yes, therapy helps!
Types of arrhythmias: symptoms, causes and severity

Types of arrhythmias: symptoms, causes and severity

October 1, 2022

The alterations in the rhythm and in the frequency with which the heart pumps blood, whether due to excess, deficit or irregularity, are known as arrhythmias. Although in many cases these abnormalities are not serious or produce symptoms, in others they increase the risk of heart problems such as heart attacks or sudden stops.

In this article we will detail what types of arrhythmia exist and what are the causes, symptoms and severity from each of them. It should be borne in mind that some types of arrhythmia can pose a health risk even when they produce no symptoms.

  • Maybe you're interested: "10 essential tips to reduce stress"

What are arrhythmias?

"Arrhythmia" is the name given to disorders of heart rate and heart rate . These alterations can consist in the increase, the decrease or the irregularity of the speed of the beats of the heart.


We speak of tachycardia when the rhythm and / or heart rate increase significantly (more than 100 beats per minute in adults), whereas if there is a slowdown (less than 60 beats per minute) we will be faced with a case of bradycardia.

Its severity is variable: while some arrhythmias are harmless, others may be a symptom of larger circulatory problems or even pose a short-term health risk, increasing the likelihood of suffer heart attacks or stops cardiac .

If the problems are severe, the treatment of arrhythmias usually consists of administering anticoagulant or beta-blocker medications, cardiac surgery or, in cases of bradycardia, implantation of a pacemaker. Each of the different types of arrhythmia is treated in a different way, since the alterations can be opposite each other.


  • Related article: "Your health depends on your personality type (science shows)"

Causes of these alterations

Arrhythmias are due to alterations in the electrical impulses of the heart. These abnormalities can be caused by the appearance of supplementary electrical signals, the blocking or delay of electrical conduction or the propagation of these impulses through inadequate routes.

Although they can occur at any age, arrhythmias are most common in the elderly . In many cases they are influenced by congenital problems in the morphology of the heart or diseases such as arterial hypertension, diabetes, hyperthyroidism, hypothyroidism or heart failure.

The most common causes of tachycardia they are the consumption and abuse of medications and stimulants, such as antidepressants, antipsychotics, cocaine, alcohol and caffeine. The continued stress also favors the appearance of tachycardia. As for bradycardia, it usually occurs as a consequence of atrioventricular or cardiac blocks.


Symptoms and signs

In many cases, arrhythmias produce no symptoms or detectable signs, beyond the alteration in heart rhythm or heart rate. Even asymptomatic arrhythmias can predispose to the occurrence of heart problems and accidents, for example by the formation of clots that make it difficult to transport blood to the heart.

People with arrhythmia often notice palpitations or pauses between each heartbeat. These can be more or less frequent and occur continuously or intermittently.

In more severe cases of arrhythmia, there may be Symptoms such as fainting or syncopation , breathing difficulties, sweating, paleness, dizziness sensations and dizziness or pain in the chest. Also, the more severe the arrhythmia, the greater the probability of cardiac arrest, infarction or sudden death.

Types of arrhythmia and their severity

There are four main types of arrhythmia . Each of them is composed of a series of alterations of varying severity.

1. Extrasystoles

The extrasystoles consist of extra beats that arise from electrical impulses that propagate improperly to the whole heart. Is about premature ventricular contractions followed by a compensatory pause .

This type of arrhythmia is the most common of all and is not usually dangerous, so in general it does not require treatment. Usually extrasystoles are asymptomatic, although people who suffer them may notice agitation in the chest or the feeling that the heart skips a few heartbeats.

2. Supraventricular arrhythmias

This type of arrhythmia is characterized by the appearance of tachycardia in the atria of the heart or in the atrioventricular nodule, which as its name suggests is located between the ventricles and the atria.

Among supraventricular arrhythmias, the most common subtype are atrial fibrillations , rapid and irregular contractions to which severe severity is attributed since they indicate that the heart is not pumping blood correctly. Predispose to the occurrence of episodes of heart failure and stroke.

3. Ventricular arrhythmias

Ventricular arrhythmias cause approximately 80% of the total deaths due to sudden cardiac failure , so that they are considered a serious form of this disorder and usually justify medical intervention, especially when the episodes have a prolonged duration.

Among the factors that lead to the appearance of ventricular arrhythmias are the presence of heart disease, the weakening of muscles and the fact of having suffered previous heart attacks.

4. Bradiarrhythmias

These arrhythmias consist of bradycardia, that is to say, in the slowing down of the frequency or rhythm of the heart. When they are intense the blood does not reach the brain in the necessary amount, so that it can cause dizziness and even syncopes. In general we can say that its severity is lower than that of ventricular and supraventricular arrhythmias .

Some of the most common causes of bradyarrhythmia are aging, hypothyroidism, heart attacks or the use of drugs such as beta-blockers. However some people, especially if they are in good physical shape, usually have a heart rate less than 60 beats per minute; in these cases bradycardia is not a problem.


Introduction to Atrial Fibrillation by Dr. Kamal Kotak, Sharp HealthCare (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Types d'arythmie: symptômes, causes et gravité

Types d'arythmie: symptômes, causes et gravité

Décembre 9, 2021

Les altérations du rythme et de la fréquence à laquelle le cœur pompe le sang, que ce soit par excès, déficit ou irrégularité, sont appelées arythmies. Bien que, dans de nombreux cas, ces anomalies ne soient pas graves ou ne produisent pas de symptômes, dans d’autres elles augmentent le risque de problèmes cardiaques tels que crises cardiaques ou arrêts soudains.

Dans cet article nous détaillerons quels types d'arythmie existent et quelles sont les causes, les symptômes et la gravité de chacun d'eux. Il convient de garder à l'esprit que certains types d'arythmie peuvent présenter un risque pour la santé même s'ils ne produisent aucun symptôme.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "10 conseils essentiels pour réduire le stress"

Que sont les arythmies?

"Arythmie" est le nom donné à troubles de la fréquence cardiaque et de la fréquence cardiaque . Ces altérations peuvent consister en une augmentation, une diminution ou une irrégularité de la vitesse des battements du cœur.


On parle de tachycardie lorsque le rythme et / ou le rythme cardiaque augmentent de manière significative (plus de 100 battements par minute chez l'adulte), alors qu'en cas de ralentissement (moins de 60 battements par minute), on se retrouve face à un cas de bradycardie.

Sa sévérité est variable: alors que certaines arythmies sont inoffensives, d'autres peuvent être le symptôme de problèmes circulatoires plus importants ou même poser un risque pour la santé à court terme, augmentant ainsi la probabilité de souffrir de crises cardiaques ou d'arrêts cardiaque .

Si les problèmes sont graves, le traitement des arythmies consiste généralement à administrer des anticoagulants ou des bêta-bloquants, à une chirurgie cardiaque ou, en cas de bradycardie, à implanter un stimulateur cardiaque. Chacun des différents types d'arythmie est traité de manière différente, car les modifications peuvent être opposées.


  • Article connexe: "Votre santé dépend de votre type de personnalité (la science montre)"

Causes de ces altérations

Les arythmies sont dues à des modifications des impulsions électriques du cœur. Ces anomalies peuvent être causées par l'apparition de signaux électriques supplémentaires, le blocage ou le retard de la conduction électrique ou la propagation de ces impulsions par des voies inadéquates.

Bien qu’elles puissent survenir à tout âge, les arythmies sont courantes. le plus fréquent chez les personnes âgées . Dans de nombreux cas, ils sont influencés par des problèmes congénitaux de morphologie cardiaque ou par des maladies telles que l'hypertension artérielle, le diabète, l'hyperthyroïdie, l'hypothyroïdie ou l'insuffisance cardiaque.

Les causes les plus courantes de tachycardie ce sont la consommation et l'abus de médicaments et de stimulants, tels que les antidépresseurs, les antipsychotiques, la cocaïne, l'alcool et la caféine. Le stress persistant favorise également l'apparition de la tachycardie. La bradycardie, quant à elle, résulte généralement de blocages auriculo-ventriculaires ou cardiaques.


Symptômes et signes

Dans de nombreux cas, les arythmies ne produisent aucun symptôme ni signe détectable, hormis une modification du rythme cardiaque ou de la fréquence cardiaque. Même des arythmies asymptomatiques peuvent prédisposer à la survenue de problèmes cardiaques et d'accidents, par exemple par la formation de caillots rendant difficile le transport du sang vers le cœur.

Les personnes souffrant d'arythmie remarquent souvent des palpitations ou des pauses entre chaque battement de coeur. Celles-ci peuvent être plus ou moins fréquentes et se produire de manière continue ou intermittente.

Dans les cas plus graves d'arythmie, il peut y avoir Symptômes tels que perte de connaissance ou syncope , difficultés respiratoires, transpiration, pâleur, sensations de vertiges et vertiges ou douleurs à la poitrine. En outre, plus l'arythmie est sévère, plus la probabilité d'un arrêt cardiaque, d'un infarctus ou d'une mort subite est grande.

Types d'arythmie et leur sévérité

Il existe quatre principaux types d'arythmie . Chacune d'entre elles est composée d'une série d'altérations de gravité variable.

1. Extrasystoles

Les extrasystoles sont constituées de battements supplémentaires provenant d’impulsions électriques qui se propagent de manière inappropriée dans tout le cœur. Il s'agit de contractions ventriculaires prématurées suivi d'une pause compensatoire .

Ce type d’arythmie est le plus courant et n’est généralement pas dangereux. Par conséquent, il n’exige généralement aucun traitement. Les extrasystoles sont généralement asymptomatiques, bien que les personnes qui en souffrent puissent remarquer une agitation à la poitrine ou la sensation que le cœur saute quelques battements de coeur.

2. Arythmies supraventriculaires

Ce type d'arythmie est caractérisé par l'apparition d'une tachycardie dans les oreillettes du cœur ou dans le nodule auriculo-ventriculaire, qui, comme son nom l'indique, se situe entre les ventricules et les oreillettes.

Parmi les arythmies supraventriculaires, les sous-types les plus courants sont les fibrillations auriculaires , contractions rapides et irrégulières auxquelles une sévérité sévère est attribuée puisqu'elles indiquent que le cœur ne pompe pas le sang correctement. Prédisposer à la survenue d'épisodes d'insuffisance cardiaque et d'accident vasculaire cérébral.

3. Arythmies ventriculaires

Les arythmies ventriculaires causent environ 80% du total des décès dus à une insuffisance cardiaque subite , de sorte qu'ils sont considérés comme une forme grave de ce trouble et justifient généralement une intervention médicale, en particulier lorsque les épisodes durent longtemps.

Parmi les facteurs qui entraînent l'apparition d'arythmies ventriculaires, il y a la présence d'une maladie cardiaque, l'affaiblissement des muscles et le fait d'avoir déjà subi une crise cardiaque.

4. Bradiarrhythmias

Ces arythmies consistent en une bradycardie, c'est-à-dire en un ralentissement de la fréquence ou du rythme du cœur. Quand ils sont intenses, le sang n'atteint pas le cerveau en quantité suffisante, ce qui peut provoquer des vertiges et même des syncopes. En général on peut dire que sa sévérité est inférieure à celle des arythmies ventriculaires et supraventriculaires .

Les causes les plus courantes de la bradyarythmie sont le vieillissement, l’hypothyroïdie, les crises cardiaques ou l’utilisation de médicaments tels que les bêta-bloquants. Cependant, certaines personnes, surtout si elles sont en bonne forme physique, ont généralement une fréquence cardiaque inférieure à 60 battements par minute; dans ces cas, la bradycardie n'est pas un problème.


Dr. Najib GARTI : La fibrillation auriculaire: causes et traitements (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes