yes, therapy helps!
The theory of the personality of Sigmund Freud

The theory of the personality of Sigmund Freud

August 11, 2022

Sigmund Freud (1856-1939), the founder of psychoanalysis, developed several models to explain human personality throughout his literary career.

In this article we will analyze the 5 theories of Freud on the personality : the topographic, the dynamic, the economic, the genetic and the structural.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 31 best Psychology books you can not miss"

The 5 theories of the personality of Sigmund Freud

Although there are certain contradictions between the personality models created by Freud, in general can be thought of as complementary theories or as updates and developments of several fundamental concepts, for example the drives or defense mechanisms. Let's see what each one of these theories consists of.


1. Topographic model

Freud developed the topographic model during the first stage of his career. It was originally described in one of his key works: "The interpretation of dreams", published in the year 1900. This theory about personality is also known as "First Topical".

The topographic model divides the mind into three "regions": the unconscious, the preconscious and the conscious . In each of these places, which must be understood in a symbolic way, we would find different psychological contents and processes.

The unconscious is the deepest level of the mind. In it are hidden thoughts, impulses, memories and fantasies that are very difficult to access from consciousness. This part of the mind is directed by the pleasure principle and by the primary processes (condensation and displacement), and the psychic energy circulates freely.


The preconscious mind acts as a point of union between the other two sections . It is made up of memory traces in verbal format; In this case, it is possible to know the contents of consciousness through the focus of attention.

Finally, consciousness is understood as a system with an intermediary role between the deepest regions of the psyche and the outside world. Cognition, motor skills and interaction with the environment depend on the conscious mind, which is governed by the reality principle instead of the pleasure, in the same way as the preconscious.

  • Related article: "Sigmund Freud: life and work of the famous psychoanalyst"

2. Dynamic model

The "dynamic" concept refers to a conflict between two forces that occurs in the mind: impulses ("instinctive" forces), seeking gratification, and defenses, which seek to inhibit to the previous ones. From the result of this interaction arise psychological processes, which suppose a more or less satisfactory or adaptive resolution of conflicts.


In this model, Freud conceives the psychopathological symptoms as formations of commitment that allow a partial gratification of the impulses while causing discomfort, acting as a punishment against the behavior of the person. In this way mental health would depend to a large extent on the quality of the defenses and of self-cancellations.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The main theories of personality"

3. Economic model

The fundamental concept of the economic model of personality is that of "drive", which can be defined as an impulse that favors the person to seek a certain goal. These impulses have a biological origin (in particular they are related to body tension) and their objective is the suppression of unpleasant physiological states.

Within this model we actually find three different theories, developed between 1914 and 1920 in the books "Introduction to narcissism" and "Beyond the pleasure principle". Initially Freud distinguished between the sexual drive or reproduction , which leads to the survival of the species, and self-preservation, focused on the individual's own.

Later, Freud added to this theory the distinction between object impulses, directed to external objects, and those of a narcissistic type, which focus on oneself. Finally proposed the dichotomy between the drive of life, which would include the previous two, and the death drive, criticized harshly by many of the followers of this author.

  • Maybe you're interested: "We raffled 5 copies of the book" Psychologically Speaking "!"

4. Genetic model

The Freudian theory about the most well-known personality is the genetic model, in which the five phases of psychosexual development are described. According to this theory, human behavior is governed to a large extent by the search for gratification (or discharge of tension) in relation to the erogenous zones of the body, whose importance depends on the age.

During the first year of life the oral phase takes place, in which the behavior is centered in the mouth; thus, babies tend to bite and suck objects to investigate and get pleasure. In the second year, the main erogenous zone is the year, so that children of this age are very focused on excretion; for this Freud speaks of "anal phase".

The next stage is the phallic phase, which occurs between 3 and 5 years; during this period the famous Oedipus and castration complexes are produced. Between 6 years and puberty the libido is repressed and learning and cognitive development are prioritized (latency phase); Finally, with adolescence comes the genital phase, which indicates sexual maturity .

The psychopathology, more specifically the neurosis, is understood as the result of the frustration of the satisfaction of the characteristic needs of these periods of development, or of the total or partial psychological fixation in one of them due to an excess of gratification during the critical stage.

  • Related article: "The 5 stages of psychosexual development of Sigmund Freud"

5. Structural model

Freud's personality theory was proposed in 1923 in the book The I and the It. Like the genetic model, the structural model is particularly known; in this case the separation of the mind in three instances that develop throughout childhood: the id, the ego and the superego . Conflicts between these would give rise to psychopathological symptoms.

The most basic part of the mind is the id, composed of unconscious representations of the drives related to sexuality and aggression, as well as mnemic traces of the gratification experiences of these impulses.

The Self is conceived as a development of the It . This structure has a regulatory role in psychological life: it evaluates the ways of satisfying impulses taking into account the demands of the environment, it works with both unconscious and conscious contents, and it is in this part of the mind where the defense mechanisms are exercised.

Finally, the superego acts as a moral conscience, censoring certain mental contents, as supervisor of the rest of instances and as a model of behavior (that is, it supposes a kind of "ideal ideal"). This structure is formed through the internalization of social norms , in which the Oedipus complex plays an essential role.

  • Related article: "The id, the self and the superego, according to Sigmund Freud"

Freud's Psychoanalytic Theory on Instincts: Motivation, Personality and Development (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie de la personnalité de Sigmund Freud

La théorie de la personnalité de Sigmund Freud

Octobre 13, 2019

Sigmund Freud (1856-1939), fondateur de la psychanalyse, développa plusieurs modèles pour expliquer la personnalité humaine tout au long de sa carrière littéraire.

Dans cet article, nous analyserons les 5 théories de Freud sur la personnalité : le topographique, le dynamique, l’économique, le génétique et le structurel.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 31 meilleurs livres de psychologie à ne pas manquer"

Les 5 théories de la personnalité de Sigmund Freud

Bien qu'il existe certaines contradictions entre les modèles de personnalité créés par Freud, en général peut être considéré comme des théories complémentaires ou comme des mises à jour et les développements de plusieurs concepts fondamentaux, par exemple les entraînements ou les mécanismes de défense. Voyons en quoi consiste chacune de ces théories.


1. Modèle topographique

Freud a développé le modèle topographique au cours de la première étape de sa carrière. Elle était à l'origine décrite dans l'une de ses œuvres phares: "L'interprétation des rêves", publiée en 1900. Cette théorie de la personnalité est également connue sous le nom de "Premier sujet d'actualité".

Le modèle topographique divise l'esprit en trois "régions": l'inconscient, le préconscient et le conscient . Dans chacun de ces lieux, qui doivent être compris de manière symbolique, nous trouverions différents contenus et processus psychologiques.

L'inconscient est le niveau le plus profond de l'esprit. Il contient des pensées, des pulsions, des souvenirs et des fantasmes cachés auxquels il est très difficile d'accéder depuis la conscience. Cette partie de l'esprit est dirigée par le principe du plaisir et par les processus primaires (condensation et déplacement), et l'énergie psychique circule librement.


L'esprit préconscient agit comme un point d'union entre les deux autres sections . Il est constitué de traces de mémoire au format verbal; Dans ce cas, il est possible de connaître le contenu de la conscience par le biais de l'attention.

Enfin, la conscience est comprise comme un système avec un rôle intermédiaire entre les régions les plus profondes de la psyché et le monde extérieur. La cognition, la motricité et l’interaction avec l’environnement dépendent de l'esprit conscient, qui est régi par le principe de réalité au lieu du plaisir, de la même manière que le préconscient.

  • Article connexe: "Sigmund Freud: la vie et l'œuvre du célèbre psychanalyste"

2. Modèle dynamique

Le concept "dynamique" fait référence à un conflit entre deux forces présentes dans l'esprit: des impulsions (forces «instinctives») recherchant la gratification et des défenses visant à inhiber aux précédents. Du résultat de cette interaction découlent des processus psychologiques, qui supposent une résolution plus ou moins satisfaisante ou adaptative des conflits.


Dans ce modèle, Freud conçoit les symptômes psychopathologiques comme des formations d'engagement permettant une gratification partielle des impulsions tout en causant une gêne, agissant comme une punition du comportement de la personne. De cette façon santé mentale dépendrait dans une large mesure de la qualité des défenses et des auto-annulations.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les théories principales de la personnalité"

3. modèle économique

Le concept fondamental du modèle économique de la personnalité est celui de "pulsion", qui peut être défini comme une impulsion qui incite la personne à rechercher un certain but. Ces impulsions ont une origine biologique (en particulier sont liées à la tension corporelle) et ont pour objectif la suppression des états physiologiques désagréables.

Dans ce modèle, nous trouvons en réalité trois théories différentes, développées entre 1914 et 1920 dans les livres "Introduction au narcissisme" et "Au-delà du principe de plaisir". Au départ, Freud a distingué entre la pulsion sexuelle ou la reproduction , qui mène à la survie de l’espèce et à la préservation de soi, centrée sur celle de l’individu.

Plus tard, Freud a ajouté à cette théorie la distinction entre les impulsions d'objet, dirigées vers des objets externes, et celles de type narcissique, qui se concentrent sur soi. Enfin proposé la dichotomie entre le lecteur de la vie, qui inclurait les deux précédents, et le lecteur de la mort, critiqué sévèrement par beaucoup de disciples de cet auteur.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Nous avons tiré au sort 5 exemplaires du livre" Psychological Speaking "!"

4. Modèle génétique

La théorie freudienne de la personnalité la plus connue est le modèle génétique, dans lequel sont décrites les cinq phases du développement psychosexuel. Selon cette théorie, le comportement humain est régi dans une large mesure par la recherche de gratification (ou décharge de tension) en relation avec les zones érogènes du corps, dont l'importance dépend de l'âge.

Au cours de la première année de vie se déroule la phase orale au cours de laquelle le comportement est centré dans la bouche; ainsi, les bébés ont tendance à mordre et à sucer des objets pour explorer et obtenir du plaisir. En deuxième année, la zone érogène principale est l'année, de sorte que les enfants de cet âge sont très concentrés sur l'excrétion; pour cela, Freud parle de "phase anale".

L'étape suivante est la phase phallique, qui se produit entre 3 et 5 ans. pendant cette période, les célèbres complexes d'Œdipe et de castration sont produits. Entre 6 ans et la puberté, la libido est réprimée et l'apprentissage et le développement cognitif sont prioritaires (phase de latence); finalement, avec l'adolescence vient la phase génitale, qui indique la maturité sexuelle .

La psychopathologie, plus spécifiquement la névrose, est comprise comme le résultat de la frustration de la satisfaction des besoins caractéristiques de ces périodes de développement, ou de la fixation psychologique totale ou partielle dans l’une d’elles due à un excès de satisfaction durant la phase critique.

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 étapes du développement psychosexuel de Sigmund Freud"

5. Modèle structurel

La théorie de la personnalité de Freud a été proposée en 1923 dans le livre Le je et le. Comme le modèle génétique, le modèle structurel est particulièrement connu; dans ce cas, la séparation de l'esprit dans trois exemples qui se développent tout au long de l'enfance: le ça, l'ego et le surmoi . Des conflits entre ceux-ci donneraient lieu à des symptômes psychopathologiques.

La partie la plus fondamentale de l'esprit est le ça, composé de représentations inconscientes des pulsions liées à la sexualité et à l'agression, ainsi que des traces mnémiques des expériences de gratification de ces pulsions.

Le Soi est conçu comme un développement du . Cette structure a un rôle régulateur dans la vie psychologique: elle évalue les moyens de satisfaire les impulsions en tenant compte des exigences de l'environnement, fonctionne avec des contenus à la fois inconscients et conscients et c'est dans cette partie de l'esprit que les mécanismes de défense sont exercés.

Enfin, le surmoi agit en tant que conscience morale, censurant certains contenus mentaux, en tant que superviseur du reste des instances et en tant que modèle de comportement (c'est-à-dire qu'il suppose une sorte d '"idéal idéal"). Cette structure se forme par l'internalisation des normes sociales , dans lequel le complexe d'Œdipe joue un rôle essentiel.

  • Article connexe: "Le ça, le moi et le surmoi, selon Sigmund Freud"

L'inconscient selon Freud - version "musique prise de tête" [Psycotte] #04 (Octobre 2019).


Articles Connexes