yes, therapy helps!
Trichotillomania: the strange obsession to tear the hair

Trichotillomania: the strange obsession to tear the hair

May 10, 2021

The trichotillomania it is a strange disorder characterized by the irresistible need to pull on the hair, usually of the scalp, eyebrows and eyelashes .

Although individuals who suffer from this pathology are aware of the damage that can be done by acting in this way, they are unable to stop or control this impulse. In addition, it is common that in times of stress these individuals try to pull hair as a way to calm down, so it produces a vicious circle that can cause major damage, both physically and psychologically.

What is Trichotillomania?

This condition usually appears around 13 years of age and is officially classified as a pulse control disorder , just like pyromania, kleptomania or pathological gambling. It is also closely linked to Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder, since they share a large part of the symptoms and unbalanced psychological mechanisms.


It has a prevalence of 1% of the population and affects men as well as women, although the latter seek treatment more frequently.

symptom

Trichotillomania It is characterized by the presence of the following symptoms :

  • Pulling the hair recurrently causing a remarkable loss of it (as you can see in the picture).
  • An increase in the perception of tension just before pulling your hair or resisting this act.
  • Pleasure, gratification or release when pulling hair.
  • The disturbance is not explained by another mental disorder or medical condition.
  • The alteration causes significant discomfort or social, labor or other important deterioration of the activity. For example, a loss of self-esteem as a result of partial alopecia caused by tearing the hair.

Warning signs

The onset of this disorder occurs around the age of 13, although in some cases it may start earlier . Frequently, a stressful event can be associated with this pathology, for example, change of school, abuse, family conflicts or the death of someone close can cause anxiety and nervousness and cause the debut of this disorder.


Some experts say that the symptoms can be provoked, or at least strongly influenced, by the hormonal changes typical of puberty.

Most likely causes

Adolescence is a critical stage for the development of self-esteem, body image, self-confidence, or intimate relationships. During this period, people who suffer from this pathology can be ridiculed by their own family, friends or classmates. But, in addition, these people may feel a great guilt or shame for not being able to stop this type of behavior. Even a small patch without hair can cause serious emotional problems for the person suffering from this condition.

In many cases, people who suffer trichotillomania get a normal life: getting married, having children ... But in some cases, there are individuals who avoid intimate relationships for fear of exposing their disorder or.


There is no specific cause for trichotillomania. Although some researchers think that it is possible that at a biological level there is a neurochemical imbalance in the brain, mainly a deficit of serotonin. There may also be a combination of factors such as genetic predisposition and an aggravating stress or circumstance. For example, a traumatic event.

Comorbidity (associated disorders)

It is common for people with trichotillomania to show symptoms of Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD) such as counting or washing their hands. In fact, there are many similarities between trichotillomania and OCD, so some experts consider it a subtype of Obsessive Compulsive Disorder .

Depressive disorder is also common with trichotillomania. There may be a direct relationship between the neurotransmitters involved in depression and this condition (and also OCD), since both pathologies are associated with low levels of serotonin. Although there could also be a relationship between depression and low self-esteem caused by trichotillomania, because tearing the hair can be demoralizing. On the other hand, When hair is pulled out, wounds can appear that cause physical and emotional pain .

Treatment

Trichotillomania can be treated from two routes, according to research conducted in this field.

1. Psychotherapy

On the one hand, Cognitive behavioral therapy is very effective . On the other hand, and in some severe cases, the administration of drugs is necessary. However, the combination of both treatments is ideal.

With cognitive behavioral therapy, patients learn to identify and manage symptoms and use strategies that help them improve their quality of life . You can know more about this type of therapy in our article: "Behavioral Cognitive Therapy: what is it and on what principles is it based?".

2. Pharmacology

Medication may also be effective in treating symptoms, although cognitive behavioral therapy is necessary to obtain long-term results. Some medications (antidepressants or mood stabilizers) used to treat this condition are:

  • Fluoxetine (Prozac)
  • Fluvoxamine (Luvox)
  • Sertraline (Zoloft)
  • Paroxetine (Paxil)
  • Clomipramine (Anafranil)
  • Valproate (Depakote)
  • Lithium (Lithobid, Eskalith)

Bibliographic references:

  • Christenson GA, Crow SJ (1996). «The characterization and treatment of trichotillomania». The Journal of clinical psychiatry (in English). 57 Suppl 8: pp. 42-7; discussion pp. 48-49.
  • Christenson GA, Mackenzie TB, Mitchell JE (1991). «Characteristics of 60 adult chronic hair pullers». The American journal of psychiatry (in English) 148 (3): pp. 365-70.
  • Salaam K, Carr J, Grewal H, Sholevar E, Baron D. (2005). Untreated trichotillomania and trichophagia: surgical emergency in a teenage girl. Psychosomatics (in English).
  • Woods D. W., Wetterneck C. T., Flessner C. A. (2006). «A controlled evaluation of acceptance and commitment therapy plus habit reversal for trichotillomania». Behavior research and therapy (in English) 44 (5): pp. 639-56.
  • Zuchner S, Cuccaro ML, Tran-Viet KN, et al. (2006). SLITRK1 mutations in trichotillomania. Mol. Psychiatry (in English).

Trichotillomania: Why These Women Rip Out Their Own Hair (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trichotillomanie: l'étrange obsession de se déchirer les cheveux

Trichotillomanie: l'étrange obsession de se déchirer les cheveux

Février 21, 2019

Le trichotillomanie c'est un désordre étrange caractérisé par le besoin irrésistible de tirer sur les cheveux, généralement du cuir chevelu, des sourcils et des cils .

Bien que les individus souffrant de cette pathologie soient conscients des dommages qu’il est possible de faire en agissant de la sorte, ils sont incapables d’arrêter ou de contrôler cette impulsion. De plus, il est courant que ces personnes essaient, en période de stress, d’arracher les cheveux pour se calmer, ce qui crée un cercle vicieux pouvant causer des dommages importants, tant sur le plan physique que psychologique.

Qu'est-ce que la trichotillomanie?

Cette condition apparaît généralement vers 13 ans et est officiellement classé comme trouble du contrôle du pouls , tout comme la pyromanie, la kleptomanie ou le jeu pathologique. Il est également étroitement lié au trouble obsessionnel-compulsif, car ils partagent une grande partie des symptômes et des mécanismes psychologiques déséquilibrés.


Elle touche 1% de la population et touche aussi bien les hommes que les femmes, bien que ces dernières demandent un traitement plus fréquemment.

Les symptômes

Trichotillomanie Il se caractérise par la présence des symptômes suivants :

  • Tirer les cheveux de façon récurrente provoquant une perte remarquable de ceux-ci (comme vous pouvez le voir sur l'image).
  • Une augmentation de la perception de la tension juste avant de tirer vos cheveux ou de résister à cet acte.
  • Plaisir, gratification ou relâchement en tirant les cheveux.
  • La perturbation n'est pas expliquée par un autre trouble mental ou un problème de santé.
  • L'altération provoque une gêne importante ou sociale, du travail ou une autre détérioration importante de l'activité. Par exemple, une perte d'estime de soi à la suite d'une alopécie partielle causée par une déchirure des cheveux.

Signes d'avertissement

L'apparition de ce trouble survient vers l’âge de 13 ans, bien que dans certains cas il puisse commencer plus tôt . Fréquemment, un événement stressant peut être associé à cette pathologie. Par exemple, un changement d’école, des abus, des conflits familiaux ou le décès d’un proche peuvent causer de l’anxiété et de la nervosité et provoquer le début de ce trouble.


Certains experts affirment que les changements hormonaux typiques de la puberté peuvent provoquer ou, du moins, influer fortement sur les symptômes.

Causes les plus probables

L'adolescence est une étape cruciale pour le développement de l'estime de soi, de l'image corporelle, de la confiance en soi ou des relations intimes. Pendant cette période, les personnes souffrant de cette pathologie peuvent être ridiculisées par leur propre famille, amis ou camarades de classe. Mais, en plus, ces personnes peuvent ressentir une grande culpabilité ou une grande honte de ne pas pouvoir arrêter ce type de comportement. Même un petit patch sans cheveux peut causer de graves problèmes émotionnels à la personne qui en souffre.

Dans de nombreux cas, les personnes atteintes de trichotillomanie ont une vie normale: se marier, avoir des enfants ... Mais dans certains cas, il y a des personnes qui évitent les relations intimes par peur d'exposer leur trouble ou


Il n'y a pas de cause spécifique pour la trichotillomanie. Bien que certains chercheurs pensent qu’il est possible qu’au niveau biologique, il existe un déséquilibre neurochimique dans le cerveau, principalement un déficit en sérotonine. Il peut également y avoir une combinaison de facteurs tels qu'une prédisposition génétique et un stress ou des circonstances aggravants. Par exemple, un événement traumatique.

Comorbidité (troubles associés)

Il est courant que les personnes atteintes de trichotillomanie présentent des symptômes de trouble obsessionnel compulsif (TOC), tels que le comptage ou le lavage de leurs mains. En fait, il existe de nombreuses similitudes entre la trichotillomanie et le TOC, de sorte que certains experts le considèrent comme un sous-type de trouble obsessionnel compulsif .

Le trouble dépressif est également fréquent avec la trichotillomanie. Il peut exister une relation directe entre les neurotransmetteurs impliqués dans la dépression et cette affection (ainsi que le TOC), les deux pathologies étant associées à de faibles taux de sérotonine. Bien qu'il puisse également exister une relation entre dépression et faible estime de soi causée par la trichotillomanie, le fait de se déchirer les cheveux peut être démoralisant. D'un autre côté, Lorsque les cheveux sont tirés, des plaies peuvent apparaître et causer des douleurs physiques et émotionnelles. .

Traitement

La trichotillomanie peut être traitée de deux manières, selon les recherches menées dans ce domaine.

1. psychothérapie

D'un côté, La thérapie cognitivo-comportementale est très efficace . Par contre, et dans certains cas graves, l'administration de médicaments est nécessaire. Cependant, la combinaison des deux traitements est idéale.

Avec la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale, les patients apprennent à identifier et à gérer les symptômes et à utiliser des stratégies qui les aident à améliorer leur qualité de vie . Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur ce type de thérapie dans notre article: "Thérapie cognitive comportementale: de quoi s'agit-il et sur quels principes repose-t-il?".

2. Pharmacologie

Les médicaments peuvent également être efficaces pour traiter les symptômes, bien qu'une thérapie cognitivo-comportementale soit nécessaire pour obtenir des résultats à long terme. Certains médicaments (antidépresseurs ou stabilisateurs de l'humeur) utilisés pour traiter cette affection sont:

  • Fluoxetine (Prozac)
  • Fluvoxamine (Luvox)
  • Sertraline (Zoloft)
  • Paroxetine (Paxil)
  • Clomipramine (Anafranil)
  • Valproate (Depakote)
  • Lithium (Lithobid, Eskalith)

Références bibliographiques:

  • Christenson GA, Crow SJ (1996). «La caractérisation et le traitement de la trichotillomanie». Le journal de psychiatrie clinique (en anglais). 57 Suppl 8: pp. 42-7; discussion pp. 48-49.
  • Christenson GA, Mackenzie TB, Mitchell JE (1991). «Caractéristiques de 60 tire-cheveux chroniques adultes». Le journal américain de psychiatrie (en anglais) 148 (3): pp. 365-70.
  • Salaam K, Carr J, Grewal H, E Sholevar, Baron D. (2005). Trichotillomanie et trichophagie non traitées: urgence chirurgicale chez une adolescente. Psychosomatique (en anglais).
  • Woods D.W., Wetterneck C.T., Flessner C.A. (2006). «Une évaluation contrôlée de la thérapie d'acceptation et d'engagement, ainsi que de l'inversion d'habitudes pour la trichotillomanie». Recherche comportementale et thérapie (en anglais) 44 (5): pp. 639-56.
  • Zuchner S, ML Cuccaro, KN Tran-Viet et al. (2006). Mutations de SLITRK1 dans la trichotillomanie. Mol. Psychiatry (en anglais).

10 Strangest Addictions People Actually Have! (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes