yes, therapy helps!
Tips to help children cope with their schooling

Tips to help children cope with their schooling

May 6, 2021

When the little ones enter the first grade of school, What should parents and mothers do so that the child can organize and fulfill this new stage?

The entrance to the school generates many mixed feelings for both parents and children in the house. Both can feel joy and enthusiasm and, suddenly, they can experience moments of nostalgia and concern for new changes.

How to help children to be positive in the new stage in school?

Among the typical reactions that are presented is the crying and the attachment to the father or the mother to not stay in the educational center. Although the child is enthusiastic preparing their materials during the days before the start of the school year, the day they have to start school and enter the center, they cry and do not want their parents to leave .


Generally, the schools collaborate so that the adaptation process is easy and pleasant for the family, however it will depend a lot on the management that the family nucleus makes to facilitate or complicate the new stage that is about to begin.

Some tips to facilitate the new reality for children

Therefore, we consider it important to provide a series of recommendations to help them in this great step without generating greater fears in the small and, above all, to guide the parents:

1. If possible, allow the child to know (15 days before) the school (including the classroom) in which you will receive lessons, as well as the teacher.


2. One week before the start of classes, start raising the child at a time close to the one that must be done in classes , to get used to it. The children, during the first week and for the illusion that makes them go to school, many times, do it without any problem, but once the first week they begin to present problems in this aspect. The children require an approximate eight hours a day to rest.

3. Keep at home, in a conspicuous place, a large planner or calendar to record homework , jobs and commitments that must be made per day, using drawings or stickers so that the child can identify it.

4. Homework must be assigned at home according to the age of three months before the start of school , so that when he is in school he can assume the ones assigned by the teaching team. It is also advisable to have schedules in the house of meals, snacks, games, breaks and fulfillment of these duties, etc.


5. Establish a daily study routine to complete tasks from the first week ; Even when you are not on exams it is important to review, for a time that does not exceed thirty minutes a day. It is important for the child to rest, feed, and then perform the homework.

6. Label the materials before the start of the school year , with the name of the child and indicate the importance of taking care of them and keeping them in their proper place, as well as the consequences in case of losing them frequently.

7. Cultivate in the child the routine of enrolling their materials and belongings to go to school , starting by cleaning the shoes (activity that can be done together with the father when he is ready to dress his own clothes), prepare the briefcase with the notebooks, so that it is not the parents who assume the responsibility in this task. It is important to have the materials prepared a day before to make sure you have everything you need.

8. To help with the previous point, the father or mother can write down the materials (extras) that you are requesting at school and then attend together (father / mother and child) to get them or make them if necessary, but always making it clear to the child that it is their responsibility. Parents can use a specific notebook to communicate with the teacher, which the child will always carry with him and the parents will always check it.

9. Teach and allow the child to cover or decorate their notebooks and identify them by matter in such a way that the child recognizes them.

10. Stimulate in the student the order and cleanliness in notebooks, materials and bulk . Example: all the sheets must be stuck in the respective notebooks, and those sheets that do not correspond to any material are kept in a folder for that purpose. We must ensure that the notebooks keep orderly, complete and corrected by the teacher.

11. Maintain constant communication with the teacher to ascertain the school's activities : meetings, walks, recitals, etc.

12. If the child is absent from school, replenish the subject as soon as possible . In case of absence for an activity planned in advance to cover the subject.

13. Keep extra school supplies for emergencies at home . Generally, in the first years of school life children are very close to using cardboard, crayons, rubbers, colored pencils, scissors, therefore, it would be very beneficial to have at home reserves of these materials in case any special situation occurs.

14. Ask the child how his day was, what he liked best, what he did not like and why ; errands that the teacher mentioned; relationship with the compaƱeritos, as well as supervise that it adequately performs the feeding routines. It is important not only to pay attention to what the child verbally mentions, but also to their gestures, body language, looks, evasions in the conversation and in case of doubts, deepen with the teacher. Young children, for the most part, do not have the facility to express themselves and when faced with new situations they usually repress their feelings for fear that they will not be created, therefore, it is very important to pay attention to non-verbal language.

15. Both parents must participate in the child's schooling process , in many cases it is assumed that the mother is the one who must ensure these tasks, however the father occupies a very important place in the process of accompanying learning, therefore, the tasks involved in the process of schooling is a joint work.

Observations on the importance of preparing children

It is important to remember that, on many occasions, the "anguish" that the entrance to classes generates, is usually greater in the parents than in the children themselves , who absorb the feelings of their parents, and this can affect their ability to adapt to the new environment, as well as their capacity to organize themselves to new school demands.

It is not a good idea to try to alleviate the suffering of the son in his entrance to the school with these strategies that I will enumerate next:

  • Stay in the educational center, pick it up at earlier hours
  • Call the center constantly, or not take it to the center.

Any of these actions increase the anguish of the child and, therefore, can cause greater difficulties of adaptation . For this reason, it is recommended to discuss it with the teacher or with the specialized personnel at the educational center: counselor, psychologist, etc., who will provide specific guidance for the proper handling of the case.


7 Parenting Tips to Deal With a Naughty Child (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Conseils pour aider les enfants à faire face à leur scolarité

Conseils pour aider les enfants à faire face à leur scolarité

Juin 13, 2022

Quand les petits entrent en première année d'école, Que doivent faire les parents et les mères pour que l'enfant puisse s'organiser et remplir cette nouvelle étape?

L'entrée de l'école génère de nombreux sentiments mitigés pour les parents et les enfants de la maison. Les deux peuvent ressentir de la joie et de l'enthousiasme et, tout à coup, ils peuvent vivre des moments de nostalgie et de souci de nouveaux changements.

Comment aider les enfants à être positifs à la nouvelle étape de l'école?

Parmi les réactions typiques présentées figurent les pleurs et l'attachement au père ou à la mère de ne pas rester dans le centre d'éducation. Bien que l’enfant soit enthousiaste à préparer son matériel pendant les jours précédant le début de l’année scolaire, le jour où ils doivent commencer l'école et entrer dans le centre, ils pleurent et ne veulent pas que leurs parents partent .


Généralement, les écoles collaborent pour que le processus d’adaptation soit facile et agréable pour la famille. Toutefois, cela dépendra beaucoup de la gestion que le noyau de la famille assure pour faciliter ou compliquer la nouvelle étape sur le point de commencer.

Quelques conseils pour faciliter la nouvelle réalité pour les enfants

Par conséquent, nous considérons qu’il est important de fournir une série de recommandations pour les aider dans cette grande étape sans générer davantage de craintes dans le petit et surtout pour guider les parents:

1. Si possible, laissez l’enfant connaître (15 jours avant) l’école (y compris la salle de classe) dans laquelle vous recevrez des leçons, ainsi que l'enseignant.


2. Une semaine avant le début des cours, commencez à élever l'enfant à une heure proche de celle qui doit être faite en classe pour s'y habituer. Les enfants, pendant la première semaine et pour l'illusion qui les fait aller à l'école, le font souvent sans problème, mais une fois la première semaine, ils commencent à présenter des problèmes à cet égard. Les enfants ont besoin de huit heures par jour environ pour se reposer.

3. Gardez à la maison, dans un endroit bien en vue, un grand agenda ou calendrier pour enregistrer vos devoirs , les tâches et les engagements qui doivent être pris chaque jour, en utilisant des dessins ou des autocollants afin que l’enfant puisse l’identifier.

4. Les devoirs doivent être assignés à la maison en fonction de l'âge de trois mois avant le début des études , de sorte que, lorsqu'il est à l'école, il puisse assumer les tâches assignées par l'équipe enseignante. Il est également conseillé d’avoir à la maison des horaires de repas, collations, jeux, pauses et accomplissement de ces tâches, etc.


5. Établissez une routine d'étude quotidienne pour effectuer les tâches dès la première semaine ; Même lorsque vous n'êtes pas à l'examen, il est important de le revoir, pour une durée ne dépassant pas trente minutes par jour. Il est important que l'enfant se repose, se nourrit puis fasse ses devoirs.

6. Étiquetez le matériel avant la rentrée scolaire , avec le nom de l’enfant et indiquez l’importance de s’occuper d’eux et de les garder à leur place, ainsi que les conséquences en cas de perte fréquente.

7. Cultiver chez l'enfant la routine d'enregistrer son matériel et ses biens pour aller à l'école en commençant par nettoyer les chaussures (activité qui peut être réalisée avec le père lorsqu'il est prêt à habiller ses propres vêtements), préparez le porte-documents avec les cahiers afin que ce ne soient pas les parents qui assument la responsabilité de cette tâche. Il est important de préparer le matériel un jour avant pour vous assurer que vous avez tout ce dont vous avez besoin.

8. Pour aider avec le point précédent, le père ou la mère peut écrire les matériaux (extras) que vous demandez à l’école et que vous assistez ensuite ensemble (père / mère et enfant) pour les obtenir ou les préparer si nécessaire, mais en précisant toujours à l’enfant que cela relève de sa responsabilité. Les parents peuvent utiliser un cahier spécifique pour communiquer avec l'enseignant, que l'enfant emportera toujours avec lui et que les parents vérifieront toujours.

9. Enseigner et permettre à l'enfant de couvrir ou décorer ses cahiers et de les identifier par la matière de telle manière que l'enfant les reconnaisse.

10. Stimuler chez l'élève l'ordre et la propreté des cahiers, des matériaux et du volume . Exemple: toutes les feuilles doivent être collées dans les cahiers respectifs et les feuilles ne correspondant à aucun matériau sont conservées dans un dossier à cette fin. Nous devons nous assurer que les cahiers sont bien ordonnés, complets et corrigés par l'enseignant.

11. Maintenir une communication constante avec l'enseignant pour connaître les activités de l'école : réunions, promenades, récitals, etc.

12. Si l'enfant est absent de l'école, reconstituez le sujet le plus tôt possible . En cas d'absence pour une activité prévue à l'avance pour couvrir le sujet.

13. Gardez des fournitures scolaires supplémentaires pour les urgences à la maison . En règle générale, au cours des premières années d'école, les enfants sont très près d'utiliser du carton, des crayons, des gommes, des crayons de couleur, des ciseaux. Par conséquent, il serait très avantageux d'avoir à la maison des réserves de ces matériaux en cas de situation particulière.

14. Demander à l'enfant comment était sa journée, ce qu'il préférait, ce qu'il n'aimait pas et pourquoi ; les courses que l'enseignant a mentionnées; relation avec les compañeritos, ainsi que de veiller à ce qu'il effectue correctement les routines d'alimentation. Il est important non seulement de faire attention à ce que l'enfant dit verbalement, mais aussi à ses gestes, son langage corporel, son apparence, ses évasions dans la conversation et, en cas de doute, son approfondissement avec l'enseignant. La plupart des jeunes enfants n'ont pas la possibilité de s'exprimer et, lorsqu'ils sont confrontés à de nouvelles situations, répriment leurs sentiments de peur de ne pas être créés. Il est donc très important de faire attention au langage non verbal.

15. Les deux parents doivent participer au processus de scolarisation de l'enfant , dans de nombreux cas, on suppose que la mère est celle qui doit s’acquitter de ces tâches, mais le père occupe une place très importante dans le processus d’accompagnement de l’apprentissage; les tâches impliquées dans le processus de scolarisation sont donc un travail commun.

Observations sur l'importance de préparer les enfants

Il est important de se rappeler que, à plusieurs reprises, "l'angoisse" que génère l'entrée en classe, est généralement plus grande chez les parents que chez les enfants eux-mêmes , qui absorbent les sentiments de leurs parents, ce qui peut affecter leur capacité à s’adapter au nouvel environnement, ainsi que leur capacité à s’organiser pour répondre aux nouvelles exigences de l’école.

Ce n'est pas une bonne idée d'essayer d'atténuer la souffrance du fils à son entrée à l'école avec ces stratégies que je vais énumérer par la suite:

  • Rester dans le centre éducatif, aller le chercher plus tôt
  • Appelez le centre à tout moment ou ne le prenez pas au centre.

N'importe laquelle de ces actions augmente l'angoisse de l'enfant et, par conséquent, peut causer de plus grandes difficultés d'adaptation . Pour cette raison, il est recommandé d'en discuter avec l'enseignant ou avec le personnel spécialisé du centre éducatif: conseiller, psychologue, etc., qui fournira des instructions spécifiques pour le traitement approprié du cas.


Grandir - Mon enfant est démotivé à l'école (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes