yes, therapy helps!
Thematic Appreciation Test (TAT): characteristics and operation

Thematic Appreciation Test (TAT): characteristics and operation

September 26, 2022

Each one of us has his own way of seeing reality, of interpreting it and of acting and being in the world. Each one of us has his own personality. Partly inherited and largely learned, the personality of an individual allows us to know and even predict to some degree how to interact and react to the situations of an individual. And this can have great relevance when it comes to exploring the reasons that cause different subjects to react in different ways to the same situation or that someone continuously manifests behaviors that generate discomfort or that are maladaptive. That is why different mechanisms and tests have been developed to try to assess personality.


One of the numerous existing tests in this sense, of psychodynamic orientation and framed within the projective tests, is the Thematic Apperception Test or TAT .

  • Related article: "Projective tests: the 5 most used types"

The Thematic Apperception Test or TAT

Created by Murray in 1935, the TAT aims to be a system for assessing the unconscious needs, expectations and fears that regulate our behavior and that contribute to forming our personality from the interpretation of ambiguous stimuli (considering the author that in that process can observe the presence of personality traits).

It is a projective test or test, the TAT being known among them as the clearest and best known exponent of thematic projective test (which basically has to tell a story from the presentation of one or more sheets). As a projective test of psychodynamic origin, its objective is to analyze unconscious elements of the subject that form and shape their personality to a great extent.


This evaluation has the advantage of being masked, which implies that the subject does not know what is being evaluated or what response can be expected from him and it is more difficult for him to falsify his answers (decreasing the probability of issuing answers based on social desirability ). But nevertheless, does not allow a quantitative analysis but only qualitative , different professionals can obtain different conclusions of its application and not having a single isolated stimulus but its interpretation requires an analysis of the whole.

This projective test consists of a total of 31 plates in black and white, of which all but one represent different scenes structured but ambiguous linked to different themes. Among them, eleven are universal while the rest are divided according to the type of population under study (according to sex and age) in such a way that each subject can at most visualize a score. However, it is not necessary that all be passed, but the clinician will assess if it is valuable to pass only the most relevant depending on the patient in question.


The subject should briefly observe each sheet in order to elaborate from it and the elements that are part of the scene a story, considering first that he sees in the image or scene to later elaborate a brief narration regarding what is happening in it, what has happened before and what will happen next. It will be the interpretation of these stories that will allow us to get an idea of ​​the psychic processes of the analyzed subject.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of psychological tests: their functions and characteristics"

Interpretation

The TAT results do not have a single possible interpretation , as it is not a standardized test that reflects specific scores. Its evaluation requires high doses of intuition and clinical judgment, with the information extracted from a qualitative type. It does not allow to establish a diagnosis, but to observe the patient's way of seeing things and how they structure them.

Although there are different systems of classification and interpretation of results, these depend to a large extent on the objectives of the analysis of the patient's personality. For example, the Manual of Defense Mechanisms proposes to assess the existence of denial, projection and identification as defense mechanisms against psychic conflicts, which would be projected in the stories. Regardless of the method of interpretation, two main factors are taken into account in almost all cases: on the one hand the content of the narrative and on the other the way in which the story is structured or formed .

Content

When assessing the content of the story, the creator of the test considered that it was necessary to take into account six main aspects.

The hero or protagonist of the story is one of these elements. In those sheets with more than one character, it is the subject with which the patient identifies and in which the story is centered.It is usually the one that has more resemblance to the patient itself. Keep in mind that the sheets themselves do not clearly indicate the existence of a main individual, being the subject who chooses it. Likewise, it is observed if the patient chooses a single protagonist or he changes during the discourse or if he chooses a group, animal or object as such.

It also has to be valued the existence of different qualities in said protagonist and the role it has in the narrative (it's good / bad, active / passive, strong / weak ...). The one with whom he identifies himself and as said character informs us of the self-concept of the patient analyzed.

Another point to highlight, linked to the previous one, is the motivation and the needs of the hero . How he feels or what he wants or motivates him internally to act as he does. Protecting loved ones, hate or love, or what makes you feel the events are part of this aspect. It is also associated with the objectives and goals themselves.

The third key point is the pressures to which it is subjected, or what happens to the subject and that can mark its way of acting. Here it is possible to assess possible worries or stressful or traumatic situations that are affecting the patient's life.

The environment is the fourth of the main aspects to assess. The patient must interpret not only the hero and what happens to him but also assess the situation in which he finds himself. The environment and the relationship with the other characters, or how are these characters or the roles they fulfill (are family, couple, friends, enemies, threats, mere witnesses ...), are great examples. Can inform about the way of relating to the environment and the perception of it by the patient .

The fifth of the elements to value is the development of history itself. How events happen, how they begin and how they end. This, of course, can be related to the patient's actual expectations regarding his own self-efficacy and his mood.

The last but not least important point of analysis is the theme of the story, which tend to be linked to the concerns and concerns of the patient . For example, someone depressed and / or with suicidal ideas will tend to reproduce elements linked to death, or someone obsessed with cleanliness and germs with diseases.


Form of the story

In addition to what the patient says, it is relevant how he says it and the degree of involvement shown in the activity. Whether the patient collaborates or not, if he correctly perceives the images and understands what he should do or if he has sufficient capacity for visualization and elaboration are remarkable aspects that can indicate the presence of resistance or difficulties associated with a particular problem ( as well as assess whether the test is indicated or not).

Already within the story itself, it is necessary to take into account if there is coherence, linearity, contradictions , whether fantasy or realism is used or not, if you use many or few adjectives or if you give details.


Bibliographic references

Murray, H. (1973). The Analysis of Fantasy. Huntington, NY: Robert E. Krieger Publishing Company ..

Sanz, L.J. and Álvarez, C. (2012). Evaluation in Clinical Psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 05. CEDE: Madrid


TAT Psychology test Thematic Apperception Test (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Test d'appréciation thématique (TAT): caractéristiques et fonctionnement

Test d'appréciation thématique (TAT): caractéristiques et fonctionnement

Juillet 21, 2022

Chacun de nous a sa propre façon de voir la réalité, de l'interpréter, d'agir et d'être dans le monde. Chacun de nous a sa propre personnalité. En partie héritée et en grande partie apprise, la personnalité d’un individu nous permet de savoir et même de prévoir dans une certaine mesure comment interagir et réagir aux situations d’un individu. Et cela peut être très utile lorsqu'il s'agit d'explorer les raisons qui poussent différents sujets à réagir différemment à la même situation ou à ce que quelqu'un manifeste en permanence des comportements générateurs d'inconfort ou mésadaptés. C'est pourquoi différents mécanismes et tests ont été développés pour tenter d'évaluer la personnalité.


L’un des nombreux tests existants en ce sens, d’orientation psychodynamique et de encadré dans les tests projectifs, est le test d'aperception thématique ou TAT .

  • Article connexe: "Tests projectifs: les 5 types les plus utilisés"

Le test d'aperception thématique ou TAT

Créé par Murray en 1935, le TAT se veut un système permettant d’évaluer les besoins, les attentes et les peurs inconscients régulant notre comportement et contribuant à la formation de notre personnalité à partir de l’interprétation de stimuli ambigus (en considérant observer la présence de traits de personnalité).

C’est un test projectif ou un test, le TAT étant connu parmi eux comme le représentant le plus clair et le plus connu du test projectif thématique (qui doit essentiellement raconter une histoire à partir de la présentation d’une ou de plusieurs feuilles). En tant que test projectif d’origine psychodynamique, son objectif est d’analyser les éléments inconscients du sujet qui forment et façonnent leur personnalité dans une large mesure.


Cette évaluation a l’avantage d’être masquée, ce qui implique que le sujet ne sait pas ce qui est évalué ni quelle réponse on peut attendre de lui et il lui est plus difficile de falsifier ses réponses (diminution de la probabilité de donner des réponses basées sur la désirabilité sociale ). Cependant, ne permet pas une analyse quantitative mais seulement qualitative , différents professionnels peuvent obtenir différentes conclusions de son application et ne pas avoir un seul stimulus isolé mais son interprétation nécessite une analyse globale.

Ce test projectif consiste en 31 plaques en noir et blanc, dont toutes sauf une représentent différentes scènes structurées mais ambiguës liées à différents thèmes. Parmi eux, onze sont universels, les autres sont répartis en fonction du type de population à l'étude (selon le sexe et l'âge) de manière à ce que chaque sujet puisse au plus visualiser un score. Cependant, il n'est pas nécessaire que tous les tests soient réussis, mais le clinicien évaluera s'il est intéressant de ne transmettre que les plus pertinents, en fonction du patient en question.


Le sujet doit observer brièvement chaque feuille pour élaborer une histoire à partir des éléments qui font partie de la scène, en considérant d'abord qu'il voit dans l'image ou la scène pour élaborer ensuite une brève narration de ce qui se passe. en elle, ce qui est arrivé avant et ce qui va arriver ensuite. Ce sera l'interprétation de ces histoires qui nous permettra de nous faire une idée des processus psychiques du sujet analysé.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Types de tests psychologiques: leurs fonctions et leurs caractéristiques"

D'interprétation

Les résultats TAT ​​n'ont pas une seule interprétation possible , car ce n’est pas un test standardisé qui reflète des scores spécifiques. Son évaluation nécessite de fortes doses d'intuition et de jugement clinique, les informations étant extraites d'un type qualitatif. Cela ne permet pas d'établir un diagnostic, mais d'observer la manière dont le patient voit les choses et comment elles les structurent.

Bien qu'il existe différents systèmes de classification et d'interprétation des résultats, ceux-ci dépendent dans une large mesure des objectifs de l'analyse de la personnalité du patient. Par exemple, le Manuel des mécanismes de défense propose d’évaluer l’existence de refus, de projection et d’identification en tant que mécanismes de défense contre les conflits psychiques, qui seraient projetés dans les récits. Quelle que soit la méthode d’interprétation, deux facteurs principaux sont pris en compte dans presque tous les cas: d'une part le contenu du récit et d'autre part la manière dont l'histoire est structurée ou formée .

Contenu

Lors de l’évaluation du contenu de l’histoire, le créateur du test a estimé qu’il était nécessaire de prendre en compte six aspects principaux.

Le héros ou le protagoniste de l'histoire est l'un de ces éléments. Dans les feuilles à plusieurs caractères, il s’agit du sujet avec lequel le patient s’identifie et sur lequel l’histoire est centrée.C'est généralement celui qui ressemble le plus au patient lui-même. Gardez à l'esprit que les feuilles elles-mêmes n'indiquent pas clairement l'existence d'un individu principal, étant le sujet qui le choisit. De même, on observe si le patient choisit un protagoniste unique ou s'il change pendant le discours ou s'il choisit un groupe, un animal ou un objet en tant que tel.

Il faut aussi le valoriser l'existence de qualités différentes chez ledit protagoniste et son rôle dans le récit (c'est bon / mauvais, actif / passif, fort / faible ...). Celui avec lequel il s'identifie et, en tant que dit personnage, nous informe de la conception de soi du patient analysé.

Un autre point à souligner, lié au précédent, est la motivation et les besoins du héros . Comment il se sent ou ce qu'il veut ou le motive en interne à agir comme il le fait. Protéger les êtres chers, la haine ou l'amour, ou ce qui vous fait sentir que les événements font partie de cet aspect. Il est également associé aux objectifs et aux buts eux-mêmes.

Le troisième point clé concerne les pressions auxquelles il est soumis ou ce qui arrive au sujet et qui peuvent marquer sa manière d’agir. Ici, il est possible d’évaluer les inquiétudes éventuelles ou les situations stressantes ou traumatiques qui affectent la vie du patient.

L'environnement est le quatrième des principaux aspects à évaluer. Le patient doit interpréter non seulement le héros et ce qui lui arrive, mais aussi évaluer la situation dans laquelle il se trouve. L'environnement et la relation avec les autres personnages, ou comment sont ces personnages ou les rôles qu'ils remplissent (famille, couple, amis, ennemis, menaces, simples témoins ...), sont d'excellents exemples. Peut informer sur la manière de se rapporter à l'environnement et sur sa perception par le patient .

Le cinquième des éléments à valoriser est le développement de l'histoire elle-même. Comment les événements se produisent, comment ils commencent et comment ils se terminent. Ceci, bien sûr, peut être lié aux attentes réelles du patient en ce qui concerne son efficacité personnelle et son humeur.

Le dernier point, mais non le moins important, de l’analyse est le thème de l’histoire, qui ont tendance à être liée aux préoccupations et aux préoccupations du patient . Par exemple, une personne déprimée et / ou suicidaire aura tendance à reproduire des éléments liés à la mort, ou une personne obsédée par la propreté et les germes porteurs de maladies.


Forme de l'histoire

Outre ce que le patient dit, il est pertinent de savoir comment il le dit et le degré d'implication démontré dans l'activité. Que le patient collabore ou non, s’il perçoit correctement les images et comprend ce qu’il devrait faire ou s’il dispose de capacités suffisantes pour la visualisation et l’élaboration, ce sont des aspects remarquables pouvant indiquer la présence de résistances ou de difficultés associées à un problème particulier ainsi que d’évaluer si le test est indiqué ou non).

Déjà dans l'histoire elle-même, il faut tenir compte s'il y a cohérence, linéarité, contradictions , que le fantasme ou le réalisme soit utilisé ou non, si vous utilisez beaucoup ou peu d’adjectifs ou si vous donnez des détails.


Références bibliographiques

Murray, H. (1973). L'analyse de la fantaisie. Huntington, NY: Editions Robert E. Krieger.

Sanz, L.J. et Álvarez, C. (2012). Évaluation en psychologie clinique. Manuel de préparation du CEDE PIR, 05. CEDE: Madrid


Le Plus Grand Secret (Tome 1) - DAVID ICKE | Partie 1 (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes