yes, therapy helps!
Types of hormones and their functions in the human body

Types of hormones and their functions in the human body

May 6, 2021

Hormones are molecules of different nature that are produced in the secretory or endocrine glands . Working together with the nervous system, they are responsible for us to act, feel and think as we do.

The different types of hormones are released in the blood vessels or in the interstitial space where they circulate alone (bioavailable), or they are associated with certain proteins until they reach the organs or tissues white (or target) where they act. Hormones are part of the group of chemical messengers, which also includes neurotransmitters such as dopamine, serotonin or GABA.

Maybe you're interested: "Glutamate (neurotransmitter): definition and functions"

The most important functions of hormones

The functions of the hormones are varied, but whether a hormone comes from a plant, an invertebrate animal or vertebrate, is responsible for regulating several important functions. However... Why are hormones so important?


One of the functions they perform is that they ensure the correct growth. In humans, the pituitary gland is responsible for secreting growth hormones during childhood and adolescence. In invertebrate animals, such as insects, growth hormone is involved in moult or the renewal of teguments (body coatings), that is, the detachment of the outer layer. In the case of plants, there are several hormones that are responsible for the proper growth of roots, leaves and flowers.

In addition to this important function, The functions of the hormones include :

  • Dynamic action on various bodies
  • Activate or inhibit enzymes
  • The proper development
  • Reproduction
  • The sexual characteristics
  • The use and storage of energy
  • Levels in the blood of liquids, salt and sugar


Coordinating with the brain

Another fact that we must bear in mind is that some biological processes are less expensive if, instead of creating a constant electric firing torrent on the part of the neurons to activate certain regions of the organism, simply we emit hormones and let these be carried away by the blood until you reach your destination. In this way we get an effect that lasts several minutes at a time that our nervous system can be taking care of other things.

In that sense, the hormones work coordinating with the brain to activate and deactivate parts of the body and thus ensure that we adapt to the circumstances in real time. Of course, the effects of the release of these hormones take a little longer to notice than those caused by neurons.

Classification of hormones: what types of hormones are there

However, there are different classifications of hormones .


What are these classifications and according to what criteria are established? Next we explain it to you.

1. By proximity of your synthesis site to your site of action

Depending on whether they make their effect on the same cells that synthesized it or on contiguous cells, the hormones can be:

  • Autocrine hormones : Autocrine hormones act on the same cells that synthesized them.
  • Paracrine hormones : Are those hormones that act near where they were synthesized, that is, that the effect of the hormone is produced by a cell next to the emitting cell.

2. According to its chemical composition

According to its chemical composition, there are four types of hormones

  • Peptide Hormones : These hormones are composed of amino acid chains, polypeptides or oligopeptides. The vast majority of this type of hormones fail to penetrate the plasma membrane of the target cells, this causes the receptors of this class of hormones to be located on the cell surface. Among the peptide hormones, we find: insulin, growth hormones or vasopressin.
  • Derivatives of Amino Acids : These hormones emanate from different amino acids, such as tryptophan or tyrosine. For example, adrenaline.
  • Lipid Hormones : This type of hormones are eicosanoids or steroids. Unlike the previous ones if they manage to cross the plasma membranes. Prostaglandins, cortisol and testosterone are some examples.

3. According to its nature

Depending on this class of substances produced by the body through its nature, there are the following types of hormones:

  • Steroid Hormones : These hormones come from cholesterol and are produced mainly in the ovaries and testes, in addition to the placenta and the adrenal cortex. Some examples are: androgens and testosterone, produced in the testes; and progesterone and estrogen, which are produced in the ovaries.
  • Protein Hormones : They are hormones formed by chains of amino acids and peptides.
  • Phenolic Derivatives : Despite being of a protein nature they have a low molecular weight. An example is adrenaline, which intervenes in situations in which much of the energy reserves of the body must be invested in moving the muscles quickly.

4. According to its solubility in the aqueous medium

There are two types of hormones according to their solubility in the aqueous medium:

  • Hydrophilic hormones (water soluble) : These hormones are soluble in the aqueous medium. Since target tissue has a membrane with lipid characteristics, hydrophilic hormones can not penetrate the membrane. Thus, this type of hormones bind to receptors that are on the outside of the tissue. For example: insulin, adrenaline or glucagon.
  • Lipophilic (lipophilic) hormones : These hormones are not soluble in water, but they are soluble in lipids. Unlike the previous ones, they can pass through the membrane. Therefore, the receptors of this type of hormones can bind to intracellular receptors to carry out their action. Examples: thyroid hormone or steroid hormones.

Types of endocrine glands

Hormones are produced in the endocrine glands spread throughout the body. In many ways, our nervous system needs the collaboration of other parts of the body to make the processes that take place within the body are coordinated and a certain balance is maintained.

To achieve this level of coordination, our brain regulates the release of various types of hormones responsible for performing different functions. In addition, this class of substances vary according to the type of gland that secretes them, and their location.

The main endocrine glands are:

  • The pituitary gland or pituitary gland : It is considered the most important gland of the endocrine system, because it produces hormones that regulate the functioning of other endocrine glands. It can be influenced by factors such as emotions and seasonal changes.
  • The hypothalamus: This endocrine gland controls the functioning of the pituitary gland, secreting chemicals that can stimulate or inhibit the pituitary's hormonal secretions.
  • The scam : Secretes a hormone called thymosin, responsible for stimulating the growth of immune cells
  • The Pineal gland : Produces melatonin, a hormone that plays an important role in adjusting sleep and wake cycles.
  • The testicles : These produce hormones called estrogen, the most important is testosterone, which indicates to men that the time has come to initiate the corporal changes associated with puberty, for example, the change of voice and the growth of the beard and pubic hair.
  • The ovaries : Secrete estrogen and progesterone. Estrogen indicates to the girls the moment they have to initiate the corporal changes associated with puberty.
  • The thyroid : Thyroxine and triiodothyronine are produced in this endocrine gland, hormones that control the rate at which cells burn fuel from food to produce energy.
  • The Kidney glands : These glands have two parts. One produces hormones called corticosteroids, which are related to the balance between mineral salts and water, the stress response, metabolism, the immune system and sexual development and function. The other part produces catecholamines, for example, adrenaline
  • The parathyroid : From here is released parathyroid hormone related to the concentration of calcium in the blood.
  • The pancreas : Secrete insulin and glucagon, which allows to maintain a stable concentration of glucose in blood and to supply the body with enough fuel to produce the energy it needs.

How to remember hormone and their functions with easy trick (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Types d'hormones et leurs fonctions dans le corps humain

Types d'hormones et leurs fonctions dans le corps humain

Mai 12, 2024

Les hormones sont des molécules de nature différente qui sont produites dans les glandes sécrétoires ou endocrines. . En collaborant avec le système nerveux, ils sont responsables de notre action, de nos sentiments et de nos pensées.

Les différents types d'hormones sont libérés dans les vaisseaux sanguins ou dans l'espace interstitiel où ils circulent seuls (biodisponibles), ou ils sont associés à certaines protéines jusqu'à ce qu'ils atteignent les organes ou tissus blancs (ou cibles) où ils agissent. Les hormones font partie du groupe des messagers chimiques, qui comprend également des neurotransmetteurs tels que la dopamine, la sérotonine ou le GABA.

Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Glutamate (neurotransmetteur): définition et fonctions"

Les fonctions les plus importantes des hormones

Les fonctions des hormones sont variées, mais le fait qu'une hormone provienne d'une plante, d'un invertébré ou d'un vertébré est responsable de la régulation de plusieurs fonctions importantes. Maintenant bien... Pourquoi les hormones sont-elles si importantes?


L’une de leurs fonctions est d’assurer une croissance correcte. Chez l’homme, l’hypophyse est responsable de la sécrétion d’hormones de croissance durant l’enfance et à l’adolescence. Chez les animaux invertébrés, tels que les insectes, l'hormone de croissance est impliquée dans la mue ou le renouvellement des téguments (revêtements corporels), c'est-à-dire le détachement de la couche externe. Dans le cas des plantes, plusieurs hormones sont responsables de la croissance correcte des racines, des feuilles et des fleurs.

En plus de cette fonction importante, Les fonctions des hormones comprennent :

  • Action dynamique sur divers corps
  • Activer ou inhiber les enzymes
  • Le bon développement
  • Reproduction
  • Les caractéristiques sexuelles
  • L'utilisation et le stockage de l'énergie
  • Niveaux dans le sang des liquides, sel et sucre


Coordonner avec le cerveau

Un autre fait que nous devons garder à l'esprit est que certains processus biologiques sont moins coûteux si, au lieu de créer un torrent de tir électrique constant de la part des neurones pour activer certaines régions de l'organisme, simplement nous émettons des hormones et les laissons être emportées par le sang jusqu'à ce que vous atteigniez votre destination. De cette façon, nous obtenons un effet qui dure plusieurs minutes à la fois et qui permet à notre système nerveux de s’occuper d’autres choses.

En ce sens, les hormones travaillent en coordination avec le cerveau pour activer et désactiver certaines parties du corps et ainsi nous permettre de nous adapter aux circonstances en temps réel. Bien entendu, les effets de la libération de ces hormones prennent un peu plus de temps que ceux causés par les neurones.

Classification des hormones: quels types d'hormones sont là

Maintenant bien, il existe différentes classifications d'hormones .


Quelles sont ces classifications et selon quels critères sont établis? Ensuite, nous vous l'expliquons.

1. Par la proximité de votre site de synthèse à votre site d'action

Selon qu’elles agissent sur les mêmes cellules qui l’ont synthétisé ou sur des cellules contiguës, les hormones peuvent être:

  • Hormones autocrines : Les hormones autocrines agissent sur les mêmes cellules que celles qui les ont synthétisées.
  • Hormones paracrines : Sont ces hormones qui agissent près de l'endroit où elles ont été synthétisées, c'est-à-dire que l'effet de l'hormone est produit par une cellule à côté de la cellule émettrice.

2. Selon sa composition chimique

Selon sa composition chimique, il existe quatre types d'hormones

  • Hormones peptidiques : Ces hormones sont composées de chaînes d’acides aminés, de polypeptides ou d’oligopeptides. La grande majorité de ce type d'hormones ne parvient pas à pénétrer dans la membrane plasmique des cellules cibles, ce qui entraîne la localisation des récepteurs de cette classe d'hormones à la surface de la cellule. Parmi les hormones peptidiques, on trouve: l'insuline, les hormones de croissance ou la vasopressine.
  • Dérivés d'acides aminés : Ces hormones proviennent de différents acides aminés, tels que le tryptophane ou la tyrosine. Par exemple, l'adrénaline.
  • Hormones lipidiques : Ce type d'hormones sont les eicosanoïdes ou les stéroïdes. Contrairement aux précédents, ils parviennent à traverser les membranes plasmiques. Les prostaglandines, le cortisol et la testostérone en sont des exemples.

3. Selon sa nature

En fonction de cette classe de substances produites par le corps en raison de sa nature, il existe les types d'hormones suivants:

  • Hormones stéroïdes : Ces hormones proviennent du cholestérol et sont produites principalement dans les ovaires et les testicules, en plus du placenta et du cortex surrénal. Quelques exemples sont: les androgènes et la testostérone, produits dans les testicules; et la progestérone et l'œstrogène, qui sont produits dans les ovaires.
  • Hormones protéiques : Ce sont des hormones formées par des chaînes d'acides aminés et de peptides.
  • Dérivés Phénoliques : Bien qu’ils soient de nature protéique, ils ont un faible poids moléculaire. L'adrénaline en est un exemple. Elle intervient dans les situations où une grande partie des réserves d'énergie du corps doit être investie dans le mouvement rapide des muscles.

4. Selon sa solubilité dans le milieu aqueux

Il existe deux types d'hormones en fonction de leur solubilité dans le milieu aqueux:

  • Hormones hydrophiles (solubles dans l'eau) : Ces hormones sont solubles dans le milieu aqueux. Puisque le tissu cible a une membrane avec des caractéristiques lipidiques, les hormones hydrophiles ne peuvent pas pénétrer dans la membrane. Ainsi, ce type d'hormones se lie aux récepteurs situés à l'extérieur du tissu. Par exemple: insuline, adrénaline ou glucagon.
  • Hormones lipophiles (lipophiles) : Ces hormones ne sont pas solubles dans l'eau, mais elles sont solubles dans les lipides. Contrairement aux précédents, ils peuvent passer à travers la membrane. Par conséquent, les récepteurs de ce type d'hormones peuvent se lier aux récepteurs intracellulaires pour exercer leur action. Exemples: hormones thyroïdiennes ou hormones stéroïdes.

Types de glandes endocrines

Les hormones sont produites dans les glandes endocrines réparties dans tout le corps. À bien des égards, notre système nerveux a besoin de la collaboration des autres parties du corps pour coordonner les processus qui se déroulent dans le corps et maintenir un certain équilibre.

Pour atteindre ce niveau de coordination, notre cerveau régule la libération de divers types d'hormones responsables de l'exécution de différentes fonctions. De plus, cette classe de substances varie en fonction du type de glande qui les sécrète et de leur localisation.

Les principales glandes endocrines sont:

  • Le l'hypophyse ou l'hypophyse : Elle est considérée comme la glande la plus importante du système endocrinien, car elle produit des hormones qui régulent le fonctionnement des autres glandes endocrines. Il peut être influencé par des facteurs tels que les émotions et les changements saisonniers.
  • L'hypothalamus: Cette glande endocrine contrôle le fonctionnement de la glande pituitaire en sécrétant des produits chimiques capables de stimuler ou d'inhiber les sécrétions hormonales de la glande pituitaire.
  • Le arnaque : Sécrète une hormone appelée thymosine, chargée de stimuler la croissance des cellules immunitaires
  • Le glande pinéale : Produit de la mélatonine, une hormone qui joue un rôle important dans l'ajustement des cycles de sommeil et de réveil.
  • Le les testicules : Celles-ci produisent des hormones appelées oestrogènes, la plus importante étant la testostérone, qui indique aux hommes que le moment est venu d'initier les changements corporels associés à la puberté, par exemple le changement de voix et la croissance de la barbe et poils pubiens.
  • Le les ovaires : Sécrète des œstrogènes et de la progestérone. L'œstrogène indique aux filles le moment où elles doivent initier les changements corporels associés à la puberté.
  • Le thyroïde : La thyroxine et la triiodothyronine sont produites dans cette glande endocrine, des hormones qui contrôlent la vitesse à laquelle les cellules brûlent le carburant des aliments pour produire de l'énergie.
  • Le glandes surrénales : Ces glandes ont deux parties. On produit des hormones appelées corticostéroïdes, qui sont liées à l'équilibre entre les sels minéraux et l'eau, à la réponse au stress, au métabolisme, au système immunitaire et au développement et à la fonction sexuels. L'autre partie produit des catécholamines, par exemple, l'adrénaline
  • Le parathyroïde : De là est libérée l'hormone parathyroïde liée à la concentration de calcium dans le sang.
  • Le pancréas : Sécrète de l'insuline et du glucagon, ce qui permet de maintenir une concentration stable de glucose dans le sang et de fournir au corps suffisamment de carburant pour produire l'énergie dont il a besoin.

Chapitre 6 - 1ère Partie : Le système endocrinien - Cours de Biologie du DAEU-B (Mai 2024).


Articles Connexes