yes, therapy helps!
Types of antipsychotics (or neuroleptics)

Types of antipsychotics (or neuroleptics)

November 14, 2019

There is a great diversity of theories and hypotheses about psychotic disorders , its causes and the way to treat them. These disorders are a great detriment to those who suffer, and produce a strong anguish for both the person and those around her. They interfere in cognitive abilities, social relationships and in the emotional sphere, altering contact with reality. Being disorders that limit the normative functioning of the human being, its treatment is essential .

Based on the research carried out, from a side of the psychotropic drugs have been developed several substances and active ingredients that can help to treat this type of problems. It is about the different types of antipsychotics or neuroleptics .


Psychotic disorders

For most people, the word schizophrenia is not unknown. It refers to one of the main and most well-known psychotic disorders, a group of disorders characterized by the presence of perceptions, ideas and behaviors far from the normative, normally with some loss of contact with reality .

This type of disorders usually involve two types of symptoms: positive ones, which provoke or add something to the habitual behavior, perception or flow of thought, and negative ones as those symptoms that flatten and produce a deficit in the psychosocioemotional state of the sufferer.


The most typical and well-known examples of the symptoms of psychotic disorders are the presence of abnormal perceptions or hallucinations and that of more or less structured belief systems, the so-called delusions. Although the negative symptoms are less visible, they stand out the loss of logic and coherence in thinking, poverty in language and poverty of thought or praise.

Let us now focus on one of the forms of treatment, pharmacological, reviewing the different substances that are used in the presence of psychotic symptoms.

Mechanism of action of neuroleptics

The drugs dedicated to combat the symptoms of psychotic disorders are called antipsychotics or neuroleptics. Formerly known as major tranquilizers , this type of drug combats with great success the typical symptoms, especially the positive ones.


This type of psychoactive drug focuses mainly on the neurotransmitter known as dopamine, due to the high level of relationship found between this hormone and psychotic symptoms .

Specifically, it has been considered that an excess of dopamine in the mesolimbic pathway causes the presence of positive symptoms such as hallucinations and delusions , while a dopaminergic deficit at the mesocortical level is the most likely cause of negative symptoms like poverty of thought and praise. That is why the mechanism of action of drugs that address these problems will focus on working with dopamine at the level of synthesis, reuptake and transmission. However, among the different types of antipsychotics there are differences and nuances in the way they work, as we will see.

In addition to the treatment of psychotic disorders, some neuroleptics have been used for other types of problems, such as some motor, affective or personality disorders (for example, in the case of borderline disorder).

Types of antipsychotics

Traditionally, antipsychotics or neuroleptics have been classified into two large groups, the classic or typical neuroleptics and the atypical ones.

1. Classic or typical antipsychotics

Discovered by chance in the fifties, typical antipsychotics are those with which the pharmacological treatment of psychotic disorders was initiated . This type of drugs exert their action by blocking the dopamine D2 receptors of the mesolimbic pathway, reducing the excess of this hormone in the system and causing the cessation of positive symptoms.

Within this group of antipsychotics we found some as well known as haloperidol, chlorpromazine or levomepromazine , along with others such as pimozide, zuclopenthixol or fluphenazine. They can be administered both directly and in depot presentation, in which the substance is injected into the muscle in a crystallized form so that it is released slowly over time (in cases where there is little willingness to take medication or little control of the monitoring of the treatment).

However, despite its great utility, the typical neuroleptics are nonspecific, so that the blockade of dopaminergic receptors does not occur only in the mesolimbic pathway. This causes other pathways that also depend on dopamine to be altered , also affecting the mesocortical pathway, from which apparently appears the negative symptoms due to a deficit of dopamine. Because classical neuroleptics act by blocking their uptake, the typical antipsychotics they have virtually no effect on the negative symptoms, and may even make them worse .

Adverse effects

In addition to this, other pathways such as the nigrostriatal and the tuberoinfundibular, which in psychotic disorders need not be altered in their own way, also inhibit dopamine uptake. Adverse effects may occur in the form of movement disorders such as akathisia, parkinsonian syndrome and dyskinesia , or of sexual alterations such as amenorrhea or gynecomastia. These symptoms are not only annoying, but it can cause neuroleptic malignant syndrome, which could lead to death. Therefore it is necessary to carefully guide the consumption of these drugs, following the prescriptions of the professionals and being able to change the antipsychotic in order to reduce discomfort and adverse effects.

It is for this reason that the subsequent investigation focused on investigating and develop other antipsychotics that have a positive effect on negative symptoms and do not produce as many side effects . This does not mean that the typical antipsychotics have stopped being used, since they are very effective and the adverse symptoms can be controlled with another medication (antiparkinsonian for the case of motor problems, for example).

2. Atypical antipsychotics

Considering the little effect of conventional antipsychotics on the negative symptoms and the high number of unwanted side effects that they entail, subsequent research has tried to create new substances that overcome the deficiencies of this type of neuroleptic, creating safer and more effective drugs. effective These safer drugs have been labeled as atypical antipsychotics or neuroleptics .

Within the atypical antipsychotics we find substances of different families and compositions, so depending on which is used will have a greater or lesser effect on various problems. The main drugs that fall into this category are clozapine, olanzapine, risperidone, sulpiride, quetiapine and ziprasidone .

Differences with respect to classical neuroleptics

As with conventional, atypical antipsychotics they work by blocking dopamine D2 receptors , which in the mesolimbic pathway would have an inhibitory effect of this neurotransmitter, which causes the cessation of positive symptoms. But nevertheless, In addition to this the atypical antipsychotics have an effect on serotonin , also producing an antagonistic effect with respect to this.

It is necessary to take into account that serotonin acts as an inhibitor of dopamine release. Therefore, the effect that atypical antipsychotics cause on the tuberoinfundibular and nigrostriatal pathways (which would be affected by a conventional neuroleptic) generates an interaction between dopamine and serotonin that would leave the level of dopamine equal to or close to what would be normal. In other words, The presence of possible adverse effects is greatly reduced .

However, given that in the cerebral cortex there are more serotonin than dopamine receptors, the fact of inhibiting serotonin causes an increase in the release of dopamine, which stops its release. That is to say that although part of its functioning blocks the release of dopamine, the fact that it inhibits an inhibitor of its release that is much more present and extended makes the total level of dopamine higher. For this reason, Atypical antipsychotics do have an effect on negative symptoms by increasing the crude dopamine level in the mesocortical way.

With all this, the atypical neuroleptics they represent an advance that produces improvement in both positive and negative symptoms and they generate a smaller number of adverse effects (although they have some).

Risks and side effects of taking antipsychotics

We have commented briefly that taking antipsychotics can cause different undesirable side effects, some especially dangerous . These effects can be controlled with the taking of other medications or by changing the neuroleptic, having to evaluate the possible effects and the appearance of adverse effects after its administration. Some of the main risks and side effects of the different types of antipsychotics are the following.

1. Motor symptoms

One of the pathways affected secondarily by the taking of antipsychotics is nigrostriatal, which is linked to motor control.

In this way, Extrapyramidal syndrome is common , in which there are symptoms such as parkinsonian tremors, the appearance of involuntary movements in tardive dyskinesia, the disappearance of spontaneous movements of akinesia or the motor restlessness of akathisia.These symptoms occur mainly when taking conventional or typical antipsychotics, and their occurrence is not frequent with atypical antipsychotics.

2. Sexual symptoms

The taking of certain neuroleptics can cause different sexual symptoms, usually due to the involvement of the tuberoinfundibular way (especially in the pituitary gland). Within this type of symptoms highlights the cessation of menstrual flow or amenorrhea, as well as galactorrhea or emission of milk through the breasts regardless of sex and gynecomastia or breast growth, also regardless of the sex of the patient. Although in general only occur with typical antipsychotics, there are some cases with certain atypical, such as risperidone .

3. Sedation

As we have seen, one of the original names of antipsychotics is that of major tranquillizers. This term was not given by chance , and is that the taking of antipsychotics produces a sedation effect that can be more or less powerful.

4. Neuroleptic malignant syndrome

This syndrome is one of the most serious side effects that can cause the taking of antipsychotics, being able to take the patient to coma or even to death. It is characterized because the individual suffers from tachycardia, arrhythmias, high fever, muscular rigidity and loss of consciousness. to. However, it is a very infrequent syndrome.

5. Agranulocytosis

Described in the case of clozapine, this possible side effect is somewhat serious in causing the levels of red and white blood cells to get out of control. It can be lethal, so it is necessary to have blood tests as a control method.

6. Other symptoms

Apart from the above symptoms, it is possible to find other problems such as weight gain, excessive salivation, tachycardia or dizziness .

Bibliographic references:

  • Azanza, J.R. (2006), Practical Guide to Central Nervous System Pharmacology. Madrid: Ed. Creation and design.
  • Gómez, M. (2012). Psychobiology CEDE Preparation Manual PIR.12. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Salazar, M .; Peralta, C .; Pastor, J. (2011). Manual of Psychopharmacology. Madrid, Panamericana Medical Publishing House.

Antipsychotics: Classification and Side Effects – Psychiatry | Lecturio (November 2019).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Types d'antipsychotiques (ou neuroleptiques)

Types d'antipsychotiques (ou neuroleptiques)

Août 10, 2022

Il existe une grande diversité de théories et d’hypothèses sur les troubles psychotiques , ses causes et la façon de les traiter. Ces troubles sont très préjudiciables à ceux qui souffrent et produisent une angoisse forte à la fois pour la personne et pour son entourage. Ils interfèrent dans les capacités cognitives, les relations sociales et dans la sphère émotionnelle, modifiant le contact avec la réalité. Être des troubles qui limitent le fonctionnement normatif de l'être humain, son traitement est essentiel .

Sur la base des recherches effectuées, plusieurs substances et principes actifs pouvant aider à traiter ce type de problèmes ont été mis au point. Il s'agit des différents types d'antipsychotiques ou de neuroleptiques .


Troubles psychotiques

Pour la plupart des gens, le mot schizophrénie n'est pas inconnu. Il s’agit d’un des troubles psychotiques les plus connus et les plus connus, un groupe de troubles caractérisé par la présence de perceptions, d’idées et de comportements loin du normatif, normalement. avec une certaine perte de contact avec la réalité .

Ce type de troubles implique généralement deux types de symptômes: les symptômes positifs, qui provoquent ou ajoutent quelque chose au comportement habituel, la perception ou le flux de pensée, et les négatifs, les symptômes qui atténuent et produisent un déficit de l'état psychosocio-émotionnel du patient.


Les exemples les plus typiques et les plus connus de symptômes de troubles psychotiques sont la présence de perceptions anormales ou d'hallucinations et celle de systèmes de croyances plus ou moins structurés, appelés illusions. Bien que les symptômes négatifs soient moins visibles, ils se démarquent la perte de logique et de cohérence dans la pensée, la pauvreté en langage et la pauvreté en pensée ou louange.

Concentrons-nous maintenant sur l’une des formes de traitement, pharmacologique, en passant en revue les différentes substances utilisées en présence de symptômes psychotiques.

Mécanisme d'action des neuroleptiques

Les médicaments destinés à combattre les symptômes des troubles psychotiques sont appelés antipsychotiques ou neuroleptiques. Anciennement connu sous le nom de tranquillisants majeurs , ce type de médicament combat avec succès les symptômes typiques, en particulier les positifs.


Ce type de médicament psychoactif se concentre principalement sur le neurotransmetteur appelé dopamine, en raison de la niveau élevé de relation trouvé entre cette hormone et les symptômes psychotiques .

Plus précisément, il a été considéré que un excès de dopamine dans la voie mésolimbique provoque la présence de symptômes positifs tels que des hallucinations et des délires , alors qu'un un déficit dopaminergique au niveau mésocortical est la cause la plus probable de symptômes négatifs comme une pauvreté de pensée et de louange. C'est pourquoi le mécanisme d'action des médicaments qui traitent de ces problèmes sera axé sur l'utilisation de la dopamine aux niveaux de la synthèse, de la recapture et de la transmission. Cependant, parmi les différents types d'antipsychotiques, il existe des différences et des nuances dans leur fonctionnement, comme nous le verrons.

En plus du traitement des troubles psychotiques, certains neuroleptiques ont été utilisés pour d’autres types de problèmes, tels que des troubles moteurs, affectifs ou de la personnalité (par exemple, dans le cas d’un trouble borderline).

Types d'antipsychotiques

Traditionnellement, les antipsychotiques ou les neuroleptiques ont été classés en deux grands groupes, les neuroleptiques classiques ou typiques et les atypiques.

1. Antipsychotiques classiques ou typiques

Découvert par hasard dans les années cinquante, les antipsychotiques typiques sont ceux avec lesquels le traitement pharmacologique des troubles psychotiques a été initié . Ce type de médicaments exerce son action en bloquant les récepteurs de la dopamine D2 de la voie mésolimbique, réduisant l’excès de cette hormone dans le système et entraînant la cessation des symptômes positifs.

Au sein de ce groupe d'antipsychotiques nous en avons trouvé certains aussi connus que l'halopéridol, la chlorpromazine ou la lévomépromazine , ainsi que d’autres comme le pimozide, le zuclopenthixol ou la fluphénazine. Ils peuvent être administrés à la fois directement et sous forme de dépôt, dans lesquels la substance est injectée dans le muscle sous forme cristallisée de manière à être libérée lentement dans le temps (dans les cas où la volonté de prendre des médicaments ou le contrôle est faible) du suivi du traitement).

Cependant, malgré sa grande utilité, les neuroleptiques typiques ne sont pas spécifiques, de sorte que le blocage des récepteurs dopaminergiques ne se produit pas uniquement dans la voie mésolimbique. Cela provoque d'autres voies qui dépendent également de la dopamine , affectant également la voie mésocorticale, à partir de laquelle apparaissent apparemment les symptômes négatifs dus à un déficit en dopamine. Parce que les neuroleptiques classiques agissent en bloquant leur absorption, les antipsychotiques typiques ils n'ont pratiquement aucun effet sur les symptômes négatifs et peuvent même les aggraver .

Effets indésirables

En plus de cela, d'autres voies telles que la voie nigrostriatale et la tubéroinfondibulaire, qui dans les troubles psychotiques n'ont pas besoin d'être modifiées à leur manière, inhibent également l'absorption de dopamine. Des effets indésirables peuvent survenir sous la forme de troubles du mouvement tels que l'acathisie, le syndrome parkinsonien et la dyskinésie , ou d'altérations sexuelles telles que l'aménorrhée ou la gynécomastie. Ces symptômes sont non seulement gênants, mais peuvent également causer le syndrome malin des neuroleptiques, pouvant entraîner la mort. Par conséquent, il est nécessaire de guider avec soin la consommation de ces médicaments, en suivant les prescriptions des professionnels et en étant capable de changer d’antipsychotique afin de réduire l’inconfort et les effets indésirables.

C’est pour cette raison que l’enquête ultérieure a été axée sur l’enquête et la développer d'autres antipsychotiques ayant un effet positif sur les symptômes négatifs et ne produisant pas autant d'effets secondaires . Cela ne signifie pas que les antipsychotiques typiques ont cessé d'être utilisés, car ils sont très efficaces et que les symptômes indésirables peuvent être contrôlés par un autre médicament (antiparkinsonien dans le cas de problèmes moteurs, par exemple).

2. Antipsychotiques atypiques

Compte tenu du faible effet des antipsychotiques classiques sur les symptômes négatifs et du nombre élevé d’effets secondaires indésirables qu’ils entraînent, des recherches ultérieures ont tenté de créer de nouvelles substances qui pallient les carences de ce type de neuroleptique, en créant des médicaments plus sûrs et plus efficaces. efficace Ces médicaments plus sûrs ont été étiquetés comme antipsychotiques atypiques ou neuroleptiques .

Dans les antipsychotiques atypiques, on trouve des substances de familles et de compositions différentes. Par conséquent, dépendre de la substance utilisée aura un effet plus ou moins important sur divers problèmes. Les principaux médicaments entrant dans cette catégorie sont la clozapine, l’olanzapine, la rispéridone, le sulpiride, la quétiapine et la ziprasidone .

Différences par rapport aux neuroleptiques classiques

Comme avec les antipsychotiques atypiques conventionnels ils fonctionnent en bloquant les récepteurs de la dopamine D2 , qui dans la voie mésolimbique aurait un effet inhibiteur de ce neurotransmetteur, ce qui provoque la cessation des symptômes positifs. Cependant, De plus, les antipsychotiques atypiques ont un effet sur la sérotonine. , produisant également un effet antagoniste à cet égard.

Il est nécessaire de prendre en compte que la sérotonine agit en tant qu'inhibiteur de la libération de dopamine. Par conséquent, l'effet que les antipsychotiques atypiques provoquent sur les voies tuberoinfundibular et nigrostriatal (qui serait affecté par un neuroleptique conventionnel) génère une interaction entre la dopamine et la sérotonine qui laisserait le niveau de dopamine égal ou proche de ce qui serait normal. En d'autres termes, La présence d'effets indésirables possibles est grandement réduite .

Cependant, étant donné qu'il y a plus de sérotonine dans le cortex cérébral que de récepteurs à la dopamine, le fait d'inhiber la sérotonine provoque une augmentation de la libération de dopamine, ce qui empêche sa libération. En d'autres termes, bien qu'une partie de son fonctionnement bloque la libération de dopamine, le fait qu'elle inhibe un inhibiteur de sa libération beaucoup plus présent et étendu augmente le niveau total de dopamine. Pour cette raison, Les antipsychotiques atypiques ont un effet sur les symptômes négatifs en augmentant le taux de dopamine brut de manière mésocorticale.

Avec tout cela, les neuroleptiques atypiques ils représentent une avancée qui produit une amélioration des symptômes tant positifs que négatifs et ils génèrent un plus petit nombre d'effets indésirables (bien qu'ils en aient).

Risques et effets secondaires de la prise d'antipsychotiques

Nous avons brièvement commenté que la prise d’antipsychotiques pouvait causer différents effets secondaires indésirables, certains particulièrement dangereux . Ces effets peuvent être contrôlés en prenant d'autres médicaments ou en modifiant le neuroleptique, en évaluant les effets possibles et l'apparition d'effets indésirables après son administration. Certains des principaux risques et effets secondaires des différents types d’antipsychotiques sont les suivants.

1. Symptômes moteurs

La nigrostriatale, qui est liée au contrôle moteur, est l'une des voies secondaires affectées par la prise d'antipsychotiques.

De cette façon, Syndrome extrapyramidal est commun , dans lesquels se manifestent des symptômes tels que des tremblements parkinsoniens, l’apparition de mouvements involontaires dans la dyskinésie tardive, la disparition de mouvements spontanés d’akinésie ou l’agitation motrice d’akathisie.Ces symptômes surviennent principalement lors de la prise d'antipsychotiques classiques ou classiques, et leur apparition n'est pas fréquente avec les antipsychotiques atypiques.

2. symptômes sexuels

La prise de certains neuroleptiques peut causer différents symptômes sexuels, généralement en raison de la participation de la voie tubéreusefundibulaire (surtout dans l'hypophyse). Dans ce type de symptômes met en évidence la cessation du flux menstruel ou l'aménorrhée, ainsi que la galactorrhée ou l'émission de lait dans les seins sans distinction de sexe et la gynécomastie ou la croissance mammaire, également indépendamment du sexe du patient. Bien que, en général, les antipsychotiques classiques ne se manifestent que dans certains cas, certains cas sont atypiques, comme la rispéridone. .

3. la sédation

Comme nous l’avons vu, l’un des premiers noms des antipsychotiques est celui de tranquillisant majeur. Ce terme n'a pas été donné par hasard , et c’est que la prise d’antipsychotiques produit un effet de sédation qui peut être plus ou moins puissant.

4. Syndrome malin des neuroleptiques

Ce syndrome est l'un des effets secondaires les plus graves pouvant entraîner la prise d'antipsychotiques, le fait de conduire le patient dans le coma ou même de le tuer. Elle se caractérise par des tachycardies, des arythmies, une forte fièvre, une rigidité musculaire et une perte de conscience. a. Cependant, il s'agit d'un syndrome très peu fréquent.

5. Agranulocytose

Décrit dans le cas de la clozapine, cet effet secondaire possible est quelque peu grave car il provoque une perte de contrôle des niveaux de globules rouges et blancs. Cela peut être mortel, il est donc nécessaire de faire des analyses de sang comme méthode de contrôle.

6. Autres symptômes

Outre les symptômes ci-dessus, il est possible de trouver d’autres problèmes tels que prise de poids, salivation excessive, tachycardie ou vertiges .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Azanza, J.R. (2006), Guide pratique de la pharmacologie du système nerveux central. Madrid: Ed. Création et design.
  • Gómez, M. (2012). Psychobiologie Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR.12. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Salazar, M .; Peralta, C .; Pastor, J. (2011). Manuel de psychopharmacologie. Madrid, maison d'édition médicale panaméricaine.
Articles Connexes