yes, therapy helps!
Types of drugs: know their characteristics and effects

Types of drugs: know their characteristics and effects

August 11, 2022

Despite the fact that drug use is usually associated with younger people, psychoactive substances are consumed by people of very different profiles and of different ages .

The uses that are made of the different types of drugs are very varied, and they tell us about the versatility of this class of substances. Since the psychoactive substances consumed millennia ago synthetic drugs of the contemporary era, the wide repertoire of effects of drugs has made them used in many contexts.

A little history about drugs

Man, since its inception, has always consumed substances that have affected his nervous system. In fact, there is knowledge that around the year 3000 a.C. Some opiates were already used.


In addition, there are data that show that by that time, in Asia, hemp was already consumed. In America, coca leaves were used as an analgesic and, in that same continent, the Aztecs made use of some mushrooms such as peyote. Some types of hallucinogenic drugs have also been used in rituals linked to shamanism and polytheistic religions, so that it was interpreted that hallucinations were in fact forms in which alternative planes of existence became part of the environment that can be experienced.

Drugs: different uses and effects

The drug is a natural or artificial substance that alters physical performance, perception, mood and behavior of the individual who consumes it. These effects on people can be very varied, and these substances can have different uses, which means that there are different types of drugs. Surely we have all heard of LSD or cocaine, drugs with very different effects, but both widely consumed and known for decades.


Nowadays, new drugs have gained popularity and some have jumped to the media , despite being types of drugs for recreational use, produce effects as peculiar as dangerous: bath salts, known as cannibal drug, or Flakka, also called "Hulk drug" are some examples.

There are even drugs that have different functions, such as GHB. This drug, which is used as a medication for the treatment of narcolepsy (under the trade name of XYREM), also has a recreational use and, incredible as it may seem, is used by rapists to neutralize their victims, just like the Burundanga. This is so because depending on the context in which the drugs are used they may have different uses ; After all, these types of substances have not only one concrete effect, but several.


If you still do not know these drugs, you better read the following articles:

  • "GHB": the drug used by rapists to neutralize their victims
  • Burundanga, the drug capable of nullifying your will

The difference between drug, drug, active principle and medication

In the specialized literature it is possible that we find the word drug and drug used interchangeably. Although these terms can be confusing, it is even worse when we add the concepts of active principle or medicine. You may find different explanations of these terms in different magazines (even specialized), but in this article we have focused on the explanation of the World Health Organization (WHO)

The word drug It refers to any chemical substance that is capable of altering consciousness, perception, mood and behavior. The conditions that must be given for a substance to be classified as a drug are the following:

  • When these substances are introduced into the body modify one or more psychic functions (for example, feeling of euphoria).
  • They cause the person who consumes it to want to repeat its use , because they have a powerful effect on the cerebral region of the reinforcement.
  • When the individual stops taking it, he may feel great discomfort .
  • They do not have medical application , and if they have it, they can be used for non-therapeutic purposes.

While some authors use the term drug to refer to any drug, others also use it to refer to medications. The medicine, unlike drugs, it does have a therapeutic use .

The active principle make reference to the chemical that produces the effect on the organism . In the case of the ecstasy drug, the active substance would be the chemical MDMA. There are medications that combine different active ingredients and, sometimes, there may be medications that use even excipients.

How drugs are classified

The types of drugs can be classified in different ways: according to whether they are legal or illegal, according to their routes of use, according to their effects on the nervous system. Let's see how they are classified to know a little better the different types of psychoactive substances .

Legal or illegal drugs

The term legal drug or illegal it has to do with the legislation of the country where the substance is consumed. The term illegal refers to the fact that its use is not allowed by the legislation of that country. And although the own consumption of some illegal substance sometimes is allowed, the sale is punished with harsh administrative and / or penal sanctions.

The legal drugs yes they are allowed, and there is usually an economic purpose for its use . For example, taxes collected with tobacco or alcohol.

It may happen that the legislation of a country allows the consumption and sale of a drug that in another country is prohibited, as in the case of marijuana, which is allowed in the Netherlands but not in Spain.

Classification according to your route of consumption

Since the variety of drugs is very broad, according to their route of consumption, they can be classified in different ways:

  • Smoked : hashish, marijuana, heroin, "crack"
  • Orally : synthetic drugs, alcohol
  • Inspired : cocaine, speed (amphetamine sulfate)
  • Inhaled : glue
  • Injected heroin

Classification according to its effect on the nervous system

Drugs can also be classified according to their effect on the nervous system:

Depressants of the nervous system

  • Alcohol
  • Hypnotics: sleeping pills and barbiturates
  • Anxiolytics: benzodiazepines
  • Opiates: heroin, morphine, codeine and methadone
  • Tranquilizers
  • Inhalants

Stimulants of the nervous system

  • Amphetamines
  • Nicotine
  • Cocaine and other derivatives
  • Xanthines: theobromine caffeine

Psychedelic or disturbing substances

  • Hallucinogens: LSD, mescaline ...
  • Cannabinoids: hashish, marijuana ...
  • Ecstasy, ketamine

Some considerations on the ways of consumption

The faster the substance consumed passes to the blood, the faster and more intense the effects are usually. However, this does not mean that the types of drugs that are injected have worse effects than the rest; It must be remembered that some may be beneficial in clinical settings controlled by doctors.

About its effects

Finally, we must bear in mind that although the mechanisms of action of many types of drugs are known in an approximate way and their consumption can be associated with the appearance of very relevant symptoms that worsen the quality of life of people, it is also true that In practice it is difficult to determine if a certain psychological or neurological phenomenon is caused only by the administration of these substances.

After all, it is very common that those who consume drugs have a history of mental disorders (favored by a mixture of genetic predispositions and contextual factors), so in many cases, what happens after consumption is multicasual, fruit of those latent problems in interaction with the neurobiological changes produced in the nervous system after introducing a certain component in the body.

Bibliographic references:

  • Crocq M.A. (June 2003). "Alcohol, nicotine, caffeine, and mental disorders". Dialogues Clin Neurosci. 5 (2): pp. 175-185.
  • Bloomquist, E. (1971). Marijuana: The Second Trip. California: Glencoe.
  • Lingeman, R. R. (1974). Drugs from A-Z: A Dictionary. New York: McGraw-Hill.

Top 10 Drugs and their Effects (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Types de drogues: connaître leurs caractéristiques et leurs effets

Types de drogues: connaître leurs caractéristiques et leurs effets

Avril 22, 2019

Bien que la consommation de drogue soit généralement associée aux personnes plus jeunes, les substances psychoactives sont consommées par des personnes de profils et d'âges différents .

Les utilisations des différents types de drogues sont très variées et nous renseignent sur la polyvalence de cette classe de substances. Depuis les substances psychoactives consommées il y a des millénaires par les drogues synthétiques de l'époque contemporaine, le vaste répertoire d'effets des drogues les a rendues utilisées dans de nombreux contextes.

Un peu d'histoire sur les drogues

Depuis sa création, l’homme a toujours consommé des substances qui ont affecté son système nerveux. En fait, on sait que vers l'an 3000, environ. Certains opiacés étaient déjà utilisés.


En outre, des données montrent qu’à cette époque, en Asie, le chanvre était déjà consommé. En Amérique, les feuilles de coca étaient utilisées comme analgésique et, sur ce même continent, les Aztèques utilisaient certains champignons comme le peyotl. Certains types de drogues hallucinogènes ont également été utilisés dans des rituels liés au chamanisme et les religions polythéistes, de sorte que les hallucinations étaient en fait des formes dans lesquelles des plans d’existence alternatifs devenaient une partie de l’environnement qui pouvait être expérimenté.

Drogues: différents usages et effets

Le médicament est une substance naturelle ou artificielle qui modifie la performance physique, la perception, l'humeur et le comportement de l'individu qui le consomme. Ces effets sur les personnes peuvent être très variés et ces substances peuvent avoir des utilisations différentes, ce qui signifie qu'il existe différents types de drogues. Nous avons tous entendu parler du LSD ou de la cocaïne, drogues aux effets très différents, mais largement consommées et connues depuis des décennies.


Actuellement, nouveaux médicaments ont gagné en popularité et certains ont sauté aux médias , bien qu’il s’agisse de types de drogues à usage récréatif, produisent des effets aussi particuliers que dangereux: les sels de bain, connus sous le nom de drogue cannibale, ou Flakka, également appelée «drogue Hulk» en sont quelques exemples.

Certains médicaments ont même des fonctions différentes, comme le GHB. Ce médicament, utilisé comme médicament pour le traitement de la narcolepsie (sous le nom commercial de XYREM), a aussi un usage récréatif et, aussi incroyable que cela puisse paraître, est utilisé par les violeurs pour neutraliser leurs victimes, tout comme le Burundanga. En effet, selon le contexte dans lequel les médicaments sont utilisés, ils peuvent avoir différents usages ; Après tout, ces types de substances n’ont pas un seul effet concret, mais plusieurs.


Si vous ne connaissez toujours pas ces médicaments, lisez plutôt les articles suivants:

  • "GHB": le médicament utilisé par les violeurs pour neutraliser leurs victimes
  • Burundanga, le médicament capable d'annuler votre testament

La différence entre un médicament, un médicament, un principe actif et un médicament

Dans la littérature spécialisée, il est possible que nous trouvions le mot drogue et drogue utilisé de façon interchangeable. Bien que ces termes puissent être déroutants, il est encore pire lorsque nous ajoutons les concepts de principe actif o médicaments. Vous pouvez trouver différentes explications de ces termes dans différents magazines (même spécialisés), mais dans cet article, nous nous sommes concentrés sur l'explication de la Organisation mondiale de la SANTE (OMS)

Mot drogue Il fait référence à toute substance chimique capable de modifier la conscience, la perception, l'humeur et le comportement. Les conditions à remplir pour qu'une substance soit classée en tant que drogue sont les suivantes:

  • Lorsque ces substances sont introduites dans le corps, modifiez une ou plusieurs fonctions psychiques (par exemple, sentiment d'euphorie).
  • Ils incitent la personne qui le consomme à vouloir répéter son utilisation , car ils ont un effet puissant sur la région cérébrale du renforcement.
  • Lorsque la personne cesse de le prendre, il peut ressentir un grand inconfort .
  • Ils n'ont pas d'application médicale et s’ils l’ont, ils peuvent être utilisés à des fins non thérapeutiques.

Bien que certains auteurs utilisent le terme drogue pour désigner un médicament, d’autres l’utilisent également pour désigner des médicaments. Le médicaments, contrairement aux médicaments, il a un usage thérapeutique .

Le principe actif cela fait référence à le produit chimique qui produit l'effet sur l'organisme . Dans le cas de la drogue d'ecstasy, la substance active serait le produit chimique MDMA. Il existe des médicaments associant différents principes actifs et, parfois, des médicaments utilisant même des excipients.

Comment les médicaments sont classés

Les types de drogues peuvent être classées de différentes manières: selon qu’elles sont légales ou illégales, selon leurs voies de consommation, selon leurs effets sur le système nerveux. Voyons comment ils sont classés pour connaître un peu mieux les différents types de substances psychoactives .

Drogues légales ou illégales

Le terme drogue légale o illégal cela a à voir avec la législation du pays où la substance est consommée. Le terme illégal fait référence au fait que son utilisation n'est pas autorisée par la législation de ce pays. Et bien que la consommation de certaines substances illégales soit parfois autorisée, la vente est punie de sanctions administratives et / ou pénales sévères.

Le drogues légales oui ils sont autorisés, et son utilisation a généralement un but économique . Par exemple, les taxes perçues avec du tabac ou de l'alcool.

Il peut arriver que la législation d'un pays autorise la consommation et la vente d'une drogue interdite dans un autre pays, comme dans le cas de la marijuana, qui est autorisée aux Pays-Bas mais pas en Espagne.

Classification en fonction de votre itinéraire de consommation

La variété des drogues étant très large, selon leur voie de consommation, elles peuvent être classées de différentes manières:

  • Fumé : haschisch, marijuana, héroïne, "crack"
  • Oralement : drogues synthétiques, alcool
  • Inspiré : cocaïne, vitesse (sulfate d'amphétamine)
  • Inhalé : colle
  • Injecté l'héroïne

Classification en fonction de son effet sur le système nerveux

Les médicaments peuvent également être classés en fonction de leur effet sur le système nerveux:

Dépresseurs du système nerveux

  • Alcool
  • Hypnotiques: somnifères et barbituriques
  • Anxiolytiques: benzodiazépines
  • Opiacés: héroïne, morphine, codéine et méthadone
  • Tranquillisants
  • Inhalants

Stimulants du système nerveux

  • Les amphétamines
  • La nicotine
  • Cocaïne et autres dérivés
  • Xanthines: théobromine caféine

Substances psychédéliques ou dérangeantes

  • Hallucinogènes: LSD, mescaline ...
  • Cannabinoïdes: haschisch, marijuana ...
  • Ecstasy, kétamine

Quelques considérations sur les modes de consommation

Plus la substance consommée passe rapidement dans le sang, plus les effets sont rapides et intenses. Cependant, cela ne signifie pas que les types de drogues injectées ont des effets pires que les autres; Il faut se rappeler que certains peuvent être bénéfiques dans des environnements cliniques contrôlés par des médecins.

A propos de ses effets

Enfin, nous devons garder à l’esprit que, bien que les mécanismes d’action de nombreux types de drogues soient connus de manière approximative et que leur consommation puisse être associée à l’apparition de symptômes très importants qui aggravent la qualité de vie des personnes, il est également vrai que En pratique, il est difficile de déterminer si un certain phénomène psychologique ou neurologique est uniquement causé par l'administration de ces substances.

Après tout, il est très fréquent que ceux qui consomment des drogues aient des antécédents de troubles mentaux (favorisés par un mélange de prédispositions génétiques et de facteurs contextuels), de sorte que dans de nombreux cas, ce qui se passe après la consommation est multicasuel, fruit de ces problèmes latents en interaction avec les changements neurobiologiques produits dans le système nerveux après l'introduction d'un certain composant dans le corps.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Crocq M.A. (Juin 2003). "L'alcool, la nicotine, la caféine et les troubles mentaux". Dialogues Clin Neurosci. 5 (2): pp. 175-185.
  • Bloomquist, E. (1971). La marijuana: le deuxième voyage. Californie: Glencoe.
  • Lingeman, R. R. (1974). Drogues de A à Z: Un dictionnaire. New York: McGraw-Hill.

Technique de vente - Les 10 qualités pour devenir un excellent commercial et réussir dans la vente (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes