yes, therapy helps!
They get to clone the first monkeys with the Dolly method

They get to clone the first monkeys with the Dolly method

May 24, 2022

Zhong Zhong and Hua Hua have been introduced to the international community two macaques that were born cloned with the Dolly method , the famous sheep that could be successfully cloned a little over two decades ago. This has happened thanks to the Chinese Academy of Sciences in the macro city of Shanghai, at a decisive moment where the debate about genetic manipulation and "à la carte" is on the table. The results have been so surprising that the scientists predict a profitable advance in the matter.

In addition to having exceeded initial expectations and observing the normal behavior of primates both physically and psychologically, the scientists involved say that in the future they can genetically modify these animals as a pilot test for a possible human genetic modification aimed at reducing diseases hereditary diseases such as cancer or Alzheimer's.


  • Related article: "Differences between DNA and RNA"

Cloning primates is now a reality

Everyone was stunned when the success of the first cloning of a mammal, the famous Dolly sheep, was announced back in 1996. This was a milestone and an exponential advance in the scientific field linked to genetics, and since then has tried to work with the evolutionary branch of primates to be able to demonstrate the possibility of create creatures without malformations or deficiencies . To date, it has only been possible to clone mammalian species, with a total of 23 of them.

However, a few years after the Dolly phenomenon, in the United States an unsuccessful attempt was made to clone a monkey, albeit with a different technique. This was about emulating the division of an embryo in two to produce twins. Back in 2007, another team of American researchers cloned monkey embryos, but without these becoming viable.


  • Maybe you're interested: "20 Biology books for beginners"

The Dolly method

As it happened with Dolly the sheep, the method used to clone these two primates has been the nuclear transfer from a cell of a single individual , taking a fibroblast from the tissue of the fetus of a monkey. These nuclei were inserted in empty ovules and, once fertilized, they were incubated by mothers until they gave birth to Zhong and Hua. They were baptized that way because Zhonghua means "nation."

Mu-Ming Poo, co-author of the primate research and director of the Shanghai Neuroscience Institute, warns that there are no barriers to cloning primates, making it increasingly feasible to clone humans for sharing a genetic very similar. At the same time, he wanted to move forward to clear the million dollar question: will this serve to clone humans? The primary objective at the moment is to produce non-human primates for research, without any intention of extending it to people.


Controversy and controversy

Many people will come to mind how dangerous it can be to "play God." For decades, the human being has gone beyond his imagination and the limits of science to achieve impossible a priori milestones, passing through the moon, reproducing bionic extremities and now the creation of human beings seems closer and closer. Remind yourself of Frankenstein's film.

It turns out that the crux of the matter does not lie in the possibility or not of reproducing humans genetically or to the taste of the consumer. The main goal is to develop new methods for investigate the causes of common diseases , prevent them or even cure them. The pharmaceutical industry spends huge amounts of money producing pills that, for all practical purposes, do not end the problem, but rather attenuate its symptoms. But in many cases the drugs that are experienced in mice and are effective, in a human being have no effect. The possibility of cloning at least parts of the human body could serve to give these investigations more reliability and validity.

Final results?

Although the result of the cloning of these two primates is a real success, it is still premature to assume that from now on it will be easy to continue doing so. Of the more than 100 embryos developed and transferred with fibroblasts, only six pregnancies were achieved and only 2 of them were born generating healthy clones. In this way, the tests continue to show a clear deficiency in the technique. With another test that was performed on almost 200 embryos, the results were equally poor: from 20 pregnancies only 2 specimens that died soon after were born.

Other experts from the western world, such as Lluís Montoliu, of the Superior Council of Scientific Research, believes that It is not truly ethical to use this technique because of the excess embryos used to achieve such poor results. According to Montoliu, twenty years after Dolly, the conclusions and results remain the same.


Move Over, Dolly: Scientists Clone Two Monkeys (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Ils peuvent cloner les premiers singes avec la méthode Dolly

Ils peuvent cloner les premiers singes avec la méthode Dolly

Juillet 22, 2022

Zhong Zhong et Hua Hua ont été présentés à la communauté internationale deux macaques nés clonés avec la méthode Dolly , le célèbre mouton qui pourrait être cloné avec succès il y a un peu plus de deux décennies. Cela s'est produit grâce à l'Académie chinoise des sciences de la grande ville de Shanghai, à un moment décisif où le débat sur la manipulation génétique et "à la carte" est sur la table. Les résultats ont été si surprenants que les scientifiques prédisent une avancée rentable en la matière.

En plus d'avoir dépassé les attentes initiales et d'avoir observé le comportement normal des primates physiquement et psychologiquement, les scientifiques impliqués affirment qu'à l'avenir, ils pourront modifier génétiquement ces animaux en tant que test pilote d'une éventuelle modification génétique humaine visant à réduire les maladies. maladies héréditaires telles que le cancer ou la maladie d'Alzheimer.


  • Article connexe: "Différences entre l'ADN et l'ARN"

Le clonage des primates est maintenant une réalité

Tout le monde était abasourdi lorsque le succès du premier clonage d'un mammifère, le célèbre mouton Dolly, a été annoncé en 1996. Il s'agissait d'un événement marquant et d'une avancée exponentielle dans le domaine scientifique lié à la génétique. a essayé de travailler avec la branche évolutive des primates pour pouvoir démontrer la possibilité de créer des créatures sans malformations ni carences . Jusqu'à présent, il n'a été possible de cloner que des espèces de mammifères, avec un total de 23 d'entre elles.

Cependant, quelques années après le phénomène Dolly, aux États-Unis, une tentative infructueuse de cloner un singe a été tentée, bien qu'avec une technique différente. Il s’agissait d’émuler la division d’un embryon en deux pour produire des jumeaux. En 2007, une autre équipe de chercheurs américains avait cloné des embryons de singe, mais sans que ceux-ci deviennent viables.


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "20 livres de biologie pour débutants"

La méthode Dolly

Comme il est arrivé avec Dolly le mouton, la méthode utilisée pour cloner ces deux primates a été le transfert nucléaire d'une cellule d'un seul individu , prenant un fibroblaste dans le tissu du fœtus d’un singe. Ces noyaux ont été insérés dans des ovules vides et, une fois fécondés, ils ont été incubés par les mères jusqu'à la naissance de Zhong et Hua. Ils ont été baptisés de cette façon parce que Zhonghua signifie "nation".

Mu-Ming Poo, co-auteur de la recherche sur les primates et directeur de l'institut des neurosciences de Shanghai, avertit qu'il n'y a pas d'obstacles au clonage des primates, ce qui rend de plus en plus faisable le clonage humain pour le partage génétique très similaire. En même temps, il voulait aller de l'avant pour résoudre la question à un million de dollars: cela servira-t-il à cloner des humains? L’objectif principal à l’heure actuelle est de produire des primates non humains à des fins de recherche, sans aucune intention de les étendre à la population.


Controverse et controverse

Beaucoup de gens vont se rendre compte à quel point il peut être dangereux de "jouer à Dieu". Pendant des décennies, l'être humain a dépassé son imagination et les limites de la science pour franchir des jalons impossibles a priori: franchir la Lune, reproduire des extrémités bioniques et la création d'êtres humains semble de plus en plus proche. Rappelez-vous le film de Frankenstein.

Il s'avère que le fond du problème ne réside pas dans la possibilité ou non de reproduire l'homme génétiquement ou au goût du consommateur. L’objectif principal est de développer de nouvelles méthodes de rechercher les causes des maladies courantes , les prévenir ou même les soigner. L'industrie pharmaceutique dépense des sommes énormes pour produire des pilules qui, à toutes fins pratiques, ne mettent pas fin au problème, mais atténuent plutôt ses symptômes. Mais dans de nombreux cas, les médicaments utilisés chez la souris et qui sont efficaces chez l’être humain n’ont aucun effet. La possibilité de cloner au moins certaines parties du corps humain pourrait servir à conférer plus de fiabilité et de validité à ces enquêtes.

Résultats finaux?

Bien que le résultat du clonage de ces deux primates soit un réel succès, il est encore prématuré de penser qu’il sera désormais facile de continuer à le faire. Sur plus de 100 embryons développés et transférés avec des fibroblastes, seules six grossesses ont été réalisées et seulement deux d'entre elles sont nées et ont généré des clones sains. De cette manière, les tests continuent à montrer une nette déficience de la technique. Avec un autre test effectué sur près de 200 embryons, les résultats étaient également médiocres: sur 20 grossesses, seuls 2 spécimens décédés peu de temps après sont nés.

D'autres experts du monde occidental, tels que Lluís Montoliu, du Conseil supérieur de la recherche scientifique, estiment que Il n’est pas vraiment éthique d’utiliser cette technique en raison de l’excès d’embryons utilisé pour obtenir de tels résultats médiocres. Selon Montoliu, vingt ans après Dolly, les conclusions et les résultats restent les mêmes.


Chine : des singes clonés pour la première fois (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes