yes, therapy helps!
The types of unconscious according to Carl Jung

The types of unconscious according to Carl Jung

October 1, 2022

The idea that there is something unconscious in our minds that totally influences how we think, feel and act has seduced hundreds of thousands of people since Sigmund Freud published his first books on psychoanalysis. However, as the current of Freud's psychology heir is very much based on metaphysics, much has been hypothesized about what is the structure of that unconscious structure of the human psyche.

One of the best known explanations in this regard is that of Carl Jung, one of the first followers of the father of psychoanalysis who, however, ended up radically departing from the theories of his teacher. Next we will see what they consisted of the different types of unconscious according to Carl Jung .


  • Related article: "Carl Gustav Jung: biography and work of a spiritual psychologist"

Repressions, pathologies, symbolisms ... Psychodynamics

The current psychology that initiated Sigmund Freud, based on his beginnings in psychoanalysis, is famous for putting much emphasis on a concept called "the unconscious". This unconscious refers to that aspect of the human mind that stays away from the light bulbs of consciousness and that, consequently, it is difficult for us to take into account or even try to modify or anticipate.

However, that unconscious mind referred to by Freud's disciples is not any kind of unconscious (for example, it has nothing to do with the way in which current psychology and neurosciences understand non-consciousness), but rather part of a very specific way of understanding the psyche, deeply based on metaphysics and the analysis of symbols in search of a hidden meaning.


Thus, the descendants of psychoanalysis understand this concept as a set of entities that fight against the forces of the conscious psyche in order to become manifest and come to light. And the symbols and symbolic expressions of thoughts, sensations and memories have a great role: hence, for example, the emphasis that Freud came to put in the analysis of dreams and the result of the free association.

  • You may be interested: "The Theory of the Unconscious of Sigmund Freud (and the new theories)"

Beyond an individual phenomenon

Carl Jung rejected many of Freud's ideas, but in the end he used a conception of the mind that, in the most basic way, resembled that of the creator of psychoanalysis. He also believed in the need to look for symbols and signs of hidden meanings, albeit with a difference; If psychoanalysts understood that the unconscious was fundamentally confined to individuals, Jung proposed the opposite: that the unconscious it's basically a collective phenomenon, like the history of humanity .


How did you get to that conclusion? Through the study of symbologies and religions. As he learned about the different myths and ways of understanding the world of different cultures on the planet, Jung realized that many of these mythical elements had many characteristics in common: symbols, themes and development structures of the mythical stories .

However, the conclusions reached did not remain in the simple recognition of very similar aspects in different cultural elements of virtually all societies, regardless of their degree of isolation from the rest. In addition, Carl Jung defended the idea that these essential elements that can be found in all the mythical tales of the world manifest in dreams of patients with schizophrenia .

From there, this Swiss researcher proposed an idea that, according to him, allowed to answer the question of how it can be that these common symbolic elements appear in all kinds of people, regardless of where they live and if they have known other cultures or not. . There were two types of unconscious: one individual, and another collective .

Carl Jung and the types of unconscious he proposed

The most characteristic idea of ​​Carl Jung's work in comparison to other references of the current of psychodynamics is that for him the psyche of a person is not only a product of his individual personal experiences added to his biological propensities also individual, but that fundamentally works from elements that go beyond the individual.

This emphasis on the collective does not refer to the way in which others influence the behavior of the person when interacting with it; It goes much further. In fact, this "transpersonal" psychological factor has more to do with the history of humanity, that is, what has happened before that particular individual is born.It is a part of the psyche that existed before the individual psyche had the opportunity to begin to exist: hence, for Jung, symbols, myths and religion were of such importance when it comes to understanding the minds of people: they are products of the evolution of humanity as a whole.

So, the types of unconscious according to Jung are the following.

1. Personal unconscious

It has to do with all the repressed and hidden aspects that have arisen from the interaction between the person and their environment (including the people with whom they come in contact). For example, if someone's mother punished him very harshly during his childhood, that leaves a trace in his unconscious.

2. Collective unconscious

The collective unconscious is that kind of unconscious in which Carl Jung puts more emphasis. It contains historical and collective elements that modulate the way in which human beings think, feel and act. Specifically, it includes socially constructed and heritable psychological structures, called archetypes .

  • Related article: "The archetypes according to Carl Gustav Jung"

critics

All the work of Carl Jung has been criticized by both the members of the psychodynamic current and by psychologists and philosophers of science who do not consider themselves Freud's heirs. The latter, in particular, They point out how unreliable it is to rely on your own interpretation to analyze the behavior of people; after all, there is no objectively valid way to interpret symbols.

In any case, the types of unconscious proposed by Carl Jung have had a great influence in the humanities and have been reflected in numerous art forms, so it is interesting to know them


Introduction to Carl Jung - The Psyche, Archetypes and the Collective Unconscious (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les types d'inconscient selon Carl Jung

Les types d'inconscient selon Carl Jung

Janvier 5, 2023

L'idée qu'il y a quelque chose d'inconscient dans nos esprits cela influence totalement notre façon de penser, ressentir et agir a séduit des centaines de milliers de personnes depuis la publication par Sigmund Freud de ses premiers livres sur la psychanalyse. Cependant, comme le courant de la psychologie de Freud est fondé sur la métaphysique, de nombreuses hypothèses ont été émises quant à la structure de cette structure inconsciente de la psyché humaine.

L'une des explications les plus connues à cet égard est celle de Carl Jung, l'un des premiers adeptes du père de la psychanalyse, qui a toutefois fini par s'éloigner radicalement des théories de son professeur. Ensuite, nous verrons en quoi ils consistaient les différents types d'inconscient selon Carl Jung .


  • Article connexe: "Carl Gustav Jung: biographie et travail d'un psychologue spirituel"

Répressions, pathologies, symbolismes ... Psychodynamique

La psychologie actuelle à l'origine de Sigmund Freud, basée sur ses débuts en psychanalyse, est célèbre pour avoir mis l'accent sur un concept appelé "l'inconscient". Cet inconscient se réfère à cet aspect de l'esprit humain qui reste à l'écart des ampoules de conscience et que, par conséquent, il est difficile pour nous de prendre en compte ou même d'essayer de modifier ou d'anticiper.

Cependant, cet esprit inconscient mentionné par les disciples de Freud n'est pas une sorte d'inconscient (par exemple, cela n'a rien à voir avec la façon dont la psychologie et les neurosciences actuelles comprennent la non-conscience), mais plutôt partie d'une manière très spécifique de comprendre la psyché, profondément basé sur la métaphysique et l'analyse des symboles à la recherche d'un sens caché.


Ainsi, les descendants de la psychanalyse comprennent ce concept comme un ensemble d’entités qui luttent contre les forces de la psyché consciente pour se manifester et se révéler. Et les symboles et expressions symboliques des pensées, des sensations et des souvenirs jouent un grand rôle: par exemple, l'emphase que Freud est venu mettre dans l'analyse des rêves et le résultat de la libre association.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "La théorie de l'inconscient de Sigmund Freud (et les nouvelles théories)"

Au-delà d'un phénomène individuel

Carl Jung a rejeté bon nombre des idées de Freud, mais il a finalement utilisé une conception de l'esprit qui, de la manière la plus élémentaire, ressemblait à celle du créateur de la psychanalyse. Il croyait également à la nécessité de rechercher des symboles et des signes de significations cachées, bien qu'avec une différence; Si les psychanalystes comprenaient que l'inconscient était fondamentalement réservé aux individus, Jung proposait le contraire: que l'inconscient c'est fondamentalement un phénomène collectif, comme l'histoire de l'humanité .


Comment êtes-vous arrivé à cette conclusion? A travers l'étude des symbologies et des religions. En découvrant les différents mythes et façons de comprendre le monde des différentes cultures de la planète, Jung s'est rendu compte que beaucoup de ces éléments mythiques avaient de nombreuses caractéristiques en commun: symboles, thèmes et structures de développement des récits mythiques .

Cependant, les conclusions auxquelles on est parvenu ne sont pas restées dans la simple reconnaissance d'aspects très similaires dans différents éléments culturels de pratiquement toutes les sociétés, quel que soit leur degré d'isolement des autres. En outre, Carl Jung a défendu l’idée que ces éléments essentiels se retrouvent dans tous les contes mythiques du monde. manifeste dans les rêves de patients atteints de schizophrénie .

À partir de là, ce chercheur suisse a proposé une idée qui, selon lui, permettait de répondre à la question de savoir comment ces éléments symboliques communs peuvent apparaître chez toutes sortes de personnes, quels que soient leur lieu de résidence et leur connaissance d'autres cultures. . Il y avait deux types d’inconscient: un individu et un autre collectif. .

Carl Jung et les types d'inconscient qu'il a proposés

L'idée la plus caractéristique du travail de Carl Jung par rapport à d'autres références du courant de la psychodynamique est que pour lui la psyché d'une personne n'est pas seulement un produit de ses expériences personnelles individuelles ajoutées à ses propensions biologiques aussi individuelles, mais fonctionne fondamentalement à partir d'éléments qui vont au-delà de l'individu.

Cet accent mis sur le collectif ne fait pas référence à la manière dont les autres influencent le comportement de la personne lors de ses interactions; Cela va beaucoup plus loin. En fait, ce facteur psychologique «transpersonnel» a plus à voir avec l'histoire de l'humanité, c'est-à-dire ce qui s'est passé avant la naissance de cet individu.C'est une partie de la psyché qui existait avant que la psyché individuelle ait eu l'occasion de commencer à exister: par conséquent, pour Jung, les symboles, les mythes et la religion étaient d'une telle importance lorsqu'il s'agit de comprendre l'esprit des gens: ce sont des produits de l'évolution de l'humanité dans son ensemble.

Ainsi, les types d’inconscient selon Jung sont les suivants.

1. Inconscient personnel

Cela a à voir avec tous les aspects refoulés et cachés qui ont surgi de l'interaction entre la personne et son environnement (y compris les personnes avec lesquelles ils entrent en contact). Par exemple, si une mère l'a puni très durement pendant son enfance, cela laisse une trace dans son inconscient.

2. inconscient collectif

L'inconscient collectif est ce genre d'inconscient dans lequel Carl Jung met plus d'emphase. Il contient des éléments historiques et collectifs qui modulent la manière dont les êtres humains pensent, ressentent et agissent. Plus précisément, il comprend structures psychologiques socialement construites et héréditaires, appelées archétypes .

  • Article connexe: "Les archétypes selon Carl Gustav Jung"

Les avis

Tous les travaux de Carl Jung ont été critiqués à la fois par les membres du courant psychodynamique et par les psychologues et philosophes des sciences qui ne se considèrent pas comme les héritiers de Freud. Ce dernier, en particulier, Ils soulignent à quel point il est peu fiable de s’appuyer sur sa propre interprétation analyser le comportement des personnes; Après tout, il n’existe pas de moyen objectivement valide d’interpréter les symboles.

Quoi qu’il en soit, les types d’inconscient proposés par Carl Jung ont eu une grande influence sur les sciences humaines et se sont reflétés dans de nombreuses formes d’art. Il est donc intéressant de les connaître.


Les archétypes et l'inconscient collectif (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes