yes, therapy helps!
This is how others judge us through the Internet

This is how others judge us through the Internet

April 17, 2024

The popularization of Internet use during the last 15 years has not simply made us connect more and more to the network of networks. In addition to using the resources to which we have access thanks to this brilliant invention, many people who make regular use of social networks have experienced how their self-esteem has been connected to the public image they give online .

And if there are people who notice how their well-being or discomfort depends in part on what happens on the Internet, it is precisely because we are Constantly judging who is behind those Facebook profiles, Instagram or similar. Even if we do not realize it, we generate a positive or negative emotional response to the self-referential contents that others publish.


We can choose whether or not to be interested in what others think of us, but the truth is that regardless of that, wherever there is a publication of ours, there will be people valuing you, usually in an unsound way.

  • Related article: "This is how" likes "in social networks affect your brain"

How we judge ourselves through the Internet

Below you can see some samples of how much one tends to judge others from just a few photos and status updates.

The positivity is better valued

It has been found that people who tend to make negative publications, such as social complaint content or complaints about studies, tend to be less valued. But nevertheless, the excess of joy in status updates and photographs It generates an artificial feeling that seems to have been created to deceive others.


We must bear in mind that a person can understand a social network as a space in which to express their stress or raise others' awareness based on criticism, without that saying much about his personality . In the same way, others may want to use Facebook photo albums as a compilation of happy images, and that does not say much about them either. However, we ignore this reflection and believe that what is on the Internet is a direct reflection of the personality, leading us to reject or accept that person.

Sensibility before the boasting

We tend to show a special sensitivity to publications that can be interpreted as a show of boasting. In fact, in general, the assessment we make of someone is more positive if the number of publications that talk about achievements and personal qualities It is reduced.


Thus, something as innocent as celebrating that we have won in a karate championship makes us value ourselves worse, although this is more important to us than much other content we have published before (music videos, memes, etc.).

Instead of that, one sees with a better eye what has to do with opinions about events that are alien to oneself, or that occur around them, but that are not a direct reflection of their qualities. For example:

Visiting the temple of the Sagrada Familia in Barcelona. The facade is incredible.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Low self-esteem? When you become your worst enemy"

Why on the Internet are we so hard at valuing others?

When we see hundreds of publications of several people on the Internet, we tend to be guided by much less rational intuitions when it comes to deciding who is worth and who is not. That means that we adopt totally biased and irrational ways of thinking without making us feel strange.

In short, we have a lot of information about the others, but this gives few details and therefore is of poor quality; so that, our way of judging those people is also quick and lazy .

How about we use the chat more?

Keep in mind that these psychological biases when judging others through the Internet are given, basically, when there is no interaction: someone publishes something and the other person sees it. What happens if instead of staying in that passive attitude we start conversations? After all, a conversation in a chat is much more like a face-to-face interaction , situations in which we are accustomed to be more moderate when it comes to making judgments about how the other is.

Some researchers believe that the solution to that kind of paranoia that torments many people afraid of causing a bad image on the Internet is, simply, talk more, show how we are inside in a context of real-time conversation. In this way, those filters that keep us away from others begin to lose prominence; we force ourselves to devote time and a certain effort to take part in an exchange of phrases, which makes us imply and think that if we are bothering to do that, it will be because the other person deserves us not to rush at the time of judge her The chats can be confraternity spaces in the individualistic and fragmentary reality of the Internet.

Bibliographic references:

  • Scott, G. G., & Ravenscroft, K. (2017). Bragging on Facebook: The interaction of content and focus in online impression formation. Cyberpsychology, Behavior, and Social Networking, 20(1), 58-63.
  • Walther, J.B., Van Der Heide, B., Hamel, L.M., et al. (2009).Self-generated versus other-generated statements and impressions in computer-mediated communication: A test of the warranting theory using Facebook. Communication Research, 36, 229-252.

The Try Guys Roast Each Other's Instagrams (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
C’est ainsi que d’autres nous jugent à travers Internet

C’est ainsi que d’autres nous jugent à travers Internet

Juin 29, 2022

La vulgarisation de l'utilisation d'Internet au cours des 15 dernières années ne nous a pas simplement obligés à nous connecter de plus en plus au réseau de réseaux. En plus d’utiliser les ressources auxquelles nous avons accès grâce à cette invention géniale, beaucoup de personnes qui utilisent régulièrement les réseaux sociaux ont expérimenté comment leur estime de soi a été liée à l'image publique qu'ils donnent en ligne .

Et s'il y a des gens qui remarquent à quel point leur bien-être ou leur inconfort dépend en partie de ce qui se passe sur Internet, c'est précisément parce que nous sommes Jugeant constamment qui est derrière ces profils Facebook, Instagram ou similaire. Même si nous ne le réalisons pas, nous générons une réponse émotionnelle positive ou négative aux contenus autoréférentiels que d'autres publient.


Nous pouvons choisir de nous intéresser ou non à ce que les autres pensent de nous, mais la vérité est que, peu importe la situation, quelle que soit notre publication, des personnes vous apprécieront, généralement de manière maladroite.

  • Article connexe: "C'est ainsi que les" j'aime "des réseaux sociaux affectent votre cerveau"

Comment nous nous jugeons à travers Internet

Vous trouverez ci-dessous des exemples de la mesure dans laquelle on a tendance à juger les autres à partir de quelques photos et mises à jour de statut.

La positivité est mieux valorisée

On a constaté que les personnes qui ont tendance à faire des publications négatives, telles que des plaintes sociales ou des plaintes concernant des études, ont tendance à être moins valorisées. Cependant, l'excès de joie dans les mises à jour de statut et de photographies Il génère un sentiment artificiel qui semble avoir été créé pour tromper les autres.


Nous devons garder à l'esprit qu'une personne peut comprendre un réseau social comme un espace dans lequel exprimer son stress ou sensibiliser les autres à la critique, sans dire grand chose de sa personnalité . De la même manière, d’autres peuvent vouloir utiliser les albums photo de Facebook comme une compilation d’images gaies, ce qui ne dit pas grand-chose d’eux non plus. Cependant, nous ignorons cette réflexion et croyons que ce qui est sur Internet est un reflet direct de la personnalité, ce qui nous conduit à rejeter ou à accepter cette personne.

La sensibilité avant la gloire

Nous avons tendance à montrer une sensibilité particulière aux publications qui peuvent être interprétées comme une démonstration de vantardise. En fait, en général, l’évaluation que nous faisons de quelqu'un est plus positive si le nombre de des publications qui parlent de réalisations et de qualités personnelles C'est réduit.


Ainsi, quelque chose d'aussi innocent que de célébrer notre victoire dans un championnat de karaté nous pèse encore plus lourdement, bien que cela soit plus important pour nous que beaucoup d'autres contenus que nous avons publiés auparavant (vidéos musicales, mèmes, etc.).

Au lieu de cela, on voit mieux ce qui se passe dans les opinions sur des événements étrangers à soi-même ou qui se produisent autour d'eux, mais qui ne reflètent pas directement leurs qualités. Par exemple:

Visiter le temple de la Sagrada Familia à Barcelone. La façade est incroyable.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Faible estime de soi? Quand vous devenez votre pire ennemi"

Pourquoi sur Internet avons-nous tant de mal à valoriser les autres?

Lorsque nous voyons des centaines de publications de plusieurs personnes sur Internet, nous avons tendance à nous laisser guider par des intuitions beaucoup moins rationnelles lorsqu'il s'agit de décider qui vaut et qui ne vaut pas. Cela signifie que nous adoptons des modes de pensée totalement biaisés et irrationnels sans nous faire sentir étrangement.

En bref, nous avons beaucoup d’informations sur les autres, mais cela donne peu de détails et est donc de mauvaise qualité; donc, notre façon de juger ces gens est aussi rapide et paresseuse .

Et si on utilisait plus le chat?

Gardez à l’esprit que ces préjugés psychologiques lorsqu’on juge les autres par l’intermédiaire de l’Internet sont généralement exprimés en l’absence d’interaction: une personne publie quelque chose et l’autre la voit. Que se passe-t-il si au lieu de rester dans cette attitude passive, nous entamons des conversations? Après tout une conversation dans une conversation ressemble beaucoup plus à une interaction face à face , des situations dans lesquelles nous sommes habitués à être plus modérés quand il s’agit de juger l’autre.

Certains chercheurs pensent que la solution à ce type de paranoïa qui afflige beaucoup de gens qui craignent de nuire à la réputation d’Internet est tout simplement de parler davantage, de montrer comment nous sommes à l’intérieur dans un contexte de conversation en temps réel. De cette manière, les filtres qui nous éloignent des autres commencent à perdre de leur importance; nous nous efforçons de consacrer du temps et un certain effort à prendre part à un échange de phrases, ce qui nous laisse supposer et penser que si nous prenons la peine de le faire, ce sera parce que l'autre personne mérite que nous ne nous précipitions pas au moment de la juger Les discussions peuvent être des espaces de confraternité dans la réalité individualiste et fragmentaire d’Internet.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Scott, G. G. et Ravenscroft, K. (2017). Se vanter sur Facebook: interaction du contenu et de la concentration dans la formation d'impressions en ligne. Cyberpsychologie, comportement et réseaux sociaux, 20(1), 58-63.
  • Walther, J. B., Van Der Heide, B., Hamel, L. M. et al. (2009).Déclarations et impressions auto-générées par rapport à d'autres générées dans la communication assistée par ordinateur: Un test de la théorie de la justification en utilisant Facebook. Recherche en communication, 36, 229-252.

Soprano - Ils nous connaissent pas [Clip Officiel] (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes