yes, therapy helps!
Types of asexuality: different ways of living non-desire

Types of asexuality: different ways of living non-desire

October 4, 2022

In an age in which the acceptance of different forms of sexual orientation begins to win the game of intolerance, asexuality remains a relatively unknown phenomenon.

It is, fundamentally, the absence of sexual desire as a stable attribute in a person . It is not, then, a sexual dysfunction or a disorder that prevents the person from expressing their affection and their desire to know someone intimately. Simply, the sexual impulse does not occur, and this does not suppose any problem ... beyond those that can produce the incomprehension of the others.

This condition, while not a disease, is still seen as something strange, incomprehensible, or even something to distrust; and is that many people simply believe that asexuals do not exist, can not exist. Nothing could be further from the truth. Not only do asexual people exist, but there are also different types . Next we will see a classification of ways in which asexuality can be expressed.


  • Related article: "Asexuality: people who do not feel sexual desire"

Types of asexuality

We must bear in mind that within what we understand as asexuality there are nuances, since there are different ways of living the lack of sexual desire. Here you can see a summary of the best known types of asexuality , although you should keep in mind that there is no official classification.

1. Arromantic asexuales

These are people who, in addition to not feeling sexual desire, do not experience romantic love for other people. This combination makes that do not have such a strong predisposition to be interested in someone in particular , but that does not mean that they have to be necessarily cold or distant, much less that they hate everyone or that they are psychopaths.


2. Romantic asexuales

As the name suggests, in this case the absence of sexual desire is combined with the possibility of feeling romantic attraction for other people .

It may be surprising that sexual desire and romantic interest can be separated, but this is the case, at least, in this type of asexuality. It is a revealing fact that also speaks to us about the nature of human relationships between people who do have some kind of sexual orientation: love and desire are two processes that surely work in parallel, not the same thing.

In turn, romantic asexuality can be divided into the following types:

Bromantic asexuals

In this case, there is the possibility of feeling romantic attraction towards people of either sex . It is not strange that there is this type of psychological and biological propensity, since by eliminating the sexual component, the body shapes that define each sex cease to mean something important, with which it is possible to develop the same attitudes and emotional ties towards anyone .


Homosexual asexuales

The romantic attraction is always oriented towards people of the same sex , although the lack of desire also occurs.

  • Related article: "The 10 main types of sexual orientation"

Similar sexual orientations

There are some orientations with characteristics in common with asexuality. They are the following:

Gray Asexuality

In this case there is at least some sexual desire, although with a very low intensity, which makes it normally affect little to the way people behave who experience it For example, someone may feel attracted to someone when they see you recite a poem, but right after that interest goes out and leaves virtually no trace. His name tries to reflect that difference of "quantity" with respect to pure asexuality.

Demisexuality

Demisexual people only feel sexual attraction with people for which you have previously come to feel a strong romantic interest . That is to say, it is a phenomenon that occurs from the basis that the infatuation has appeared.

What is not asexuality?

The fact that asexuality is the lack of desire can lead to confusion, among other things, because very few people make themselves known as asexual. It is easy to confuse this psychological and physiological predisposition with an ideology or a way of thinking, but it is not so.

For example, celibacy is not a type of asexuality . It is, in any case, a self-imposed, a commitment by which sexual activities are avoided for ethical or religious reasons.

There are also people who declare themselves anti-sexual . In this case something similar to what occurs in celibacy occurs: the person believes that sex is a bad thing, an element that corrupts things and that is problematic.Unlike what happens with celibacy, here the attitude towards sex not only serves to regulate one's behavior, but it is believed to be a general problem, of the entire population.

Both celibacy and antisexuality they are ideological positions which, in part, are voluntary and depend on the way in which each person interprets reality. In both cases it is possible to feel sexual desire.


Asexuality: Living Without Sexual Attraction I The Feed (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Types d’asexualité: différentes manières de vivre le non désir

Types d’asexualité: différentes manières de vivre le non désir

Mai 21, 2022

À une époque où l'acceptation de différentes formes d'orientation sexuelle commence à gagner le jeu de l'intolérance, l'asexualité reste un phénomène relativement inconnu.

C'est, fondamentalement, l'absence de désir sexuel en tant qu'attribut stable chez une personne . Ce n'est donc pas un dysfonctionnement sexuel ou un trouble qui empêche la personne d'exprimer son affection et son désir de connaître quelqu'un d'intimement. Simplement, l'impulsion sexuelle ne se produit pas, et cela ne suppose aucun problème… au-delà de ceux qui peuvent produire l'incompréhension des autres.

Cette condition, bien que n'étant pas une maladie, est toujours considérée comme quelque chose d'étrange, d'incompréhensible, voire de méfiant; et est-ce que beaucoup de gens croient simplement que les asexuels n'existent pas, ne peuvent pas exister. Mais rien n'est plus loin de la réalité. Non seulement les personnes asexuées existent, mais il existe aussi différents types . Ensuite, nous verrons une classification des manières par lesquelles l’asexualité peut être exprimée.


  • Article connexe: "Asexualité: les personnes qui ne ressentent pas de désir sexuel"

Types d'Asexualité

Nous devons garder à l'esprit que dans ce que nous comprenons comme asexualité, il y a des nuances, car il existe différentes manières de vivre le manque de désir sexuel. Ici vous pouvez voir un résumé de les types les plus connus de l'asexualité , bien que vous devriez garder à l’esprit qu’il n’ya pas de classification officielle.

1. Asexuales Arromantic

Ce sont des personnes qui, en plus de ne pas ressentir de désir sexuel, ne ressentent pas l'amour romantique des autres. Cette combinaison fait qui n'ont pas une telle prédisposition à s'intéresser à quelqu'un en particulier , mais cela ne signifie pas qu'ils doivent nécessairement être froids ou distants, encore moins qu'ils détestent tout le monde ou qu'ils soient psychopathes.


2. asexuels romantiques

Comme son nom l'indique, dans ce cas, l'absence de désir sexuel est associée à la possibilité de ressentir une attraction romantique pour d'autres personnes .

Il peut être surprenant que le désir sexuel et l’intérêt romantique puissent être séparés, mais tel est le cas, du moins, dans ce type d’asexualité. C'est un fait révélateur qui nous parle également de la nature des relations humaines entre les personnes qui ont une orientation sexuelle: l'amour et le désir sont deux processus qui fonctionnent sûrement en parallèle, pas la même chose.

À son tour, l'asexualité romantique peut être divisée en les types suivants:

Asexuels bromantiques

Dans ce cas, il y a la possibilité de ressentir une attraction romantique envers les personnes des deux sexes . Il n’est pas étonnant qu’il existe ce type de propension psychologique et biologique, car en éliminant la composante sexuelle, les formes corporelles qui définissent chaque sexe cessent de signifier quelque chose d’important, avec lequel il est possible de développer les mêmes attitudes et les mêmes liens émotionnels avec quiconque. .


Asexuels homosexuels

L'attraction romantique est toujours orientée envers les personnes du même sexe , bien que le manque de désir se produit également.

  • Article connexe: "Les 10 principaux types d'orientation sexuelle"

Orientations sexuelles similaires

Certaines orientations ont des caractéristiques communes avec l’asexualité. Ils sont les suivants:

Asexualité Grise

Dans ce cas, il y a au moins un désir sexuel, bien que d'intensité très faible, qui le rend normalement affecter peu la façon dont les gens se comportent qui en fait l'expérience Par exemple, une personne peut se sentir attirée par quelqu'un quand elle vous voit réciter un poème, mais immédiatement après, cet intérêt s'éteint et ne laisse pratiquement aucune trace. Son nom tente de refléter cette différence de "quantité" par rapport à la pure asexualité.

Demisexualité

Les personnes démisexuelles ne ressentent d'attirance sexuelle qu'avec les autres pour lequel vous avez déjà ressenti un fort intérêt romantique . C'est-à-dire que c'est un phénomène qui se produit à partir du moment où l'engouement est apparu.

Qu'est-ce qui n'est pas asexualité?

Le fait que l’asexualité soit le manque de désir peut entraîner une confusion, entre autres choses, car très peu de personnes se font appeler asexuées. Il est facile de confondre cette prédisposition psychologique et physiologique avec une idéologie ou une façon de penser, mais ce n’est pas le cas.

Par exemple, le célibat n'est pas un type d'asexualité. . En tout état de cause, il s’agit d’un engagement qui évite les activités sexuelles pour des raisons éthiques ou religieuses.

Il y a aussi des gens qui se déclarent anti-sexuels . Dans ce cas, quelque chose de similaire à ce qui se passe dans le célibat se produit: la personne croit que le sexe est une mauvaise chose, un élément qui corrompt les choses et qui est problématique.Contrairement à ce qui se passe avec le célibat, l'attitude envers le sexe ne sert pas seulement à réguler le comportement, mais elle est considérée comme un problème général de la population entière.

Le célibat et l'antisexualité ce sont des positions idéologiques qui sont en partie volontaires et dépendent de la manière dont chaque personne interprète la réalité. Dans les deux cas, il est possible de ressentir un désir sexuel.


20 questions sur l'asexualité et l'aromantisme (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes