yes, therapy helps!
The use of irony and humor in psychotherapy

The use of irony and humor in psychotherapy

May 9, 2021

Irony is a serious thing It is a great human resource, even though Freud has labeled it as a defense mechanism.

Lately, its importance has been reassessed in therapy, and this element has been considered as a facilitating resource for the construction of the therapeutic relationship .

The role of humor in psychotherapy

Humor stimulates laughter and, as we know, physiological stimulation through laughter leads to a series of health benefits. It is associated with a reduction in stress, and it also seems to increase pain tolerance.

But, in addition to this, laughter also helps us to have a satisfying emotional experience. Not only does it induce us to states of intense physiological activation. If a person is angry or sad and starts laughing for a funny comment said by someone from their environment, their mood will change instantly and go from anger and sadness to a more pleasant feeling, even if only for a moment .


That is why irony, as part of humor, can be a powerful weapon to combat bad mood and sadness .

Actually the recent research of the Association for Applied and Therapeutic Humor have highlighted the positivity of therapeutic humor defining it: "an intervention that promotes health and well-being through stimulation, discovery, expression and appreciation of inconsistencies and situations absurdities of life. These interventions can be used to improve health or be used as a complementary treatment of diseases either to cure or face physical, mental, emotional, social or spiritual difficulties.


What is the use of irony in psychotherapy?

Irony is an excellent therapeutic tool , because the fact of being able to laugh at something that is oppressing us, even if only for a moment, is a bit like decompressing the accumulated tension.

The basic functions of irony in psychotherapy are these:

1. It is adaptive

It represents an adaptive and effective coping strategy to contrast painful mental states, offering an alternative view of critical events. Through an ironic intervention, which leads to a modification of the rigid vision of a problem, the therapist can teach ironic aspects of an event helping the patient to live it with greater detachment and lightness and teaching how to adaptively manage negative emotions .

2. Increase the ability to deal with problems

Increase the capacity of "problem solving". As Borcherdt says, "if we can laugh at a problem, it is solved." The majority of situations, also the most difficult, have an ironic side, but living certain negative emotions prevents us from perceiving the fun side of these . With time, the diminution of the intensity of the negative emotions puts in the background the critical and painful aspect, allowing to appreciate the comic side.


3. Increase optimism

It works as a mediator between positive emotions and a humorous commentary, which can lead to experiencing confidence, optimism and happiness. In addition, irony allows to express certain feelings that are experienced intensely. This expression occurs in a controlled and safe manner. The irony It also allows to express emotions and feelings that otherwise they would have remained silent.

4. Improves the patient-therapist relationship

It helps to increase the therapeutic alliance, helping to establish and maintain the positive therapeutic relationship . During a session of psychotherapy, a humorous commentary expressed by the therapist, can help communication between him and the patient, also decreasing the resistance to the sessions, as it leads to establish a more relaxed and open conversation.

5. Help improve self-esteem

Facilitates to increase self-esteem: laughing at oneself represents a useful mechanism for the patient to reach self-acceptance and acceptance of his defects. Those who have the ability to laugh at themselves present a higher level of well-being, since they develop less depressive symptoms and increase their tolerance towards negative emotions.

Indications for the proper use of irony in psychotherapy

It must be borne in mind that humor and irony should be used as a complement to make recovery processes easier and more fluid, and not as something that is used simply because "it is fun", as this could interrupt the dynamics of psychotherapy. It is used as a way to interpret in a more adaptive way facts that produce discomfort .

In addition, we must remember that irony and humor should be used once the therapeutic link has been established and consolidated as such, at the time when the patient can also use it in his comments to the psychologist or psychologist Otherwise, comments of this kind can be taken as a lack of respect or professional seriousness, which would greatly damage the progress of the therapy.


15 Times "Daria" Got Way Too Real (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'utilisation de l'ironie et de l'humour en psychothérapie

L'utilisation de l'ironie et de l'humour en psychothérapie

Septembre 17, 2022

L'ironie est une chose sérieuse C'est une grande ressource humaine, même si Freud l'a qualifiée de mécanisme de défense.

Dernièrement, son importance a été réévaluée en thérapie, et cet élément a été considéré comme une ressource facilitante pour la construction de la relation thérapeutique .

Le rôle de l'humour en psychothérapie

L'humour stimule le rire et, comme on le sait, la stimulation physiologique par le rire a de nombreux effets bénéfiques sur la santé. Il est associé à une réduction du stress et semble également augmenter la tolérance à la douleur.

Mais en plus de cela, le rire nous aide également à vivre une expérience émotionnelle satisfaisante. Non seulement cela nous induit à des états d’activation physiologique intense. Si une personne est en colère ou triste et se met à rire pour un commentaire amusant de quelqu'un de son environnement, son humeur changera instantanément et passera de la colère et de la tristesse à un sentiment plus agréable, même si ce n'est que pour un moment. .


C'est pour ça que l'ironie, en tant qu'élément d'humour, peut être une arme puissante pour lutter contre la mauvaise humeur et la tristesse .

En fait, les recherches récentes de l’Association pour l’humour thérapeutique et thérapeutique ont mis en évidence la positivité de l’humour thérapeutique qui le définit: «une intervention qui favorise la santé et le bien-être par la stimulation, la découverte, l’expression et la valorisation d’incohérences et de situations absurdités de la vie. Ces interventions peuvent être utilisées pour améliorer la santé ou comme traitement complémentaire de maladies, soit pour soigner, soit pour faire face à des difficultés physiques, mentales, émotionnelles, sociales ou spirituelles.


A quoi sert l'ironie en psychothérapie?

L'ironie est un excellent outil thérapeutique Parce que le fait de pouvoir rire de quelque chose qui nous opprime, ne fût-ce que pour un instant, est un peu comme décompresser la tension accumulée.

Les fonctions de base de l'ironie en psychothérapie sont les suivantes:

1. C'est adaptatif

Il s'agit d'une stratégie d'adaptation efficace et efficace permettant de contraster les états mentaux douloureux, offrant ainsi une vision alternative des événements critiques. Grâce à une intervention ironique, qui conduit à une modification de la vision rigide d'un problème, le thérapeute peut enseigner les aspects ironiques d'un événement en aidant le patient à le vivre avec plus de détachement et de légèreté. apprendre à gérer de manière adaptative les émotions négatives .

2. Augmenter la capacité de gérer les problèmes

Augmenter la capacité de "résolution de problèmes". Comme le dit Borcherdt, "si on peut rire d'un problème, il est résolu". La plupart des situations, également les plus difficiles, ont un côté ironique, mais vivre certaines émotions négatives nous empêche de percevoir le côté amusant de celles-ci . Avec le temps, la diminution de l'intensité des émotions négatives met en arrière-plan l'aspect critique et douloureux, permettant d'apprécier le côté comique.


3. Augmenter l'optimisme

Cela fonctionne comme un médiateur entre les émotions positives et les commentaires humoristiques, ce qui peut mener à la confiance en soi, à l'optimisme et au bonheur. De plus, l'ironie permet d'exprimer certains sentiments vécus intensément. Cette expression se produit de manière contrôlée et sûre. L'ironie Cela permet également d'exprimer des émotions et des sentiments sinon, ils seraient restés silencieux.

4. Améliore la relation patient-thérapeute

Cela aide à augmenter l'alliance thérapeutique, aider à établir et à maintenir la relation thérapeutique positive . Au cours d'une séance de psychothérapie, un commentaire humoristique exprimé par le thérapeute peut faciliter la communication entre lui et le patient, tout en diminuant la résistance aux séances, car il en résulte une conversation plus détendue et plus ouverte.

5. aider à améliorer l'estime de soi

Facilite l’augmentation de l’estime de soi: se moquer de soi représente un mécanisme utile permettant au patient de s’accepter et d’accepter ses défauts. Ceux qui ont la capacité de rire d’eux-mêmes présentent un niveau de bien-être plus élevé, car ils développent des symptômes moins dépressifs et augmentent leur tolérance aux émotions négatives.

Indications pour le bon usage de l'ironie en psychothérapie

Il convient de garder à l’esprit que l’humour et l’ironie doivent être utilisés en complément des processus de récupération plus faciles et plus fluides, et non pas simplement parce qu’ils sont amusants, car cela pourrait interrompre la récupération. dynamique de la psychothérapie. Il est utilisé comme un moyen d'interpréter de manière plus adaptative des faits qui produisent un inconfort .

De plus, il faut rappeler que l’ironie et l’humour doivent être utilisés une fois le lien thérapeutique établi et consolidé en tant que tel, au moment où le patient peut également l’utiliser dans ses commentaires au psychologue ou psychologue Sinon, des commentaires de ce genre peuvent être interprétés comme un manque de respect ou un sérieux professionnel, ce qui nuirait grandement aux progrès de la thérapie.


OriGene Protocol: TissueScan qPCR Arrays (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes