yes, therapy helps!
Thomas Malthus: biography of this researcher in political economy

Thomas Malthus: biography of this researcher in political economy

October 2, 2022

Thomas Malthus (1766-1834) was an English demographer and economist recognized by a theory that bears his name: Malthusianism. Broadly suggests that population growth inevitably leads to a decrease in food supply, so it proposes a control of reproduction and birth.

Then we will see a biography of Thomas Malthus , as well as some of its main contributions to economic and demographic thought.

  • Related article: "The theory of biological evolution"

Thomas Malthus: biography of a leading economist

Thomas Malthus was born on February 13, 1766 south of London. He was the sixth of seven brothers, all sons of Henrietta and Daniel Malthus. It was an important family of intellectuals, who even they were close friends of philosophers such as David Hume and Jean-Jacques Rousseau . With the passage of time Malthus created a close relationship with another great economist of the moment, David Ricardo.


From a young age, Thomas Malthus was able to access the Jesus School in Cambridge. There he took courses in declamation, Latin and Greek, although his main subject of study was mathematics. By the year 1791, Malthus had graduated as a specialist in these areas, so he was appointed to the same school two years later. In 1979 he was ordained and became an Anglican pastor .

Years later, in 1804, he formed a family with Harriet Eckersall, with whom he had three children, and whose education was strongly influenced by the liberal ideas on the education of Rousseau.

Like other members of his family, Thomas Malthus had a cleft palate that affected his speech, as well as a cleft lip. For this reason he had refused to make a personal portrait, which was typical at the time. It was until 1833, after having undergone surgery, when he decided to carry it out.


Thomas Robert Malthus he died on December 29, 1834 in Rookery , although and his remains are in Bath Abbey in England.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Foucault and the Tragedy of the Commons"

Academic activity and memberships

Malthus served as professor of history and political economy at Haileybury College in Hertfordshire. In fact, this was the first time that the term "political economy" was used in the academic context of Great Britain, referring to a subject.

In 1819 Malthus was elected a member of the Royal Society, and in 1821 joined the Political Economy Club . Other members of the same society were David Ricardo and James Mill. Almost a decade later, in 1833, Malthus was elected a member of the French Academy of Moral and Political Sciences, as well as a member of the Royal Academy of Berlin. Finally, in 1834, Malthus was one of the founders of the Statistical Society of London


Malthusianism

In the year of 1798, Malthus published a first edition of the text "An essay on the principles of population and how they affect the future of the development of society". Since he published it, this work had a wide impact. In a strong way, Malthus argued that social development was doomed to failure due to accelerated population growth. In turn, population growth would increase more and more rapidly if strict control was not exercised .

Thus, the problem posed by Malthus is that this population growth did not occur in tandem with the increase in livelihoods.

While the population increase had a "geometric rhythm", the means of subsistence increased in an only "arithmetic" progression. The population would tend to grow always beyond the limits of subsistence , which would eventually result in poverty, wars, disease and death. For Malthus, one of the remedies would be, for example, self-control and contraception.

Some criticisms

His work is recognized as a pessimistic vision, since presented poverty as one of the inevitable phenomena for the human species. Likewise, his work has been criticized for having started in an abstract and analytical language. In fact, he has been claimed not to have carried out rigorous statistical analyzes, despite the fact that this research method was in full growth in Europe and Great Britain.

For some critics, although Malthus had used empirical evidence in the development of his theory, the theory itself tended to be less concise in these tests, and stronger in the theoretical development itself.

Either way, Malthusianism was quickly incorporated into the main economic theories and it represented a major break with excessive economic optimism, while offering a justification for the theory of wages based on minimum subsistence costs and discrediting more traditional forms of charity.

Outstanding works

Some of the most representative works of Thomas Malthus work are An Essay on the Principle of Population, of 1933; An Investigation of the Cause of the Present High Price of Provisions, of 1800; Y Principles of Political Economy in two volumes of 2008. They are also recognized works as Definitions in Political Economy , of 1827 and Importation of Foreign Corn of 1996.

Bibliographic references:

  • Thomas Robert Malthus (2014). New World Encyclopedia. Retrieved October 1, 2018. Available at //www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Thomas_Robert_Malthus.
  • Thomas Robert Malthus (2018). Encyclopaedia Britannica. Retrieved October 1, 2018. Available at //www.britannica.com/biography/Thomas-Malthus.

Population, Sustainability, and Malthus: Crash Course World History 215 (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Thomas Malthus: biographie de ce chercheur en économie politique

Thomas Malthus: biographie de ce chercheur en économie politique

Février 27, 2024

Thomas Malthus (1766-1834) était un démographe et économiste anglais, reconnu par une théorie qui porte son nom: le malthusianisme. Cela suggère globalement que la croissance de la population entraîne inévitablement une diminution de l’approvisionnement en aliments, elle propose donc un contrôle de la reproduction et de la naissance.

Ensuite nous verrons une biographie de Thomas Malthus , ainsi que certaines de ses principales contributions à la pensée économique et démographique.

  • Article connexe: "La théorie de l'évolution biologique"

Thomas Malthus: biographie d'un grand économiste

Thomas Malthus est né le 13 février 1766 au sud de Londres. Il était le sixième de sept frères, tous fils de Henrietta et Daniel Malthus. C’était une famille importante d’intellectuels, qui même ils étaient des amis proches de philosophes tels que David Hume et Jean-Jacques Rousseau . Au fil du temps, Malthus a noué des relations étroites avec un autre grand économiste du moment, David Ricardo.


Depuis son plus jeune âge, Thomas Malthus a eu accès à la Jesus School à Cambridge. Il y suivit des cours de déclamation, de latin et de grec, bien que son sujet d’étude principal soit les mathématiques. En 1791, Malthus avait obtenu son diplôme de spécialiste dans ces domaines. Il fut donc nommé dans la même école deux ans plus tard. En 1979 il a été ordonné et est devenu un pasteur anglican .

Des années plus tard, en 1804, il a formé une famille avec Harriet Eckersall, avec qui il a eu trois enfants, et dont l’éducation est fortement influencée par les idées libérales sur l’éducation de Rousseau.

Comme d’autres membres de sa famille, Thomas Malthus avait une fente palatine qui gênait son élocution, ainsi qu’une fente labiale. Pour cette raison, il avait refusé de faire un portrait personnel, ce qui était typique à l'époque. C'était jusqu'en 1833, après avoir subi une intervention chirurgicale, quand il a décidé de l'exécuter.


Thomas Robert Malthus il est décédé le 29 décembre 1834 à Rookery , bien que ses restes se trouvent à l’abbaye de Bath en Angleterre.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Foucault et la tragédie des communes"

Activité académique et adhésions

Malthus a été professeur d'histoire et d'économie politique au Haileybury College, dans le Hertfordshire. En fait, c'était la première fois que le terme "économie politique" était utilisé dans le contexte universitaire de la Grande-Bretagne, en référence à un sujet.

En 1819, Malthus fut élu membre de la Royal Society et en 1821. rejoint le club d'économie politique . David Ricardo et James Mill faisaient également partie de la même société et, presque 18 ans plus tard, en 1833, Malthus était élu membre de l'Académie française des sciences morales et politiques et membre de l'Académie royale de Berlin. Enfin, en 1834, Malthus fut l’un des fondateurs de la Statistical Society of London


Malthusianisme

En 1798, Malthus publie une première édition du texte "Essai sur les principes de population et leur impact sur l'avenir du développement de la société". Depuis qu'il l'a publié, ce travail a eu un impact important. Malthus a affirmé que le développement social était voué à l'échec en raison de l'accélération de la croissance démographique. Croissance démographique augmenterait de plus en plus rapidement si un contrôle strict n'était pas exercé .

Ainsi, le problème posé par Malthus est que cette croissance de la population ne s'est pas produite parallèlement à l'augmentation des moyens de subsistance.

Alors que l’augmentation de la population avait un "rythme géométrique", les moyens de subsistance augmentaient selon une progression uniquement "arithmétique". La population aurait tendance à croître toujours au-delà des limites de subsistance , qui finirait par entraîner la pauvreté, les guerres, la maladie et la mort. Pour Malthus, l’un des remèdes serait, par exemple, la maîtrise de soi et la contraception.

Quelques critiques

Son travail est reconnu comme une vision pessimiste, car présenté la pauvreté comme l'un des phénomènes inévitables pour l'espèce humaine. De même, son travail a été critiqué pour avoir débuté dans un langage abstrait et analytique. En fait, il a été prétendu ne pas avoir procédé à une analyse statistique rigoureuse, alors que cette méthode de recherche était en pleine croissance en Europe et en Grande-Bretagne.

Pour certains critiques, bien que Malthus ait utilisé des preuves empiriques pour élaborer sa théorie, celle-ci avait tendance à être moins concise dans ces tests et plus forte dans le développement théorique lui-même.

De toute façon, le malthusianisme a été rapidement intégré aux principales théories économiques et cela constituait une rupture majeure avec un optimisme économique excessif, tout en offrant une justification à la théorie des salaires basée sur des frais de subsistance minimum et en discréditant des formes plus traditionnelles de charité.

Œuvres en vedette

Certaines des œuvres les plus représentatives de Thomas Malthus sont Essai sur le principe de populationde 1933; Enquête sur la cause du prix actuellement élevé des provisionsde 1800; et Principes d'économie politique en deux volumes de 2008. Ce sont aussi des œuvres reconnues comme Définitions en économie politique , de 1827 et Importation de maïs étranger de 1996.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Thomas Robert Malthus (2014). Encyclopédie du Nouveau Monde. Récupéré le 1er octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Thomas_Robert_Malthus.
  • Thomas Robert Malthus (2018). Encyclopédie Britannica. Récupéré le 1er octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.britannica.com/biography/Thomas-Malthus.

Zday 2010 "Social Pathology" Lecture, by Peter Joseph (Février 2024).


Articles Connexes