yes, therapy helps!
Transcortical aphasia (sensory, motor, and mixed)

Transcortical aphasia (sensory, motor, and mixed)

July 19, 2024

One of the most characteristic disorders of brain damage is aphasia, which is defined as alteration in the ability to understand and / or produce oral and written language . There is a special type of aphasia that is characterized by maintaining the ability to repeat words that have been heard; it is about transcortical aphasias.

In this article we will describe the main characteristics of the three types of transcortical aphasia : the sensory, the motor and the mixed. By way of introduction, we will briefly explain the general features of aphasias, especially transcortical ones.

  • Related article: "Aphasias: the main language disorders"

What is transcortical aphasia?

Aphasias are language disorders that appear as a result of injuries in regions of the left hemisphere of the brain related to speech , as well as with reading and writing. However, in some people the language is more distributed between the two hemispheres, as is the case with left-handers, and the left is not the dominant one.


The most frequent causes of aphasia are ischemic strokes, traumatic brain injuries and neurodegenerative diseases, including dementias.

In the context of aphasia the term "transcortical" refers to the appearance of damage in several lobes of the brain that isolate some nerve pathways and structures related to language. The function of these regions is preserved, which explains the symptomatic peculiarities of these aphasias.

The signs of transcortical aphasias vary greatly depending on the type to which we refer (sensory, motor or mixed). However, the three types of transcortical aphasia present as a common feature the maintenance of the ability to repeat words or phrases that have been pronounced by other people.


This characteristic distinguishes transcortical aphasias from other variants of this disorder, particularly Broca's or motor's aphasia, Wernicke's or sensorial aphasia, conduction and global or total aphasia. Beyond this, The usual signs of transcortical aphasias are similar to those of the rest .

  • You may be interested: "The 8 types of speech disorders"

Types of transcortical aphasia

Three types of transcortical aphasia have been distinguished according to the relative predominance of symptoms and signs related to comprehension and to the production of language.

Thus, we found transcortical sensory, motor and mixed aphasia, in which the two types of alteration are present to a severe degree.

1. Sensory

Transcortical sensory aphasia is characterized by a deficient understanding of language , whether it manifests itself in speech or in reading, as well as the maintenance of verbal fluency. These signs are very similar to those of Wernicke's aphasia, although in this the repetition is altered.


Both in Wernicke's aphasia and in the transcortical sensory the phoneme articulation is correct, although the discourse tends to be full of meaningless terms (neologisms) as well as unnecessary syllables and words (paraphasias) that make sense of verbal production.

This type of aphasia It is associated with lesions in the lower part of the junction between the temporal, parietal and occipital lobes , which correspond to areas 37 and 39 of the classification made by Brodmann. In this part of the brain we find the Sylvian fissure or lateral groove of the brain, one of its most important folds.

Contusions and hemorrhages in the left temporal lobe and infarcts in the posterior cerebral artery of the same hemisphere are common causes of transcortical sensory aphasia.

2. Motor

Transcortical motor aphasia it is also known as "dynamic aphasia" and "anterior isolation syndrome" . It occurs as a consequence of lesions in the pars triangularis of the inferior turn of the frontal lobe (Brodmann area 45) or other parts of the dominant hemisphere for language.

These cases are characterized by the conservation of the abilities to name objects, understand the language and repeat words that are heard, as well as by the presence of various alterations in the production of speech.

In motor transcortical aphasia there is a reduction in the initiative to speak, accompanied by phenomena associated with repetition and imitation of words pronounced by other people or by oneself, mainly perseveration, echolalia and palilalia.

The fluency of the discourse is normal when the person repeats words and phrases or when he calls objects, although he is much less so during spontaneous speech.

3. Mixed

Mixed aphasias are those that present significant motor symptoms (that is, those related to the production of language and writing) but also sensory (reception and understanding of speech and reading).

We speak of mixed transcortical aphasia when these signs occur without jointly appearing an alteration in the ability to repeat words and phrases. Otherwise we would be referring to global aphasia, which is associated with very extensive lesions of the left hemisphere of the brain.

In this case lesions appear in the frontal and parietal lobes of the left hemisphere , although the fundamental regions for the language are not affected. This is why this type of aphasia is sometimes referred to as "language isolation syndrome".

As in transcortical motor aphasia, in the mixed fluidity is also normal to repeat but is very altered in spontaneous emission. Echolalia and other similar involuntary repetitions are also detected.


What is Aphasia - Broca's and Transcortical Motor Aphasia (Non-fluent aphasias) (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Aphasie transcorticale (sensorielle, motrice et mixte)

Aphasie transcorticale (sensorielle, motrice et mixte)

Mai 11, 2021

L’aphasie est l’un des désordres les plus caractéristiques des lésions cérébrales. altération de la capacité à comprendre et / ou à produire un langage oral et écrit . Il existe un type particulier d’aphasie qui se caractérise par le maintien de la capacité de répéter des mots entendus. il s'agit d'aphasies transcorticales.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les principales caractéristiques des trois types d'aphasie transcorticale : le sensoriel, le moteur et le mixte. En guise d'introduction, nous expliquerons brièvement les caractéristiques générales des aphasies, en particulier celles transcorticales.

  • Article connexe: "Aphasies: les principaux troubles du langage"

Qu'est-ce que l'aphasie transcorticale?

Les aphasies sont des troubles du langage qui apparaissent à la suite de blessures chez régions de l'hémisphère gauche du cerveau liées à la parole , ainsi qu’avec la lecture et l’écriture. Cependant, chez certaines personnes, la langue est plus répartie entre les deux hémisphères, comme c'est le cas pour les gauchers, et la gauche n'est pas dominante.


Les causes les plus fréquentes d'aphasie sont les accidents ischémiques cérébraux, les lésions cérébrales traumatiques et les maladies neurodégénératives, notamment les démences.

Dans le contexte de l'aphasie le terme "transcortical" se réfère à l'apparition de dommages dans plusieurs lobes du cerveau qui isolent des voies nerveuses et des structures liées au langage. La fonction de ces régions est préservée, ce qui explique les particularités symptomatiques de ces aphasies.

Les signes des aphasies transcorticales varient considérablement selon le type auquel nous nous référons (sensoriel, moteur ou mixte). Cependant, les trois types d’aphasie transcorticale présentent comme caractéristique commune le maintien de la capacité de répéter des mots ou des phrases prononcés par d’autres personnes.


Cette caractéristique distingue les aphasies transcorticales des autres variantes de ce trouble, en particulier l'aphasie motrice de Broca ou motrice, l'aphasie sensorielle de Wernicke, la conduction et l'aphasie globale ou totale. Au-delà, Les signes habituels des aphasies transcorticales sont similaires à ceux des autres .

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les 8 types de troubles de la parole"

Types d'aphasie transcorticale

Trois types d’aphasie transcorticale ont été distingués en fonction de la prédominance relative des symptômes et des signes liés à la compréhension et à la production du langage.

Ainsi, nous avons trouvé une aphasie sensorielle, motrice et mixte transcorticale, dans laquelle les deux types d'altération sont présents à un degré sévère.

1. sensorielle

Aphasie transcorticale sensorielle se caractérise par une compréhension déficiente de la langue , qu’il se manifeste dans la parole ou dans la lecture, ainsi que dans le maintien de la fluidité verbale. Ces signes ressemblent beaucoup à ceux de l'aphasie de Wernicke, même si la répétition est modifiée.


Tant dans l'aphasie de Wernicke que dans le sensoriel transcortical, l'articulation du phonème est correcte, bien que le discours ait tendance à être rempli de termes sans signification (néologismes) ainsi que de syllabes et mots inutiles (paraphasias) qui donnent un sens à la production verbale.

Ce type d'aphasie Elle est associée à des lésions dans la partie inférieure de la jonction entre les lobes temporal, pariétal et occipital. , qui correspondent aux zones 37 et 39 du classement de Brodmann. Dans cette partie du cerveau, nous trouvons la fissure sylvienne ou le sillon latéral du cerveau, l'un de ses plis les plus importants.

Les contusions et les hémorragies dans le lobe temporal gauche et les infarctus dans l'artère cérébrale postérieure du même hémisphère sont des causes courantes d'aphasie sensorielle transcorticale.

2. moteur

Aphasie motrice transcorticale on l'appelle aussi "aphasie dynamique" et "syndrome d'isolement antérieur" . Il se produit à la suite de lésions au niveau de la partie triangulaire du tour inférieur du lobe frontal (zone de Brodmann 45) ou d’autres parties de l’hémisphère dominant pour le langage.

Ces cas sont caractérisés par la conservation des capacités de nommer des objets, de comprendre le langage et de répéter les mots entendus, ainsi que par la présence de diverses modifications dans la production de la parole.

Dans l'aphasie transcorticale motrice, il y a une réduction de l'initiative de parler, accompagnée de phénomènes associés à la répétition et à l'imitation de mots prononcé par d’autres personnes ou par soi-même, principalement la persévération, l’écholalie et la palilalie.

La fluidité du discours est normale lorsque la personne répète des mots et des phrases ou lorsqu'elle appelle des objets, bien qu'elle le soit beaucoup moins lors d'un discours spontané.

3. mixte

Les aphasies mixtes sont celles qui présenter des symptômes moteurs significatifs (c'est-à-dire celles liées à la production du langage et de l'écriture) mais également sensorielles (réception et compréhension du langage et de la lecture).

Nous parlons d’aphasie transcorticale mixte lorsque ces signes se manifestent sans qu’il en résulte une altération de la capacité de répéter des mots et des phrases. Sinon, nous ferions référence à l'aphasie globale, qui est associée à des lésions très étendues de l'hémisphère gauche du cerveau.

Dans ce cas des lésions apparaissent dans les lobes frontaux et pariétaux de l'hémisphère gauche , bien que les régions fondamentales de la langue ne soient pas affectées. C'est pourquoi ce type d'aphasie est parfois appelé "syndrome d'isolement du langage".

Comme dans l'aphasie motrice transcorticale, la fluidité mélangée est également normale à répéter, mais est très altérée dans l'émission spontanée. Echolalia et d'autres répétitions involontaires similaires sont également détectés.


Aphasie de Broca (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes