yes, therapy helps!
The theory of the personality of Ivan Pavlov

The theory of the personality of Ivan Pavlov

January 17, 2022

The Russian physiologist Ivan Petrovich Pavlov (1849-1936) He is known above all for being the initiator of the paradigm of classical conditioning, also called "Pavlovian". However, Pavlov and his followers made other significant contributions to psychology, such as their personality typology based on the study of the nervous system.

In this article we will describe the 4 personality types that exist according to Pavlov's theory , as well as the main concepts of this model, the most important of which are related to the basic nervous processes (excitation and inhibition) and their properties, which determine the behavioral differences between human beings.


  • Related article: "The main theories of personality"

Pavlov's personality theory

Pavlov developed his theory of personality through the experiments he carried out in his laboratory. Specifically, this author investigated the learning of reflex responses by conditioning using dogs as experimental subjects; in relation to these animals, Pavlov's studies on salivation are particularly well known.

Unlike other current personality models, among which the psychoanalytic theory of Sigmund Freud stands out, Pavlov's does not only focus on the description of psychological differences between individuals, but also tries to explain them through the study of the activity of the nervous system, which gives rise to the temperament , the basis of personality.


This is why Pavlov's proposal on personality is framed in biological theories, which uses constructs related to biology to explain individual differences. The somatic typologies of Kretschmer and Sheldon, the phrenology of Gall or more current models such as those of Eysenck, Gray or Zuckerman are part of the same category.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Differences between personality, temperament and character"

Nervous processes and their properties

Pavlov's personality typology is derived from his hypotheses about the basic properties of the nervous system. In this sense it is important to consider two physiological processes, excitation and inhibition , as well as its three main properties: strength, balance and mobility.

Excitatory and inhibitory nervous processes occur independently, although they interact giving rise to different states of cortical activity depending on the degree of predominance of each of them. The definition of these concepts is similar to the one we currently use when talking about the sympathetic and parasympathetic nervous systems.


Pavlov stated that interindividual differences in behavior are explained by the properties of the processes excitatory and inhibitory of each person (or animal). He spoke of "strength" to refer to the general working capacity of neurons, the "balance" between excitation and inhibition and the "mobility" or speed of these processes.

Strength, balance and mobility would be the most relevant properties, but Pavlov also described the irradiation, or diffusion of the process to other areas of the nervous system, and the concentration of it in a certain region. Later his disciple Vladimir Nebylitsyn added a fourth property: the dynamism or speed of reflex formation.

  • Related article: "Iván Pávlov: biography of this reference of behaviorism"

The 4 types of nervous system

According to Pavlov, the characteristics of the fundamental nervous processes in a specific person determine the type of activity of his nervous system, and therefore his temperament. These biological traits would form the basis of personality ; interacting with environmental factors would produce differences in behavior between individuals.

The criteria that Pavlov used to make his classification were quite arbitrary. He first divided the dogs into two groups depending on whether his nervous system was strong or weak. Then he separated the forts according to whether they were balanced or not; Finally, he created the categories "strong-balanced-slow" and "strong-balanced-impulsive".

1. Strong and unbalanced

This type of temperament is characterized by lack of balance between the processes of excitation and inhibition ; There is, therefore, a tendency to the appearance of physiological states in which one of the two predominates in a very marked way.

We can relate the strong and unbalanced personality (or impetuous) with the angry temperament of the typology of the humors of Galen, a Greek physician who lived in the second century AD.and in which Pavlov was inspired. In the Pys model of Eysenck, it would be comparable with high levels of extraversion and low emotional stability.

2. Strong, balanced and slow

In this case the neurons have a good working capacity and the balance between excitation and inhibition is adequate, but the speed of initiation and termination of these processes is low. The strong-balanced-slow type corresponds to introversion and emotional stability in the Eysenck model , and with the phlegmatic type of Galen.

3. Strong, balanced and impulsive

Unlike the previous type, in the strong-balanced-impulsive type the speed of the excitation and inhibition processes is high. Following the classification of Galen we would talk about the sanguine temperament and in Eysenck's, these people would have a high degree of extraversion and emotional stability.

4. Weak

The fourth type is equivalent to the phlegmatic temperament of Galen and would present introversion and emotional instability in the Eysenck model. Pavlov defines it simply as a low working capacity of nervous system cells .


Pavlov Classical Conditioning - Sanjeev Sir Pavitracademy DSSSB, TET, CTET, HTET, REET, UPTET (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie de la personnalité d'Ivan Pavlov

La théorie de la personnalité d'Ivan Pavlov

Mars 4, 2021

Le physiologiste russe Ivan Petrovich Pavlov (1849-1936) Il est surtout connu pour être l'initiateur du paradigme du conditionnement classique, également appelé "pavlovien". Cependant, Pavlov et ses disciples ont apporté d’autres contributions importantes à la psychologie, telles que la typologie de leur personnalité basée sur l’étude du système nerveux.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les 4 types de personnalité qui existent selon la théorie de Pavlov , ainsi que les principaux concepts de ce modèle, dont les plus importants sont liés aux processus nerveux fondamentaux (excitation et inhibition) et à leurs propriétés, qui déterminent les différences de comportement entre les êtres humains.


  • Article connexe: "Les principales théories de la personnalité"

La théorie de la personnalité de Pavlov

Pavlov a développé sa théorie de la personnalité à travers les expériences qu'il a effectuées dans son laboratoire. Plus précisément, cet auteur étudié l'apprentissage des réponses réflexes en conditionnant des chiens en tant que sujets expérimentaux; En ce qui concerne ces animaux, les études de Pavlov sur la salivation sont particulièrement bien connues.

Contrairement aux autres modèles de personnalité actuels, parmi lesquels la théorie psychanalytique de Sigmund Freud, se distingue, Pavlov ne se concentre pas uniquement sur la description des différences psychologiques entre les individus, mais tente également de les expliquer à travers l'étude de l'activité du système nerveux, qui donne naissance au tempérament , base de la personnalité.


C'est pourquoi la proposition de Pavlov sur la personnalité est encadrée par des théories biologiques, qui utilisent des constructions liées à la biologie pour expliquer les différences individuelles. Les typologies somatiques de Kretschmer et Sheldon, la phrénologie de Gall ou d'autres modèles tels que ceux d'Eysenck, Grey ou Zuckerman font partie de la même catégorie.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Différences entre personnalité, tempérament et caractère"

Processus nerveux et leurs propriétés

La typologie de la personnalité de Pavlov est dérivée de ses hypothèses sur les propriétés fondamentales du système nerveux. En ce sens, il est important de considérer deux processus physiologiques, l'excitation et l'inhibition , ainsi que ses trois propriétés principales: force, équilibre et mobilité.

Les processus nerveux excitateurs et inhibiteurs se produisent indépendamment, bien qu'ils interagissent, ce qui donne lieu à différents états d'activité corticale en fonction du degré de prédominance de chacun d'eux. La définition de ces concepts est similaire à celle que nous utilisons actuellement lorsque nous parlons des systèmes nerveux sympathique et parasympathique.


Pavlov a déclaré que les différences de comportement interindividuelles sont expliquées par les propriétés des processus excitateur et inhibiteur de chaque personne (ou animal). Il a parlé de "force" pour faire référence à la capacité de travail générale des neurones, à "l'équilibre" entre excitation et inhibition et à la "mobilité" ou la vitesse de ces processus.

La force, l’équilibre et la mobilité seraient les propriétés les plus pertinentes, mais Pavlov a également décrit l’irradiation ou la diffusion du processus dans d’autres zones du système nerveux, ainsi que sa concentration dans une certaine région. Plus tard, son disciple Vladimir Nebylitsyn a ajouté une quatrième propriété: le dynamisme ou la rapidité de la formation de réflexes.

  • Article connexe: "Iván Pávlov: biographie de cette référence au behaviorisme"

Les 4 types de système nerveux

Selon Pavlov, les caractéristiques des processus nerveux fondamentaux chez une personne spécifique déterminent le type d'activité de son système nerveux, et donc son tempérament. Ces traits biologiques formeraient la base de la personnalité ; l'interaction avec des facteurs environnementaux produirait des différences de comportement entre les individus.

Les critères utilisés par Pavlov pour établir sa classification étaient assez arbitraires. Il a d'abord divisé les chiens en deux groupes selon que son système nerveux était fort ou faible. Puis il a séparé les forts en fonction de leur équilibre ou non; Enfin, il a créé les catégories "fort équilibré-lent" et "fort équilibré-impulsif".

1. Fort et déséquilibré

Ce type de tempérament est caractérisé par manque d'équilibre entre les processus d'excitation et d'inhibition ; Il existe donc une tendance à l'apparition d'états physiologiques dans lesquels l'un des deux prédomine de manière très marquée.

Nous pouvons relier la personnalité forte et déséquilibrée (ou impétueuse) au tempérament colérique de la typologie des humeurs de Galen, un médecin grec qui a vécu au deuxième siècle de notre ère.et dans lequel Pavlov a été inspiré. Dans le modèle Pys d’Eysenck, il serait comparable à des niveaux élevés d’extraversion et à une faible stabilité émotionnelle.

2. Fort, équilibré et lent

Dans ce cas, les neurones ont une bonne capacité de travail et l'équilibre entre l'excitation et l'inhibition est adéquat, mais la vitesse d'initiation et de terminaison de ces processus est faible. Le type fort-équilibré-lent correspond à l'introversion et à la stabilité émotionnelle dans le modèle d'Eysenck et avec le type flegmatique de Galen.

3. Fort, équilibré et impulsif

Contrairement au type précédent, dans le type impulsif fortement équilibré, la vitesse des processus d'excitation et d'inhibition est élevée. Après le classement de Galen, nous parlerions du tempérament sanguin et chez Eysenck, ces personnes auraient un degré élevé d'extraversion et de stabilité émotionnelle.

4. faible

Le quatrième type est équivalent au tempérament flegmatique de Galen et présenterait une introversion et une instabilité émotionnelle dans le modèle d'Eysenck. Pavlov le définit simplement comme un faible capacité de travail des cellules du système nerveux .


Intro to Psychology - Crash Course Psychology #1 (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes