yes, therapy helps!
The theory of the perspectives of Daniel Kahneman

The theory of the perspectives of Daniel Kahneman

May 9, 2024

In the field of psychology applied to economic behavior highlights the figure of Daniel Kahneman , an American-Israeli author whose work has focused on the determinants of decision-making in situations where the benefits and losses are uncertain.

This psychologist, in addition to being one of the few who has won a Nobel Prize, is known for his research on limited rationality, in which he questions the idea that the human being is fundamentally rational.

In this article we will see the perspective theory of Kahneman and his usual collaborator, Amos Tversky . This model is one of the main developments of the classic concept of expected subjective utility, very relevant in economics and psychology.


  • Related article: "The theory of limited rationality of Herbert Simon"

Biography and work of Daniel Kahneman

Daniel Kahneman was born in 1934 in Tel Aviv, although he grew up in France at the time that surrounded the Second World War. Later his family moved to Palestine. From his childhood and his youth, Kahneman highlights the relevance of human interaction and complexity in Jewish culture and his own interest in existentialism as fundamental factors in his decision to become a psychologist.

In 1961 he received his Ph.D. in Psychology from the University of Berkeley, California, where he also studied mathematics. Later it would become a key figure in the study of human judgment, in behavioral economics and in hedonistic psychology , a side of positive psychology that focuses on the analysis of pleasure and the aspects that favor or harm it.


In 2002 Kahneman won the Nobel Prize in Economics in recognition of the many contributions to this field that he has made from psychology in collaboration with the late Amos Tversky. His work on decision making in uncertain conditions was especially highlighted. He has also received awards from the American Psychological Association and the Society of Experimental Psychologists, among others.

Kahneman is currently an emeritus professor and senior researcher at the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, part of Princeton University, New Jersey. He is also an honorary member of the universities of Berkeley and British Columbia, as well as of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and other institutions.

The theory of the perspectives of Kahneman and Tversky

The prospective theory of Kahneman and Tversky, also known as theory of prospects or loss aversion, develops the hypothesis of expected utility, a concept of economic game theory that states that people we choose the alternative that we consider most useful among those available to face a specific situation.


According to the theory of perspectives, when there is uncertainty regarding the results we tend to opt for safe rewards to other less likely, although the value of the former is lower.

In addition we give more importance to the reduced losses, although they are improbable, than to the moderate gains; the authors call this "aversion to losses" . Due to our aversion to losses, in case we are presented with two equivalent alternatives, one of which is formulated in terms of profits and another of losses, the most likely option is to avoid the second. In short, we prefer to avoid losses than to make profits.

So, for example, if two financial advisors propose us to invest in the same shares, but the first emphasizes that they have a moderate average return and the second that their profit ratio has decreased in recent years, we will prefer the first adviser's offer.

Kahneman and Tversky claimed that the prospect of losses has a greater emotional impact than the profit perspective and that we tend to perceive the probability of damages as if it were 50/50, regardless of whether it is much smaller.

  • Maybe you are interested: "The 10 main psychological theories"

Main concepts

In addition to the concept of aversion to losses that we have already seen, the theory of perspectives provides two other fundamental aspects: the evaluation relative to a reference point and the variable sensitivity .

The reference point is broadly identified with the average expectation with respect to a certain benefit or cost . This benchmark can be an amount of money, such as the usual price of a good or the salary that we get each month, or any other quantitative indicator.

The concept of variable sensitivity refers to the fact that our sensitivity to losses decreases as the reference point increases . For example, if a kilo of tomatoes costs 60 cents in a store on our street and 50 in another that is 15 minutes away, we probably choose to buy in the second, but we will not make the same effort to save 10 cents in the purchase of a household appliance.

Applications of this model

The theory of perspectives is frequently applied to the economic behavior of people . It is useful to predict behavior in areas such as the psychology of organizations, the game and the economy itself.

This model explains different psychological effects, such as the "status quo". In economics, this term refers to the fact that people often prefer to maintain the current state if we are offered alternatives that do not mean greater satisfaction, as when someone rejects a job better paid than they already have because they accept it. It would imply a change of address and lifestyle.

Also, Kahneman's theory justifies the so-called endowment effect , which makes people give more value than they have objectively to some things for emotional reasons. Following the previous example, it is possible that someone chooses to continue living in their current city because most of their loved ones reside in it.


Daniel Kahneman: "Thinking, Fast and Slow" | Talks at Google (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie des perspectives de Daniel Kahneman

La théorie des perspectives de Daniel Kahneman

Mai 22, 2022

Dans le domaine de la psychologie appliquée au comportement économique met en évidence la figure de Daniel Kahneman , un auteur américano-israélien dont les travaux se sont concentrés sur les déterminants de la prise de décision dans des situations où les avantages et les inconvénients sont incertains.

Ce psychologue, en plus d'être l'un des rares à avoir reçu un prix Nobel, est connu pour ses recherches sur la rationalité limitée, dans lesquelles il remet en question l'idée que l'être humain est fondamentalement rationnel.

Dans cet article nous verrons la théorie de la perspective de Kahneman et de son collaborateur habituel, Amos Tversky . Ce modèle est l’un des principaux développements du concept classique d’utilité subjective attendue, très pertinent en économie et en psychologie.


  • Article connexe: "La théorie de la rationalité limitée de Herbert Simon"

Biographie et travail de Daniel Kahneman

Daniel Kahneman est né en 1934 à Tel Aviv, bien qu'il ait grandi en France à l'époque de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Plus tard, sa famille a déménagé en Palestine. De son enfance et de sa jeunesse, Kahneman souligne la pertinence de l'interaction humaine et de la complexité de la culture juive et son propre intérêt pour l'existentialisme en tant que facteurs fondamentaux dans sa décision de devenir psychologue.

En 1961, il a obtenu son doctorat en psychologie à l'Université de Berkeley, en Californie, où il a également étudié les mathématiques. Plus tard, il deviendrait une figure clé dans l'étude du jugement humain, en économie comportementale et en psychologie hédoniste , un côté de la psychologie positive qui met l’accent sur l’analyse du plaisir et des aspects qui le favorisent ou le nuisent.


En 2002, Kahneman a remporté le prix Nobel d'économie en reconnaissance des nombreuses contributions à la psychologie qu'il a apportées à ce domaine en collaboration avec le regretté Amos Tversky. Son travail sur la prise de décision dans des conditions incertaines a été particulièrement souligné. Il a également reçu des prix de l'American Psychological Association et de la Society of Experimental Psychologists, entre autres.

Kahneman est actuellement professeur émérite et chercheur principal à la Woodrow Wilson School of Public Affairs et International Affairs, qui fait partie de l'Université de Princeton, dans le New Jersey. Il est également membre honoraire des universités de Berkeley et de la Colombie-Britannique, ainsi que de l'Université hébraïque de Jérusalem et d'autres institutions.

La théorie des perspectives de Kahneman et Tversky

La théorie prospective de Kahneman et Tversky, également connue sous le nom de théorie des perspectives ou aversion pour la perte, développe l'hypothèse de l'utilité attendue, un concept de théorie du jeu économique qui stipule que nous choisissons l'alternative que nous considérons la plus utile parmi ceux disponibles pour faire face à une situation spécifique.


Selon la théorie des perspectives, quand il y a une incertitude quant aux résultats nous avons tendance à opter pour des récompenses sûres à d'autres moins susceptibles, bien que la valeur de l'ancien soit inférieure.

De plus, nous accordons plus d'importance aux pertes réduites, bien qu'elles soient improbables, qu'aux gains modérés; les auteurs appellent cela "l'aversion pour les pertes" . En raison de notre aversion pour les pertes, si deux solutions équivalentes nous sont présentées, l’une en termes de bénéfices et l’autre en pertes, l’option la plus probable est d’éviter la seconde. En bref, nous préférons éviter les pertes que de faire des profits.

Ainsi, par exemple, si deux conseillers financiers nous proposent d’investir dans les mêmes actions, mais le premier souligne qu’ils ont un rendement moyen modéré et le second que leur ratio de profit a diminué ces dernières années, nous préférons l’offre du premier conseiller.

Kahneman et Tversky ont affirmé que la perspective de pertes a un impact émotionnel plus important que la perspective de profit et que nous avons tendance à percevoir la probabilité de dommages comme si elle était égale à 50/50, qu’elle soit beaucoup plus petite ou non.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les 10 principales théories psychologiques"

Concepts principaux

Outre le concept d'aversion aux pertes que nous avons déjà vu, la théorie des perspectives fournit deux autres aspects fondamentaux: l'évaluation par rapport à un point de référence et la sensibilité variable .

Le point de référence est largement identifié avec l'attente moyenne en ce qui concerne un certain avantage ou coût . Ce repère peut être une somme d'argent, telle que le prix habituel d'un bien ou le salaire que nous recevons chaque mois, ou tout autre indicateur quantitatif.

Le concept de sensibilité variable fait référence au fait que notre sensibilité aux pertes diminue lorsque le point de référence augmente . Par exemple, si un kilo de tomates coûte 60 cents dans un magasin de notre rue et 50 dans un autre situé à 15 minutes, nous choisirons probablement d’acheter dans le second, mais nous ne ferons pas le même effort pour économiser 10 cents à l’achat. d'un appareil ménager.

Applications de ce modèle

La théorie des perspectives est fréquemment appliqué au comportement économique des personnes . Il est utile de prévoir les comportements dans des domaines tels que la psychologie des organisations, le jeu et l'économie elle-même.

Ce modèle explique différents effets psychologiques, tels que le "statu quo". En économie, ce terme fait référence au fait que les gens préfèrent souvent conserver l'état actuel si on nous propose des alternatives qui ne signifient pas une plus grande satisfaction, par exemple lorsque quelqu'un refuse un emploi mieux rémunéré que celui qu'elle a déjà parce qu'il l'accepte. Cela impliquerait un changement d'adresse et de mode de vie.

En outre, la théorie de Kahneman justifie le soi-disant effet de dotation , ce qui amène les gens à donner plus de valeur qu’objectivement à certaines choses pour des raisons émotionnelles. Suivant l'exemple précédent, il est possible qu'une personne choisisse de continuer à vivre dans sa ville actuelle car la plupart de ses proches y résident.


Prospect Theory (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes