yes, therapy helps!
The worrying unemployment rate in Spanish psychologists

The worrying unemployment rate in Spanish psychologists

August 4, 2022

Psychology is a field of study that since ancient times has interested the human being. University studies in this branch of science tend to have a high demand : there are many psychologists who graduate each year, and many more who begin their studies in this career.

However, not everything is simply love for theoretical knowledge; although in some cases it is done only for intellectual interest or for other reasons, the vast majority of university students are being trained with the purpose of being able to carry out a work activity in a field that interests them. Unfortunately, the entry into the labor market once completed the studies does not offer so many outlets for professionals of psychology, especially after the economic crisis that began in 2007.


The worrying unemployment rate of Spanish psychologists has raised the alarm both in students and in people with training in the field who are unemployed or who see limited their options to change their place of work. It is a situation that affects a large number of professionals who do not find a space in which to exercise their profession in a dignified manner.

  • Related article: "Why study Psychology? 10 points that you should value"

Studies and the labor market: disparate situations

If we observe both the academic world and the labor market, it is possible to notice the existence of a great disparity in the relationship between supply and demand. While university education in psychology is in high demand and universities have responded to it accordingly, in the current labor market the situation is complex and it does not offer so many alternatives to the professionals of the sector.


This leads to the existence of a high competitiveness when it comes to obtaining the job , practically requiring the realization of training in the form of several postgraduate and master's degrees in order to stand out from the large number of competitors that may arise for the same position ... and sometimes even this way no important progress is made in the form of employability. Perhaps the only branch of Psychology in which this does not happen is the organizational one, very oriented towards Human Resources.

Although fortunately within psychology there are multiple areas in which it is possible to specialize, which causes some sectors to have a more tight demand relationship, the vast majority of professionals have great difficulties finding a job .

The situation of Psychology in Spain: unemployment

The work situation of psychologists in this country, especially in the field of mental health, is paradoxical. And is that in Spain there is a great social need for psychological care , a need that is increasingly greater and more evident. It is estimated that one out of every four people will have some type of problem that requires psychological attention throughout the course of their life (especially anxiety and mood disorders).


Spain has approximately 4 psychologists per 100,000 inhabitants , four times less than the European average (estimated at 18 per 100,000). This figure is totally insufficient to account for the need for professional attention of the population. This causes that there are large waiting lists in public health to receive psychological treatment, while only 128 new public places have been offered annually, with a large number of professionals.

The result is that Many patients are in need of recourse to private practice if they want to get to exercise or receive treatment.

Although in other areas away from the clinic the situation is somewhat better, there are a lot of job offers in the field of Human Resources and the world of the company, this trajectory tends not to be the favorite of students who start the race university in Psychology

Evolution of unemployment among psychologists

In recent years the situation for psychologists has improved slightly, observing a small increase in hiring during the month of February of this year compared to the month of January or last year. However, this does not imply that the problem is solved.

According to data from the Public Employment Service (SEPE), it is currently estimated that about 12,152 registered professionals are unemployed . There is a clear improvement compared to 14,088 last year or 16,800 in 2014, but the situation remains critical.

You also have to take into account the difference between graduates and graduates.The changes in educational matters suffered by university education with the implementation of the Bologna plan led to the emergence of the Degree in Psychology, university education that allows obtaining the title of psychologist. However, it is possible to observe that at present there is a tendency for graduates to have a higher employment rate than graduates. Low the unemployment rate among graduates and raise the graduates , although this may also be due to the shorter time in the second market.

Also, the fact that the Master's Degree in General Health Psychology and the professional practice of clinical psychology outside this master's degree or the PIR training system would be outlawed (although professionals who met certain conditions were allowed to obtain an accreditation that allowed them to continue practicing professionally), it caused a higher performance to be necessary and competition in order to be able to practice as professionals in the health sector (the most demanded).

Another problem that professionals of psychology usually find is that even if they manage to find job offers linked to their professional sector, this employment tends to be temporary . Thus, job insecurity is a constant concern in this sector, as in other professions related to the world of health.

New political measures are necessary

From what has been seen, it seems that the drift of the labor market will not be enough to offer a minimum employment rate that satisfies the demand. Structural changes are needed to find a way out in the medium term, because the future of a whole generation of psychologists at the national level is at stake .


Desperate times for unemployed parents as family face eviction from their home (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le taux de chômage préoccupant chez les psychologues espagnols

Le taux de chômage préoccupant chez les psychologues espagnols

Septembre 5, 2022

La psychologie est un domaine d'étude qui intéresse l'homme depuis la nuit des temps. Les études universitaires dans cette branche des sciences ont tendance à avoir une forte demande : il y a beaucoup de psychologues qui obtiennent leur diplôme chaque année et beaucoup d'autres qui commencent leurs études dans cette carrière.

Cependant, tout n’est pas simplement un amour pour la connaissance théorique; bien que, dans certains cas, cela ne soit fait que pour des raisons intellectuelles ou pour d’autres raisons, la grande majorité des étudiants universitaires sont en formation afin de pouvoir exercer une activité professionnelle dans un domaine qui les intéresse. Malheureusement, l'entrée sur le marché du travail une fois les études terminées n'offre pas autant de débouchés pour les professionnels de la psychologie, en particulier après la crise économique qui a débuté en 2007.


L'inquiétant taux de chômage des psychologues espagnols a sonné l'alarme tant chez les étudiants que chez les personnes formées sur le terrain qui sont au chômage ou qui voient des possibilités limitées de changer de lieu de travail. Cette situation concerne un grand nombre de professionnels qui ne trouvent pas d’espace pour exercer leur métier de manière digne.

  • Article connexe: "Pourquoi étudier la psychologie? 10 points à valoriser"

Les études et le marché du travail: des situations disparates

Si nous observons à la fois le monde universitaire et le marché du travail, il est possible de constater l’existence d’une grande disparité dans la relation entre offre et demande. Bien que les études universitaires en psychologie soient en forte demande et que les universités y aient réagi en conséquence, sur le marché du travail actuel, la situation est complexe et il n'offre pas autant d'alternatives aux professionnels du secteur.


Cela conduit à l'existence de une forte compétitivité pour l'obtention du poste , nécessitant pratiquement la réalisation de formations sous la forme de plusieurs diplômes de troisième cycle et de maîtrise afin de se démarquer du grand nombre de concurrents pouvant se présenter au même poste ... et parfois même de cette manière, aucun progrès important n’est réalisé en termes d’employabilité. Peut-être que la seule branche de la psychologie dans laquelle cela ne se produit pas est la branche organisationnelle, très orientée vers les ressources humaines.

Bien qu’il soit heureusement possible dans le domaine de la psychologie de se spécialiser dans de nombreux domaines, ce qui a pour effet que certains secteurs ont une relation de demande plus étroite, la grande majorité des professionnels ont grandes difficultés à trouver un emploi .

La situation de la psychologie en Espagne: le chômage

La situation des psychologues dans ce pays, notamment dans le domaine de la santé mentale, est paradoxale. Et est-ce en Espagne, il existe un grand besoin social de prise en charge psychologique , un besoin de plus en plus grand et évident. On estime qu'une personne sur quatre souffrira d'un problème qui nécessitera une attention psychologique tout au long de sa vie (troubles d'anxiété et d'humeur notamment).


L'Espagne compte environ 4 psychologues pour 100 000 habitants , quatre fois moins que la moyenne européenne (estimée à 18 sur 100 000). Ce chiffre est totalement insuffisant pour expliquer le besoin d'attention professionnelle de la population. Cela a pour conséquence que les listes d'attente en santé publique pour recevoir un traitement psychologique sont nombreuses, alors que seulement 128 nouveaux lieux publics ont été proposés chaque année, avec un grand nombre de professionnels.

Le résultat est que De nombreux patients ont besoin de recourir à un cabinet privé s'ils veulent pouvoir faire de l'exercice ou recevoir un traitement.

Bien que dans d'autres zones éloignées de la clinique, la situation soit un peu meilleure, il existe de nombreuses offres d'emploi dans le domaine des ressources humaines et du monde de l'entreprise, cette trajectoire a tendance à ne pas être la préférée des étudiants qui commencent la course. université en psychologie

Evolution du chômage chez les psychologues

Au cours des dernières années, la situation des psychologues s’est légèrement améliorée, observant une légère augmentation des embauches au cours du mois de février de cette année par rapport au mois de janvier ou de l’année dernière. Cependant, cela ne signifie pas que le problème est résolu.

Selon les données du Service public de l'emploi (SEPE), on estime actuellement que environ 12 152 professionnels inscrits sont au chômage . Il y a une nette amélioration par rapport à 14 088 l'année dernière ou 16 800 en 2014, mais la situation reste critique.

Vous devez également prendre en compte la différence entre les diplômés et les diplômés.Les changements intervenus dans le domaine de l'enseignement dans l'enseignement universitaire avec la mise en œuvre du plan de Bologne ont conduit à l'émergence du diplôme en psychologie, enseignement universitaire permettant d'obtenir le titre de psychologue. Cependant, on peut constater qu’à l’heure actuelle, les diplômés ont tendance à avoir un taux d’emploi plus élevé que les diplômés. Faible taux de chômage des diplômés et augmentation du nombre de diplômés , bien que cela puisse aussi être dû au temps plus court sur le second marché.

En outre, le fait que le Maîtrise en psychologie générale de la santé et la pratique professionnelle de la psychologie clinique en dehors de cette maîtrise ou du système de formation PIR serait proscrite (même si les professionnels qui remplissaient certaines conditions étaient autorisés à obtenir une accréditation leur permettant de continuer à exercer de manière professionnelle), une performance plus élevée était nécessaire et la concurrence afin de pouvoir exercer en tant que professionnels du secteur de la santé (le plus demandé).

Les professionnels de la psychologie rencontrent généralement un autre problème: même s’ils parviennent à trouver des offres d’emploi liées à leur secteur professionnel, cet emploi a tendance à être temporaire . Ainsi, l'insécurité de l'emploi est une préoccupation constante dans ce secteur, comme dans d'autres professions liées au monde de la santé.

De nouvelles mesures politiques sont nécessaires

D'après ce que nous avons vu, il semble que la dérive du marché du travail ne soit pas suffisante pour offrir un taux d'emploi minimal qui satisfasse à la demande. Des changements structurels sont nécessaires pour trouver une issue à moyen terme, car l'avenir de toute une génération de psychologues au niveau national est en jeu .


VP#1 | REFORME EDUCATION, MERCI PATRON ? (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes