yes, therapy helps!
This is how

This is how "likes" in social networks affect your brain

May 9, 2021

An investigation carried out by UCLA and published in Psychological Science has concluded that the fact of seeing how photographs published in a social network are appreciated by other people via the "like" button activates the same areas of the brain that are activated by masturbation. or the fact of savoring very sweet foods like chocolate.

The Psychology behind the likes of Instagram and Facebook

This study confirms the intuition that many people had: that the functioning of certain social networks is designed so that these are true gymnasiums of narcissism.

However, its implications go much further. Let's see how the research was conducted.


How was the study done?

This investigation, carried out by the psychologist Lauren Sherman and his team, was based on the use of an imitation of the Instagram social network. Sherman and his researchers recruited 32 teenagers (14 boys and 18 girls) accustomed to using Instagram and, through magnetic resonance, they saw the way their brain activated while the young people interacted with the imitation of that social network where they could see both the images that they had uploaded and the photos of unknown people.

Each of the participants in this experiment was informed that they were going to use a social network used by a small community while fMRI images were taken of their neural activity. However, the truth is that the photographs of unknown people seemed to belong to the accounts of young people, had been selected by the research team and, in fact, these scientists were also responsible for putting a certain amount of likes in all the images .


Thus, each adolescent had the opportunity to react to 40 of the photographs from his own real Instagram account and 108 belonging to strangers. In addition, the researchers informed the participants that each of the photographs they were going to see had been viewed, valued and potentially "liked" by about fifty young people, something that was not true.

The effects that Instagram has on the human brain

When checking the images of different brains obtained by means of magnetic resonance, Sherman and his companions saw that a structure of the brain called nucleus accumbens it was activated more how many more likes an image had. This is very relevant, considering that the nucleus accumbens is responsible for experiencing moments of intense pleasure when winning a prize, having an orgasm , drink a smoothie, etc.


This area of ​​the brain is responsible for detecting peak moments of pleasure and thus has a role in the emergence of addictions and reward mechanisms in charge of trying to create situations so that these "peaks of happiness" are repeated so often as possible.

The influence of others sneaks into the digital

But this investigation also yielded another surprising conclusion: social networks can make teens more inclined to perform reckless acts , something that also happens when they are physically accompanied by other people of the same age.

In young people of both sexes who participated in the research, the regions of the brain related to self-control and follow-up of standards were relatively subdued when they saw images related to risky behaviors, such as skateboarding through dangerous terrain or driving while taking photos. .. even if they did not know the people to whom the photographs supposedly belonged. This effect intensified if these photographs had a lot of likes .

To this effect we must add the one we have seen before. Likes cause the small cerebral structures of pleasure to be activated, which can cause the well being to be associated not only with the images themselves, but also with the activities that can be seen in them.

Is there reason for the alarms to go off?

The idea that participating in a social network like Instagram can induce younger people to pursue risk is still a hypothesis that has yet to be proven. After all, what we have seen in this research are only images of brain regions activated or deactivated, and has not been experienced in real environments where young people might try to take careless .

However, these results give reasons to continue investigating in this line, even if we have the opportunity to educate and educate ourselves in the use of social networks.


How Social Media Affects Your Brain (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
C'est ainsi que les

C'est ainsi que les "j'aime" dans les réseaux sociaux affectent votre cerveau

Février 18, 2019

Une enquête menée par UCLA et publiée dans Psychological Science a conclu que le fait de voir comment des photographies publiées sur un réseau social sont appréciées par d’autres personnes via le bouton "J'aime" active les mêmes zones du cerveau qui sont activées par la masturbation. ou le fait de savourer des aliments très sucrés comme le chocolat.

La psychologie derrière Instagram et Facebook

Cette étude confirme l'intuition de beaucoup de gens: que le fonctionnement de certains réseaux sociaux est conçu pour être de véritables gymnases du narcissisme.

Cependant, ses implications vont beaucoup plus loin. Voyons comment la recherche a été menée.


Comment l'étude a-t-elle été faite?

Cette enquête, réalisée par le psychologue Lauren Sherman et son équipe reposaient sur l'utilisation d'une imitation du réseau social Instagram. Sherman et ses chercheurs ont recruté 32 adolescents (14 garçons et 18 filles) habitués à utiliser Instagram et, par résonance magnétique, ont constaté la façon dont leur cerveau s'activait pendant que les jeunes interagissaient avec l'imitation de ce réseau social où ils pouvaient voir. à la fois les images qu'ils avaient téléchargées et les photos d'inconnus.

Chacun des participants à cette expérience a été informé qu'il allait utiliser un réseau social utilisé par une petite communauté lors de la prise d'images IRMf de son activité neurale. Cependant, la vérité est que les photographies de personnes inconnues semblaient appartenir aux récits de jeunes, avaient été sélectionnées par l'équipe de recherche et, en fait, ces scientifiques étaient également responsables de mettre un certain nombre de goûts dans toutes les images. .


Ainsi, chaque adolescent a eu l’occasion de réagir à 40 des photographies de son propre compte Instagram et à 108 appartenant à des inconnus. En outre, les chercheurs ont informé les participants que chacune des photographies qu’ils allaient voir avait été visionnée, valorisée et potentiellement "appréciée" par une cinquantaine de jeunes, ce qui était faux.

Les effets d'Instagram sur le cerveau humain

En vérifiant les images de différents cerveaux obtenues par résonance magnétique, Sherman et ses compagnons virent qu'une structure du cerveau appelée noyau accumbens plus le nombre de goûts d’une image a été activé. Ceci est très pertinent, étant donné que le noyau accumbens est responsable de vivre des moments de plaisir intense lors de la victoire, de l'orgasme , boire un smoothie, etc.


Cette zone du cerveau est responsable de la détection des pics de plaisir et joue donc un rôle dans l’émergence de dépendances et de mécanismes de récompense chargés de créer des situations propices à la répétition de ces "pics de bonheur". souvent que possible.

L'influence des autres se faufile dans le numérique

Mais cette enquête a également abouti à une autre conclusion surprenante: les réseaux sociaux peuvent inciter les adolescents plus enclins à accomplir des actes téméraires , quelque chose qui arrive aussi quand ils sont physiquement accompagnés par d'autres personnes du même âge.

Chez les jeunes des deux sexes ayant participé à la recherche, les régions du cerveau liées à la maîtrise de soi et au respect des normes étaient relativement modérées quand ils voyaient des images relatives à des comportements à risque, telles que la planche à roulettes sur un terrain dangereux ou la conduite de photos. .. même s'ils ne connaissaient pas les personnes à qui les photographies auraient appartenu. Cet effet s'intensifie si ces photographies ont beaucoup de goûts .

A cet effet, il faut ajouter celui que nous avons vu auparavant. Les aimés activent les petites structures cérébrales du plaisir, ce qui peut associer le bien-être non seulement aux images elles-mêmes, mais également aux activités qui y sont visibles.

Y a-t-il une raison pour que les alarmes se déclenchent?

L'idée que la participation à un réseau social tel qu'Instagram puisse amener les jeunes à prendre des risques est encore une hypothèse qui n'a pas encore été prouvée. Après tout, ce que nous avons vu dans cette recherche ne sont que des images de régions du cerveau activées ou désactivées, et n'a pas été expérimenté dans des environnements réels où les jeunes pourraient essayer de prendre des précautions .

Cependant, ces résultats donnent des raisons de poursuivre les recherches dans cette ligne, même si nous avons la possibilité de nous renseigner et de nous renseigner sur l'utilisation des réseaux sociaux.


13 SECRETS de GENS HEUREUX - Sois pas si bêêête #11 (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes