yes, therapy helps!
This is the socio-health care for dependents

This is the socio-health care for dependents

June 21, 2024

Throughout our development and growth, the vast majority of the population is acquiring a set of knowledge and skills through which we will be forging our identity, our way of seeing the world and how we interact with it. We are learning how to perform tasks that allow us an autonomous and independent subsistence.

However, there are people who for some reason have lost or have not sufficiently developed the necessary skills to perform day-to-day activities in a completely autonomous way. These people may need some kind of supervision, help or support in the different tasks of the day to day, an aid that can be provided in many cases by different types of social and health institution.


This requires professionals capable of responding to the needs of this sector of the population, which requires training in Health care to dependents in social institutions . It is on this subject that will be discussed throughout this article.

  • Related article: "Clinical psychology: definition and functions of the clinical psychologist"

What is socio-health care for dependents?

To understand the type of care that must be offered from social institutions to dependents, first it is necessary to take into account what the concept of dependent person refers to .


We consider a person as a dependent when in a situation or state of generally permanent characteristics in which for some reason said person he has lost or seen reduced his faculties or capacities to lead a totally autonomous life , or when it has not been able to develop these capacities completely to levels that allow independent action and adaptability to environmental and social demands.

Dependence implies the need for attention, support or supervision by other people (or resources) outside the subject in order to perform day-to-day activities or to maintain a performance as autonomous as possible.

While usually speaking of dependence is usually thought of people with intellectual disabilities or some type of neurodegenerative disease, the fact is that within the concept of dependent person also include those subjects who have some degree of physical disability, sensory or whose vital activity is highly interfered with by the presence of some type of psychiatric problem.


In addition, the elderly or those with delicate health are also included that needs continuous assistance.

In some cases the person is in a situation of legal incapacitation and may be supervised by a relative or foundation, although it is not necessary to be legally incapacitated to have any degree of dependency .

Thus, socio-health support or care is not something that involves only a cognitive action but an integral assistance, which may include different types of actions depending on the needs, difficulties and / or potential of the subject. It is important to value that the intention of this type of services It is not only to mitigate possible deficits but also is responsible for maximizing and optimizing the strengths of the individual , as well as their quality of life.

It should also be borne in mind that when talking about social health care in social institutions, we refer to care that is offered in an organization or structure dedicated to the service and search for the well-being of users, and whose action can be carried out in multiple environments.

  • Maybe you're interested: "How to find a psychologist to attend therapy: 7 tips"

Types of social institution for people with some type of dependency

With regard to the type of resource or social or socio-health institution offered to people in situations of dependency, we can find different categories with different objectives and types of treatments or supports offered . In this sense, some of the most common are the following.

1. Service for the prevention of dependency situations

These are devices whose main purpose is to try to prevent or limit the possibility or worsening of dependency situations in at-risk populations, the most obvious example being people with a congenital disability or people with advanced age. So, in this type of devices, we work with a population that either it does not have a dependence situation or it is sought that it does not limit more of what the autonomy of the person is already doing.

2. Hospitals and Day Centers

Probably the best-known types of service or socio-health institution, day centers and day hospitals have as their main objective the provide full and comprehensive attention to users in order to increase or maintain their level of autonomy, socio-community participation, capacity for self-management and in general their quality of life.

His biopsychosocial work usually includes the application of measures of rehabilitation, restoration or compensation of functions, guidance and advice for the user, facilitation and training of social and family bonding without having to specify an income, promote healthy habits, control the situation and provide support to both the end user and their environment.

3. Residential Care Centers

This last type of center, also highly known, is dedicated to offering a comprehensive socio-health care, but also for people who are admitted or located in the same service, in which they live (either permanently or temporarily).

In these centers, users perform different types of activities, workshops or therapies (depending on the case) that allow improving and / or preserving their autonomy and / or abilities, favoring their connection and socialization. An example of this type of service can be found in the Llar Residencia, in Cataluña (Hogar Residencia, in Spanish).

4. Other types of service

Although the three previous ones are some of the most usual ones, it is also worth mentioning the existence of many other types of care services for dependents. Among them we can find telecare service or home help .

Likewise, and at a more comprehensive health level, we can find various services within the public health portfolio, such as units of high psychiatric dependency or admission to acute or sub-acute units, neuropsychiatry or psychogeriatrics.

Degree of dependency and activities from which they are analyzed

It must be borne in mind that in order to offer quality health care to dependent persons it is necessary first of all to know what their needs are and to what extent they present some kind of dependency.

In this sense it will be necessary that a professional with the appropriate training can assess the subject , for which it will use one or several questionnaires and the observation of the subject as well as the characteristics and reports of their life situation and environment. With this, a score will be obtained in the Rating Scales of the Unit that will serve to determine the type or degree of dependence of the person in question.

The type of activities that are analyzed are usually the basic activities of daily life: nutrition, hygiene, sleep, toilet training, mobility and displacement, domestic tasks, capacity to maintain the state of health, capacity for decision making . As well it is taken into account if it is needed for example of help or external guide to carry out these actions.

Based on the scale we have seen, we can get three types of dependence: Grade I or moderate in which the subject needs some punctual help to be autonomous, Grade II or severe in which although a caregiver is not needed permanent it is necessary to help several times a day to perform certain basic activities and Grade III or great dependence in which the subject needs a caregiver, supervision or continued help in their day to day.

Professionals involved

Another factor to take into account is that the care of a dependent person requires the collaboration of different professionals from various branches, both health and social .

The specific type of professionals that each person will need may vary depending on the case, but in general terms we can find doctors (of any branch, be it neurology, phoniatrics, cardiology, endocrinology, immunology ...), nurses, psychologists, assistants, physiotherapists, speech therapists , occupational therapists, social workers, educators, teachers and pedagogues (and not only in the case of children) and in some cases even lawyers.

All of them must coordinate their actions to offer comprehensive care that takes into account the needs, potential and difficulties of the dependent person in order to improve their quality of life as much as possible.

Socio-health intervention

Although the different professionals involved will work focusing on their specialty in order to help the subject, in general terms we can determine the general nature of the main task of social care for dependents in social institutions.

The performance of professionals is aimed at the development and implementation of programs aimed at providing assistance that allows the subject to carry out basic activities with which it has difficulties, the rehabilitation or compensation of systems, capacities and functions, the incorporation of the subject to social participation and to link with other people and education and psychoeducation directed both at the subject and at his / her surroundings in order to face possible difficulties and improve the level of life and the autonomy of the subject.

Within this action include the approach of therapies and activities aimed at cognitive stimulation, cognitive restructuring of distorted beliefs, the use of occupational therapy to improve functionality in basic activities, health promotion and prevention of damage , the adherence to treatments, if any, the management of stress or emotions or the improvement of social participation through various activities and training, among many others.

All this always maintaining an ethical line in which dignity, confidentiality and respect prevail to the capabilities and independence of the subject, at the same time that a warm and comfortable environment is generated and the maximum benefit is sought for the subject and to avoid as much as possible any damage produced by the care action itself.

Bibliographic references:

  • Institute of Training and Social Studies (IFES). Territorial Directorate of Andalusia. (2010). Health care to dependents in social institutions. Training Module 1. Support in the Organization of Interventions in the Institutional Scope. Training Unit 1. Support in Reception and Reception in Institutions of Dependent Persons. Andalusia, Spain.

Health Insurance Vocab - Dependent (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Ce sont les soins socio-sanitaires pour les personnes à charge

Ce sont les soins socio-sanitaires pour les personnes à charge

Novembre 17, 2019

Tout au long de notre développement et de notre croissance, la grande majorité de la population acquiert un ensemble de connaissances et de compétences grâce auxquelles nous allons forger notre identité, notre façon de voir le monde et nos interactions avec lui. Nous apprenons à effectuer des tâches qui nous permettent une subsistance autonome et indépendante.

Cependant, il y a des personnes qui, pour une raison quelconque, ont perdu ou n'ont pas suffisamment développé les compétences nécessaires pour effectuer leurs activités quotidiennes de manière totalement autonome. Ces personnes peuvent avoir besoin d'une forme de supervision, d'aide ou de soutien dans les différentes tâches quotidiennes, une aide qui peut être fournie dans de nombreux cas par différents types d’institutions sociales et de santé.


Cela nécessite des professionnels capables de répondre aux besoins de ce groupe de la population, ce qui nécessite une formation en soins socio-sanitaires pour personnes à charge dans des institutions sociales . C’est à ce sujet que nous discuterons tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie clinique: définition et fonctions du psychologue clinicien"

Qu'est-ce que les soins socio-sanitaires pour les personnes à charge?

Pour comprendre le type de soins que les institutions sociales doivent offrir aux personnes à charge, d’abord il est nécessaire de prendre en compte ce que le concept de personne à charge désigne .


Nous considérons une personne comme une personne à charge dans une situation ou un état de caractère généralement permanent dans lequel, pour une raison quelconque, ladite personne il a perdu ou a vu réduire ses facultés ou capacités à mener une vie totalement autonome , ou s’il n’a pas été en mesure de développer complètement ces capacités à des niveaux permettant une action indépendante et une adaptabilité aux demandes environnementales et sociales.

La dépendance implique le besoin d'attention, de soutien ou de supervision de la part de personnes (ou de ressources) extérieures au sujet afin de mener à bien des activités quotidiennes ou de maintenir une performance aussi autonome que possible.

Alors que l'on parle généralement de dépendance, on pense généralement aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle ou à un type de maladie neurodégénérative, le fait est que, dans le concept de personne dépendante, on inclut également les sujets qui ont un degré de handicap physique, sensoriel ou dont l'activité vitale est fortement perturbée par la présence d'un certain type de problème psychiatrique.


En outre, les personnes âgées ou ayant une santé délicate sont également incluses. qui a besoin d'une assistance continue.

Dans certains cas, la personne se trouve dans une situation d'incapacité légale et peut être supervisée par un parent ou une fondation, bien que il n'est pas nécessaire d'être légalement invalide pour avoir un degré de dépendance quelconque .

Ainsi, le soutien ou les soins socio-sanitaires n’impliquent pas seulement une action cognitive, mais une aide intégrale, qui peut inclure différents types d’actions en fonction des besoins, des difficultés et / ou du potentiel du sujet. Il est important de valoriser que l'intention de ce type de services Il ne s'agit pas seulement d'atténuer les déficits éventuels, mais également de maximiser et d'optimiser les forces de l'individu. , ainsi que leur qualité de vie.

Il convient également de garder à l’esprit que lorsque l’on parle de soins de santé en société dans les institutions sociales, on entend les soins offerts dans une organisation ou une structure dédiée au service et en quête du bien-être des utilisateurs, et dont l’action peut être menée dans plusieurs environnements.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Comment trouver un psychologue pour suivre une thérapie: 7 astuces"

Types d'institutions sociales pour les personnes avec un certain type de dépendance

En ce qui concerne le type de ressource ou d’institution sociale ou socio-sanitaire offert aux personnes en situation de dépendance, on peut trouver différentes catégories avec différents objectifs et types de traitements ou de supports proposés . En ce sens, les plus courantes sont les suivantes.

1. Service de prévention des situations de dépendance

Ce sont des dispositifs dont le but principal est d’essayer d’empêcher ou de limiter la possibilité ou l’aggravation des situations de dépendance chez les populations à risque, l’exemple le plus évident étant les personnes ayant une déficience congénitale ou les personnes plus âgées. Donc, dans ce type de dispositifs, nous travaillons avec une population qui soit il n’a pas de situation de dépendance, soit on cherche à ne pas limiter davantage de ce que l'autonomie de la personne fait déjà.

2. Hôpitaux et centres de jour

Les principaux types de services ou d’institutions socio-sanitaires, centres de jour et hôpitaux de jour, ont pour principal objectif de: fournir une attention complète aux utilisateurs afin d'accroître ou de maintenir leur niveau d'autonomie, leur participation sociocommunautaire, leur capacité à s'autogérer et, d'une manière générale, leur qualité de vie.

Son travail biopsychosocial comprend généralement l’application de mesures de réhabilitation, de restauration ou de compensation des fonctions, orientation et conseil pour l'utilisateur, faciliter et former des liens sociaux et familiaux sans avoir à spécifier de revenu, à promouvoir des habitudes saines, à contrôler la situation et à fournir un soutien à la fois à l'utilisateur final et à son environnement.

3. Centres de soins résidentiels

Ce dernier type de centre, également très connu, se consacre à l’offre de soins socio-sanitaires complets, mais également aux personnes admises ou hébergées dans le même service que celui où elles résident (de manière permanente ou temporaire).

Dans ces centres, les utilisateurs effectuent différents types d'activités, d'ateliers ou de thérapies (selon les cas) qui permettent d'améliorer et / ou de préserver leur autonomie et / ou leurs capacités, en favorisant leur connexion et leur socialisation. Un exemple de ce type de service peut être trouvé dans la Llar Residencia, en Catalogne (Hogar Residencia, en espagnol).

4. Autres types de service

Bien que les trois précédents fassent partie des plus courants, il convient également de mentionner l’existence de nombreux autres types de services de soins pour personnes à charge. Parmi eux, nous pouvons trouver un service de téléassistance ou une aide à domicile .

De même, et à un niveau de santé plus complet, nous pouvons trouver divers services dans le portefeuille de la santé publique, tels que les unités de grande dépendance psychiatrique ou l’admission dans des unités de soins aigus ou subaigus, la neuropsychiatrie ou la psychogériatrie.

Degré de dépendance et activités à partir desquelles ils sont analysés

Il faut garder à l'esprit que pour offrir des soins de santé de qualité aux personnes dépendantes, il faut tout d'abord savoir quels sont leurs besoins et dans quelle mesure elles présentent un type de dépendance.

Dans ce sens, il sera nécessaire qu'un professionnel ayant la formation appropriée puisse évaluer le sujet , pour lequel il utilisera un ou plusieurs questionnaires et l'observation du sujet ainsi que les caractéristiques et les reportages de leur situation et de leur environnement. Avec cela, un score sera obtenu dans les échelles d’évaluation de l’unité qui servira à déterminer le type ou le degré de dépendance de la personne en question.

Les types d'activités analysés sont généralement les activités de base de la vie quotidienne: nutrition, hygiène, sommeil, entraînement à la propreté, mobilité et déplacements, tâches domestiques, capacité à maintenir l'état de santé, capacité à prendre des décisions. . Aussi il est pris en compte s'il est nécessaire par exemple d'aide ou de guide externe pour mener à bien ces actions.

Sur la base de l'échelle que nous avons vue, nous pouvons obtenir trois types de dépendance: degré I ou modéré dans lequel le sujet a besoin d'une aide ponctuelle pour être autonome, degré II ou sévère dans lequel un soignant n'est pas nécessaire. permanent, il est nécessaire d’aider plusieurs fois par jour à certaines activités de base et au degré III ou à une grande dépendance dans laquelle le sujet a besoin d’un soignant, d’une supervision ou d’une aide continue au quotidien.

Professionnels impliqués

Un autre facteur à prendre en compte est que les soins d’une personne dépendante nécessitent la collaboration de différents professionnels de diverses branches, tant du domaine de la santé que du secteur social. .

Le type spécifique de professionnels dont chaque personne aura besoin peut varier selon les cas, mais en termes généraux, nous pouvons trouver des médecins (de n'importe quelle branche, qu'ils soient neurologie, phoniatrie, cardiologie, endocrinologie, immunologie ...), infirmières, psychologues, assistants, physiothérapeutes, orthophonistes , ergothérapeutes, assistants sociaux, éducateurs, enseignants et pédagogues (et pas seulement dans le cas des enfants) et même parfois des avocats.

Tous doivent coordonner leurs actions pour offrir des soins complets qui prend en compte les besoins, le potentiel et les difficultés de la personne dépendante afin d’améliorer au maximum sa qualité de vie.

Intervention socio-sanitaire

Bien que les différents professionnels impliqués travaillent en se concentrant sur leur spécialité afin d’aider le sujet, de manière générale, nous pouvons déterminer la nature générale de la tâche principale de la prise en charge sociale des personnes à charge dans les institutions sociales.

La performance des professionnels vise le développement et la mise en œuvre de programmes visant à fournir une assistance permettant au sujet de mener des activités de base problèmes avec lesquels il a des difficultés, la réhabilitation ou la compensation des systèmes, des capacités et des fonctions, l’incorporation du sujet à la participation sociale et à la liaison avec d’autres personnes et l’éducation et la psychoéducation dirigées à la fois sur le sujet et sur son environnement afin de faire face aux difficultés améliorer le niveau de vie et l'autonomie du sujet.

Au sein de cette action, l’approche des thérapies et des activités visant la stimulation cognitive, la restructuration cognitive de croyances déformées, l’utilisation de l’ergothérapie pour améliorer la fonctionnalité des activités de base, la promotion de la santé et la prévention des dommages , l’adhésion aux traitements, le cas échéant, la gestion du stress ou des émotions ou l’amélioration de la participation sociale par le biais de diverses activités et formations, entre autres.

Tout cela toujours maintenir une ligne éthique dans laquelle la dignité, la confidentialité et le respect prévalent aux capacités et à l’indépendance du sujet, tout en créant un environnement chaleureux et confortable et en recherchant le maximum de profit pour le sujet et en évitant autant que possible tout dommage causé par l’action de soin elle-même.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Institut de formation et d'études sociales (IFES). Direction territoriale de l'Andalousie. (2010). Soins socio-sanitaires pour personnes à charge dans des institutions sociales. Module de formation 1. Appui à l'organisation d'interventions de portée institutionnelle. Unité de formation 1. Soutien à la réception et à la réception dans des institutions pour personnes à charge. Andalousie, Espagne.

Redressement et marche - Série Prévention des TMS centrée sur le soin (Novembre 2019).


Articles Connexes