yes, therapy helps!
The Three Strata Theory of Carroll Intelligence

The Three Strata Theory of Carroll Intelligence

January 25, 2022

The theory of the three layers of the intelligence of John B. Carroll proposes that the factor structure of human cognitive abilities is composed of a general intellectual capacity (the g factor), a set of 8 broad skills, such as the speed of mental processing or memory, and a third stratum that would include more specific intellectual skills and dependent on one of the previous ones.

In this article, we will analyze the Carroll model, which today is usually studied and applied in conjunction with the theory of fluid and crystallized intelligences proposed by Cattell and Horn. We will pause in a particular way in the analysis of each of the layers of intelligence that were described by this author.


  • Related article: "The theories of human intelligence"

John Carroll's theory of intelligence

The American psychologist John Bissell Carroll (1916-2003) is known mainly for his contributions in the field of psychometrics around the measurement of phenomena such as intelligence, language skills or academic performance. On the other hand, their theoretical approaches to cognition and language are also very relevant.

In particular, he stresses his theory of the three strata, model based on the results of hundreds of factor analyzes on samples of numerical data that can serve as predictors of intelligence, such as IQ tests or grades obtained in academic assessment tests.


Carroll presented the results of his studies along with his theory of intelligence in the work entitled "Human Cognitive Capacities: An Investigation of Analytic-Factorial Studies," which was published in 1993. In this book he emphasized the distinction between skills related to individual differences and those derived from the quality of education.

At present the theory of the three strata of Carroll is considered complementary to the model of Raymond B. Cattell and John L. Horn (focused on the division between fluid intelligence and crystallized intelligence), which Carroll himself had defended before creating his own. The assimilation of both perspectives into one can be attributed to Kevin McGrew (2012).

  • Related article: "The 8 superior psychological processes"

The three strata of cognitive fitness

The theoretical proposal of Carroll can be included in the category of hierarchical models about intelligence, since it describes three strata that range from the most specific samples of cognitive aptitude to its general aspect, which is specified in the construct "factor g". These skills would have a stable character, according to the author.


Carroll stated that these capacities can probably be attributed to physiological variables . In this sense it is worth mentioning that authors such as Philip Vernon (who elaborated his own theory on the structure of intelligence) and Hans Eysenck have related cognitive aptitudes with the efficiency and quality of neuronal transmission.

  • Perhaps it interests you: "Is the Intellectual Quotient the same as intelligence?"

1. First stratum: primary mental aptitudes

According to Carroll, the lower stratum of the structure of intelligence is formed by the primary mental abilities, which include a large number of cognitive abilities: quantitative reasoning, spelling, visualization , aptitude for foreign languages, discrimination of speech sounds, fluency of ideas, reaction time, etc.

The results of the factor analyzes handled by Carroll and other later authors reveal that each of these skills, which have a high degree of specificity, ponder on one of the complex factors of the second stratum depending on the characteristics of the stimulating material and the overall ability on which they depend.

2. Second stratum: complex factors

At this level we find a set of broad cognitive skills. Originally Carroll proposed the presence of 10 factors in the second stratum, although later research reduced the number to 8:

  • Fluid intelligence: ability to reason and solve problems using new information.
  • Crystallized intelligence: referred to the depth and quantity of acquired verbal knowledge and to the handling of this type of data.
  • General memory and learning: ability to learn in general along with specific skills such as retaining information or recovering it in the short term.
  • Extensive capacity for recovery: includes the skills to manage ideas and associations fluently, both verbally and in images.
  • Visual processing: ability to perceive, analyze, remember and operate with visual stimulation.
  • Auditory processing: ability to discriminate and process sounds, including those associated with speech and music.
  • Broad cognitive speed: refers to the speed to handle stimuli during tests (eg numbers) and to complete them.
  • Processing speed : ability to execute automatic cognitive processes, particularly while maintaining selective attention.

Each of these factors includes various factors of a lower order corresponding to the first stratum. Thus, for example, crystallized intelligence includes reading comprehension, spelling and aptitude for foreign languages, while the capacity for extensive recovery is derived from creativity and fluency tests with different types of material.

3. Third stratum: general intelligence or g factor

The third stratum of the structure defined by Carroll is constituted by the general intelligence factor , a construct known as "factor g" and that is used by a large number of psychologists. This higher order ability would influence all the skills included in the second stratum, and therefore also in the third stratum indirectly.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Intelligence: G Factor and Spearman's Bifactorial Theory"

Bibliographic references:

  • Carroll, J. B. (1993). Human cognitive abilities: A survey of factor-analytic studies. New York: Cambridge University Press.
  • Hogan, T. P. (2004). Psychological tests: A practical introduction. Buenos Aires: Modern Manual.
  • Horn, J. & Cattell, R. (1966). Refinement and test of the theory of fluid and crystallized general intelligences. Journal of Educational Psychology, 57: 253-70.
  • McGrew, K. (2012). Cognitive abilities In D. P. Flanagan & P. ​​L. Harrison (Eds.), "Contemporary intellectual assessment: Theories, tests, and issues". New York: Guilford Press.

Cattell-Horn-Carroll theory - Intro to Psychology (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie des trois strates de l'intelligence de Carroll

La théorie des trois strates de l'intelligence de Carroll

Juillet 21, 2022

La théorie des trois couches de l'intelligence de John B. Carroll propose que la structure factorielle des capacités cognitives humaines soit composée d'une capacité intellectuelle générale (le facteur g), d'un ensemble de huit compétences générales, telles que la vitesse de traitement mental ou de mémoire, et d'une troisième strate comprenant des compétences intellectuelles plus spécifiques et dépendant de l'un des précédents.

Dans cet article, nous analyserons le modèle de Carroll, qui est aujourd'hui généralement étudié et appliqué conjointement avec la théorie des intelligences fluides et cristallisées proposée par Cattell et Horn. Nous nous arrêterons d'une manière particulière dans l'analyse de chacune des couches d'intelligence décrites par cet auteur.


  • Article connexe: "Les théories de l'intelligence humaine"

La théorie de l'intelligence de John Carroll

Le psychologue américain John Bissell Carroll (1916-2003) est principalement connu pour ses contributions dans le domaine de la psychométrie à la mesure de phénomènes tels que l'intelligence, les compétences linguistiques ou les performances académiques. Par ailleurs, leurs approches théoriques de la cognition et du langage sont également très pertinentes.

En particulier, il insiste sur sa théorie des trois couches, modèle basé sur les résultats de centaines d'analyses factorielles sur des échantillons de données numériques pouvant servir de prédicteurs de l'intelligence, tels que les tests de QI ou les notes obtenues lors de tests d'évaluation académique.


Carroll a présenté les résultats de ses études ainsi que sa théorie de l'intelligence dans l'ouvrage intitulé "Les capacités cognitives humaines: une enquête sur les études analytiques-factorielles", publié en 1993. Dans ce livre, il a souligné la distinction entre les compétences liées les différences individuelles et celles découlant de la qualité de l'éducation.

À présent, la théorie des trois couches de Carroll est considéré comme complémentaire au modèle de Raymond B. Cattell et John L. Horn (centré sur la division entre intelligence fluide et intelligence cristallisée), que Carroll lui-même avait défendu avant de créer le sien. L'assimilation des deux perspectives en une seule peut être attribuée à Kevin McGrew (2012).

  • Article connexe: "Les 8 processus psychologiques supérieurs"

Les trois strates de la forme cognitive

La proposition théorique de Carroll peut être incluse dans la catégorie des modèles hiérarchiques d'intelligence, puisqu'elle décrit trois strates allant des échantillons d'aptitude cognitive les plus spécifiques à son aspect général, spécifié dans la construction "facteur g". Ces compétences auraient un caractère stable, selon l'auteur.


Carroll a déclaré que ces capacités peuvent probablement être attribuées à des variables physiologiques . En ce sens, il convient de mentionner que des auteurs tels que Philip Vernon (qui a élaboré sa propre théorie sur la structure de l'intelligence) et Hans Eysenck ont ​​mis en relation les aptitudes cognitives avec l'efficacité et la qualité de la transmission neuronale.

  • Cela vous intéresse peut-être: "Le quotient intellectuel est-il identique à l'intelligence?"

1. Première strate: aptitudes mentales primaires

Selon Carroll, la strate inférieure de la structure de l'intelligence est formée par les capacités mentales primaires, qui comprennent un grand nombre de capacités cognitives: raisonnement quantitatif, orthographe, visualisation , aptitude aux langues étrangères, discrimination des sons de la parole, fluidité des idées, temps de réaction, etc.

Les résultats des analyses factorielles gérées par Carroll et d’autres auteurs récents révèlent que chacune de ces compétences, qui présentent un degré élevé de spécificité, réfléchir sur l'un des facteurs complexes de la deuxième couche en fonction des caractéristiques du matériau stimulant et de la capacité globale dont ils dépendent.

2. Deuxième strate: facteurs complexes

À ce niveau, nous trouvons un ensemble de compétences cognitives générales. À l'origine, Carroll avait proposé la présence de 10 facteurs dans la deuxième strate, bien que des recherches ultérieures aient réduit ce nombre à 8:

  • Intelligence fluide: capacité à raisonner et à résoudre des problèmes en utilisant de nouvelles informations.
  • Intelligence cristallisée: fait référence à la profondeur et à la quantité des connaissances verbales acquises et au traitement de ce type de données.
  • Mémoire générale et apprentissage: aptitude à apprendre en général et compétences spécifiques telles que la conservation ou la récupération d'informations à court terme.
  • Capacité étendue de récupération: comprend les compétences nécessaires pour gérer les idées et les associations couramment, à la fois verbalement et en images.
  • Traitement visuel: capacité à percevoir, analyser, mémoriser et utiliser avec une stimulation visuelle.
  • Traitement auditif: capacité à discriminer et à traiter les sons, y compris ceux associés à la parole et à la musique.
  • Vitesse cognitive large: se réfère à la vitesse à laquelle les stimuli sont manipulés pendant les tests (par exemple, les nombres) et à les compléter.
  • Vitesse de traitement : capacité à exécuter des processus cognitifs automatiques, en particulier en maintenant une attention sélective.

Chacun de ces facteurs inclut divers facteurs d'un ordre inférieur correspondant à la première strate. Ainsi, par exemple, l’intelligence cristallisée comprend la compréhension de la lecture, l’orthographe et les aptitudes pour les langues étrangères, tandis que la capacité de récupération étendue découle de tests de créativité et de maîtrise de différents types de supports.

3. Troisième couche: intelligence générale ou facteur g

La troisième couche de la structure définie par Carroll est constitué par le facteur d'intelligence générale , une construction connue sous le nom de "facteur g" et qui est utilisée par un grand nombre de psychologues. Cette capacité d'ordre supérieur influencerait toutes les compétences incluses dans la deuxième couche, et donc également dans la troisième couche indirectement.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Intelligence: facteur G et théorie bifactorielle de Spearman"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Carroll, J. B. (1993). Capacités cognitives humaines: une enquête sur les études factorielles. New York: Presse universitaire de Cambridge.
  • Hogan, T. P. (2004). Tests psychologiques: une introduction pratique. Buenos Aires: Manuel moderne.
  • Horn, J. & Cattell, R. (1966). Raffinement et test de la théorie des intelligences générales cristallisées et cristallisées. Journal of Educational Psychology, 57: 253-70.
  • McGrew, K. (2012). Capacités cognitives Dans D. P. Flanagan et P. L. Harrison (Eds.), "Evaluation intellectuelle contemporaine: théories, tests et enjeux". New York: Guilford Press.

Ray Kurzweil: Get ready for hybrid thinking (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes