yes, therapy helps!
Therapy with horses: an alternative therapeutic resource

Therapy with horses: an alternative therapeutic resource

October 1, 2022

More and more people are turning to animals looking for a different or complementary way to traditional therapy. While it is true that the most accessible is dog-assisted therapy, there are other options that are in full growth thanks to their specific effects.

The horse has made a hole in the therapeutic world, and there is no lack of reasons, because both are contributing a lot, especially in childhood pathologies. Let's see, then, how is therapy with horses . Why them and not others?

  • Related article: "The benefits of dog therapy"

The horse, from Hippocrates until today

The therapies with horse have not been invented today, since Hippocrates told how in Ancient Greece horseback riding was given to people with incurable diseases to improve your self-esteem.


Since then much progress has been made and it is now known that there are mainly three characteristics of this animal that work as a basis for therapy:

1. Your body heat

The horse has a body temperature higher than that of the human being, therefore the transmission of this heat helps in muscle relaxation and stimulates tactile perception . In addition to the smooth movement of the movement causes what is known as "rocking effect" is a feeling that, especially in children, generates security and a space of protection.

2. Its transmission of rhythmic impulses

By means of movement the horse transmits these impulses to the pelvic belt, the spine and the extremities of the rider. Thanks to the concept of cerebral plasticity, it is known that physiological impulses that start in muscle and bone tissue can compensate for damaged neuronal areas by activating new ones. This objective is the same as that sought with physiotherapy, but in this case it is the horse that stimulates.


3. The pattern of locomotion

A pattern of locomotion equivalent to the physiological pattern of human walking it is very useful in animal therapy .

This assumption is very valuable in patients who do not have the necessary control of the head and trunk, for example in people with cerebral palsy. During the ride the patient walks seated, with the necessary time and practice that pattern can be automated and generate improvements in walking.

On the other hand, feeling attached to the horse and noticing the progress of it generates confidence in oneself and in the environment, a key aspect in the therapeutic process.

How is equinotherapy performed?

The benefits of therapy with the horse they are not obtained merely from animal contact , it is necessary to guide and plan the steps of the therapy and follow certain processes to obtain the best benefits.


There are two ways to relate to the horse, so that the patient can adapt the therapy to their needs.

Hippotherapy

The patient benefits from the qualities of the horse adapting your body to movements of the animal Neuromuscular exercises can be added to this process that stimulate muscle tone, balance and coordination.

The therapeutic mounts

This alternative joins the learning of riding a therapeutic goal . The goal is to be an active rider, and is achieved by combining training with therapeutic games and neuromuscular and gymnastic exercises.

It is an integral therapy, that is, it has very different therapeutic effects. It acts above all in the regulation of muscle tone, locomotion, stability of the trunk and head, psychomotricity, and in the construction of body symmetry. It also favors sensory integration and the proprioceptive system (perception of posture and own movements).

In addition, concentration and attention are benefited during therapy, as well as an increase in self-esteem and self-confidence. It influences both verbal and non-verbal communication; Y decreases aggression and promotes values ​​such as cooperation And the responsability.

There are multiple clinical pictures for which this therapy is recommended: cerebral palsy, multiple sclerosis, Down syndrome, scoliosis, lumbago, Parkinson's disease, hyperactivity disorder and attention deficit, autism ... But there are also others for which it is contraindicated as the hip dysplasia, spina bifida, muscular dystrophy (weakness in muscles) or hemophilia (defect in blood clotting)

A final reflection

These innovative therapies are not intended to replace conventional treatments, but offer a complement, that is, the search for a good teamwork that achieves a perfect gear and improves the quality of life of the patient. Equine therapy is another of the many tools available to psychology and health sciences in general to improve the quality of life of patients.


Gait To Freedom | SPURS Therapeutic Riding Center Documentary (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Thérapie avec les chevaux: une ressource thérapeutique alternative

Thérapie avec les chevaux: une ressource thérapeutique alternative

Septembre 11, 2022

De plus en plus de gens se tournent vers les animaux à la recherche d'une manière différente ou complémentaire de la thérapie traditionnelle. S'il est vrai que la thérapie la plus accessible est la thérapie assistée par un chien, il existe d'autres options en pleine croissance grâce à leurs effets spécifiques.

Le cheval a fait un trou dans le monde thérapeutique et les raisons ne manquent pas, car les deux contribuent beaucoup, en particulier dans les pathologies de l’enfance. Voyons voir alors comment est la thérapie avec des chevaux . Pourquoi eux et pas les autres?

  • Article connexe: "Les avantages de la thérapie par le chien"

Le cheval, d'Hippocrate à aujourd'hui

Les thérapies à cheval n'ont pas encore été inventées depuis qu'Hippocrate a raconté comment dans la Grèce antique équitation a été donnée aux personnes atteintes de maladies incurables pour améliorer votre estime de soi.


Depuis lors, beaucoup de progrès ont été accomplis et on sait maintenant que cet animal présente principalement trois caractéristiques qui servent de base à une thérapie:

1. La chaleur de votre corps

Le cheval a une température corporelle supérieure à celle de l'être humain, donc la transmission de cette chaleur aide à la relaxation musculaire et stimule la perception tactile . En plus du mouvement sans heurt du mouvement, ce que l’on appelle «effet de balancement» est un sentiment qui crée, en particulier chez les enfants, une sécurité et un espace de protection.

2. Sa transmission des impulsions rythmiques

Au moyen du mouvement du cheval transmet ces impulsions à la ceinture pelvienne, à la colonne vertébrale et aux extrémités du cavalier. Grâce au concept de plasticité cérébrale, il est connu que les impulsions physiologiques qui commencent dans les tissus musculaires et osseux peuvent compenser les zones neuronales endommagées en en activant de nouvelles. Cet objectif est le même que celui recherché en physiothérapie, mais dans ce cas, c'est le cheval qui stimule.


3. Le modèle de locomotion

Un schéma de locomotion équivalent au schéma physiologique de la marche humaine c'est très utile en zoothérapie .

Cette hypothèse est très utile chez les patients ne disposant pas du contrôle nécessaire de la tête et du tronc, par exemple chez les personnes atteintes de paralysie cérébrale. Pendant le trajet, le patient s’assoit assis et dispose du temps et de la pratique nécessaires pour automatiser ce schéma et en améliorer la marche.

D'autre part, se sentir attaché au cheval et en observer les progrès génère une confiance en soi et dans l'environnement, un aspect clé du processus thérapeutique.

Comment se déroule l'équinothérapie?

Les bienfaits de la thérapie avec le cheval ils ne sont pas obtenus simplement par contact avec des animaux , il est nécessaire de guider et de planifier les étapes de la thérapie et de suivre certains processus pour obtenir les meilleurs avantages.


Il existe deux manières de s’associer au cheval pour que le patient puisse adapter le traitement à ses besoins.

Hippothérapie

Le patient bénéficie des qualités du cheval adapter votre corps aux mouvements de l'animal Des exercices neuromusculaires peuvent être ajoutés à ce processus pour stimuler le tonus musculaire, l'équilibre et la coordination.

Les montages thérapeutiques

Cette alternative rejoint l'apprentissage de l'équitation un objectif thérapeutique . L'objectif est d'être un cavalier actif et est atteint en combinant un entraînement avec des jeux thérapeutiques et des exercices neuromusculaires et de gymnastique.

C'est une thérapie intégrale, c'est-à-dire qu'elle a des effets thérapeutiques très différents. Il agit surtout dans la régulation du tonus musculaire, de la locomotion, de la stabilité du tronc et de la tête, dans la psychomotricité et dans la construction de la symétrie corporelle. Il favorise également l'intégration sensorielle et le système proprioceptif (perception de la posture et de ses propres mouvements).

En outre, la concentration et l'attention sont bénéfiques pendant le traitement, de même qu'une augmentation de l'estime de soi et de la confiance en soi. Il influence la communication verbale et non verbale. et diminue l'agression et promeut des valeurs telles que la coopération et la responsabilité.

Ce traitement est recommandé pour plusieurs tableaux cliniques: paralysie cérébrale, sclérose en plaques, syndrome de Down, scoliose, lumbago, maladie de Parkinson, trouble de l'hyperactivité et déficit de l'attention, autisme ... Mais il y en a aussi pour lesquels il est contre-indiqué dysplasie de la hanche, spina bifida, dystrophie musculaire (faiblesse musculaire) ou hémophilie (trouble de la coagulation du sang)

Une dernière réflexion

Ces thérapies innovantes ne sont pas destinées à remplacer les traitements conventionnels, mais offrent un complément, c'est-à-dire la recherche d'un bon travail d'équipe qui réalise un engrenage parfait et améliore la qualité de vie du patient. La thérapie équine est un autre des nombreux outils à la disposition de la psychologie et des sciences de la santé en général pour améliorer la qualité de vie des patients.

Articles Connexes