yes, therapy helps!
Traditional pedagogical model: history and theoretical-practical bases

Traditional pedagogical model: history and theoretical-practical bases

November 9, 2022

Educational systems and the way in which they are developed and applied is a traditional topic of debate involving both pedagogy and psychology, philosophy and even politics.

But nevertheless, There is a model that remains despite the passage of time and the many criticisms: the traditional pedagogical model . In this article we will review the history and characteristics of this educational system, as well as its main advantages and disadvantages.

  • Related article: "The 18 types of education: history, characteristics and classification"

What is the traditional pedagogical model?

Also know as traditional teaching model or traditional educational model, the traditional pedagogical model is characterized by the marked difference of roles between the student and the teacher . In this type of educational system the student is a passive receiver of information, while the whole weight of the educational process falls on the teacher, who must be an expert in the subject.


Despite the antiquity of this, it reached the peak at the time of the Industrial Revolution, where the traditional pedagogical model It stood out for its easy application and for allowing the possibility of standardizing knowledge , so that a single teacher could take care of the education of a large number of students.

These were some of the reasons why this system acquired such fame that it became the reference educational model, which remains to this day and is the one that is still implemented in the vast majority of educational centers worldwide, regardless of the academic degree.

Despite its popularity in times past, the traditional pedagogical model is not exempt from criticism . With the passage of time, both students and the professors' bodies themselves, claim that this has become obsolete; being considered as a predictable model, little stimulating and that needs an urgent adaptation to the new times.


Development and historical journey

The pedagogical model in which a scholar or expert in a series of knowledge transmitted his knowledge to a series of selected students goes back to the old academies of the High Middle Ages.

Throughout this historical stage, knowledge was restricted only to the Christian community, specifically to the monks. So this educational system was characterized by having a strong religious and moral base.

During a long period of time, the educational traditions were limited to the religious class and it was not until the eighteenth century that there was a first educational revolution.

This revolution came from the hand of the one who, up to now, has been considered the father of modern education: John Amos Comenius . This philosopher, pedagogue and theologian of Czech origin created a new educational reform that soon spread throughout Europe and aroused the interest of all governments for the education of his people.


As a result of this revolution numerous theories, systems and teaching methods arose, so that, with the aim of grouping, unifying and generalizing these ideas, the first chair of pedagogy was created; developed by the University of Halle in Germany, in the year 1770.

Among the theorists of this era are Joseph Lancaster, creator of the monitorial or mutual teaching movement and Johan Heinrich Pestalozzi, who applied the ideals of the Enlightenment movement to pedagogy.

Finally, with the arrival of the Industrial Revolution, governments saw in the traditional pedagogical method an opportunity to transmit both education and the values ​​they considered appropriate to a large number of people at the same time, for which numerous schools and centers were created education that facilitated the expansion of a universal education.

As we mentioned before, the ease of application of this system and the possibility of offering education to a large part of the population converted the traditional education model as a reference system, which led to its standardization and application in the vast majority of schools.

This standardization that occurred at the end of the 19th century still remains today, with the education system being the most practiced in the world.

What are its main characteristics?

As described at the beginning of the article, The main characteristic of the traditional pedagogical model is that it is based on a basis of transmission and reception of information and knowledge .

According to this model, the best method of education is one in which the teacher transmits his knowledge directly to his students, which constitute a passive element in the learning process.

In the traditional pedagogical model, the weight of the transmission of education falls mainly on the figure of the teacher, who must generate their own teaching strategies and present their knowledge to the student.

However, there are other features that distinguish the traditional pedagogical model. These include:

  • The teacher should not only be an expert in his field, but should also be able to transmit information effectively.
  • The function of the students is to try to understand and memorize the information.
  • The student's main learning tool is memory.
  • The way in which students settle knowledge is through practice and repetition.
  • Self-discipline is the main requirement for students.
  • The exams and the evaluative tests allow the teacher to know if the students have acquired the knowledge.

Pros and cons of this system

With the passage of time and research within the field of pedagogy, it has been discovered that in the traditional pedagogical model there are not all advantages , but also has some defects that ask to be modified, as well as the adaptation of this system to the new times.

Among the advantages and disadvantages of this educational model are:

1. Advantages

  • It enables the transmission of knowledge to a large number of people at the same time, without the need to possess many educational resources.
  • It generates self-discipline and favors the development of personal effort.
  • It is the most effective way to transmit pure data such as dates and numerical data.
  • It does not require a process of adaptation to teaching by either the student or the teacher.
  • It favors memory processes.

2. Disadvantages

  • It focuses only on the memorization of information and not so much on the understanding of it.
  • The evaluation methods generate frustration and stress in the students.
  • The memorization of data is not usually advantageous for the development of skills necessary to face the real world.
  • The curiosity and creativity of the students are not stimulated.
  • It encourages comparison and competition between students, instead of collaboration and cooperation, which has a negative effect on self-esteem.
  • It has been shown that most of the knowledge acquired through this method ends up being forgotten over time.

Andragogy (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Modèle pédagogique traditionnel: histoire et bases théoriques et pratiques

Modèle pédagogique traditionnel: histoire et bases théoriques et pratiques

Mai 20, 2022

Les systèmes éducatifs et la manière dont ils sont développés et appliqués sont un sujet de débat traditionnel associant pédagogie et psychologie, philosophie et même politique.

Cependant, Il existe un modèle qui subsiste malgré le passage du temps et les nombreuses critiques: le modèle pédagogique traditionnel . Dans cet article, nous passerons en revue l’histoire et les caractéristiques de ce système éducatif, ainsi que ses principaux avantages et inconvénients.

  • Article connexe: "Les 18 types d'enseignement: histoire, caractéristiques et classification"

Quel est le modèle pédagogique traditionnel?

Aussi appelé modèle d'enseignement traditionnel o modèle éducatif traditionnel, le modèle pédagogique traditionnel se caractérise par la différence marquée de rôles entre l'étudiant et l'enseignant . Dans ce type de système éducatif, l’élève est un récepteur passif d’informations, tandis que l’ensemble du processus éducatif incombe à l’enseignant, qui doit être un expert en la matière.


Malgré l’antiquité, elle a atteint son apogée à l’époque de la révolution industrielle, où le modèle pédagogique traditionnel Il s’est distingué par sa facilité d’application et par la possibilité de normaliser les connaissances , afin qu’un seul enseignant puisse s’occuper de l’éducation d’un grand nombre d’élèves.

C’est une des raisons pour lesquelles ce système a acquis une telle renommée qu’il est devenu le modèle éducatif de référence, qui reste à ce jour et qui est toujours appliqué dans la vaste majorité des centres éducatifs du monde entier, quel que soit le modèle choisi. diplôme universitaire.

Malgré sa popularité dans le passé, le modèle pédagogique traditionnel n'échappe pas à la critique . Au fil du temps, les étudiants et le corps des professeurs eux-mêmes prétendent que cela est devenu obsolète; considéré comme un modèle prévisible, peu stimulant et qui nécessite une adaptation urgente aux temps nouveaux.


Développement et voyage historique

Le modèle pédagogique dans lequel un érudit ou un expert d’une série de connaissances a transmis ses connaissances à une série d’élèves sélectionnés remonte aux anciennes académies du Haut Moyen Âge.

Tout au long de cette étape historique, la connaissance a été limitée à la communauté chrétienne, en particulier aux moines. Ce système éducatif se caractérisait donc par une base religieuse et morale solide.

Pendant longtemps, les traditions éducatives ont été limitées à la classe religieuse et ce n’est qu’au XVIIIe siècle qu’une première révolution éducative a eu lieu.

Cette révolution est venue de la main de celui qui, jusqu'à présent, était considéré comme le père de l'éducation moderne: John Amos Comenius . Ce philosophe, pédagogue et théologien d’origine tchèque a créé une nouvelle réforme de l’enseignement qui s’est rapidement répandue dans toute l’Europe et a suscité l’intérêt de tous les gouvernements pour l’éducation de son peuple.


À la suite de cette révolution, de nombreuses théories, systèmes et méthodes d’enseignement ont vu le jour et, dans le but de regrouper, d’unifier et de généraliser ces idées, la première chaire de pédagogie a été créée. développé par l'Université de Halle en Allemagne, en l'an 1770.

Parmi les théoriciens de cette époque, citons Joseph Lancaster, créateur du mouvement de l'enseignement mutuel et moniteur, et Johan Heinrich Pestalozzi, qui a appliqué les idéaux du mouvement des Lumières à la pédagogie.

Enfin, avec l’arrivée de la révolution industrielle, les gouvernements ont vu dans la méthode pédagogique traditionnelle une occasion de transmettre à la fois l’éducation et les valeurs qu’ils jugeaient appropriées à un grand nombre de personnes, pour lesquelles de nombreuses écoles et centres ont été créés. éducation qui a facilité l'expansion d'une éducation universelle.

Comme nous l’avons déjà mentionné, la facilité d’application de ce système et la possibilité d’offrir une éducation à une grande partie de la population ont fait du modèle d’éducation traditionnel un système de référence qui a conduit à sa normalisation et à son application dans la grande majorité des écoles.

Cette normalisation qui a eu lieu à la fin du 19ème siècle est toujours d'actualité, le système éducatif étant le plus pratiqué au monde.

Quelles sont ses principales caractéristiques?

Comme décrit au début de l'article, La caractéristique principale du modèle pédagogique traditionnel est qu'il repose sur une base de transmission et de réception d'informations et de connaissances. .

Selon ce modèle, la meilleure méthode d'enseignement est celle dans laquelle l'enseignant transmet ses connaissances directement à ses élèves, qui constituent un élément passif du processus d'apprentissage.

Dans le modèle pédagogique traditionnel, le poids de la transmission de l'éducation repose principalement sur la figure de l'enseignant, qui doit générer ses propres stratégies d'enseignement et présenter ses connaissances à l'élève.

Cependant, d'autres caractéristiques distinguent le modèle pédagogique traditionnel. Ceux-ci incluent:

  • L'enseignant doit non seulement être un expert dans son domaine, mais également être capable de transmettre efficacement des informations.
  • Les élèves ont pour fonction d’essayer de comprendre et de mémoriser les informations.
  • Le principal outil d'apprentissage de l'élève est la mémoire.
  • Les étudiants acquièrent des connaissances grâce à la pratique et à la répétition.
  • L'autodiscipline est la principale exigence pour les étudiants.
  • Les examens et les tests d'évaluation permettent à l'enseignant de savoir si les élèves ont acquis les connaissances.

Avantages et inconvénients de ce système

Au fil du temps et des recherches dans le domaine de la pédagogie, on a découvert que, dans le modèle pédagogique traditionnel, il n’existait pas tous les avantages , mais a aussi quelques défauts qui demandent à être modifiés, ainsi que l’adaptation de ce système aux temps nouveaux.

Parmi les avantages et les inconvénients de ce modèle éducatif, on peut citer:

1. avantages

  • Il permet la transmission simultanée des connaissances à un grand nombre de personnes, sans qu'il soit nécessaire de posséder de nombreuses ressources pédagogiques.
  • Il génère de l'autodiscipline et favorise le développement de l'effort personnel.
  • C'est le moyen le plus efficace de transmettre des données pures telles que des dates et des données numériques.
  • Cela ne nécessite pas de processus d'adaptation à l'enseignement de la part de l'étudiant ou de l'enseignant.
  • Cela favorise les processus de mémoire.

2. Inconvénients

  • Il se concentre uniquement sur la mémorisation de l'information et pas tellement sur sa compréhension.
  • Les méthodes d'évaluation génèrent de la frustration et du stress chez les étudiants.
  • La mémorisation des données n’est généralement pas avantageuse pour le développement des compétences nécessaires pour faire face au monde réel.
  • La curiosité et la créativité des étudiants ne sont pas stimulées.
  • Il encourage la comparaison et la concurrence entre les étudiants, au lieu de la collaboration et de la coopération, ce qui a un effet négatif sur l'estime de soi.
  • Il a été démontré que la plupart des connaissances acquises par cette méthode finissent par être oubliées au fil du temps.

Études de cas (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes