yes, therapy helps!
The top 10 types of sexual orientation

The top 10 types of sexual orientation

January 17, 2022

It is conflictive to talk about the different types of sexual orientations . We already know that defining is limiting, and this becomes especially obvious when what is being defined is something as subjective as the patterns of sexual attraction and the different criteria used to determine whether something is sexually attractive or not.

How to name what we think is desirable? Is not sexuality lived as something linked to specific moments, contexts and moods?

The main types of sexual orientation

What attracts us (or not) of people are not concrete and immutable elements that belong to them and that can be worn like someone who wears a new shirt. We can never say with certainty where the desire that comes from someone in particular comes from, let alone assure that this element will always be attractive to us.


But nevertheless, It is increasingly common to talk about a range of types of sexual orientation that over time is gaining in breadth and variety. It's been a long time since homosexuality has ceased to be the only alternative to heterosexuality, and as a consequence our notion of what sexual orientation is or can be is increasingly complex and full of nuances.

Categories created by science?

The fact that more and more proposals are being formulated to diversify the variants of sexual orientation does not take away the fact that the dichotomy "homosexuality - heterosexuality" continues to have vigor and in many circles people and their inclinations continue to be classified in these two categories. . The reason is that these two concepts have an objective basis: the biological sex of people. The other types of sexual orientation, however, are based on subjective phenomena, for good and for bad .


The denominations or labels to define multiple types of sexuality are not born from the field of psychology or biology, but rather appear as part of a socially rooted initiative (historically linked to movements in favor of equality) to claim and give visibility to ways of living sexuality that are eclipsed by the norm: heterosexuality.

That means that behind the creation of these categories to name the different types of sexual orientations there is no pretense to label each and every one of the variants that we could identify if we put ourselves to it, and neither do we want to find ways of living sex that matches certain organic bases (unusual neuronal connections between certain areas, an atypical functioning of some parts of the brain, etc.).

They are not concepts made to serve the purposes of science, but to achieve a social impact. In particular, what is tried when using these terms is that they are more sensitive to people who tend to live a class of alternative sexual orientation.


Can you talk about the most important types of sexual orientation?

If defining what is and what is not a different kind of sexual orientation is already complicated, it is even more difficult to talk about which are the most important. It is subjective and depends on arbitrary criteria to order sexual orientations of greater or lesser importance and that, in short, they do not tell us anything about whether one is more valid than another.

In this case, I have selected the types of sexual orientation that tend to appear more in the media so that people interested in the subject can begin to inquire.

Types of sexual orientation

Here is an explanation of each of the most studied types of sexual orientation.

1. Heterosexuality

It's sexual orientation defined by the attraction towards people of the opposite sex , exclusively. It is possibly the most common kind of sexual orientation.

2. Homosexuality

Characterized by the sexual attraction directed exclusively towards people of the same sex . Homosexual men are popularly known as gays, while women are lesbians.

3. Bisexuality

Sexual attraction towards people of the same sex and the opposite sex , although not necessarily with the same frequency or intensity in one or the other case.

4. Pansexuality

Sexual attraction towards some people , regardless of their biological sex or gender identity. The difference between pansexuality and bisexuality is that in the second case sexual attraction is still experienced through gender categories, while in pansexuality this does not happen. To know more you can read the article about this sexual orientation.

5. Demisexuality

The demisexuality is described as the appearance of sexual attraction only in some cases in which a strong emotional or intimate bond has previously been established .

6. Lithsexuality

People with this type of sexual orientation they experience attraction to other people, but do not feel the need to be reciprocated .

7. Autosexuality

In autosexuality, the attraction is experienced towards oneself , without this having to be synonymous with narcissism. It can be understood as a way of feeding affection or self-love.

8. Antrosexuality

This concept It serves so that people who experience their sexuality can identify with it without knowing in what category they identify themselves and / or without feeling the need to be classified in any of them.

9. Polysexuality

In this type of sexual orientation you feel attracted to various groups of people with specific gender identities . According to the criterion used to classify, it can be understood that polysexuality overlaps with other sexual orientations such as pansexuality.

10. Asexuality

The asexuality It serves to name the lack of sexual attraction . It is often considered that it is not part of the diversity of sexual orientations, since it is their negation. You can read more about asexuality in this article.


16 TYPES OF SEXUAL ORIENTATIONS! (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 10 principaux types d'orientation sexuelle

Les 10 principaux types d'orientation sexuelle

Mai 21, 2022

Il est conflictuel de parler des différents types d'orientations sexuelles . Nous savons déjà que définir est limitant, et cela devient particulièrement évident lorsque ce qui est défini est quelque chose d'aussi subjectif que les modèles d'attirance sexuelle et les différents critères utilisés pour déterminer si une chose est sexuellement attrayante ou non.

Comment nommer ce que nous pensons est souhaitable? La sexualité n'est-elle pas vécue comme liée à des moments, des contextes et des humeurs spécifiques?

Les principaux types d'orientation sexuelle

Ce qui nous attire (ou non) des gens ne sont pas des éléments concrets et immuables qui leur appartiennent et qui peuvent être portés comme quelqu'un qui porte une nouvelle chemise. Nous ne pouvons jamais dire avec certitude d'où provient le désir de quelqu'un en particulier, encore moins assurer que cet élément sera toujours attrayant pour nous.


Cependant, Il est de plus en plus courant de parler d'un éventail de types d'orientation sexuelle avec le temps, elle gagne en ampleur et en variété. Cela fait longtemps que l'homosexualité a cessé d'être la seule alternative à l'hétérosexualité et, par conséquent, notre notion de ce qu'est ou de ce que peut être l'orientation sexuelle est de plus en plus complexe et nuancée.

Catégories créées par la science?

Le fait que de plus en plus de propositions soient formulées pour diversifier les variantes de l'orientation sexuelle n'enlève pas le fait que la dichotomie «homosexualité - hétérosexualité» continue d'avoir de la vigueur et que, dans de nombreux cercles, les personnes et leurs inclinations continuent d'être classées dans ces deux catégories. . La raison en est que ces deux concepts ont une base objective: le sexe biologique des personnes. Les autres types d’orientation sexuelle, cependant, sont basés sur des phénomènes subjectifs, pour le meilleur et pour le pire. .


Les dénominations ou étiquettes permettant de définir plusieurs types de sexualité ne naissent pas du domaine de la psychologie ou de la biologie, mais apparaissent plutôt comme une partie d'une initiative socialement enracinée (historiquement liée à des mouvements en faveur de l'égalité) pour revendiquer et donner une visibilité à des modes de vie de la sexualité éclipsés par la norme: l'hétérosexualité.

Cela signifie que derrière la création de ces catégories pour nommer les différents types d'orientations sexuelles, il n'y a aucune prétention à étiqueter chacune des variantes que nous pourrions identifier si nous nous y mettons nous-mêmes, et nous ne voulons pas non plus trouver de moyens de vivre sexe correspondant à certaines bases organiques (connexions neuronales inhabituelles entre certaines zones, fonctionnement atypique de certaines parties du cerveau, etc.).

Ce ne sont pas des concepts conçus pour servir les objectifs de la science, mais pour avoir un impact social. En particulier, ce qui est essayé en utilisant ces termes, c'est qu'ils sont plus sensibles aux personnes qui ont tendance à vivre dans une classe d'orientation sexuelle alternative.


Pouvez-vous parler des types d'orientation sexuelle les plus importants?

Si définir ce qui est ou non un type différent d'orientation sexuelle est déjà compliqué, il est encore plus difficile de dire quelles sont les plus importantes. Il est subjectif et dépend de critères arbitraires d’ordonner des orientations sexuelles plus ou moins importantes. et que, en bref, ils ne nous disent pas si l'un est plus valable qu'un autre.

Dans ce cas, j'ai sélectionné les types d'orientation sexuelle qui ont tendance à apparaître davantage dans les médias afin que les personnes intéressées par le sujet puissent commencer à se renseigner.

Types d'orientation sexuelle

Voici une explication de chacun des types d’orientation sexuelle les plus étudiés.

1. Hétérosexualité

C'est l'orientation sexuelle défini par l'attirance envers les personnes du sexe opposé , exclusivement. C'est peut-être le type d'orientation sexuelle le plus courant.

2. l'homosexualité

Caractérisé par le attraction sexuelle dirigée exclusivement vers des personnes du même sexe . Les hommes homosexuels sont populairement connus comme les gais, tandis que les femmes sont lesbiennes.

3. Bisexualité

Attirance sexuelle envers les personnes du même sexe et du sexe opposé , bien que pas nécessairement avec la même fréquence ou intensité dans l'un ou l'autre cas.

4. Pansexualité

Attirance sexuelle envers certaines personnes , indépendamment de leur sexe biologique ou de leur identité de genre. La différence entre la pansexualité et la bisexualité réside dans le fait que, dans le second cas, l'attirance sexuelle est toujours vécue à travers les catégories de genre, alors que cela ne se produit pas dans la pansexualité. Pour en savoir plus, vous pouvez lire l'article sur cette orientation sexuelle.

5. Demisexualité

La démisexualité est décrite comme l'apparence d'attirance sexuelle seulement dans certains cas dans lesquels un lien émotionnel ou intime fort a déjà été établi .

6. Lithsexualité

Personnes ayant ce type d'orientation sexuelle ils sont attirés par les autres, mais ne ressentent pas le besoin d'être réciproquement .

7. autosexualité

En autosexualité, l'attraction est vécue vers soi , sans que cela soit synonyme de narcissisme. Cela peut être compris comme un moyen de nourrir l'affection ou l'amour de soi.

8. Antrosexualité

Ce concept Il sert à ce que les personnes qui vivent leur sexualité puissent s’identifier à elle sans savoir dans quelle catégorie elles s’identifient. et / ou sans ressentir le besoin d'être classé dans aucun d'entre eux.

9. Polysexualité

Dans ce type d'orientation sexuelle vous vous sentez attiré par divers groupes de personnes ayant des identités de genre spécifiques . Selon le critère utilisé pour classer, on peut comprendre que la polysexualité chevauche d'autres orientations sexuelles telles que la pansexualité.

10. Asexualité

Asexualité Il sert à nommer le manque d'attirance sexuelle . On considère souvent que cela ne fait pas partie de la diversité des orientations sexuelles, puisque c'est leur négation. Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur l’asexualité dans cet article.

Articles Connexes