yes, therapy helps!
Theory of Rational Choice: do we make decisions logically?

Theory of Rational Choice: do we make decisions logically?

June 20, 2022

The Theory of Rational Choice (TER) is a proposal that emerges in the social sciences applied especially to the economy, but that has been transferred to the analysis of human behavior. The TER pays attention to how an individual carries out the action of 'choosing'. That is, it asks about the cognitive and social patterns by means of which an individual directs his actions.

In this article we will see what is the Theory of Rational Choice, how it arises and where it has been applied, and finally we present some criticisms that have been made recently.

  • Related article: "Are we rational or emotional beings?"

What is the Theory of Rational Choice (TER)?

The Theory of Rational Choice (TER) is a school of thought that is based on the proposal that Individual choices are made according to individual personal preferences .


Therefore, the TER is also a model for explaining the way in which we make decisions (especially in the economic and political context, but it also applies in others where it is important to know how we decide the actions and how this affects a large scale) . The "rational" generally refers to the choices we make they are consistent with our personal preferences , derived from them in a logical way.

  • You may be interested: "Herbert Simon's Theory of Limited Rationality"

What is a rational choice according to the TER?

One choice is the action of selecting one among several available alternatives and conducting our behavior according to this selection. Sometimes, choices are implied , other times they are explicit. That is, sometimes we take them automatically, especially if they correspond to basic needs or to maintain our integrity or survival.


On the other hand, explicit choices are those that we take consciously (rationally) in accordance with what we consider to be the most appropriate option for our interests .

The proposal of the TER, in broad strokes, is that human beings choose in a fundamentally rational way. That is, based on the ability to think and imagine the possible side effects of the alternatives we have before a decision and from there select the alternatives that are the most appropriate for our benefit at that time (under a cost-benefit logic).

The latter would also imply that human beings are sufficiently independent, and we have the sufficient capacity to generate emotional self-control, so that there are no other variables than our own reason, when making decisions.

Where does it come from?

The Theory of Rational Choice is usually associated with an economic paradigm (precisely because it helped to generate the model of cost-benefit calculations). However, it is a theory through which you can understand many other elements that shape human behavior and societies .


In the context of the social sciences, the Theory of Rational Choice represented an important theoretical and methodological transformation. It arises mainly in the American intellectual context during the second half of the 20th century and in reaction to welfare economics models .

In the area of ​​political science, the TER criticized a large part of the current paradigms within the American academic context, which was subsequently transferred to the analysis of the disciplines of psychology and sociology. In the latter, the TER asks about the implications of self-interest, own experience and intentionality, in human action and in research. That is to say, is interested in methodological individualism .

In a very broad sense it is a "Criticism of the excess of mathematical narcissism versus the demands of realism that social science must have". Thus, the Theory of Rational Choice has been an attempt to orient social disciplines towards rigorous practices and knowledge.

Do we make decisions "rationally"? Some criticisms of TER

Some problems that have generated is about the use, sometimes intuitive, of the word "rational". Vidal de la Rosa (2008) states that for the TER, human behaviors are merely instrumental and whereas the cultural context determines the alternatives on which we can decide, then the behaviors would also be predetermined by the culture .

Also, the polysemy of the word "rationality" makes it difficult to use it as a support for social theory, since it is difficult to homogenize and with this it is complicated that researchers can establish communication with each other, and then put into practice face knowledge. to society.

In the same sense, "rationality" can easily be confused with that of "intentionality", and TER also does not usually address the difference and the relations between implicit and explicit choices. For a few years this last it has been investigated in laboratory experiments . Some of these investigations analyze the different cognitive and environmental variables that can affect a supposedly rational decision.

Finally, methodological individualism has been criticized, that is, it has been questioned if interest is the reason for the behavior , and therefore asks if this interest is valid as a way of making scientific knowledge.

Bibliographic references:

  • Encyclopedia Britannica. (2018). Rational Choice Theory. Retrieved June 1, 2018. Available at //www.britannica.com/topic/rational-choice-theory.
  • Vidal de la Rosa, G. (2008). The Theory of Rational Choice in the social sciences. Sociology (Mexico). 23 (67): 221-236.
  • Staddon, J.E.R. (nineteen ninety five). Schedule Combinations and Choice: Experiment and Theory. Mexican Journal of Behavior Analysis, 21: 163-274.

The psychology behind irrational decisions - Sara Garofalo (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Théorie du choix rationnel: prenons-nous des décisions logiquement?

Théorie du choix rationnel: prenons-nous des décisions logiquement?

Janvier 17, 2022

La théorie du choix rationnel (TER) est une proposition qui émerge dans les sciences sociales appliquée en particulier à l'économie, mais cela a été transféré à l'analyse du comportement humain. Le TER prête attention à la manière dont un individu réalise l'action de «choisir». C'est-à-dire qu'il pose des questions sur les schémas cognitifs et sociaux au moyen desquels un individu dirige ses actions.

Dans cet article, nous verrons quelle est la théorie du choix rationnel, comment elle se pose et où elle a été appliquée, et enfin, nous présentons quelques critiques formulées récemment.

  • Article connexe: "Sommes-nous des êtres rationnels ou émotionnels?"

Quelle est la théorie du choix rationnel (TER)?

La théorie du choix rationnel (TER) est une école de pensée basée sur la proposition suivante: Les choix individuels sont faits selon les préférences personnelles .


Par conséquent, le TER est également un modèle pour expliquer la façon dont nous prenons les décisions (en particulier dans le contexte économique et politique, mais il s'applique également aux autres où il est important de savoir comment nous décidons des actions et en quoi cela affecte une grande échelle). . Le "rationnel" se réfère généralement aux choix que nous faisons ils sont compatibles avec nos préférences personnelles , dérivé d'eux d'une manière logique.

  • Cela peut vous intéresser: "Théorie de la rationalité limitée de Herbert Simon"

Qu'est-ce qu'un choix rationnel selon le TER?

Un choix consiste à choisir une parmi plusieurs alternatives disponibles et à conduire notre comportement en fonction de cette sélection. Parfois, des choix sont impliqués , d'autres fois ils sont explicites. C’est-à-dire que parfois nous les prenons automatiquement, surtout s’ils répondent à des besoins fondamentaux ou pour maintenir notre intégrité ou notre survie.


D’autre part, les choix explicites sont ceux que nous prenons consciemment (rationnellement) conformément à ce que nous considérons comme l'option la plus appropriée pour nos intérêts .

La proposition du TER, en gros, est que les êtres humains choisissent de manière fondamentalement rationnelle. C’est-à-dire fondés sur la capacité de penser et d’imaginer les effets secondaires possibles des solutions de rechange existantes avant de prendre une décision, puis de sélectionner celles qui sont les plus appropriées à notre avantage à ce moment-là (dans une logique de rentabilité).

Cela impliquerait également que les êtres humains soient suffisamment indépendants et que nous ayons la capacité suffisante pour générer un contrôle de soi émotionnel, de sorte qu’il n’y ait pas d’autres variables que notre propre raison pour prendre des décisions.

D'où vient-il?

La théorie du choix rationnel est généralement associée à un paradigme économique (précisément parce qu'elle a permis de générer le modèle de calcul coûts-avantages). Cependant, c’est une théorie à travers laquelle vous pouvez comprendre de nombreux autres éléments qui façonnent le comportement humain et les sociétés .


Dans le contexte des sciences sociales, la théorie du choix rationnel représentait une transformation théorique et méthodologique importante. Il apparaît principalement dans le contexte intellectuel américain au cours de la seconde moitié du 20e siècle et en réaction aux modèles économiques du bien-être .

Dans le domaine des sciences politiques, le TER a critiqué une grande partie des paradigmes actuels dans le contexte universitaire américain, ce qui a par la suite été transféré à l'analyse des disciplines de la psychologie et de la sociologie. Dans ce dernier cas, le TER s'interroge sur les implications de l'intérêt personnel, de l'expérience personnelle et de l'intentionnalité, dans l'action humaine et dans la recherche. C'est-à-dire, s'intéresse à l'individualisme méthodologique .

Dans un sens très large, il s'agit d'une "critique de l'excès de narcissisme mathématique par rapport aux exigences du réalisme que doivent avoir les sciences sociales". Ainsi, la théorie du choix rationnel a été une tentative pour orienter les disciplines sociales vers des pratiques et des connaissances rigoureuses.

Prenons-nous des décisions "rationnellement"? Quelques critiques du TER

Certains problèmes générés concernent l’utilisation, parfois intuitive, du mot "rationnel". Vidal de la Rosa (2008) affirme que pour le TER, les comportements humains ne sont qu'instruments et que le contexte culturel détermine les alternatives sur lesquelles nous pouvons décider, puis les comportements seraient également prédéterminés par la culture .

En outre, la polysémie du mot "rationalité" rend difficile son utilisation comme support de la théorie sociale, car il est difficile de l'homogénéiser et, avec cela, il est compliqué que les chercheurs puissent établir une communication les uns avec les autres, puis mettre en pratique leurs connaissances. à la société.

Dans le même sens, on peut facilement confondre «rationalité» et «intentionnalité», et TER ne traite généralement pas non plus de la différence et des relations entre choix implicites et explicites. Depuis quelques années ce dernier il a été étudié dans des expériences de laboratoire . Certaines de ces enquêtes analysent les différentes variables cognitives et environnementales pouvant influer sur une décision supposée rationnelle.

Enfin, l’individualisme méthodologique a été critiqué, c’est-à-dire qu’il a été remis en question si l'intérêt est la raison du comportement et demande donc si cet intérêt est valable en tant que moyen d’acquérir des connaissances scientifiques.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Encyclopédie Britannica. (2018). Théorie du choix rationnel. Récupéré le 1er juin 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.britannica.com/topic/rational-choice-theory.
  • Vidal de la Rosa, G. (2008). La théorie du choix rationnel en sciences sociales. Sociologie (Mexique). 23 (67): 221-236.
  • Staddon, J.E.R. (1995). Combinaisons d'horaires et choix: expérience et théorie. Journal mexicain d'analyse de comportement, 21: 163-274.

The psychology behind irrational decisions - Sara Garofalo (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes