yes, therapy helps!
Types of Curriculum Vitae: The 4 CV models (advantages and disadvantages)

Types of Curriculum Vitae: The 4 CV models (advantages and disadvantages)

May 30, 2022

There are different Curriculum Vitae types that they will serve us to demonstrate the strengths that we possess: our experience, our academic level, the languages ​​we dominate, and so on. When we are looking for work, the CV is going to be our presentation letter , that is, our announcement so that the company in which we want to work is interested in our profile.

So, it is not a waste of time to focus our efforts on making the CV impeccable.

The different types of curriculums

In each of the types of curriculums, the same information it can be organized in very different ways . Depending on the structure we will give more importance to some aspects and not to others, and we will be able to benefit from the different types of curricula to show what interests us the most.


In our article "10 tips to improve your Curriculum Vitae" we already gave information on how to prepare a successful curriculum vitae. Below, we present the different types of curriculum that, depending on the way the information is organized, you can use when preparing your CV.

4 classes of CV how to know which one suits me?

Let's start with the first CV (and also the most commonly used one): the Chronological CV .

1. Chronological curriculum

This type of curriculum is the most traditional and used, since it highlights in an organized way the professional career. It is used to highlight that progress has been made in a given field and shows the order that has been followed throughout the professional and educational trajectory. Therefore, the information is organized based on the oldest achievements and reaching the most recent ones. Unlike the other types of resumes, highlights stability and the upward evolution of the career, and highlights the promotion, the increase of tasks or the increases in the professional scale.


Strengths of the chronological CV

The chronological curriculum It should be used in the following situations:

  • If progress has been made in a labor field in a logical order and it seeks promotion or an improvement in working conditions.
  • If you have had a stable professional career , without long stops that make the recruiter question the motivation for the position.
  • If you have had few jobs, but one wide experience in that field.
  • If you do not want to change the line of work.
  • If you do not have more achievements than having worked in a prestigious company.

Disadvantages of the chronological CV

On the other hand, this curriculum also has its drawbacks:

  • Highlight work changes as well as lack of promotions or changes of responsibility.
  • Shows periods of inactivity.
  • It can show the lack of recycling or the lack of formative update.

2. Functional (or thematic) curriculum

This type of curriculum Highlights skills , and it is useful if one has had different experiences in areas that show important competences. Therefore, unlike the chronological CV, it does not show the time of permanence in the company, but rather the variety of functions that have been performed .


In this class of CV, three to six functional areas are indicated in which it has been worked. For example, if a person opts for a receptionist position in a hotel, the different functional titles of their resume can be: tourist guide, customer service (having worked in a customer service office in a shopping center) and language teacher. This provides information to the recruiter that he can be a good candidate for the position: he speaks languages, has worked face to face with the public and has worked in the tourist environment.

Strengths of functional CV

The functional curriculum It should be used in the following situations:

  • If you want to put emphasis on skills necessary to perform a specific job and there is no experience in that sector.
  • If a person has been freelance and wants to go back to work for someone.
  • If you want camouflage blank periods or inactivity.
  • If you want to delete dates and show adaptability to jobs before stability.
  • If you search the first job or if you have a short work experience.
  • If one thinks that the age It can be a barrier.

Disadvantages of functional CV

The drawbacks of this curriculum format are:

  • It's not the usual presentation format, so recruiters they can perceive that information is hiding.
  • Does not give importance to the period of time that has been in each position or the name of the company.

3. Mixed (or combined) curriculum

The mixed curriculum or combined is a mix of the two previous types of curriculums . It usually starts with a functional description of the skills or abilities, followed by a chronological order of the individual's trajectory. Therefore, format combines the strengths of the two types of previous CVs.

Strengths of the mixed CV

The mixed curriculum should be used when desired highlight experience and skills presented by the candidate according to the position he chooses. In addition, this CV model is not perceived negatively by some recruiters, since it shows periods of inactivity.

Disadvantages of the mixed CV

Like the other types of CV, mixed CV also presents drawbacks:

  • Needed a different curriculum for each position you choose .
  • It is not suitable to present when they ask for standard forms.
  • By adding the chronological order, the moments of inactivity will also be shown.

In addition to these types of curriculum based on the organization of information, the curriculum can be presented, for example, with an artistic touch (if applied for a work related to art) or more formal (if applied for a job in a office). At present, even the use of videocurriculum instead of the paper format.

4. The videocurriculum

The videocurriculum shows the candidate in a recording that it is not recommended that it be longer than one minute (It is not convenient to last more than two minutes). This format is ideal to show communicative skills or active personality and dynamic, and opens communication channels such as visual, which are not present in the written format. In addition, the videocurriculum can incorporate creative elements , such as projects, photographs, etc.

It also allows demonstrating professional skills, such as language proficiency or some talent, or good presence or image. The videocurriculum is an original way of presenting the application, although not all companies allow this format. Even so, it is widely accepted in the audiovisual world or marketing.


What are Your Weaknesses? - Sample Answer (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Types de curriculum vitae: Les 4 modèles CV (avantages et inconvénients)

Types de curriculum vitae: Les 4 modèles CV (avantages et inconvénients)

Septembre 17, 2022

Il y a différents Types de Curriculum Vitae qu'ils nous serviront à démontrer les forces que nous possédons: notre expérience, notre niveau académique, les langues que nous maîtrisons, etc. Lorsque nous cherchons du travail, le CV sera notre carte de présentation , c’est-à-dire notre annonce afin que la société dans laquelle nous souhaitons travailler soit intéressée par notre profil.

Ce n’est donc pas une perte de temps que de concentrer nos efforts sur l’impression irréprochable du CV.

Les différents types de curriculums

Dans chacun des types de curriculums, la même information il peut être organisé de différentes manières . En fonction de la structure, nous accorderons plus d'importance à certains aspects et pas à d'autres, et nous pourrons tirer parti des différents types de programmes pour montrer ce qui nous intéresse le plus.


Dans notre article "10 conseils pour améliorer votre curriculum vitae", nous avons déjà expliqué comment préparer un curriculum vitae réussi. Ci-dessous, nous présentons les différents types de programmes d’enseignement que vous pouvez utiliser, selon l’organisation de l’information, lors de la préparation de votre CV.

4 classes de CV comment savoir lequel me convient?

Commençons par le premier CV (et aussi le plus utilisé): le CV chronologique .

1. Programme chronologique

Ce type de programme est le plus traditionnel et le plus utilisé, puisqu’il met en valeur de manière organisée la carrière professionnelle. Il est utilisé pour souligner que des progrès ont été réalisés dans un domaine donné et montre l'ordre suivi tout au long de la trajectoire professionnelle et éducative. Par conséquent, les informations sont organisées en fonction des réalisations les plus anciennes et atteignent les plus récentes. Contrairement aux autres types de CV, met en évidence la stabilité et l'évolution de la carrière, et met en évidence la promotion, l'augmentation des tâches ou l'augmentation de la taille professionnelle.


Points forts du CV chronologique

Le programme chronologique Il devrait être utilisé dans les situations suivantes:

  • Si des progrès ont été réalisés dans un domaine du travail dans un ordre logique et il recherche une promotion ou une amélioration des conditions de travail.
  • Si vous avez eu un carrière professionnelle stable , sans de longs arrêts qui font que le recruteur s'interroge sur la motivation du poste.
  • Si vous avez eu peu d’emplois, mais un seul ample expérience dans ce domaine.
  • Si vous ne voulez pas changer de métier.
  • Si vous n'avez pas plus de réalisations que d'avoir travaillé dans une entreprise prestigieuse.

Inconvénients du CV chronologique

D'autre part, ce programme a aussi ses inconvénients:

  • Mettez en évidence les changements de travail ainsi que le manque de promotions ou de changements de responsabilités.
  • Affiche des périodes d'inactivité.
  • Cela peut montrer l'absence de recyclage ou l'absence de mise à jour formative.

2. Curriculum fonctionnel (ou thématique)

Ce type de programme Met en valeur les compétences , et il est utile de vivre différentes expériences dans des domaines qui démontrent des compétences importantes. Par conséquent, contrairement au CV chronologique, il ne montre pas le temps de permanence dans l'entreprise, mais plutôt le variété de fonctions qui ont été effectuées .


Dans cette classe de CV, trois à six domaines fonctionnels sont indiqués. Par exemple, si une personne choisit un poste de réceptionniste dans un hôtel, les différents titres fonctionnels de son CV peuvent être: guide touristique, service clientèle (avoir travaillé dans un bureau de service clientèle dans un centre commercial) et professeur de langue. Ceci informe le recruteur qu'il peut être un bon candidat pour le poste: il parle les langues, a travaillé face à face avec le public et a travaillé dans l'environnement touristique.

Points forts du CV fonctionnel

Le programme fonctionnel Il devrait être utilisé dans les situations suivantes:

  • Si vous voulez mettre accent sur les compétences nécessaire pour effectuer un travail spécifique et il n’existe aucune expérience dans ce secteur.
  • Si une personne a été indépendant et veut retourner travailler pour quelqu'un.
  • Si tu veux camoufler des périodes vides ou d'inactivité.
  • Si vous souhaitez supprimer des dates et montrer sa capacité d'adaptation aux emplois avant la stabilité.
  • Si tu cherches le premier emploi ou si vous avez une courte expérience professionnelle.
  • Si on pense que le l'âge Cela peut être un obstacle.

Inconvénients du CV fonctionnel

Les inconvénients de ce format de programme sont les suivants:

  • Ce n'est pas le format de présentation habituel, donc les recruteurs ils peuvent percevoir que l'information se cache.
  • Ne donne pas d'importance à la période de temps passée dans chaque poste ou au nom de l'entreprise.

3. Programme mixte (ou combiné)

Le programme mixte ou combiné est un mélange des deux types de cursus précédents . Cela commence généralement par une description fonctionnelle des compétences ou des capacités, suivie d'un ordre chronologique de la trajectoire de l'individu. Par conséquent, le format combine les points forts des deux types de CV précédents.

Points forts du CV mixte

Le programme mixte doit être utilisé lorsque vous le souhaitez mettre en valeur l'expérience et les compétences présenté par le candidat en fonction de la position qu'il choisit. De plus, ce modèle de CV n’est pas perçu négativement par certains recruteurs, car il montre des périodes d’inactivité.

Inconvénients du CV mixte

Comme les autres types de CV, le CV mixte présente également des inconvénients:

  • On a besoin un programme différent pour chaque poste que vous choisissez .
  • Il ne convient pas de présenter quand ils demandent des formulaires standard.
  • En ajoutant l'ordre chronologique, les moments d'inactivité seront également affichés.

En plus de ces types de programmes basés sur l’organisation de l’information, ils peuvent être présentés avec une touche artistique (si appliquée pour un travail lié à l’art) ou plus formelle (s’ils sont appliqués pour un travail dans bureau). À l'heure actuelle, même l'utilisation de videocurriculum au lieu du format de papier.

4. Le videocurriculum

Le videocurriculum montre le candidat dans un enregistrement qui il n'est pas recommandé que ce soit plus d'une minute (Il n'est pas pratique de durer plus de deux minutes). Ce format est idéal pour montrer des compétences en communication ou une personnalité active et dynamique, et ouvre des canaux de communication tels que visuels, qui ne sont pas présents dans le format écrit. En outre, le vidéocurriculum peut incorporer des éléments créatifs , tels que des projets, des photographies, etc.

Cela permet également de démontrer des compétences professionnelles, telles que des compétences linguistiques ou un talent, une bonne présence ou une bonne image. Le vidéocurriculum est une façon originale de présenter l’application, bien que toutes les entreprises ne le permettent pas. Même dans ce cas, il est largement accepté dans le monde audiovisuel ou dans le marketing.


Votre CV à l'international / Travailler à l'étranger - Partie 9 (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes