yes, therapy helps!
The triangular theory of love of Sternberg

The triangular theory of love of Sternberg

September 17, 2022

The triangular theory of love aims to explain the complex phenomenon of love and loving interpersonal relationships. It was proposed by the psychologist Robert Sternberg, and describes the different elements that make up love, as well as the possible combinations of these elements when forming different types of relationships.

It is considered a useful theory, since helps us to understand this very complex feeling which, in addition to being very important in our lives, is the basis of many of our interpersonal relationships.

  • Recommended article: "The 14 types of couple: how is your relationship?"

Psychology and love

Love and falling in love is a very interesting topic, because it is one of the most intense feelings we can experience. Love affects us in all senses and when we meet that special person, it changes our lives completely. In fact, significantly modifies the way we perceive reality and it makes us make choices in a different way than usual, that we orient our relationships with others in another way, and that we rearrange our priorities about what matters in life.


When we fall in love, the intense emotions and passion that surrounds us affect our mind and body.

Therefore, psychologists, sociologists and doctors have tried to understand and explain it from different points of view (biological, cultural, etc.). In the last decades, Research in this field has been varied, seeking to understand falling in love, love, attraction or lack of love .

  • If you want to know some conclusions of these studies, we invite you to read our post: "Love and falling in love: 7 surprising investigations"

The theory of love of Sternberg

One of the most well-known theories of love is the triangular theory of Sternberg. Robert Sternberg, is an American psychologist, professor at Yale University, widely recognized for his research. Not only has he been interested in love, but intelligence or creativity have also been objects of interest in his research in the field of Cognitive Psychology and emotions. In particular, his contributions in the field of the study of intelligence are well known.


But nevertheless, this character is known for his theory about love and interpersonal relationships and many experts in this field have supported their ideas.

Understanding your theory

For Sternberg, love is composed of 3 qualities that manifest in any love relationship: intimacy, passion and commitment. These elements, in practice, intermingle with each other, but knowing how to distinguish them in a theoretical framework helps us to understand the phenomenon of love and to better recognize its nuances and details. Below you can find a brief explanation about them.

  • Privacy : Intimacy refers to the feeling of closeness, the connection between the two people who are part of the love story, the trust between them, friendship and affection.
  • Passion : This component is the excitement or energy of the relationship. The feelings of physical attraction and the impulse or the need to be with the other person and to have intimate relationships.
  • Commitment : It refers to the decision to continue in the relationship despite the ups and downs that may arise. It includes aspects such as the moments lived, the history of the relationship, etc.

These three elements represent the corners of the pyramid of Sternberg's theory, with intimacy at the highest point and commitment and passion on the sides. Depending on the combinations that occur between these components, the love relationships will be different. For example, in a new relationship, passion predominates over intimacy and commitment.


  • Related article: "Types of love: what different kinds of love are there?"

Possible combinations or types of love

According to the possible combinations, Sternberg says that there are different ways of loving . These ways of loving can be understood in isolation or as stages:

1. Affection

Affection refers to true friendship . There is only intimacy, but there is no passion or commitment. The members of the relationship feel close and trust each other, but there is no desire to have intimate relationships or commitment as a couple.

2. Infatuation

In this way of loving there is a lot of passion, however, there is neither intimacy nor commitment , which makes this type of relationship superficial. It would be a kind of romance but it ends soon or the beginning of a relationship, in which there is much desire to have intimate relationships but there is not enough trust or commitment.

3. Empty love

Empty love is characterized by a high commitment, without passion or intimacy . This is usual in long-term or interested relationships, when there is no trust or intimate relationships, but there is a commitment to be together.

4. Romantic love

Romantic love is a way of loving in which the members of the relationship feel attraction and excitement , and, in addition, they have confidence and closeness. Romantic love has inspired thousands of novels and movies, it is the love that Romeo and Juliet feel. If this stage continues with great experiences together, it could end up causing commitment.

5. Sociable love

It usually occurs in long-term relationships. There is intimacy and commitment, but not passion . It is the kind of love that can manifest itself when the couple lacks desire and excitement towards the other person, but the coexistence, the children and the experiences together keep them together. This relationship may seem satisfactory to members and last a long time.

6. Fatuous love

In passionate love, passion and commitment predominate, but there is no intimacy . Fatuous love can occur because the members of the couple want to be together, because there is the desire and excitement to live intimate experiences, however, they do not have many things in common.

7. Accomplished love

This is complete love. It is formed by the three elements of Sternberg's pyramidal theory. The consummate love is the main love archetype, it is the ideal love and also receives the name of mature love .

  • Do you want to know more about mature love? Visit our article: "Mature love: why is the second love better than the first?"

You have to work the three elements to achieve consummate love

Sternberg talks about "no love" when these three elements are not present in the relationship . The same author affirms that couples with consummate or complete love continue to share the intimate desire and passion at all levels, even after many years. However, Sternberg points out that maintaining consummate love is more complicated than achieving it, so it is necessary for couples to work on the three basic elements of their theory. After all, actions speak louder than words.

The balance between these three ingredients can change as a relationship progresses. However, time alone does not result in high intimacy, passion or commitment. Knowing these three ingredients of love can help actors recognize when they need to improve one of the elements, or it can help them make the decision to leave. Sternberg concludes that without the expression of the three components, even the most authentic love can die .

What happens in our brain when we fall in love?

Many experts say that love is a complex phenomenon, and despite the many investigations that have been conducted so far, there has not always been consensus among researchers. Falling in love, attraction and love are complex experiences in which cultural and biological factors interact.

  • But, What happens in our brain when we fall in love? We answer this question in our article "The chemistry of love: a very powerful drug"

Sternberg's Theory of Love: Intimacy, Commitment, Passion (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La théorie triangulaire de l'amour de Sternberg

La théorie triangulaire de l'amour de Sternberg

Septembre 24, 2022

La théorie triangulaire de l'amour vise à expliquer le phénomène complexe de l'amour et aimer les relations interpersonnelles. Il a été proposé par le psychologue Robert Sternberg et décrit les différents éléments constitutifs de l’amour, ainsi que les combinaisons possibles de ces éléments lors de l’établissement de différents types de relations.

Il est considéré comme une théorie utile, car nous aide à comprendre ce sentiment très complexe qui, en plus d’être très important dans nos vies, est la base de beaucoup de nos relations interpersonnelles.

  • Article recommandé: "Les 14 types de couple: comment va votre relation?"

Psychologie et amour

L'amour et tomber amoureux est un sujet très intéressant, car c'est l'un des sentiments les plus intenses que nous puissions vivre. L'amour nous affecte dans tous les sens et lorsque nous rencontrons cette personne spéciale, il change complètement nos vies. En fait modifie considérablement la façon dont nous percevons la réalité et cela nous oblige à faire des choix d'une manière différente de celle habituelle, à orienter nos relations avec les autres d'une autre manière et à réorganiser nos priorités en fonction de ce qui compte dans la vie.


Lorsque nous tombons amoureux, les émotions intenses et la passion qui nous entourent affectent notre esprit et notre corps.

Des psychologues, des sociologues et des médecins ont donc essayé de comprendre et d’expliquer le phénomène sous différents angles (biologique, culturel, etc.). Au cours des dernières décennies, La recherche dans ce domaine a été variée, cherchant à comprendre tomber amoureux, amour, attirance ou manque d'amour .

  • Si vous souhaitez connaître les conclusions de ces études, nous vous invitons à lire notre post: "Amour et tomber amoureux: 7 enquêtes surprenantes"

La théorie de l'amour de Sternberg

L'une des théories les plus connues de l'amour est la théorie triangulaire de Sternberg. Robert Sternberg, psychologue américain, professeur à l'Université de Yale, est largement reconnu pour ses recherches. Non seulement l’intérêt pour l’amour, mais aussi l’intelligence ou la créativité qui l’intéressent également dans ses recherches dans le domaine de la psychologie cognitive et des émotions. Ses contributions dans le domaine de l'étude du renseignement sont notamment bien connues.


Cependant, ce personnage est connu pour sa théorie sur l'amour et les relations interpersonnelles et de nombreux experts dans ce domaine ont appuyé leurs idées.

Comprendre votre théorie

Pour Sternberg, l'amour est composé de 3 qualités qui se manifestent dans toute relation amoureuse: intimité, passion et engagement. Ces éléments, en pratique, se mêlent les uns aux autres, mais savoir les distinguer dans un cadre théorique nous aide à comprendre le phénomène de l'amour et à mieux en reconnaître les nuances et les détails. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une brève explication à leur sujet.

  • Intimité : L'intimité fait référence au sentiment de proximité, au lien entre les deux personnes qui font partie de l'histoire d'amour, à la confiance qui les unit, à l'amitié et à l'affection.
  • La passion : Cette composante est l'excitation ou l'énergie de la relation. Les sentiments d’attirance physique et l’impulsion ou le besoin d’être avec l’autre personne et d’avoir des relations intimes.
  • Engagement : Il fait référence à la décision de poursuivre la relation malgré les hauts et les bas qui peuvent survenir. Cela inclut des aspects tels que les moments vécus, l'histoire de la relation, etc.

Ces trois éléments représentent les coins de la pyramide de la théorie de Sternberg, avec intimité au plus haut point et engagement et passion des côtés. Selon les combinaisons qui se produisent entre ces composants, les relations amoureuses seront différentes. Par exemple, dans une nouvelle relation, la passion prédomine sur l'intimité et l'engagement.


  • Article connexe: "Types d’amour: quels sont les différents types d’amour?"

Combinaisons possibles ou types d'amour

Selon les combinaisons possibles, STernberg dit qu'il y a différentes manières d'aimer . Ces manières d'aimer peuvent être comprises isolément ou par étapes:

1. Affection

L'affection se réfère à la vraie amitié . Il n'y a que de l'intimité, mais pas de passion ni d'engagement. Les membres de la relation se sentent proches et se font confiance, mais ils ne souhaitent pas avoir de relations intimes ni d'engagement en tant que couple.

2. engouement

Dans cette manière d’aimer, il y a beaucoup de passion, cependant, il n’ya ni intimité ni engagement. , ce qui rend ce type de relation superficielle. Ce serait une sorte de romance mais cela se termine bientôt ou le début d’une relation dans laquelle on souhaite beaucoup avoir des relations intimes mais où il n’ya pas assez de confiance ou d’engagement.

3. amour vide

L'amour vide se caractérise par un engagement profond, sans passion ni intimité . Ceci est habituel dans les relations à long terme ou les relations intéressées, lorsqu'il n'y a pas de relations de confiance ou intimes, mais qu'il existe un engagement à être ensemble.

4. amour romantique

L'amour romantique est une façon d'aimer dans laquelle les membres de la relation ressentent de l'attirance et de l'excitation. et, en plus, ils ont confiance et proximité. L'amour romantique a inspiré des milliers de romans et de films, c'est l'amour que ressent Roméo et Juliette. Si cette étape continue avec de grandes expériences ensemble, cela pourrait finir par provoquer un engagement.

5. amour sociable

Cela se produit généralement dans les relations à long terme. Il y a intimité et engagement, mais pas passion . C'est le genre d'amour qui peut se manifester lorsque le couple manque de désir et d'excitation envers l'autre personne, mais que la coexistence, les enfants et les expériences réunies les maintiennent ensemble. Cette relation peut sembler satisfaisante aux membres et durer longtemps.

6. Amour fatal

Dans l'amour passionné, la passion et l'engagement prédominent, mais il n'y a pas d'intimité . Un amour fatal peut se produire parce que les membres du couple veulent être ensemble, parce qu’il existe le désir et l’excitation de vivre des expériences intimes. Cependant, ils n’ont pas beaucoup de choses en commun.

7. Amour accompli

C'est l'amour complet. Il est formé par les trois éléments de la théorie pyramidale de Sternberg. L'amour consommé est l'archétype principal de l'amour, c'est l'amour idéal et reçoit également le nom d'amour mûr .

  • Voulez-vous en savoir plus sur l'amour mature? Visitez notre article: "Amour mature: pourquoi le deuxième amour est-il meilleur que le premier?"

Vous devez travailler les trois éléments pour atteindre l'amour consommé

Sternberg parle de "pas d'amour" quand ces trois éléments ne sont pas présents dans la relation . Le même auteur affirme que les couples avec un amour complet ou complet continuent à partager le désir et la passion intimes à tous les niveaux, même après de nombreuses années. Cependant, Sternberg souligne que le maintien de l'amour consommé est plus compliqué que sa réalisation. Il est donc nécessaire que les couples travaillent sur les trois éléments de base de leur théorie. Après tout, les actions parlent plus que les mots.

L'équilibre entre ces trois ingrédients peut changer à mesure que la relation progresse. Cependant, le temps seul ne résulte pas en une grande intimité, passion ou engagement. Connaître ces trois ingrédients de l’amour peut aider les acteurs à reconnaître le besoin d’améliorer l’un de ces éléments ou à prendre la décision de partir. Sternberg conclut que sans l'expression des trois composantes, même l'amour le plus authentique peut mourir .

Qu'est-ce qui se passe dans notre cerveau quand on tombe amoureux?

De nombreux experts affirment que l'amour est un phénomène complexe et qu'en dépit des nombreuses enquêtes menées jusqu'à présent, les chercheurs ne se sont pas toujours entendus. Tomber amoureux, attirer et aimer sont des expériences complexes dans lesquelles des facteurs culturels et biologiques interagissent.

  • Mais Qu'est-ce qui se passe dans notre cerveau quand on tombe amoureux? Nous répondons à cette question dans notre article "La chimie de l'amour: un médicament très puissant"

Sternberg's Theory of Love: Intimacy, Commitment, Passion (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes