yes, therapy helps!
Turmeric: its 10 benefits and healing properties

Turmeric: its 10 benefits and healing properties

June 24, 2021

There is a great diversity of plant species in nature, among which many are edible for humans. Fruit trees, vegetables, legumes, cereals ... all of them are an indispensable part of our diet.

In addition to them we can also find other types of plants that we use more as a condiment, although they are still of great relevance to us and even form part of the traditional cuisine of multiple cultures.

One of them is turmeric , which in addition to being one of the main ingredients of curry has been part since antiquity of Asian cultures like the one of India and that every time receives greater attention due to its numerous beneficial properties. It is about this vegetable that we are going to talk about throughout this article.


  • Related article: "18 benefits of ginger for your body and your health"

What is turmeric?

It is known as turmeric an aromatic herbaceous plant which is part of the Zingiberáceas family and whose scientific name is Curcuma longa. This plant is native to the territories of Southeast Asia, in which it is highly known since antiquity, and unlike others does not reproduce by seeds but by the use of cuttings. The part of the turmeric that is most often used is the rhizome or subterranean stem, from which the roots divide.

The best-known use of this plant is the gastronomic one, in which it is usually used as an aromatic spice (which is obtained by grinding the rhizome of the plant) and used as a seasoning in different preparations, including the famous and already mentioned curry. It is also sometimes used in infusions. While It is a traditional food in Asian countries and especially in India , little by little the use of this spice has been expanding.


It is also sometimes used as a food that helps treat various conditions and minor ailments, knowing many of its properties since ancient times and being some of them endorsed by science. It also has other uses, such as dye or coloring.

In this sense, an orange food coloring has also been generated, the E-100, in addition to being used in the coloring of paints and clothing. It is also part of various religious and cultural traditions (For example, it is one of the plants that is used as a dye to draw the traditional mark on the forehead that the Indian population usually carries).

Main benefits and properties of this plant

There are multiple properties and benefits that have been attributed to turmeric, some of which have been scientifically verified. Generally one of the most studied elements at this level is curcumin, the natural dye derived from turmeric. Below we will explain some of the most known benefits and properties.


1. It has anti-inflammatory properties

Several investigations carried out in animal models seem to indicate that the administration of turmeric and / or curcumin has anti-inflammatory effects, reducing the emission of cytokines (which are proinflammatory) and inhibiting the inflammatory prostaglandins.

In this sense it can be useful in conditions such as arthritis or psoriasis, and It has been shown effective in the reduction of edema and granulomas , in addition to the treatment of asthma. These effects are observed in different organs, both at the ectopic and respiratory levels, among others.

2. Antitumor effect

Although it is far from being a miraculous product in this regard, it has been observed that the administration of turmeric has a certain anticancer effect, helping to reduce the growth of neoplasms by inhibiting the expression of tumor necrosis factors and various interleukins (which favor the development and growth of tumors). Its anti-inflammatory property also contributes to this.

3. An interesting antioxidant

Another of the proven properties of turmeric is its antioxidant action, through which slows down the generation and effects of free radicals that cause cell aging . These effects have been seen at the blood level, protecting from the oxidation of hemoglobin and lipids. This also includes a protective effect against Alzheimer's, by reducing the appearance of beta-amyloid plaques.

4. Hypoglycemic and diabetes aids

Some studies indicate that curcumin has hypoglycemic capacity, that is, it helps reduce blood sugar levels. further it has also been observed that it favors an increase in insulin and a reduction of cholesterol.

5. Protects the intestine and liver

Partly thanks to its anti-inflammatory, antioxidant and hypoglycaemic activity, it has been observed that turmeric helps maintain the digestive tract in good health , as well as having hepatoprotective properties. It also facilitates the flow of bile, something that also facilitates the digestion of fats.

6. Healing

In addition to being used as an anti-inflammatory at the skin level, turmeric has also been used topically since it also has antioxidant and astringent effects, something that favors the closing of wounds . It is used for example in burns.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Aloe vera: 13 benefits you should know and apply to your life"

7. Protects the heart, reduces cholesterol and prevents heart disease

It has been observed that turmeric is useful in preventing heart disease, given that reduces the inflammation and oxidation that may favor them and also has antiplatelet capacity . In this sense it is very useful since it hinders the creation of thrombi and also contributes to reduce cholesterol.

8. Antibiotic properties

In addition to all the above, it has been observed that turmeric has antibacterial, antifungal and antiprotozoal effects, something that helps to fight against some infections and parasites.

9. Its usefulness in HIV is investigated

Some studies suggest that turmeric and products derived from its active ingredients may be useful for people with HIV, as it seems contribute to slow the expansion of the retrovirus by affecting the intergrase of HIV-1 .

10. It improves the mood

Finally, it is worth mentioning that another of the interesting properties of turmeric is the fact that it contributes to reducing the levels of stress and depression to the Contribute to modulate the neurotransmission of certain hormones .

Bibliographic references:

  • Ammon, H.P.T. & Wahl, M.A. (1991). Pharmacology of Curcuma longa. Planta Medica, 57 (1): 1-7. Georg Thieme Verlag Stuttgart. New Work
  • Araujo, C.A.C. & Leon, L.L. (2001). Biological Activities of Curcuma longa L. Memories of Oswaldo Cruz Institute, 96 (5): 723-728. Rio de Janeiro.
  • Díaz Ortega, J.L. (2014). Curcuma Longa and its beneficial molecular potential on inflammatory processes, cancer and chronic degenerative diseases. IN CRESCENDO Magazine- Health Sciences, 1 (1): 115-124.
  • Saiz de Cos, P. (2014). Curcuma I (Curcuma longa L.). Reduca (biology). Botanical Series, 7 (2): 84-99.

What is Turmeric Good For? 10 Turmeric Health Benefits (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Curcuma: ses 10 bienfaits et propriétés cicatrisantes

Curcuma: ses 10 bienfaits et propriétés cicatrisantes

Août 8, 2022

Il existe une grande diversité d'espèces végétales dans la nature, parmi lesquelles beaucoup sont comestibles pour l'homme. Les arbres fruitiers, les légumes, les légumineuses, les céréales ... sont tous des éléments indispensables de notre alimentation.

En plus d’eux, nous pouvons également trouver d’autres types de plantes que nous utilisons davantage comme condiment, bien qu’elles aient toujours une grande pertinence pour nous et fassent même partie de la cuisine traditionnelle de multiples cultures.

L'un d'eux est le curcuma qui, en plus d’être l’un des ingrédients principaux du curry, fait partie depuis l’antiquité de cultures asiatiques comme celle de l’Inde et fait l’objet d’une attention accrue chaque fois en raison de ses nombreuses propriétés bénéfiques. C'est à propos de ce légume que nous allons parler tout au long de cet article.


  • Article connexe: "18 bienfaits du gingembre pour votre corps et votre santé"

Qu'est-ce que le curcuma?

Il est connu comme le curcuma une plante herbacée aromatique qui fait partie de la famille Zingiberáceas et dont le nom scientifique est Curcuma Longa. Cette plante est originaire des territoires de l'Asie du Sud-Est, où elle est très connue depuis l'Antiquité et, contrairement à d'autres, ne se reproduit pas par graines, mais par bouturage. La partie du curcuma la plus utilisée est le rhizome ou la tige souterraine, à partir de laquelle les racines se divisent.

L'utilisation la plus connue de cette plante est la gastronomie, dans laquelle elle est habituellement utilisée comme épice aromatique (obtenue par broyage du rhizome de la plante) et utilisée comme assaisonnement dans différentes préparations, notamment le curry, déjà mentionné. Il est également parfois utilisé en infusions. Pendant que C'est un aliment traditionnel dans les pays asiatiques et particulièrement en Inde , l’utilisation de cette épice s’est peu à peu développée.


Il est également parfois utilisé comme aliment permettant de traiter diverses affections et affections mineures, connaissant nombre de ses propriétés depuis l'Antiquité et faisant partie de celles approuvées par la science. Il a également d'autres utilisations, telles que la teinture ou la coloration.

En ce sens, un colorant alimentaire orange a également été généré, le E-100, en plus d’être utilisé dans la coloration de peintures et de vêtements. Il fait également partie de diverses traditions religieuses et culturelles (Par exemple, il s’agit d’une des plantes utilisée comme colorant pour dessiner la marque traditionnelle sur le front que porte généralement la population indienne).

Principaux avantages et propriétés de cette plante

De nombreuses propriétés et avantages ont été attribués au curcuma, dont certains ont été vérifiés scientifiquement. L'un des éléments les plus étudiés à ce niveau est généralement la curcumine, le colorant naturel dérivé du curcuma. Nous expliquerons ci-dessous certains des avantages et propriétés les plus connus.


1. Il a des propriétés anti-inflammatoires

Plusieurs études effectuées sur des modèles animaux semblent indiquer que l'administration de curcuma et / ou de curcumine a des effets anti-inflammatoires, réduisant l'émission de cytokines (qui sont pro-inflammatoires) et inhibant les prostaglandines inflammatoires.

En ce sens, il peut être utile dans des cas tels que l’arthrite ou le psoriasis, et Il a été montré efficace dans la réduction de l'oedème et des granulomes , en plus du traitement de l'asthme. Ces effets sont observés dans différents organes, à la fois aux niveaux ectopique et respiratoire.

2. effet antitumoral

Bien qu’il soit loin d’être un produit miraculeux à cet égard, il a été observé que l’administration de curcuma avait un certain effet anticancéreux, en aidant à réduire la croissance des néoplasmes en inhibant l’expression des facteurs de nécrose tumorale et de diverses interleukines (qui favorisent le développement). et la croissance des tumeurs). Sa propriété anti-inflammatoire y contribue également.

3. Un antioxydant intéressant

Une autre des propriétés prouvées du curcuma est son action antioxydante, grâce à laquelle ralentit la génération et les effets des radicaux libres responsables du vieillissement cellulaire . Ces effets ont été observés au niveau sanguin, protégeant de l'oxydation de l'hémoglobine et des lipides. Cela inclut également un effet protecteur contre la maladie d'Alzheimer, en réduisant l'apparence des plaques de bêta-amyloïde.

4. Aides hypoglycémiques et diabétiques

Certaines études indiquent que la curcumine a une capacité hypoglycémique, c'est-à-dire qu'elle contribue à réduire le taux de sucre dans le sang. En outre il a également été observé qu'il favorise une augmentation de l'insuline et une réduction du cholestérol.

5. Protège l'intestin et le foie

En partie grâce à son activité anti-inflammatoire, antioxydante et hypoglycémique, il a été observé que le curcuma aide à maintenir le tube digestif en bonne santé , ainsi que d'avoir des propriétés hépatoprotectrices. Il facilite également la circulation de la bile, ce qui facilite également la digestion des graisses.

6. guérison

En plus d'être utilisé en tant qu'anti-inflammatoire au niveau de la peau, le curcuma est également utilisé localement, car il a également des effets antioxydants et astringents, ce qui favorise la fermeture des plaies . Il est utilisé par exemple dans les brûlures.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Aloe vera: 13 avantages à connaître et à appliquer dans votre vie"

7. Protège le coeur, réduit le cholestérol et prévient les maladies cardiaques

Il a été observé que le curcuma est utile dans la prévention des maladies cardiaques, étant donné que réduit l'inflammation et l'oxydation qui peut les favoriser et possède également une capacité antiplaquettaire . En ce sens, il est très utile car il empêche la création de thrombi et contribue également à réduire le cholestérol.

8. Propriétés antibiotiques

En plus de tout ce qui précède, il a été observé que le curcuma a des effets antibactériens, antifongiques et antiprotozoaires, qui permettent de lutter contre certaines infections et parasites.

9. Son utilité dans le traitement du VIH est à l'étude

Certaines études suggèrent que le curcuma et les produits dérivés de ses principes actifs pourraient être utiles aux personnes vivant avec le VIH, car il semble que contribuer à ralentir l’expansion du rétrovirus en affectant l’intergrase du VIH-1 .

10. il améliore l'humeur

Enfin, il convient de mentionner qu'un autre des propriétés intéressantes du curcuma est le fait qu'il contribue à réduire les niveaux de stress et de dépression du patient. Contribue à moduler la neurotransmission de certaines hormones .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Ammon, H.P.T. & Wahl, M.A. (1991). Pharmacologie de Curcuma Longa. Planta Medica, 57 (1): 1-7. Georg Thieme Verlag Stuttgart. Nouveau travail
  • Araujo, C.A.C. & Leon, L.L. (2001). Activités biologiques de Curcuma longa L. Souvenirs de l’Institut Oswaldo Cruz, 96 (5): 723-728. Rio de Janeiro
  • Díaz Ortega, J.L. (2014). Curcuma Longa et son potentiel moléculaire bénéfique sur les processus inflammatoires, le cancer et les maladies dégénératives chroniques. Magazine IN CRESCENDO - Sciences de la santé, 1 (1): 115-124.
  • Saiz de Cos, P. (2014). Curcuma I (Curcuma longa L.). Reduca (biologie). Botanical Series, 7 (2): 84-99.

2B Echanges - Curcuma et curcumine de l'histoire aux intérêts thérapeutiques (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes