yes, therapy helps!
The treatment of dyslexia: 4 tips for parents

The treatment of dyslexia: 4 tips for parents

February 8, 2023

Dyslexia is included within a broad classification, that of specific learning difficulties (DEA), and is a upset of reading and writing which is characterized by difficulty in understanding written texts , as well as to distinguish or memorize letters or groups of letters, among other problems. Dyslexic people suffer from this disorder despite having an adequate intelligence, good sociocultural opportunities and a correct education.

Dyslexia is a factor that affects the school dropout and it is one of the most common learning problems (it constitutes 80% of the diagnoses of learning disorders). This disorder basically affects the learning of reading but also in writing. More children than girls suffer from dyslexia, and it is common that this disorder occurs along with dyscalculia, dysgraphia or ADHD.


Dyslexic reading is slow and full of inaccuracies, since he makes mistakes with long and infrequent words, although he usually read short and familiar words more quickly.

Causes of Dyslexia

Although there has been a great debate to clarify the causes of dyslexia, most research seems to indicate that has a neurobiological origin , with an important hereditary burden and with a predominance of a phonological deficit that causes learning difficulties in reading.

Symptoms of dyslexia may be different from one person to another, so it seems that there may be different affected brain regions that are involved in the execution of literacy.


Dyslexia treatment

The treatment for dyslexia should include two important agents for the school-age child: teachers and parents .

The work of the teachers is very important since they must carry out a specific educational work for the child. Parents are responsible for providing the necessary emotional support, since dyslexia can have negative effects on the child's self-esteem. Parents are an important figure for proper recovery.

The re-educative work of the teacher must be oriented to the child recognizing the letters through different techniques, exercises of turns or laterality, etc. Therefore, the teaching methodology must be different than that of the rest of the students without dyslexia. It is important that the educator tries that the child is calm and does not feel pressured.

Psychological therapy can also be very helpful, since in many cases dyslexia can cause other problems: anxiety, depression, psychosomatic symptoms and behavioral disorders.


As mentioned, parents have the responsibility of show emotional support and take care of what tasks to do in a child at home . Many times they also need to be educated to be able to intervene in the home, and so that the disorder of their child does not affect them negatively.

Advice for parents

Since parents play an important role in improving their dyslexic children, here are some basic tips when it comes to knowing how to act.

If your child suffers from dyslexia, you should:

Address the problem soon

If you suspect that your child may have dyslexia, you should talk to your family doctor as soon as possible . An early intervention guarantees a better success since the treatment and the school intervention will take the problem in its initial phases, at which time it is easier to solve the symptomatology.

Work with your child's school

A good communication with your child's teacher will help him enormously, since There will be better coordination between two of the educational agents most important to him. Therefore, do not hesitate to explain your concerns to the teaching team and maintain an agile way of contact to keep up with the evolution of the child and the auxiliary support that may be required.

Make time to read

In order for the child to improve his reading ability, he must practice. It provokes situations that stimulate the reading of your child. Of course, you should bear in mind that forcing you too much can be counterproductive because you can generate aversion to reading. Therefore, little by little and without haste, Introduce the habit of reading as something pleasant and desirable , and he will improve as he makes contact with the books.

You can be his example to follow

Try to read something that stimulates yourself so that, in this way, your child sees you as an example to follow. Teach her that reading can be fun. Children do what they see in their parents: if they see you reading and enjoy a book in their hands, is likely to follow your example .


Tips For Parents With Dyslexic Kids (February 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le traitement de la dyslexie: 4 conseils pour les parents

Le traitement de la dyslexie: 4 conseils pour les parents

Janvier 27, 2023

La dyslexie est incluse dans une classification large, celle des difficultés d’apprentissage spécifiques (DEA), et contrariété de la lecture et de l'écriture qui se caractérise par difficulté à comprendre les textes écrits , ainsi que pour distinguer ou mémoriser des lettres ou des groupes de lettres, entre autres problèmes. Les personnes dyslexiques souffrent de ce trouble malgré une intelligence adéquate, de bonnes opportunités socioculturelles et une éducation correcte.

La dyslexie est un facteur qui affecte la décrochage scolaire et c’est l’un des problèmes d’apprentissage les plus courants (il représente 80% des diagnostics de troubles de l’apprentissage). Ce trouble affecte fondamentalement l'apprentissage de la lecture mais aussi de l'écriture. Plus d'enfants que de filles souffrent de dyslexie, et il est fréquent que ce trouble se manifeste en même temps que la dyscalculie, la dysgraphie ou le TDAH.


La lecture dyslexique est lente et pleine d'inexactitudes, car il fait des erreurs avec des mots longs et peu fréquents, bien qu'il lise habituellement des mots courts et familiers plus rapidement.

Causes de la dyslexie

Bien qu’un grand débat ait eu lieu pour clarifier les causes de la dyslexie, la plupart des recherches semblent indiquer que a une origine neurobiologique , avec une charge héréditaire importante et une prédominance d’un déficit phonologique qui entraîne des difficultés d’apprentissage en lecture.

Les symptômes de la dyslexie peuvent différer d'une personne à l'autre. Il semble donc que différentes régions du cerveau touchées participent à l'exécution de l'alphabétisation.


Traitement de la dyslexie

Le traitement de la dyslexie devrait inclure deux agents importants pour l'enfant d'âge scolaire: les enseignants et les parents .

Le travail des enseignants est très important car ils doivent effectuer un travail éducatif spécifique pour l’enfant. Les parents sont responsables de fournir le soutien émotionnel nécessaire, car la dyslexie peut avoir des effets négatifs sur l'estime de soi de l'enfant. Les parents sont une figure importante pour un bon rétablissement.

Le travail rééducatif de l'enseignant doit être orienté de manière à ce que l'enfant reconnaisse les lettres à travers différentes techniques, exercices de rotation ou de latéralité, etc. Par conséquent, la méthodologie d'enseignement doit être différente de celle du reste des étudiants sans dyslexie. Il est important que l'éducateur veille à ce que l'enfant soit calme et ne se sente pas soumis à des pressions.

Une thérapie psychologique peut également être très utile, car dans de nombreux cas, la dyslexie peut causer d’autres problèmes: anxiété, dépression, symptômes psychosomatiques et troubles du comportement.


Comme mentionné, les parents ont la responsabilité de montrer un soutien émotionnel et s'occuper des tâches à effectuer chez l'enfant à la maison . Souvent, ils ont également besoin d’être éduqués pour pouvoir intervenir à la maison et pour que le désordre de leur enfant ne les affecte pas négativement.

Conseils pour les parents

Puisque les parents jouent un rôle important dans l'amélioration de leurs enfants dyslexiques, voici quelques conseils de base pour savoir comment agir.

Si votre enfant souffre de dyslexie, vous devriez:

Aborder le problème bientôt

Si vous pensez que votre enfant peut avoir la dyslexie, vous devriez parlez à votre médecin de famille le plus tôt possible . Une intervention précoce garantit un meilleur succès puisque le traitement et l'intervention scolaire prendront le problème dans ses phases initiales, période à laquelle il sera plus facile de résoudre la symptomatologie.

Travailler avec l'école de votre enfant

Une bonne communication avec l'enseignant de votre enfant l'aidera énormément, car Il y aura une meilleure coordination entre deux des agents de l'éducation le plus important pour lui. Par conséquent, n'hésitez pas à expliquer vos préoccupations à l'équipe enseignante et à maintenir un contact souple pour suivre l'évolution de l'enfant et le soutien auxiliaire éventuellement nécessaire.

Prenez le temps de lire

Pour que l'enfant améliore ses capacités de lecture, il doit s'exercer. Cela provoque des situations qui stimulent la lecture de votre enfant. Bien sûr, gardez à l’esprit que trop vous forcer peut être contre-productif car vous pouvez générer de l’aversion pour la lecture. Par conséquent, petit à petit et sans hâte, Introduisez l'habitude de lire comme quelque chose d'agréable et de souhaitable , et il s’améliorera au contact des livres.

Vous pouvez être son exemple à suivre

Essayez de lire quelque chose qui vous stimule afin que, de cette manière, votre enfant vous voit comme un exemple à suivre. Apprenez-lui que lire peut être amusant. Les enfants font ce qu’ils voient chez leurs parents: s’ils vous voient en train de lire et ont un livre entre les mains, est susceptible de suivre votre exemple .


Comment aider mon enfant à s'exprimer plus clairement? Orthophonie à la carte #3 (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes