yes, therapy helps!
Toxic bosses: 11 characteristics that define them

Toxic bosses: 11 characteristics that define them

May 6, 2021

Let's be realistic, there are few individuals who are passionate about going to work and who fully enjoy what they do . Are you one of those who can not stand going to work? Welcome to the club ... because you are not alone. If it is already hard to get up in the morning to take some toast quickly and run to the office, if you have a boss (or boss) who makes sure that the workplace is the closest thing to hell, living is very hard.

Chiefs are of many types , and surely throughout your life you have crossed paths with someone who has embittered your existence. Well today we are going to talk about the toxic heads, those bosses that we do not want to see even in painting.


Toxic bosses negatively affect the welfare of employees

The relationship of superiors with subordinates has been the result of various studies in the workplace, and psychologists of organizations have been interested in this relationship for many reasons, but mainly because A good relationship between managers and employees increases the productivity and results of the company . No less important is knowing that, although many companies do not pay due attention to this phenomenon, the leadership style of superiors affects the welfare of employees.

The well-being of employees is also closely related to the results of the company . And for that reason, organizations should take special care when evaluating this variable, because stress and labor unrest, among other causes, may be the result of a toxic relationship between these actors.


A toxic leadership style and poor leadership skills on the part of superiors can cause phenomena such as role conflict, role ambiguity or role overload, which in turn can provoke negative feelings in employees: want to leave the company or have a poor sense of belonging to the company.

Transformational leadership for better employee welfare

The organizational world has undergone great changes in the last three decades due to globalization, and stress has become a very serious problem for companies. The crisis has created really complicated situations for workers , that have had to adapt to changes and a less secure work environment. Not to say that their expectations are very different from those of just a few decades ago, as well as their needs.


Studies suggest that one of the styles of leadership that best fits the times is the transformational leadership . Transformational leaders employ high levels of communication to achieve the objectives and provide a vision of change that they can transmit to employees. They are great motivators and increase the productivity of the workers they are in charge of. With their charisma they have a great impact on their subordinates and they gain trust, respect and admiration. Quite the opposite that toxic bosses.

Recommended article: "Types of Leadership: The 5 most common leader classes"

Four out of ten heads are toxic

And there are more toxic bosses than we think. At least that can be read in the newspaper The world, because one of his articles echoed an affirmation that appears in the book, New management for dummies. According to this text, four out of 10 heads are toxic .

Further, in the same newspaper there is a list of five toxic boss profiles that , according to Ana MarĂ­a Castillo and Juan Carlos Cubeiro, two renowned professionals with extensive experience in the university and business, create a bad work environment and negatively affect employees. They are the following:

  • The harasser or bully , characterized by humiliating his subordinates and giving orders abusing his power.
  • The microdetallist , who is unable to delegate because he thinks that nobody is up to the task.
  • The workaholic , who thinks that work shifts are 24 hours.
  • The all-numbers , that only gives value to the economic results.
  • The favoritist , which is not fair or impartial.

Characteristics of a toxic boss

But what common characteristics do they show of toxic bosses? These are the 11 characteristic features of bosses who have lost their sense of fairness.

1. They are arrogant and do not communicate well

Toxic bosses are arrogant and do not communicate correctly with subordinates . They think that they are always right and expect others to accept their words just for the sake of being the boss.

2. They do not take into account the needs of employees

Bosses who have lost the sense of their role in the company never take into account the needs of employees , they only think about the numbers.They are not aware that the workers are the engine of the company and, therefore, we must take care of them.

3. They are autocratic

Toxic bosses only allow them to make decisions and set the guidelines without the participation of the group. It is they who concentrate all the power and nobody challenges their decisions.

4. They are easily irritable

Bad bosses have little patience and are easily irritated . Since they are not open to the ideas of others, they do not want to be disturbed. The toxic bosses are not aware that the true wealth of their organization is human capital.

5. They are inflexible

Toxic bosses are mentally closed and panic to change , so they are not very innovative. The lack of innovation, in most cases, makes it difficult to adapt to the modern market and, therefore, the progress of the organization.

6. They are too much controllers

This type of bosses control in excess . That is why, by monitoring each and every one of the tasks performed by their subordinates, they reduce their creative capacity.

7. They do not have confidence in themselves

They may appear to have confidence in themselves, but the reality is that it is not so . A leader with self-confidence is not afraid to delegate when necessary, nor afraid to value the opinions of the group. Their insecurity makes them toxic bosses.

8. They have unreal expectations

Toxic bosses have unrealistic expectations , so they usually demand more than they owe their employees. Not only that, but they are ungrateful when others do things well, since they only focus on the negative.

9. They discriminate

Bosses without style are full of prejudices . In fact, they tend to have a sexist and racist mentality, as well as other discriminatory behaviors.

10. They mismanage time

Planning, both work and time is essential when leading teams, it can be a source of stress if not done correctly. One of the problems of toxic bosses is the inability to manage and prioritize your time in a correct and effective way , which can lead to saturation of tasks and responsibilities. In the end, his poor time management is paid by his subordinates.

11. They do not give rise to creativity

Bad bosses are unable to recognize the talent and creativity of their employees. They are governed by rigid rules and dynamics, without leaving any room for improvisation. This causes employees to have totally mechanical functions and fail to develop their capabilities . It is a common mistake, and the company is the main harmed of this attitude.


How to Spot a Toxic Boss (Signs of a Bad Manager and a Terrible Leader) (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Boss toxiques: 11 caractéristiques qui les définissent

Boss toxiques: 11 caractéristiques qui les définissent

Février 18, 2019

Regardons les choses en face il y a peu d'individus passionnés d'aller au travail et qui aiment pleinement ce qu'ils font . Êtes-vous de ceux qui ne supportent pas d'aller travailler? Bienvenue au club ... parce que vous n'êtes pas seul. S'il est déjà difficile de se lever le matin pour prendre un toast rapidement et se rendre au bureau, si vous avez un patron (ou un patron) qui veille à ce que le lieu de travail soit la chose la plus proche de l'enfer, la vie est très dur

Les chefs sont de plusieurs types et sûrement tout au long de votre vie, vous avez croisé le chemin de quelqu'un qui a aigri votre existence. Eh bien, aujourd’hui, nous allons parler de la têtes toxiques, ces patrons que nous ne voulons pas voir même en peinture.


Les patrons toxiques ont un impact négatif sur le bien-être des employés

La relation entre les supérieurs et les subordonnés est le résultat de diverses études sur le lieu de travail et les psychologues des organisations s’intéressent à cette relation pour diverses raisons, principalement Une bonne relation entre les gestionnaires et les employés augmente la productivité et les résultats de l'entreprise . Il est non moins important de savoir que, même si de nombreuses entreprises ne prêtent pas suffisamment attention à ce phénomène, le style de leadership des supérieurs influe sur le bien-être des employés.

Le bien-être des employés est également étroitement lié aux résultats de l'entreprise. . Et pour cette raison, les organisations doivent être particulièrement vigilantes lors de l'évaluation de cette variable, car le stress et les conflits de travail, entre autres causes, peuvent être le résultat d'une relation toxique entre ces acteurs.


Un style de leadership toxique et de faibles compétences en leadership de la part des supérieurs peuvent provoquer des phénomènes tels que des conflits de rôles, une ambiguïté des rôles ou une surcharge de rôles, pouvant à leur tour provoquer des sentiments négatifs chez les employés: vouloir quitter l'entreprise ou avoir un faible sentiment d'appartenance à l'entreprise.

Leadership transformationnel pour un meilleur bien-être des employés

Le monde organisationnel a subi de grands changements au cours des trois dernières décennies en raison de la mondialisation et le stress est devenu un problème très grave pour les entreprises. La crise a créé des situations vraiment compliquées pour les travailleurs , qui ont dû s'adapter aux changements et à un environnement de travail moins sécurisé. Cela ne veut pas dire que leurs attentes sont très différentes de celles d’il ya quelques décennies, de même que leurs besoins.


Des études suggèrent que l’un des styles de leadership le mieux adapté à notre époque est le leadership transformationnel . Les leaders transformationnels utilisent des niveaux de communication élevés pour atteindre les objectifs et offrent une vision du changement qu'ils peuvent transmettre aux employés. Ils sont d'excellents facteurs de motivation et augmentent la productivité des travailleurs dont ils ont la charge. Avec leur charisme, ils ont un impact important sur leurs subordonnés et gagnent en confiance, en respect et en admiration. Bien au contraire que des patrons toxiques.

Article recommandé: "Types de leadership: les 5 classes de dirigeants les plus courantes"

Quatre têtes sur dix sont toxiques

Et il y a plus de patrons toxiques que nous le pensons. Au moins cela peut être lu dans le journal Le monde, parce que l'un de ses articles faisait écho à une affirmation qui apparaît dans le livre, Nouvelle gestion pour les nuls. Selon ce texte, quatre têtes sur 10 sont toxiques .

En outre, dans le même journal, il y a une liste de cinq profils de patron toxiques qui , selon Ana María Castillo et Juan Carlos Cubeiro, deux professionnels de renom possédant une vaste expérience dans l’université et les entreprises, créent un mauvais environnement de travail et ont des conséquences néfastes sur les employés. Ils sont les suivants:

  • Le harceleur ou l'intimidateur , caractérisé en humiliant ses subordonnés et en donnant des ordres abusant de son pouvoir.
  • La microdétalliste , qui est incapable de déléguer parce qu'il pense que personne n'est à la hauteur de la tâche.
  • Le bourreau de travail , qui pense que les quarts de travail sont de 24 heures.
  • Tous les nombres , cela ne valorise que les résultats économiques.
  • Le favoritiste , ce qui n’est ni juste ni impartial.

Caractéristiques d'un patron toxique

Mais quelles caractéristiques communes montrent-ils des patrons toxiques? Ce sont les 11 caractéristiques des patrons qui ont perdu leur sens de l'équité.

1. Ils sont arrogants et ne communiquent pas bien

Les boss toxiques sont arrogants et ne communiquent pas correctement avec leurs subordonnés . Ils pensent qu’ils ont toujours raison et s’attendent à ce que les autres acceptent leurs paroles dans le seul but d’être le patron.

2. Ils ne prennent pas en compte les besoins des employés

Les patrons qui ont perdu le sens de leur rôle dans l'entreprise ne tiennent jamais compte des besoins des employés , ils ne pensent qu'aux chiffres.Ils ne savent pas que les travailleurs sont le moteur de l'entreprise et, par conséquent, nous devons en prendre soin.

3. Ils sont autocratiques

Les patrons toxiques leur permettent seulement de prendre des décisions et définir les lignes directrices sans la participation du groupe. Ce sont eux qui concentrent tout le pouvoir et personne ne conteste leurs décisions.

4. Ils sont facilement irritables

Les mauvais patrons ont peu de patience et sont facilement irrités . Comme ils ne sont pas ouverts aux idées des autres, ils ne veulent pas être dérangés. Les patrons toxiques ne savent pas que la véritable richesse de leur organisation est le capital humain.

5. Ils sont inflexibles

Les boss toxiques sont mentalement fermés et paniqués de changer , donc ils ne sont pas très innovants. Le manque d'innovation, dans la plupart des cas, rend difficile l'adaptation au marché moderne et, par conséquent, aux progrès de l'organisation.

6. Ils sont trop contrôleurs

Ce type de patrons contrôle en excès . C'est pourquoi, en surveillant chacune des tâches effectuées par leurs subordonnés, ils réduisent leur capacité créative.

7. Ils n'ont pas confiance en eux

Ils peuvent sembler avoir confiance en eux-mêmes, mais la réalité est qu’il n’en est pas ainsi. . Un leader qui a confiance en lui n’a pas peur de déléguer lorsque cela est nécessaire, ni d’évaluer les opinions du groupe. Leur insécurité fait d'eux des patrons toxiques.

8. Ils ont des attentes irréelles

Les patrons toxiques ont des attentes irréalistes , ils exigent donc généralement plus que ce qu’ils doivent à leurs employés. Non seulement cela, mais ils sont ingrats quand les autres font bien les choses, car ils ne se concentrent que sur le négatif.

9. Ils discriminent

Les patrons sans style sont pleins de préjugés . En fait, ils ont tendance à avoir une mentalité sexiste et raciste, ainsi que d'autres comportements discriminatoires.

10. Ils manquent de temps

La planification, à la fois au travail et au temps est essentielle dans la direction d’équipes, elle peut être une source de stress si elle n’est pas faite correctement. L’un des problèmes des patrons toxiques est l'incapacité de gérer et de hiérarchiser votre temps de manière correcte et efficace , ce qui peut conduire à une saturation des tâches et des responsabilités. En fin de compte, sa mauvaise gestion du temps est payée par ses subordonnés.

11. Ils ne donnent pas lieu à la créativité

Les mauvais patrons sont incapables de reconnaître le talent et la créativité de leurs employés. Ils sont régis par des règles et des dynamiques rigides, sans laisser de place à l'improvisation. Les employés ont alors des fonctions totalement mécaniques et ne développent pas leurs capacités. . C'est une erreur commune, et la société est la principale victime de cette attitude.


Votre petit doigt vous racontera beaucoup de choses intéressantes. (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes