yes, therapy helps!
Toothed rotation: what it is and what functions it performs in the brain

Toothed rotation: what it is and what functions it performs in the brain

December 3, 2022

Our cerebral cortex is a complex structure , extremely developed, which allows us to perform and coordinate the different functions and actions that our body can carry out, both physically and mentally and both at the level of perception and action.

But this structure is not homogeneous: different brain areas specialize in different functions, being certain parts of the brain more relevant to certain mental processes. An example of this is the dentate gyrus , of great importance in the formation of memories, which we will talk about throughout this article.

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

What is the dentate gyrus?

We call dentate gyrus to a convolution of the cerebral cortex located in the lower part of the temporal lobe of the encephalon, being part of one of the oldest regions phylogenetically speaking of the cortex (the arquicorteza). It is limited among other structures with the corpus callosum (although it is separated from it thanks to the gray indusium), the entorhinal cortex, the hippocampus and the cingulum gyrus.


This small brain region is part of the hippocampal formation, connecting it with the cortex, and is mainly formed by gray matter (unmyelinated axons and soma). In fact, it is considered that this turnaround it can be considered a modified part and partially separated from the hippocampus itself during neurodevelopment.

So this part of the cortex has an important role in regard to the memory capacity of human beings, acting as a bridge between entorhinal cortex (which in turn is considered a bridge between the hippocampus and the rest of the cortex) and the hippocampus. This structure acts receives afferences from the first and sends information to the rest of the hippocampal formation, passing through the dentate gyrus the perforating way. However, its connections with the entorhinal cortex do not allow the return of information through the same channel. It will be other structures that send the information back to the entorhinal cortex so that it can be distributed to other parts of the cortex.


The dentate gyrus has the peculiarity of being mainly formed by granular cells , which in their axonal terminations end up transforming into mossy fibers that synapse exclusively with the field of Amón of the hippocampus. In addition, these cells are one of the few that can generate new neurons throughout the life cycle, in certain types of mammals (it is still not well known if it also occurs in humans).

Functions

The functions of the dentate gyrus, as we mentioned above, derive largely from its role as a connection between entorhinal cortex and hippocampus . Thus, one of its main roles is to transmit information to this last structure in order to process it.

The dentate gyrus thus has an important role in the formation of memories, based on episodic memory. It also has a great importance at the level of navigation and spatial memory, this structure being what allows us to distinguish between similar environments.


He also exercises a role in the consolidation and recovery of memory , something that deserves the above mentioned when participating in the recognition of similar sites.

As the hippocampal formation is also part of the limbic system, it is suspected that the dentate gyrus also plays a role in the integration in the memories of the emotions aroused by the experience. Also, the existence of variations in this area has been observed in the presence of emotional disturbances such as stress or anxiety, as well as in depression.

  • Related article: "Types of memory: how memory stores the human brain?"

The birth of neurons in adults

Traditionally, it has always been said that the formation of new neurons occurred only in the first years of life and that once in adulthood we had approximately the same neurons for life until they died. However, over time it has been discovered that in some mammals, although not at a generalized level, some areas of the brain continue to produce, in small numbers, new neurons throughout the life cycle.

One of the points in which this neurogenesis has been detected is the dentate gyrus. Said birth has been associated with task learning and spatial learning , which in turn seem to promote the birth of new neurons. However, studies in this regard do not end up showing that neurogenesis generates an improvement in these abilities, finding contradictory results (although this could be due to the need to develop strong synapses between the new neurons). More research is needed in this area,

It has also been observed that the environment is of great importance in the formation of new neurons: stress or cholinergic lesions decrease the ability to generate new neurons, while the stimulation potency. The observation of alterations in neurogenesis in this area is one of the main reasons that led us to think about the involvement of the dentate gyrus in the management of emotions, whether this alteration of the cause or consequence neurogenesis.

Bibliographic references

  • Nieto-Escámez, F.A .; Moreno-Montoya, M. (2011). Neurogenesis in the dentate gyrus of the hippocampus: implications for learning and memory in the adult brain. Arch. Neurocien., 16 (4): 193-199.
  • Andersen, P .; Morris, R .; Amaral, D .; Bliss, T. & O'Keefe, J. (2006). The hippocampus book. 1st Edition. OUP USES.
  • Clark, D.L .; Boutros, N.N. and Méndez, M.F. (2012). The brain and behavior: neuroanatomy for psychologists. 2nd edition. The Modern Manual. Mexico.

Trial of the Take, Part 4 - Critical Role RPG Show: Episode 21 (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Rotation dentée: qu'est-ce que c'est et quelles sont les fonctions qu'il exerce dans le cerveau

Rotation dentée: qu'est-ce que c'est et quelles sont les fonctions qu'il exerce dans le cerveau

Janvier 22, 2021

Notre cortex cérébral est une structure complexe , extrêmement développé, qui nous permet d’exercer et de coordonner les différentes fonctions et actions que notre corps peut réaliser, tant physiquement que mentalement, et aussi bien au niveau de la perception que de l’action.

Mais cette structure n'est pas homogène: différentes zones du cerveau se spécialisent dans différentes fonctions, certaines parties du cerveau étant plus pertinentes pour certains processus mentaux. Un exemple de ceci est le gyrus denté , d’une grande importance dans la formation des mémoires, dont nous parlerons tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Quel est le gyrus denté?

Nous appelons gyrus denté à une convolution du cortex cérébral située dans la partie inférieure du lobe temporal de l'encéphale, faisant partie de l'une des plus anciennes régions phylogénétiquement parlant du cortex (l'arquicorteza). Il est limité parmi d'autres structures avec le corps calleux (bien qu'il en soit séparé grâce à l'indusium gris), le cortex entorhinal, l'hippocampe et le cingulum gyrus.


Cette petite région du cerveau fait partie de la formation de l'hippocampe et la relie au cortex. Elle est principalement formée de matière grise (axones et soma non myélinisés). En fait, on considère que ce revirement il peut être considéré comme une partie modifiée et partiellement séparée de l'hippocampe lui-même au cours du neurodéveloppement.

Ainsi, cette partie du cortex joue un rôle important en ce qui concerne la capacité de mémorisation de l'être humain, agissant comme un pont entre le cortex entorhinal (considéré à son tour comme un pont entre l'hippocampe et le reste du cortex) et l'hippocampe. Cette structure agit reçoit les afférences de la première et envoie des informations au reste de la formation de l'hippocampe, en passant à travers le gyrus denté par la voie perforante. Cependant, ses connexions avec le cortex entorhinal ne permettent pas le retour d'informations par le même canal. Ce seront d’autres structures qui renverront l’information au cortex entorhinal afin qu’elle puisse être distribuée à d’autres parties du cortex.


Le gyrus denté a la particularité d'être principalement formé de cellules granulaires , qui dans leurs terminaisons axonales finissent par se transformer en fibres moussues qui synapse exclusivement avec le champ de Amón de l'hippocampe. En outre, ces cellules sont l’une des rares cellules pouvant générer de nouveaux neurones au cours du cycle de vie, chez certains types de mammifères (on ne sait toujours pas si elle se produit également chez l’homme).

Fonctions

Les fonctions du gyrus denté, comme nous l'avons mentionné ci-dessus, découlent en grande partie de son rôle de connexion entre le cortex entorhinal et l'hippocampe . Ainsi, l’un de ses principaux rôles est de transmettre des informations à cette dernière structure afin de les traiter.

Le gyrus denté joue donc un rôle important dans la formation des mémoires, basé sur la mémoire épisodique. Elle revêt également une grande importance au niveau de la navigation et de la mémoire spatiale, cette structure étant ce qui nous permet de distinguer des environnements similaires.


Il exerce également un rôle dans la consolidation et la récupération de la mémoire , quelque chose qui mérite ce qui est mentionné ci-dessus lors de la participation à la reconnaissance de sites similaires.

Comme la formation de l'hippocampe fait également partie du système limbique, on soupçonne que le gyrus denté joue également un rôle dans l'intégration des souvenirs des émotions suscitées par l'expérience. En outre, l'existence de variations dans ce domaine a été observée en présence de perturbations émotionnelles telles que le stress ou l'anxiété, ainsi que dans la dépression.

  • Article connexe: "Types de mémoire: comment la mémoire stocke le cerveau humain?"

La naissance des neurones chez l'adulte

Traditionnellement, on a toujours dit que la formation de nouveaux neurones ne se produisait que dans les premières années de la vie et qu’une fois à l’âge adulte, nous avions à peu près les mêmes neurones pour la vie jusqu’à leur mort. Cependant, au fil du temps, il a été découvert que chez certains mammifères, certaines régions du cerveau continuent de produire, en petites quantités, de nouveaux neurones tout au long du cycle de vie.

Un des points sur lesquels cette neurogenèse a été détectée est le gyrus denté. Dit naissance a été associé à l'apprentissage par tâches et à l'apprentissage spatial , ce qui semble favoriser la naissance de nouveaux neurones. Cependant, les études à ce sujet ne finissent pas par montrer que la neurogenèse engendre une amélioration de ces capacités, aboutissant à des résultats contradictoires (bien que cela puisse être dû au besoin de développer de fortes synapses entre les nouveaux neurones). Des recherches supplémentaires sont nécessaires dans ce domaine.

Il a également été observé que l'environnement joue un rôle important dans la formation de nouveaux neurones: le stress ou les lésions cholinergiques diminuent la capacité à générer de nouveaux neurones, tandis que le potentiel de stimulation. L'observation des altérations de la neurogenèse dans ce domaine est l'une des principales raisons qui nous a amenés à réfléchir à l'implication du gyrus denté dans la gestion des émotions, qu'il s'agisse de cette altération de la neurogenèse ou de ses conséquences.

Références bibliographiques

  • Nieto-Escámez, F.A .; Moreno-Montoya, M. (2011). Neurogenèse dans le gyrus denté de l'hippocampe: implications pour l'apprentissage et la mémoire dans le cerveau adulte. Arch. Neurocien., 16 (4): 193-199.
  • Andersen, P .; Morris, R; Amaral, D .; Bliss, T. et O'Keefe, J. (2006). Le livre de l'hippocampe. 1ère édition. OUP USA
  • Clark, D.L .; Boutros, N.N. et Méndez, M.F. (2012). Le cerveau et le comportement: neuroanatomie pour les psychologues. 2ème édition. Le manuel moderne. Mexique

[David Elbaz] L’Univers est-il une illusion ? (Janvier 2021).


Articles Connexes