yes, therapy helps!
The unconscious and the smells

The unconscious and the smells

June 13, 2024

The trace of odors in the human unconscious

Like Gregory Samsa, Stephen D. woke up one day having undergone a metamorphosis. That morning, possibly due to the recent consumption of amphetamines, the smell took the reins of his entire perceptive world . And this was what defined this young man's life during the following days: an incredible sensitivity towards aromas. The exaltation of his smell made everything he noticed around him fragrant notes and, while retaining the rest of his senses, all seemed to have lost importance under the rule of the nasal.

For the first time, Stephen D. had the need to smell everything, identify people by their smell before seeing them and recognize the moods of their peers without looking at them. Not only did he become much more sensitive to all smells: all the layers of the real became powerful olfactory stimuli. In addition, this metamorphosis also meant entering into a reality in which a strong emotionality dyed everything , making the here and now come to the fore while the abstract thought dwarfed to dissolve in that rich range of sensations.


Unfortunately, after three weeks everything returned to normal. The loss of this gift, as abrupt as his arrival, and was a strong emotional blow. Once opened the door to a world of pure perception was difficult to give up those feelings.

These events, narrated by Oliver Sacks in a chapter called The dog under the skin, are presented as true by the author (Sacks, 2010/1985). However, to most of us this could seem like an almost alien story, something that has little or no relation to our daily experience. In general, we believe that smell is something like the poor brother of the five senses . This is true up to a point.



Smell, emotionality and unconscious

All our life seems to have audiovisual format : both our leisure time and the people with whom we relate and the situations in which we are involved are defined by what we can see and hear. However, the story of Stephen D. has a particularity that questions this rule: this young man increases his sensitivity to smells due to the effects of a drug, but the large structures of his body do not undergo any transformation.

Neither his nose is enlarged nor his brain transformed into that of a dog, and the changes appear and disappear very quickly, suggesting that they are due to a relatively superficial alteration. Simply, your nervous system works differently for three weeks on the brain mechanisms that already exist.

Perhaps everything is explained because, in the case of Stephen, some processes that normally remain unconscious came to make the leap towards consciousness. Maybe, even if we do not realize, we all have a dog under our skin, an unconscious part of us that reacts to odors beyond our control.


Scientific evidence seems to support this perspective. Today we know that the sense of smell is of crucial importance in our lives, even though we do not realize it. For example, it has been proven that odor is a potent trigger of memories associated with each of the fragrances, and that this happens regardless of our willingness to remember something. In addition, the experiences that the scents bring us to memory are much more emotional than the memories evoked by images or words (Herz, R. S., 2002). This happens with a wide variety of smells.

However, it may be that the most interesting repertoire of reactions we have to the smell is when that smell comes from another human being. At the end of the day, the information that other people provide us is as important, if not more so, than that which can provide us with a mature pear, cut grass or a plate of macaroni. If we want to understand how communication between people works based on smell, we have to talk about pheromones and of smells signature .


Invisible communication

A pheromone is a chemical signal emitted by an individual and alters the behavior or psychological disposition of another individual (Luscher and Karlson, 1959). They are chemical signals defined by each species in particular and that produce instinctive reactions. Smells signature, on the other hand, serve to identify each specific member of the species and are based on the recognition of odors previously experienced (Vaglio, 2009). Both occur everywhere in many forms of life, and the case of humans does not seem to be an exception.

Although the human species is not as sensitive to odors as other mammals (a sample of this is that our nose has flattened drastically, leading to fewer olfactory receptors), our body is able to know aspects of other people such as his identity, his emotional state or other aspects of his psychology from these "traces" that we are leaving through the air.

For example, in a 2012 study it was proven how people can get to be emotionally synchronized through the smell they emit. During the experiment, a number of men were exposed to two types of film: one of them was scary, and the other showed repulsive images. While this was happening, samples of the sweat of these participants were collected (in general, it must have been a very disturbing experience). Once this was done, these samples of sweat were exposed to a group of women volunteers and their reactions were taxed: those who smelled sweat segregated during the vision of the fear film showed a facial gestures associated with fear, while the language of the face of those who smelled the rest of the samples expressed disgust (de Groot et al, 2012).

Despite this, it is possible that the most important property of these odor traces is their ability to influence our reproductive behavior. The olfactory acuity in both men and women increases when reaching puberty (Velle, 1978), and in the case of women this ability to perceive smells fluctuates with their menstrual cycle (Schneider and Wolf, 1955), so the relationship between sexual behavior and smell It is obvious. It seems that men and women judge the attractiveness of people in part because of their smell, because it provides relevant information about the internal state of our bodies, an area over which sight and hearing can not contribute much (Schaal & Porter, 1991).

Women, for example, seem to tend to prefer couples with a repertoire of immune responses different from their own, perhaps to breed offspring with a good list of antibodies (Wedekind, 1995), and they are guided by smell to receive this type of data. Beyond the search for a partner, in addition, mothers can differentiate the signature smell of their babies two days postpartum (Russell, 1983). Babies, on their part, already from the first months of life are able to recognize their mother by smell (Schaal et al, 1980).


The explanation

How is it possible for smell to influence our behavior so much without our noticing it? The answer lies in the disposition of our brain. Keep in mind that the parts of the brain responsible for processing information about the chemical signals that surround us are very old in our evolutionary history, and therefore appeared much earlier than the structures associated with abstract thinking. Both the smell and taste are directly connected to the lower part of the limbic system (the "emotional" area of ​​the brain), unlike the other senses, which first pass through the thalamus and are therefore more accessible by conscious thought (Goodspeed et al, 1987) (Lehrer, 2010/2007).

For this reason the chemical signals that we receive through the nose act drastically on the emotional tone regulation , even if we do not realize it, and that's why smells are a unique way to affect the mood of people even if they do not realize it. In addition, since the hippocampus is included in the limbic system (a structure associated with memories), the signals collected by the nose easily evoke experiences already lived, and they do so accompanying this memory with a great emotional charge .

All this means, of course, that theoretically some type of handling about the rest of the people without them being able to do much to control their own feelings and psychological dispositions. The clearest example of this principle of manipulation is found, of course, in bakeries. Let's hope that the big television and computer manufacturers take a little longer to discover it.

Bibliographic references:

  • de Groot, J. H. B., Smeets, M.A.M., Kaldewaij, A., Duijndam, M.J.A. and Semin, G.R. (2012). Chemosignals Communicate Human Emotions. Psychological Science, 23 (11), pp. 1417-1424.
  • Goodspeed, R. B., Gent J. F. and Catalanotto, F. A. (1987). Chemosensory dysfunction: clinical evaluation results from a taste and smell clinic. Postgraduate Medicine81, pp. 251-260.
  • Herz, R. S. and Schooler, J. W. (2002). A naturalistic study of autobiographical memories evoked by olfactory and visual cues: testing the Proustian hypothesis. American Journal of Psychology, 115, pp. 21 - 32.
  • Luscher, M and Karlson, P. (1959). "Pheromones": a new term for a class of biologically active substances. Nature, 183, pp. 55-56.
  • Russell, M. J. (1983). Human olfactory communications. In D. Müller-Schwarze and R. M. Silverstein, (Eds.), Chemical Signals in Vertebrates 3. London: Plenum Press.
  • Sacks, O. (2010). The man who confused his wife with a hat. Barcelona: Anagram. (Originally published in 1985).
  • Schaal, B., Motagner, H., Hertling, E., Bolzoni, D., Moyse, R. and Quinchon, R. (1980). Les stimulations olfactives dans les relations between l'enfant et la mere. Reproduction Nutrition Development, 20, pp. 843-858.
  • Schaal, B.and Porter, R. H. (1991). "Microsmatic Humans" revisited: the generation and perception of chemical signals. Advances in the Study of Behavior, 20, pp. 474-482.
  • Schneider, R. A. and Wolf, S. (1955). Olfactory perception thresholds for citral using a new type of olfactorium. Applied Physiology, 8, pp. 337-342.
  • Vaglio, S. (2009). Chemical communication and mother-infant recognition. Communicative & Integrative Biology, 2 (3), pp. 279-281.
  • Velle, W. (1978). Sex differences in sensory functions. Psychological Bulletin, 85, pp. 810 - 830.
  • Wedekind, C., Seebeck, T., Bettens, F. and Paepke, A. J. (1995). MHC-dependent mate preferences in humans. Proceedings of the Royal Society of London B, 260, pp. 245-249.

The Power of Scent - How smell impacts human behaviour in public washrooms (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'inconscient et les odeurs

L'inconscient et les odeurs

Juin 26, 2022

La trace d'odeurs dans l'inconscient humain

Comme Gregory Samsa, Stephen D. s'est réveillé un jour après avoir subi une métamorphose. Ce matin, peut-être en raison de la consommation récente d'amphétamines, l'odeur a pris les rênes de tout son monde perceptif . Et c’est ce qui a défini la vie de ce jeune homme au cours des jours suivants: une incroyable sensibilité aux arômes. L'exaltation de son odeur faisait tout ce qu'il remarquait autour de lui avec des notes parfumées et, tout en conservant le reste de ses sens, toutes semblaient avoir perdu de l'importance sous le règne du nasal.

Pour la première fois, Stephen D. avait le besoin de tout sentir, d’identifier les personnes avant de les voir et de reconnaître l’humeur de leurs pairs sans les regarder. Non seulement il devint beaucoup plus sensible à toutes les odeurs: toutes les couches du réel devinrent de puissants stimuli olfactifs. De plus, cette métamorphose signifiait aussi entrer dans une réalité dans laquelle une forte émotion a tout teint , en mettant en évidence l'ici et le maintenant, tandis que la pensée abstraite parvient à se dissoudre dans ce riche éventail de sensations.


Malheureusement, après trois semaines, tout est revenu à la normale. La perte de ce cadeau, aussi brusque que son arrivée, fut un coup dur pour l'émotion. Une fois ouvert la porte à un monde de pure perception, il était difficile d’abandonner ces sentiments.

Ces événements, relatés par Oliver Sacks dans un chapitre intitulé Le chien sous la peau, sont présentés comme vrais par l'auteur (Sacks, 2010/1985). Cependant, pour la plupart d'entre nous, cela pourrait sembler une histoire presque étrangère, quelque chose qui n'a que peu ou pas de relation avec notre expérience quotidienne. En général, nous croyons que l'odeur ressemble au pauvre frère des cinq sens . C'est vrai jusqu'à un certain point.



Odeur, émotivité et inconscient

Toute notre vie semble avoir format audiovisuel : ce que nous pouvons voir et entendre définit à la fois notre temps de loisirs et les personnes avec lesquelles nous sommes en relation et les situations dans lesquelles nous sommes impliqués. Cependant, l'histoire de Stephen D. a une particularité qui remet en question cette règle: ce jeune homme augmente sa sensibilité aux odeurs en raison des effets d'une drogue, mais les grandes structures de son corps ne subissent aucune transformation.

Ni son nez n'est élargi ni son cerveau transformé en celui d'un chien, et les changements apparaissent et disparaissent très rapidement, ce qui suggère qu'ils sont dus à une altération relativement superficielle. Simplement, votre système nerveux fonctionne différemment pendant trois semaines sur les mécanismes cérébraux déjà existants.

Peut-être que tout s’explique parce que, dans le cas de Stephen, certains processus qui restent normalement inconscients sont venus faire le saut vers la conscience. Peut-être que, même si nous ne le réalisons pas, nous avons tous un chien sous la peau, une partie inconsciente de nous qui réagit aux odeurs hors de notre contrôle.


Les preuves scientifiques semblent appuyer cette perspective. Aujourd'hui, nous savons que l'odorat est d'une importance cruciale dans nos vies, même si nous ne le réalisons pas. Par exemple, il a été prouvé que l’odeur était un puissant déclencheur de des souvenirs associé à chacun des parfums, et que cela se produit indépendamment de notre volonté de nous souvenir de quelque chose. De plus, les expériences que les odeurs nous rappellent sont beaucoup plus émotionnelles que les souvenirs évoqués par des images ou des mots (Herz, R. S., 2002). Cela se produit avec une grande variété d'odeurs.

Cependant, il se peut que le répertoire de réactions le plus intéressant que nous ayons à l’odeur soit lorsque cette odeur provient d’un autre être humain. En fin de compte, les informations que nous fournissent d’autres personnes sont aussi importantes, sinon plus, que celles qui peuvent nous fournir une poire mature, une herbe coupée ou un plat de macaroni. Si nous voulons comprendre comment la communication entre les personnes fonctionne sur la base de l’odorat, nous devons en parler. phéromones et de sent la signature .


Communication invisible

Une phéromone est un signal chimique émis par un individu et modifie le comportement ou les dispositions psychologiques d'un autre individu (Luscher et Karlson, 1959). Ce sont des signaux chimiques définis par chaque espèce en particulier et qui produisent des réactions instinctives. Les odeurs, quant à elles, servent à identifier chaque membre spécifique de l'espèce et sont basées sur la reconnaissance des odeurs éprouvées auparavant (Vaglio, 2009). Les deux se produisent partout dans de nombreuses formes de vie et le cas de l'homme ne semble pas être une exception.

Bien que l’espèce humaine ne soit pas aussi sensible aux odeurs que les autres mammifères (notre nez s’est aplati de façon drastique, entraînant une diminution du nombre de récepteurs olfactifs), notre corps est capable de connaître les aspects des autres tels que son identité, son état émotionnel ou d’autres aspects de sa psychologie à partir de ces "traces" que nous laissons dans l’air.

Par exemple, dans une étude de 2012, il a été prouvé que les gens pouvaient devenir émotionnellement synchronisé à travers l'odeur qu'ils émettent. Au cours de l'expérience, plusieurs hommes ont été exposés à deux types de films: l'un effrayant et l'autre des images repoussantes. Pendant ce temps, des échantillons de la sueur de ces participants ont été collectés (en général, cela a dû être une expérience très dérangeante). Une fois cela fait, ces échantillons de sueur ont été exposés à un groupe de femmes volontaires et leurs réactions ont été taxées: celles qui sentaient la sueur ségréger pendant la vision du film sur la peur montraient un geste du visage associé à la peur, alors que le langage de la Le visage de ceux qui sentaient le reste des échantillons exprimait le dégoût (de Groot et al, 2012).

Malgré cela, il est possible que la propriété la plus importante de ces traces d’odeur soit leur capacité à influencer notre comportement de reproduction. L'acuité olfactive chez les hommes et les femmes augmente à la puberté (Velle, 1978) et, chez les femmes, cette capacité à percevoir les odeurs fluctue avec leur cycle menstruel (Schneider et Wolf, 1955). la relation entre le comportement sexuel et l'odorat c'est évident. Il semble que les hommes et les femmes jugent l’attractivité des personnes en partie à cause de leur odeur, car elle fournit des informations pertinentes sur l’état interne de notre corps, domaine dans lequel la vue et l’ouïe ne peuvent pas beaucoup contribuer (Schaal & Porter, 1991).

Les femmes, par exemple, semblent avoir tendance à préférer les couples dont le répertoire de réponses immunitaires est différent du leur, éventuellement pour élever une progéniture avec une bonne liste d'anticorps (Wedekind, 1995), et elles sont guidées par l'odeur pour recevoir ce type de données. Au-delà de la recherche d'un partenaire, en plus, les mères peuvent différencier l'odeur caractéristique de leur bébé deux jours après l'accouchement (Russell, 1983). Les bébés, dès leur plus jeune âge, sont capables de reconnaître leur mère par leur odeur (Schaal et al, 1980).


L'explication

Comment les odeurs peuvent-elles influencer autant notre comportement sans que nous le remarquions? La réponse réside dans la disposition de notre cerveau. N'oubliez pas que les parties du cerveau responsables du traitement des informations sur les signaux chimiques qui nous entourent sont très anciennes dans notre histoire évolutive et sont donc apparues beaucoup plus tôt que les structures associées à la pensée abstraite. L’odeur et le goût sont directement liés à la partie inférieure du système limbique (la zone "émotionnelle" du cerveau), contrairement aux autres sens, qui passent d'abord par le thalamus et sont donc plus accessibles par la pensée consciente (Goodspeed et al, 1987) (Lehrer, 2010/2007).

Pour cette raison, les signaux chimiques que nous recevons par le nez agissent de manière drastique sur le régulation tonale émotionnelle , même si nous ne le réalisons pas, et c’est pourquoi les odeurs sont un moyen unique d’affecter l’humeur des gens même s’ils ne le réalisent pas. De plus, l'hippocampe étant inclus dans le système limbique (structure associée aux souvenirs), les signaux recueillis par le nez évoquent aisément des expériences déjà vécues, ce qui les accompagne d'une grande charge émotionnelle. .

Tout cela signifie, bien sûr, que théoriquement un type de manipulation sur le reste des gens sans qu'ils soient capables de faire beaucoup pour contrôler leurs propres sentiments et dispositions psychologiques. L'exemple le plus clair de ce principe de manipulation se trouve, bien sûr, dans les boulangeries. Espérons que les grands fabricants de téléviseurs et d'ordinateurs mettent un peu plus de temps à le découvrir.

Références bibliographiques:

  • de Groot, J.H.B., Smeets, M.A.M., Kaldewaij, A., Duijndam, M.J.A. et Semin, G.R. (2012). Chemosignals Communiquer les émotions humaines. Science psychologique, 23 (11), pp. 1417-1424.
  • Goodspeed, R. B., Gent J. F. et Catalanotto, F. A. (1987). Dysfonctionnement chimiosensoriel: l'évaluation clinique résulte d'une clinique de goût et d'odeur. Médecine postdoctorale81, pp. 251-260.
  • Herz, R. S. et Schooler, J. W. (2002). Etude naturaliste des mémoires autobiographiques évoquées par les indices olfactifs et visuels: test de l'hypothèse proustienne. American Journal of Psychology, 115, pp. 21 - 32.
  • Luscher, M. et Karlson, P. (1959). "Phéromones": nouveau terme désignant une classe de substances biologiquement actives. La nature, 183, pp. 55-56.
  • Russell, M. J. (1983). Communications olfactives humaines. Dans D. Müller-Schwarze et R. M. Silverstein, (Eds.), Signaux chimiques chez les vertébrés 3. Londres: Plenum Press.
  • Sacks, O. (2010). L'homme qui a confondu sa femme avec un chapeau. Barcelone: ​​Anagramme. (Initialement publié en 1985).
  • Schaal, B., H. Motagner, E. Hertling, D. Bolzoni, R. Moyse et R. Quinchon (1980). Les stimulations olfactives dans les relations entre l'enfant et la mère. Développement de la nutrition de la reproduction, 20, pp. 843-858.
  • Schaal, B.et Porter, R. H. (1991). "Microsmatic Humans" revisité: la génération et la perception de signaux chimiques. Avancées dans l'étude du comportement, 20, pp. 474-482.
  • Schneider, R.A. et Wolf, S. (1955). Seuils de perception olfactifs du citral utilisant un nouveau type d'olfactorium. Physiologie appliquée, 8, pp. 337-342.
  • Vaglio, S. (2009). Communication chimique et reconnaissance mère-enfant. Biologie communicative et intégrative, 2 (3), pp. 279-281.
  • Velle, W. (1978). Différences sexuelles dans les fonctions sensorielles. Bulletin psychologique, 85, pp. 810 - 830.
  • Wedekind, C., Seebeck, T., Bettens, F. et Paepke, A. J. (1995). Préférences de partenaire dépendant du CMH chez l'homme. Actes de la Royal Society of London B, 260, pp. 245-249.

Odeurs - Le Stade Nasal (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes