yes, therapy helps!
The work of psychologists in the care of refugees

The work of psychologists in the care of refugees

June 24, 2021

Every day a large number of people decide to leave their country. Various reasons such as wars, political persecutions, terrorism , violation of human rights, etc. they do not provide them with a better choice, so they end up becoming refugees. Many of them travel to Europe in search of security and protection.

Many of the people in asylum have experienced traumatic experiences and unfortunately also physical problems. They urgently need professional help, and that is why in several reception and orientation centers for refugees, the figure of the Psychologist plays a very important role .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Going to live in another country almost always causes an emotional shock that generates longing and loneliness."

The importance of psychologists in the care of refugees

The psychologist works together with workers and social educators, doctors, teachers and especially interpreters. Efforts are made to provide refugees with basic needs and help control high levels of psychological distress.


Newcomers struggle every day to overcome the memory of their traumatic journey and try to adjust to a new life far from their homeland.

Many refugees have had traumatic experiences

Many of the people who arrive every day in search of asylum, have experienced traumatic experiences in their countries of origin and during the trip to your destination in Europe.

They have encountered situations of violence in the first person or have experienced it in a very close way: visualization of lifeless bodies, torture, detention, surviving explosions or bullets, destruction of their homes and possessions, disappearance of their loved ones ... all this forces you to live in a constant state of fear.


Nightmares, flaschbacks, sleep disorders and concentration ...

Experienced traumatic experiences can develop a Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) with which they experience recurring memories , especially during the night or sudden images during the day (Flashbacks). Traumatic memories are revived with great intensity.

For example, a man who saw a plane flying over him experienced a panic attack as he remembered how they bombed his city; or a woman when listening to fireworks at local parties.

Sleep and concentration disorders, emotional numbness, anxiety and depression often accompany them. Nor should we forget the presence of suicidal thoughts , which can trigger acts of self-harm or, directly, suicide itself.

Other possible mental disorders

PTSD is not the only disorder that can occur in these cases. Other psychological complications that may appear or accentuate due to the traumatic process are the adjustment disorder, persistence of changes in personality after the traumatic experience, dissociative disorders, borderline personality disorder ...


They can also appear problems of addictions, depression, chronic pain and anxiety , among others.

We must bear in mind that the traumatic experience is not only a result of the experiences lived in their country of origin, but also of the trip made to reach a final destination where they can be safe . Many times the conditions of transportation, food, clothing, etc. They are not adequate.

Uncertainty

The new environment in which refugees are located requires them to adapt quickly in different areas. The social, cultural and lifestyle environment changes radically and this fact requires a new adaptation, which raises in most cases, uncertainty and insecurity (how to react to differences in customs and habits or traditions, learning a new language and / or writing), concern and different losses or duels (people, places and ways of life).

To all this we must add the forced separation or loss of relatives. There are many of them who have left their family behind , or during the way of arrival, without knowing where they are and if they are still alive. That constant uncertainty causes them to torment with recurring thoughts such as: "Was it my fault? OR Where is my child? Will he still be alive? " Infinite questions that seek to find a meaning to everything that is happening around them, to be able to assimilate everything that happened and to be able to continue with a more tranquil life.

The key is in the integration

Many times the return to the country of origin is not a viable alternative, in which case they can be allowed remain indefinitely in the country where they have found safety conditions .

A key point is to promote social, cultural, political and economic integration through the promotion of intercultural and interconfessional dialogue , tolerance and respect towards other cultures. Giving the opportunity to discover, understand and learn the values ​​and cultures of the refugees and at the same time rediscover and enrich their own.

Immaculate Espert Gregori, Psychologist.


PTSD and Refugees / Asylum Seekers | Trauma and Mental Health Workshop Highlights (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le travail des psychologues auprès des réfugiés

Le travail des psychologues auprès des réfugiés

Octobre 19, 2020

Chaque jour, un grand nombre de personnes décident de quitter leur pays. Diverses raisons telles que guerres, persécutions politiques, terrorisme , violation des droits de l'homme, etc. ils ne leur offrent pas un meilleur choix et finissent par devenir des réfugiés. Beaucoup d’entre eux se rendent en Europe à la recherche de sécurité et de protection.

Beaucoup de personnes en asile ont vécu des expériences traumatisantes et, malheureusement, des problèmes physiques. Ils ont besoin de toute urgence d’une aide professionnelle, c’est pourquoi, dans plusieurs centres d’accueil et d’orientation pour réfugiés, la figure du psychologue joue un rôle très important .

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Vivre dans un autre pays provoque presque toujours un choc émotionnel qui génère nostalgie et solitude."

L'importance des psychologues dans la prise en charge des réfugiés

Le psychologue travaille avec des travailleurs et des éducateurs sociaux, des médecins, des enseignants et surtout des interprètes. Des efforts sont faits pour répondre aux besoins essentiels des réfugiés et aider à contrôler les niveaux élevés de détresse psychologique.


Les nouveaux arrivants peinent chaque jour à surmonter le souvenir de leur parcours traumatique et à s’adapter à une nouvelle vie loin de leur pays d’origine.

De nombreux réfugiés ont vécu des expériences traumatisantes

Beaucoup de gens qui arrivent chaque jour à la recherche de l'asile, ont vécu des expériences traumatisantes dans leur pays d'origine et pendant le voyage vers votre destination en Europe.

Ils ont rencontré des situations de violence chez la première personne ou l'ont vécue de manière très proche: visualisation de corps sans vie, torture, détention, explosions ou balles survivantes, destruction de leurs maisons et de leurs biens, disparition de leurs proches ... tout cela vous oblige à vivre dans un état de peur constant.


Cauchemars, flaschbacks, troubles du sommeil et concentration ...

Des expériences traumatiques vécues peuvent développer un trouble de stress post-traumatique (TSPT) avec lequel ils vivent des souvenirs récurrents , surtout la nuit ou des images soudaines pendant la journée (flashbacks). Les souvenirs traumatiques sont ravivés avec une grande intensité.

Par exemple, un homme qui a vu un avion voler au-dessus de lui a subi une attaque de panique alors qu'il se rappelait comment ils avaient bombardé sa ville. ou une femme écoutant des feux d'artifice lors de fêtes locales.

Les troubles du sommeil et de la concentration, l'engourdissement émotionnel, l'anxiété et la dépression les accompagnent souvent. N'oublions pas non plus la présence de pensées suicidaires , pouvant provoquer des actes d'automutilation ou, directement, le suicide lui-même.

Autres troubles mentaux possibles

L'ESPT n'est pas le seul trouble qui peut survenir dans ces cas. Parmi les autres complications psychologiques qui peuvent apparaître ou s’accentuer en raison du processus traumatique sont les troubles d’ajustement, la persistance de modifications de la personnalité après l’expérience traumatique, les troubles dissociatifs, les troubles de la personnalité limite ...


Ils peuvent aussi apparaître problèmes de dépendance, dépression, douleur chronique et anxiété , entre autres.

Nous devons garder à l'esprit que l'expérience traumatique n'est pas seulement le résultat d'expériences vécues dans leur pays d'origine, mais aussi du voyage effectué pour atteindre une destination finale où ils peuvent être en sécurité . Plusieurs fois, les conditions de transport, nourriture, vêtements, etc. Ils ne sont pas adéquats.

L'incertitude

Le nouvel environnement dans lequel se trouvent les réfugiés les oblige à s’adapter rapidement dans différents domaines. L'environnement social, culturel et de style de vie change radicalement et ce fait nécessite une nouvelle adaptation, qui soulève dans la plupart des cas l'incertitude et l'insécurité (comment réagir aux différences de coutumes et d'habitudes ou de traditions, l'apprentissage d'une nouvelle langue et / ou de l'écriture), la préoccupation et différentes pertes ou duels (personnes, lieux et modes de vie).

À tout cela, il faut ajouter la séparation forcée ou la perte de parents. Ils sont nombreux à avoir laissé leur famille derrière eux. , ou pendant le trajet, sans savoir où ils se trouvent et s’ils sont toujours en vie. Cette incertitude constante les tourmente de pensées récurrentes telles que: "Était-ce ma faute? OU où est mon enfant? Sera-t-il toujours en vie? " Des questions infinies qui cherchent à trouver un sens à tout ce qui se passe autour d’eux, à pouvoir assimiler tout ce qui s’est passé et à pouvoir continuer avec une vie plus tranquille.

La clé est dans l'intégration

Bien souvent, le retour dans le pays d'origine n'est pas une alternative viable, auquel cas ils peuvent être autorisés. rester indéfiniment dans le pays où ils ont trouvé des conditions de sécurité .

Un point essentiel consiste à promouvoir l'intégration sociale, culturelle, politique et économique par la promotion du dialogue interculturel et interconfessionnel , tolérance et respect envers les autres cultures. Donner la possibilité de découvrir, comprendre et apprendre les valeurs et les cultures des réfugiés et, en même temps, redécouvrir et enrichir les leurs.

Immaculate Espert Gregori, psychologue.


[Travail des psychologues de l'Unicef auprès des enfants palestiniens] (Octobre 2020).


Articles Connexes