yes, therapy helps!
Types of feminism and their different currents of thought

Types of feminism and their different currents of thought

July 18, 2024

Feminism is a set of very varied social and political movements . Partly because of its long historical trajectory and partly because of the diversity of ideological traditions that exist in it, there are many types of feminism, some of which not only propose different strategies to pursue their goals, but also have different objectives.

Next we will see the different main currents of feminism.

Main types of feminism

This classification of currents of feminism should be understood as a simplification, since there are many types of feminism and here only the main branches appear .

1. First wave of feminism

The first wave of feminism, which appeared between the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, focused on the search for formal equality between men and women . In other words, they fought for the right to vote for women, the non-discrimination of women in the laws and the possibility that they too could have access to property instead of being simple administrators of the domestic economy.


The type of feminism of this era is fundamentally liberal, and was based on the principles of the Enlightenment. It was a movement that started from the idea that there was no valid reason to break the principle of equality defended by the intellectuals of the Enlightenment and to discriminate against women.

Thus, the perspective of analyzing the reality of the first wave of feminism was based on individualism: women's problems were not seen as social, but as attacks on their individuality and their capacity to accumulate private property.

2. Second wave of feminism

From the second wave of feminism, which occurred between the 60s and the 90s, the number of types of feminism is further diversified by adopting influences from postmodern philosophy and for moving away from the individualism of liberal feminism.


In this new feminism, it is considered that the basic problem of which one wants to finish at the root (hence the "radical" denomination) is a social and historical phenomenon, that is, something that must be attacked from a collectivist perspective. That makes the dialectic inherited from Marxism join the influence of postmodern ideas.

In this generation of feminism appear two main branches: the feminism of difference and that of equality. Both, however, are grouped into a category known as radical feminism, from which it is interpreted that the nature of discrimination against women does not depend on specific legal forms but rather on the basis of a historical system of economic, political and social oppression. cultural called patriarchy.

2.1. Feminism of equality

From the feminism of equality The objective is that women can reach the same status that only men occupy , among other things. In addition, it is understood that gender is a social construct that historically has served to convey oppression towards women through gender roles assigned artificially at birth.


Therefore, equality feminism emphasizes the idea that men and women are essentially human beings, beyond the genders imposed. However, that does not mean that in practice the immediate goal of feminism of equality is equality in itself; As it is understood that part of an imbalance between the sexes, it is possible to defend positive discrimination in some areas, for example, as a temporary measure. For example, a minimum of female representation in parliaments may be required.

Historically, the feminism of equality has been very influenced by Marxism , since unlike feminism of difference focuses on material aspects of the most basic human needs while part of an analysis focused on social phenomena.

2.2. Feminism of difference

From the feminism of difference the objective of ending oppression towards women is set without reference to male status . From this type of feminism defends the idea of ​​vindicating the feminine values ​​(revised so that they are not dictated from a masculine perspective) and its difference with the masculine ones.

Thus, distances are drawn with respect to the idea of ​​feminism understood as a movement that leads to equality, since it is assumed that the feminine needs to have its own space to develop and to endure. This has made both from within feminisms and from outside of them harsh criticism of feminism of difference for being essentialist and defend fundamentally concepts and not people.

3. Third wave of feminism

The third wave of feminism started in the 90s and continues until today.If in the first wave of feminism an identity and interpretative nuance had already been introduced in feminism, here this emphasis placed on subjectivities extends much more, giving place to identities that r , Muslim feminism and many other variants. The idea is to question the perspective of Western and heterosexual white women as a pillar of feminism.

In this generation there is a type of feminism that stands out for its difference from the previous ones: transfeminism.

3.1. Transfeminism

It is one of the types of feminism that drinks more than one of the most radical criticisms of gender binarism : the queer theory According to this, both gender and what is considered to be the biological sex of people are social constructs.

Therefore, people with physical characteristics associated with the feminine cease to be the main subject that must be emancipated through feminism, but empowerment must be achieved by all types of minorities, including people who experience their gender differently from the traditional and that is why they are discriminated against: transsexuals with and without gender dysphoria, genderfluid, etc.

In this way, the feminism that is present in transfeminism no longer has the biological sex of people as a criterion that defines who is oppressed and who is not, and also incorporates identity matrices that have nothing to do with gender, like race and religion.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The top 10 types of sexual orientation"

Bibliographic references:

  • Bocchetti, Alessandra (1996). What a woman wants. Madrid: Cátedra Editions.
  • Molina Petit, C. (1994). Feminist Dialectics of the Enlightenment. Barcelona: Anthropos.
  • Varela, N. (2005). Feminism for beginners. Barcelona: Editions B.

SOCIOLOGY - Émile Durkheim (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Types de féminisme et leurs différents courants de pensée

Types de féminisme et leurs différents courants de pensée

Juillet 6, 2020

Le féminisme est un ensemble de mouvements sociaux et politiques très variés . En partie à cause de sa longue trajectoire historique et en raison de la diversité des traditions idéologiques, il existe de nombreux types de féminisme, dont certains proposent non seulement différentes stratégies pour poursuivre leurs objectifs, mais également des objectifs différents.

Ensuite, nous verrons les différents courants principaux du féminisme.

Principaux types de féminisme

Cette classification des courants du féminisme doit être comprise comme une simplification, car il existe de nombreux types de féminisme et ici seules les branches principales apparaissent .

1. Première vague de féminisme

La première vague de féminisme, apparue entre la fin du dix-neuvième et le début du vingtième siècle, axé sur la recherche de l'égalité formelle entre hommes et femmes . En d’autres termes, ils se sont battus pour le droit de vote des femmes, la non-discrimination des femmes dans les lois et la possibilité qu’elles aussi puissent avoir accès à la propriété au lieu d’être de simples administrateurs de l’économie nationale.


Le féminisme de cette époque est fondamentalement libéral et repose sur les principes des Lumières. C'était un mouvement qui partait de l'idée qu'il n'y avait pas de raison valable de casser le principe d'égalité défendu par les intellectuels des Lumières et de discriminer les femmes.

Ainsi, la perspective d'analyser la réalité de la première vague de féminisme était basée sur l'individualisme: les problèmes des femmes n'étaient pas vus comme sociaux, mais comme des attaques contre leur individualité et leur capacité à accumuler de la propriété privée.

2. Deuxième vague de féminisme

À partir de la deuxième vague de féminisme, qui s’est produite entre les années 60 et 90, le nombre de types de féminisme est encore diversifié grâce aux influences de la philosophie postmoderne et pour s'éloigner de l'individualisme du féminisme libéral.


Dans ce nouveau féminisme, on considère que le problème fondamental dont on veut finir à la racine (d'où la dénomination "radicale") est un phénomène social et historique, c'est-à-dire qu'il faut s'attaquer à une perspective collectiviste. Cela fait que la dialectique héritée du marxisme se rallie à l'influence des idées postmodernes.

Dans cette génération de féminisme apparaissent deux branches principales: le féminisme de différence et celui d'égalité. Ces deux groupes sont toutefois regroupés dans une catégorie connue sous le nom de féminisme radical, d'où il est interprété que la nature de la discrimination à l'égard des femmes ne dépend pas de formes juridiques spécifiques mais plutôt d'un système historique d'oppression économique, politique et sociale. culturel appelé patriarcat.

2.1. Féminisme de l'égalité

Du féminisme de l'égalité L’objectif est que les femmes puissent accéder au même statut que celui réservé aux hommes. , entre autres choses. De plus, il est entendu que le genre est une construction sociale qui a toujours servi à transmettre l'oppression aux femmes par le biais de rôles de genre assignés artificiellement à la naissance.


Par conséquent, le féminisme d'égalité insiste sur l'idée que les hommes et les femmes sont essentiellement des êtres humains, au-delà des genres imposés. Cependant, cela ne signifie pas que, dans la pratique, l'objectif immédiat du féminisme de l'égalité est l'égalité en soi; Comme il est entendu qu’il s’agit d’un déséquilibre entre les sexes, il est possible de défendre une discrimination positive dans certains domaines, par exemple à titre de mesure temporaire. Par exemple, un minimum de représentation féminine dans les parlements peut être requis.

Historiquement le féminisme de l'égalité a été très influencé par le marxisme , car contrairement au féminisme de différence, se concentre sur les aspects matériels des besoins humains les plus fondamentaux tout en faisant partie d’une analyse axée sur les phénomènes sociaux.

2.2. Féminisme de la différence

Du féminisme de la différence l'objectif de mettre fin à l'oppression à l'égard des femmes est fixé sans référence au statut masculin . De ce type de féminisme défend l’idée de défendre les valeurs féminines (révisées pour qu’elles ne soient pas dictées par une perspective masculine) et sa différence avec les valeurs masculines.

Ainsi, les distances sont définies par rapport à l'idée de féminisme compris comme un mouvement menant à l'égalité, puisqu'il est supposé que le féminin a besoin de son propre espace pour se développer et se maintenir. Cela a rendu à la fois de l'intérieur des féminismes et de l'extérieur d'eux critique sévère du féminisme de la différence pour être essentialiste et défendre fondamentalement des concepts et non des personnes.

3. Troisième vague de féminisme

La troisième vague du féminisme a débuté dans les années 90 et se poursuit jusqu'à aujourd'hui.Si dans la première vague du féminisme une identité et une nuance interprétative avaient déjà été introduites dans le féminisme, Ici, l’accent mis sur les subjectivités s’étend beaucoup plus, donnant lieu à des identités qui r Féminisme musulman et de nombreuses autres variantes. L'idée est de remettre en question la perspective des femmes blanches occidentales et hétérosexuelles en tant que pilier du féminisme.

Dans cette génération, il existe un type de féminisme qui se distingue des précédents: le transféminisme.

3.1. Transféminisme

C'est l'un des types de féminisme qui boit plus qu'une des critiques les plus radicales du binarisme entre les sexes : la théorie queer Selon cela, le genre et ce qui est considéré comme le sexe biologique des personnes sont des constructions sociales.

Par conséquent, les personnes ayant des caractéristiques physiques associées au féminin cessent d'être le sujet principal qui doit être émancipé par le féminisme, mais tous les types de minorités doivent être autonomisées, y compris les personnes qui vivent leur genre différemment des personnes traditionnelles. et c’est la raison pour laquelle ils sont discriminés: transsexuels avec et sans dysphorie de genre, genderfluid, etc.

De cette manière, le féminisme présent dans le transféminisme ne considère plus le sexe biologique des personnes comme un critère permettant de définir qui est opprimé et qui ne l’est pas, et intègre également des matrices d’identité n’ayant rien à voir avec le genre, comme la race et la religion.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 10 principaux types d'orientation sexuelle"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bocchetti, Alessandra (1996). Ce qu'une femme veut. Madrid: Editions Cátedra.
  • Molina Petit, C. (1994). Dialectique féministe des Lumières. Barcelone: ​​Anthropos.
  • Varela, N. (2005). Féminisme pour les débutants. Barcelone: ​​Editions B.

DANS LA GUEULE DU LOUP #4 : LA JUSTICE ET SES RÉFORMES (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes