois besoins. Il définit trois types de motivations partagées par toutes les personnes, indépendamment de leur culture, de leur sexe et de toute autre variable, bien qu'elles puissent influer sur la prévalence de l'un ou l'autre des besoins.


Selon cet auteur, les motivations doivent être comprises comme des processus inconscients, similaires aux approches psychanalytiques. C'est pourquoi McClelland recommande l'utilisation du test d'aperception thématique de Henry A. Murray , qui appartient à la catégorie des tests projectifs d’évaluation psychologique, afin d’évaluer les besoins.

1. Besoin d'affiliation

Les personnes très motivées par l’affiliation désirent ardemment appartenir à des groupes sociaux. Ils cherchent également à faire plaisir aux autres, ils ont donc tendance à accepter les opinions et les préférences des autres. Ils préfèrent la collaboration à la concurrence et gênés par des situations comportant des risques et un manque de certitude.

Selon McClelland, ces personnes ont tendance à être meilleures en tant qu'employés qu'en tant que leaders en raison de leur plus grande difficulté à donner des ordres ou à hiérarchiser les objectifs de l'organisation. Cependant, il convient de mentionner qu'ils ont été décrits deux types de leader: la tâche associée à une productivité élevée et le facteur socio-affectif. , spécialiste du maintien de la motivation du groupe.

Henry Murray, créateur du test d'aperception thématique, avait déjà souligné l'importance de la nécessité de la filiation. On peut en dire autant des besoins de réalisation et de puissance, qui ont servi de base à la proposition de McClelland.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de motivation: les 8 sources de motivation"

2. Besoin d'accomplissement

Ceux qui ont un score élevé dans le besoin de réalisation ressentent des impulsions intenses pour atteindre objectifs qui impliquent un niveau élevé de défi , et ne vous opposez pas à prendre des risques pour y parvenir, à condition que ce soit calculé. En général, ils préfèrent travailler seuls qu'en compagnie d'autres personnes et ils aiment recevoir des commentaires sur les tâches qu'ils effectuent.

McClelland et d'autres auteurs affirment que le besoin d'accomplissement est influencé par les capacités personnelles à fixer des objectifs, par la présence d'un locus de contrôle interne (perception de la responsabilité de soi face aux événements de la vie) et par la promotion de l'indépendance par parents pendant l'enfance.

3. Besoin de puissance

Contrairement à la plupart des affiliés, ceux où prédomine la motivation du pouvoir aiment rivaliser avec d’autres - pour gagner, bien sûr. Ceux qui ont un grand besoin de pouvoir valorisent beaucoup la reconnaissance sociale et Ils cherchent à contrôler les autres et à influencer leur comportement , souvent pour des raisons égoïstes.

McClelland distingue deux types de besoin de pouvoir: celui du pouvoir socialisé et celui du pouvoir personnel. Les personnes les plus proches du premier type ont tendance à se préoccuper davantage des autres, tandis que celles qui ont une forte motivation de puissance personnelle souhaitent avant tout acquérir le pouvoir à leur avantage.

Les personnes qui ont une forte motivation pour le pouvoir et qui n’exercent pas simultanément une grande responsabilité personnelle ont un plus grande probabilité de comportements extériorisés psychopathologiques , comme les agressions physiques et la consommation excessive de substances.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Maslow, A.H. (1943). Une théorie de la motivation humaine. Psychological Review, 50 (4): pp. 370-396.
  • McClelland, D.C. (1961). La société qui réalise. Princeton, New Jersey: Van Nostrand.

THEORY OF MOTIVATION - David McClelland (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes