yes, therapy helps!
Type A personality: characteristics and related factors

Type A personality: characteristics and related factors

January 22, 2022

Type A personality is a category that is used to describe a particular type of stress response. It is a proposal that emerged in the 50s, when two cardiologists wanted to study the relationship between some personality traits and the development of heart disease.

Currently, personality type A is one of four personality patterns (there are also B, C and D) that have helped us to describe how people relate to each other and how we react to external factors. Then we will see how is a personality type A and what is their relationship with cardiovascular diseases, as well as the research that has linked them.


  • Related article: "The main theories of personality"

Character characteristics of type A

The classification that we know as "personality type A" was suggested by American cardiologists Meyer Friedman and Raymond Rosenman in the decade of the 50's.

In very general terms, what they observed was that a set of stress responses, such as competitiveness, the sense of constant urgency and hostility (what they called Personality Type A), are related to a greater probability of developing coronary heart disease and high blood pressure

Although they limited themselves to relating the response to stress and heart disease, their classification has now been retaken and conceptualized as a set of behavioral responses known as Type A personality pattern or Type A Behavior Pattern (TABP, for its acronym in English).


1. Competitiveness

The TABP is characterized by a tendency to competitiveness, which makes the person is always self-critical and seeks to achieve their goals for the satisfaction of meeting them, rather than the fact of enjoying the process.

That is, competitiveness it is related to constant success experiences , because it implies a disciplined personality and allows to meet objectives, but it can also be a generator of permanent stress.

  • Maybe you're interested: "6 tricks to deal with very competitive people"

2. Sensation of urgency

It is a personality that seems to be always "against the clock", with an overload of work and with a permanent need to comply with rules and schedules. They are people who do many things at the same time and always "on time", therefore, the moments that are not considered as "productive" can generate a lot of anxiety.


For this reason, they are usually impatient people who they are very involved in their work activities and that tend to overreact in some cases, for example, when things do not go as planned.

3. Hostility

The previous characteristic is related to the fact that the person frequently highlights more the negative than the positive of others and of the circumstances, developing constant frustration, and even lack of empathy, or in the worst cases an aggressive behavior. The consequence is that the person is almost always perceived as hostile or that is always angry.

In short, personality type A implies an orientation to success with a tendency to competitiveness, a sense of urgency and little tolerance for frustration. They tend to be ambitious, extremely hardworking and demanding people who commit themselves to several activities at once, which they consider urgent and therefore generate constant tension.

Other personality patterns: Type B, C and D

While investigating Type A personality patterns, Friedman and Rosenman found that not all Type A personalities were the same. A) Yes, proposed that the type A personality could be A-1 or A-2; and it could also be type B , which included subtypes B-3 and B-4.

To explain it better, let's imagine a straight line in which one end has the letter A and the other end the letter B, and in the middle are the codes A-1, A-2, B-3 and B-4. We would find the personality type A, and the subtype A-1 in the first extreme, which is the most notorious manifestation of the traits that we explained previously.

The A-2 personality is the next segment, and refers to people who are less afflicted and less oriented towards competitiveness. On the other hand, if the person has success orientation, but is calmer than overloaded , then it is a type B-3 personality.

Finally, at the other end of the line we have the type B personality pattern, which is about a person who is perceived as more serene and peaceful (these would be the B-4 type personalities).

However, the research that followed Friedman and Rosenman's studies was not limited to studying Type A personality, so four personality patterns are currently recognized: type A, type B, C and type D.

Type A personality and heart disease

Friedman and Rosenman conducted a longitudinal study with 3154 healthy men between 39 and 59 years who applied a questionnaire that explored emotional dimensions and some lifestyles, from which they categorized personality traits type A.

Eight years later, 257 of the participants had developed a coronary disease, and by the end of the investigation, 70% of those who had developed it were men who had type A personality patterns.

They also found was that the people who were at the A end and the B end they had very different blood pressure levels : very high values ​​at the first end and more normal values ​​at the second end (250/130 mm Hg and 155/95 mm Hg, respectively).

Some limits in the investigation of the type A personality pattern

These they should not be understood as closed, fixed or immovable categories , but as a continuum. That is, we can meet in type A or B at different times and according to the demands of the environment.

For example, the same researchers realized that people who were at the end of the type A personality, could be found more towards the extreme B during the weekends or when the very demanding routines were modified.

On the other hand, one of the limitations of the study is that it was only done with men, so their results can not be fully applied to female population (lifestyles, social demands and the response to stress are different).

Likewise, it has been found that there are other risk factors more determinants for the development of cardiovascular diseases , such as smoking, sedentary lifestyle or obesity.

For the above, and also for the popularity that has gained in some sectors of both medicine and clinical psychology, personality type A is a theory that has been constantly researched and updated.

Bibliographic references

  • McLeod, S. (2017). Type A Personality. Retrieved April 3, 2018. Available at //www.simplypsychology.org/personality-a.html
  • Petticrew, M. Lee, K. & McKee, M. (2012). Type A Behavior Pattern and Coronary Heart Disease: Philip Morris's "Crown Jewel". Am J Public Health, 102 (11): 2018-2025.
  • Friedman, H. & Booth-Kewley, S. (1987). Personality, Type A Behavior, and Coronary Heart Disease: The Role of Emotional Expression. Journal of Personality and Social Psychology. 53 (4): 783-792.
  • Friedman, M. (1977). Type A behavior pattern: some of its pathophysiological component. Bull. N. And Acad. Med. 53 (7): 593-604.
  • Rosenman, R. & Friedman, M. (1977). Modifying type a behavior pattern. Journal of Psychosomatic Research. 21 (4): 323-331.

Understanding the Big Five Personality Traits With Examples (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Personnalité de type A: caractéristiques et facteurs connexes

Personnalité de type A: caractéristiques et facteurs connexes

Janvier 22, 2022

La personnalité de type A est une catégorie utilisée pour décrire un type particulier de réponse au stress. C'est une proposition qui a émergé dans les années 50, lorsque deux cardiologues ont voulu étudier la relation entre certains traits de personnalité et le développement d'une maladie cardiaque.

Actuellement, le type de personnalité A est l’un des quatre modèles de personnalité (il existe également B, C et D) qui nous ont aidés à décrire les relations entre les personnes et nos réactions aux facteurs externes. Ensuite nous verrons comment est un type de personnalité A et quelle est leur relation avec les maladies cardiovasculaires, ainsi que la recherche qui les a liées.


  • Article connexe: "Les principales théories de la personnalité"

Caractéristiques du type A

La classification que nous connaissons comme "type de personnalité A" a été suggéré par les cardiologues américains Meyer Friedman et Raymond Rosenman dans le décennie des années 50.

De manière très générale, ils ont observé qu’un ensemble de réactions au stress, telles que la compétitivité, le sens de l’urgence et de l’hostilité (ce qu’on appelle le type de personnalité A), est lié à une probabilité plus grande de développer une maladie coronarienne et hypertension artérielle

Bien qu'ils se soient limités à relier la réponse au stress et aux maladies cardiaques, leur classification a maintenant été reprise et conceptualisée comme suit: un ensemble de réponses comportementales appelé modèle de personnalité de type A o Modèle de comportement de type A (TABP, pour son acronyme en anglais).


1. Compétitivité

Le TABP se caractérise par une tendance à la compétitivité, ce qui fait que la personne est toujours critique et cherche à atteindre ses objectifs pour la satisfaction de les atteindre, plutôt que de profiter du processus.

C'est la compétitivité il est lié aux expériences de succès constants , parce que cela implique une personnalité disciplinée et permet de répondre aux objectifs, mais cela peut aussi être un générateur de stress permanent.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "6 astuces pour faire face à des gens très compétitifs"

2. Sensation d'urgence

C'est une personnalité qui semble toujours être "contre la montre", avec une surcharge de travail et un besoin permanent de se conformer aux règles et les horaires. Ce sont des gens qui font beaucoup de choses en même temps et toujours "à l'heure". Par conséquent, les moments qui ne sont pas considérés comme "productifs" peuvent générer beaucoup d'anxiété.


Pour cette raison, ce sont généralement des gens impatients qui ils sont très impliqués dans leurs activités professionnelles et cela a tendance à exagérer dans certains cas, par exemple lorsque les choses ne se passent pas comme prévu.

3. l'hostilité

La caractéristique précédente est liée au fait que la personne souligne souvent plus le négatif que le positif des autres et des circonstances, développant une frustration constante et même un manque d'empathie ou, dans le pire des cas, un comportement agressif. La conséquence est que la personne est presque toujours perçue comme hostile ou qui est toujours en colère.

En bref, le type de personnalité A implique une orientation vers le succès avec une tendance à la compétitivité, un sentiment d'urgence et une faible tolérance à la frustration. Ils ont tendance à être des personnes ambitieuses, extrêmement travailleuses et exigeantes qui s’engagent dans plusieurs activités à la fois, qu’ils considèrent urgentes et qui génèrent donc une tension constante.

Autres modèles de personnalité: Type B, C et D

En étudiant les modèles de personnalité de type A, Friedman et Rosenman ont constaté que toutes les personnalités de type A n'étaient pas identiques. Ainsi, a proposé que la personnalité de type A puisse être A-1 ou A-2; et il pourrait aussi être de type B , qui comprenait les sous-types B-3 et B-4.

Pour mieux l'expliquer, imaginons une ligne droite dans laquelle une extrémité a la lettre A et l'autre extrémité, la lettre B, et au milieu les codes A-1, A-2, B-3 et B-4. Nous trouverions le type de personnalité A et le sous-type A-1 dans le premier extrême, qui est la manifestation la plus notoire des traits que nous avons expliqués précédemment.

La personnalité A-2 est le segment suivant et désigne les personnes moins affligées et moins orientées vers la compétitivité. D'autre part, si la personne a une orientation de succès, mais est plus calme que surchargé , alors c’est une personnalité de type B-3.

Enfin, à l’autre bout de la ligne, nous avons le schéma de personnalité de type B, qui concerne une personne perçue comme plus sereine et paisible (c’est le cas des personnalités de type B-4).

Cependant, les recherches qui ont suivi les études de Friedman et Rosenman ne se limitaient pas à l'étude de la personnalité de type A; quatre types de personnalité sont donc actuellement reconnus: le type A, le type B, le type C et le type D.

Type A personnalité et maladie cardiaque

Friedman et Rosenman ont mené une étude longitudinale auprès de 3154 hommes en bonne santé âgés de 39 à 59 ans qui ont appliqué un questionnaire qui a exploré les dimensions émotionnelles et certains modes de vie, à partir desquels ils ont classé les traits de personnalité de type A.

Huit ans plus tard, 257 des participants avaient développé une maladie coronarienne et, à la fin de l'enquête, 70% de ceux qui l'avaient développée étaient des hommes présentant un schéma de personnalité de type A.

Ils ont également constaté que les personnes qui se trouvaient à l'extrémité A et à l'extrémité B ils avaient des niveaux de pression artérielle très différents : valeurs très élevées à la première extrémité et valeurs plus normales à la deuxième extrémité (250/130 mm Hg et 155/95 mm Hg, respectivement).

Quelques limites dans la recherche du type de personnalité de type A

Ces ils ne doivent pas être compris comme des catégories fermées, fixes ou immobiles , mais comme un continuum. C'est-à-dire que nous pouvons nous rencontrer dans les types A ou B à des moments différents et en fonction des exigences de l'environnement.

Par exemple, les mêmes chercheurs ont réalisé que les personnes qui se trouvaient à la fin de la personnalité de type A pourraient être plus proches de l'extrême B le week-end ou lorsque les routines très exigeantes seraient modifiées.

En revanche, l’une des limites de l’étude est qu’elle n’a été faite qu’avec les hommes, de sorte que leurs résultats ne peut pas être pleinement appliqué à la population féminine (Les modes de vie, les demandes sociales et la réponse au stress sont différents).

De même, il a été constaté que il y a d'autres facteurs de risque plus déterminants pour le développement de maladies cardiovasculaires comme le tabagisme, la sédentarité ou l’obésité.

Pour ce qui précède, ainsi que pour la popularité qui a gagné dans certains secteurs de la médecine et de la psychologie clinique, le type de personnalité A est une théorie qui a été constamment étudiée et mise à jour.

Références bibliographiques

  • McLeod, S. (2017). Tapez une personnalité. Extrait le 3 avril 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.simplypsychology.org/personality-a.html.
  • Petticrew, M. Lee, K. & McKee, M. (2012). Modèle de comportement de type A et maladie coronarienne: le "joyau de la couronne" de Philip Morris. Am J Public Health, 102 (11): 2018-2025.
  • Friedman, H. et Booth-Kewley, S. (1987). Personnalité, comportement de type A et coronaropathie: le rôle de l'expression émotionnelle. Journal de personnalité et de psychologie sociale. 53 (4): 783-792.
  • Friedman, M. (1977). Type de comportement type: une partie de sa composante physiopathologique. Bull. N. et Acad. Med 53 (7): 593-604.
  • Rosenman, R. et Friedman, M. (1977). Modifier un type de comportement. Journal of Psychosomatic Research. 21 (4): 323 à 331.

Discapacidad intelectual - UNED Psicología (Psicopatología) (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes