yes, therapy helps!
Thinking with the body: embodied cognition

Thinking with the body: embodied cognition

August 6, 2022

Since the "I think, therefore I exist" of René Descartes has rained a lot, and yet his way of understanding the human being seems to have clung to the history of thought. The approach body - mind that Descartes helped to project towards the Age of Reason has created a very fertile dualistic tradition in which both psychology and neuroscience have participated. Today it is still customary to establish a distinction between brain and body, at least when it comes to explaining the cognition and the thinking nature of the human being.

Embodied Cognition or thinking with the body

That is why in some lines of research we try to look inside the skull for the primordial causes of human behavior, appealing to neural components smaller and smaller in an infinite progression that is often called reductionism .


However, to this brain-centered conception of thought a rival has emerged. The idea of embodied cognition , which could be translated as "cognition in the body" or "thinking with the body", emphasizes the coexistence between cognition and bodily functions, two elements that merge and whose relationship goes far beyond the simple container - content scheme .

Breaking barriers

While a dualistic model would advocate for separation of functions between a central executive responsible for cognition and located in the brain, and a few ways of input and output of data provided by the body, hypotheses arising from embodied cognition emphasize the Dialectical and dynamic character that is established between many components of the body (including the brain here) when remembering, judging, making decisions, reasoning, etc. From this stream it is pointed out that it is impractical to distinguish between a body that sends and receives information to the brain and is a passive agent while the brain processes the data and a brain that is a passive agent while its orders extend through the rest of the body and take the reins of the situation when this stage has already passed.


The stream of embodied cognition (thinking with the body) has experiments in its favor. In a study at Yale University, for example, it showed to what extent the application of irrational criteria linked to the most primary sensory perceptions can influence our more abstract categorizations . The experiment began by asking the experimental subjects to go to a laboratory located on a fourth floor. In the elevator, one researcher asked each of the people participating in the study to hold a cup of coffee while she pointed their names. In some cases, the coffee was hot; in others, it contained ice. Once in the laboratory, each of the participants was asked to make a description of the character of an unknown person. The people holding the hot cup tended to speak of the unknown person as close, friendly, and more trustworthy compared to the descriptions of the "cold coffee" group whose descriptions pointed to the opposite characteristics.


There are other samples on how physical dispositions that theoretically only concern the Body receptors at the most primary levels affect the most abstract cognitive processes , which according to the dualist conception are monopolized by agents located in the cerebral cortex. Mark Yates is studying how the simple act of moving the eyes creates patterns of response in the random generation of numbers: the movement of eyes to the right is associated with imagining larger numbers, and vice versa). Less recently, for example, we have Gordon H. Bower's research on the link between emotions and memory.

Beyond the scientific field, we could talk about how popular knowledge links certain habits of life and dispositions of the body with certain cognitive styles. We can also admit that the idea of ​​the formation of some or other abstract categories of thought from sensible impressions is quite reminiscent of David Hume .

Matryoshka Dolls

The dualist perspective is kind when it comes to being thought, because it distinguishes between agents with very specific tasks that cooperate to obtain results. However, any sample of which variables for which the body should be a bumper not only affect cognition, but modulate it, is potentially heretical for this conception of man.

Not only because it shows to what extent both parties are related, but because, in fact, it forces us to rethink to what extent it is right to continue believing in the distinction between perceptive and rational units.Any explanation of human behavior that needs to appeal to a brain that gives orders unilaterally is throwing balls out about a fundamental issue: Who gives orders to the brain? Who watches the watchmen?


THUNK - 137. Embodied Cognition (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Penser avec le corps: la cognition incarnée

Penser avec le corps: la cognition incarnée

Août 17, 2022

Depuis le "je pense donc que j'existe" de René Descartes a beaucoup plu, et pourtant sa manière de comprendre l'être humain semble s'être accrochée à l'histoire de la pensée. L'approche corps - esprit que Descartes a contribué à projeter vers l'âge de raison a créé une tradition dualiste très féconde, à laquelle ont participé à la fois la psychologie et les neurosciences. Aujourd'hui encore, il est d'usage d'établir une distinction entre le cerveau et le corps, du moins lorsqu'il s'agit d'expliquer la cognition et la nature pensante de l'être humain.

Cognition incarnée ou pensée avec le corps

C’est pourquoi, dans certains domaines de recherche, nous essayons de rechercher dans le crâne les causes primordiales du comportement humain, en faisant appel à: composants neuronaux de plus en plus petit dans une progression infinie souvent appelée réductionnisme .


Cependant, à cette conception de la pensée centrée sur le cerveau, un rival est apparu. L'idée de cognition incarnée , qui pourrait se traduire par "cognition dans le corps" ou "penser avec le corps", souligne la coexistence entre la cognition et les fonctions corporelles, deux éléments qui se confondent et dont la relation dépasse de loin le simple schéma conteneur - contenu .

Briser les barrières

Alors qu'un modèle dualiste plaiderait pour séparation des fonctions entre un cadre central responsable de la cognition et situé dans le cerveau, et quelques moyens d’entrée et de sortie de données fournies par le corps, les hypothèses issues de la cognition Caractère dialectique et dynamique qui est établi entre de nombreuses composantes du corps (y compris le cerveau ici) lors de la mémorisation, du jugement, de la prise de décisions, du raisonnement, etc. Il est difficile de distinguer entre un corps qui envoie et reçoit des informations au cerveau et est un agent passif pendant que le cerveau traite les données et un cerveau qui est un agent passif tandis que ses ordres s’étendent au reste du corps et prennent la la situation lorsque cette étape est déjà passée.


Le courant de la cognition incarnée (penser avec le corps) a des expériences en sa faveur. Dans une étude de l’Université de Yale, par exemple, il a montré dans quelle mesure l'application de critères irrationnels liés aux perceptions sensorielles les plus primaires peut influencer nos catégorisations plus abstraites . L'expérience a commencé par demander aux sujets expérimentaux de se rendre dans un laboratoire situé au quatrième étage. Dans l'ascenseur, une chercheuse a demandé à chacune des personnes participant à l'étude de tenir une tasse de café pendant qu'elle indiquait leur nom. Dans certains cas, le café était chaud; dans d'autres, il contenait de la glace. Une fois dans le laboratoire, il a été demandé à chacun des participants de décrire le caractère d’un inconnu. Les personnes qui tenaient la tasse chaude avaient tendance à parler de l'inconnu comme étant proche, amical et plus digne de confiance par rapport aux descriptions du groupe "café froid" dont les descriptions indiquaient les caractéristiques opposées.


Il y a d'autres exemples sur la manière dont les dispositions physiques ne concernent théoriquement que les Les récepteurs du corps aux niveaux les plus primaires affectent les processus cognitifs les plus abstraits qui, selon la conception dualiste, sont monopolisés par des agents situés dans le cortex cérébral. Mark Yates étudie comment le simple fait de bouger les yeux crée des schémas de réponse dans la génération aléatoire de nombres: le mouvement des yeux vers la droite est associé à l’imagination de nombres plus grands, et inversement). Moins récemment, par exemple, nous avons la recherche de Gordon H. Bower sur le lien entre les émotions et la mémoire.

Au-delà du domaine scientifique, nous pourrions parler de la manière dont le savoir populaire lie certaines habitudes de vie et dispositions corporelles à certains styles cognitifs. Nous pouvons également admettre que l’idée de la formation de certaines catégories abstraites de pensées à partir d’impressions sensibles rappelle tout à fait David Hume .

Matriochka Poupées

La perspective dualiste est gentille quand il s'agit de penser, car elle distingue des agents ayant des tâches très spécifiques qui coopèrent pour obtenir des résultats. Cependant, tout échantillon dont les variables pour lesquelles le corps devrait être un pare-choc affecte non seulement la cognition, mais le module, est potentiellement hérétique pour cette conception de l'homme.

Non seulement parce que cela montre à quel point les deux parties sont liées, mais aussi parce que cela nous oblige à repenser à quel point il est juste de continuer à croire en la distinction entre les unités perceptives et rationnelles.Toute explication du comportement humain qui doit faire appel à un cerveau qui donne des ordres de manière unilatérale jette les bases d'un problème fondamental: Qui donne des ordres au cerveau? Qui surveille les gardiens?


Quelle est l'influence de l'interaction sur la perception des objets ? – Yannick Wamain – FSC 2016 (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes