yes, therapy helps!
Types of Hypotheses in scientific research (and examples)

Types of Hypotheses in scientific research (and examples)

April 29, 2024

There are different types of hypothesis in scientific research . From the null, general or theoretical hypothesis, to the complementary, alternative or work hypothesis.

  • Related article: "The 15 types of research (and their characteristics)"

What is a hypothesis?

But, What exactly is a hypothesis and what is it for? The hypotheses specify the possible characteristics and results that may exist between certain variables that are going to be studied.

Through the scientific method, a researcher should try to verify the validity of his initial (or main) hypothesis. It is what is usually called work hypothesis. At other times, the researcher has several complementary or alternative hypotheses in mind.


If we examine these working hypotheses and alternatives we find three subtypes: attributive, causal and associative hypotheses. The general or theoretical hypotheses serve to establish a relationship (negative or positive) between the variables, while the work hypothesis and alternatives are those that effectively quantify this relationship.

On the other hand, the null hypothesis reflects the fact that there is no appreciable link between the variables studied. In the case in which it can not be verified that the working hypothesis and the alternative hypothesis are valid, the null hypothesis is accepted as correct.

Although the aforementioned are considered the most common types of hypotheses, there are also relative and conditional hypotheses. In this article we will discover all types of hypotheses, and how they are used in scientific investigations.


What are the hypotheses for?

Any scientific study must be initiated taking into account one or more hypotheses that is intended to confirm or disprove.

A hypothesis is no more than a conjecture that can be confirmed, or not, by a scientific study. In other words, hypotheses are the way that scientists have to pose the problem, establishing possible relationships between variables.

Types of hypotheses used in a scientific study

There are several criteria that can be followed when classifying the types of hypotheses used in science. We will know them below.

1. Null hypothesis

The null hypothesis refers to that there is no relationship between the variables that have been the subject of research . It is also called a "no relationship hypothesis", but it should not be confused with a negative or inverse relationship. Simply, the variables studied seem to follow no concrete pattern.


The null hypothesis is accepted if the scientific study results in the hypothesis of work and alternatives not being observed.

Example

"There is no relationship between people's sexual orientation and their purchasing power."

2. General or theoretical hypotheses

The general or theoretical hypotheses are those that scientists establish prior to the study and conceptually , without quantifying the variables. Generally, the theoretical hypothesis is born of generalization processes through certain preliminary observations about the phenomenon that they wish to study.

Example

"The higher the level of studies, the higher the salary". There are several subtypes within the theoretical hypotheses. The difference hypotheses, for example, specify that there is a difference between two variables, but they do not measure their intensity or magnitude. Example: "In the faculty of Psychology there is a greater number of students than of students".

3. Work hypothesis

The working hypothesis is the one used to try to demonstrate a concrete relationship between variables through a scientific study. These hypotheses are verified or refuted by means of the scientific method, so sometimes they are also known as "operational hypotheses". Generally, working hypotheses arise from deduction: based on certain general principles, the researcher assumes certain characteristics of a particular case. The working hypotheses have several subtypes: associative, attributive and causal.

3.1. Associative

The associative hypothesis specifies a relationship between two variables. In this case, if we know the value of the first variable, we can predict the value of the second variable.

Example

"There are twice as many students enrolled in the first year of high school than in the second year of high school."

3.2. Attributable

The attributive hypothesis is the one used to describe the events that occur between the variables. It is used to explain and describe real and measurable phenomena.This type of hypothesis contains only one variable.

Example

"The majority of homeless people are between 50 and 64 years old."

3.3. Causal

The causal hypothesis establishes a relationship between two variables. When one of the two variables increases or decreases, the other one increases or decreases. Therefore, the causal hypothesis establishes a cause-effect relationship between the variables studied. To identify a causal hypothesis, a causal link, or statistical (or probabilistic) relationship must be established. It is also possible to verify this relationship through the refutation of alternative explanations. These hypotheses follow the premise: "If X, then Y".

Example

"If a player trains an extra hour each day, his percentage of success in the throws increases by 10%."

4. Alternative hypotheses

The alternative hypotheses try to offer an answer to the same question as the working hypotheses . However, and as can be deduced by its denomination, the alternative hypothesis explores different relationships and explanations. In this way it is possible to investigate different hypotheses during the course of the same scientific study. This type of hypothesis can also be subdivided into attributive, associative and causal.

More types of hypothesis used in science

There are other types of not so common hypotheses, but they are also used in different types of investigations. They are the following.

5. Relative hypotheses

The relative hypotheses give evidence of the influence of two or more variables on another variable.

Example

"The effect of the decline in per capita GDP on the number of people who have private pension plans is less than the effect of the fall in public spending on the rate of child malnutrition."

  • Variable 1: decrease in GDP
  • Variable 2: drop in public spending
  • Dependent variable: number of people who have a private pension plan

6. Conditional hypotheses

Conditional hypotheses serve to indicate that one variable depends on the value of two others . It is a type of hypothesis very similar to the causal ones, but in this case there are two variables "cause" and only one variable "effect".

Example

"If the player receives a yellow card and is also warned by the fourth referee, he must be excluded from the game for 5 minutes."

  • Cause 1: receive a yellow card
  • Cause 2: be warned
  • Effect: be excluded from the game for 5 minutes. As we can see, for the variable "effect" to occur, it is not only necessary to fulfill one of the two variables "cause", but both.

Other classes of hypothesis

The types of hypotheses that we have explained are the most commonly used in scientific and academic research. However, they can also be classified based on other parameters.

7. Probabilistic hypotheses

This type of hypothesis indicates that there is a probable relationship between two variables . That is, the relationship is fulfilled in most cases studied.

Example

"If the student does not spend 10 hours a day reading, (probably) will not pass the course."

8. Deterministic hypotheses

Deterministic hypotheses indicate relationships between variables that are always met , without exception.

Example

"If a player does not wear taco boots, he can not play the game."

Bibliographic references:

  • Hernández, R., Fernández, C., and Baptista, M.P. (2010) Research Methodology (5th Ed.). Mexico: McGraw Hill Education
  • Salkind, N.J. (1999). Research Methods. Mexico: Prentice Hall.
  • Santisteban, C. and Alvarado, J.M. (2001). Psychometric models. Madrid: UNED

Hypothesis and Types of Hypothesis in Research | Definition, Necessity, Characteristic of Hypothesis (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Types d'hypothèses dans la recherche scientifique (et exemples)

Types d'hypothèses dans la recherche scientifique (et exemples)

Décembre 9, 2021

Il existe différents types d'hypothèses dans la recherche scientifique . De l'hypothèse nulle, générale ou théorique à l'hypothèse complémentaire, alternative ou de travail.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 types de recherche (et leurs caractéristiques)"

Qu'est-ce qu'une hypothèse?

Mais En quoi consiste exactement une hypothèse et à quoi sert-elle? Les hypothèses spécifient les caractéristiques et résultats possibles pouvant exister entre certaines variables à étudier.

Par la méthode scientifique, un chercheur devrait essayer de vérifier la validité de son hypothèse initiale (ou principale). C'est ce qu'on appelle généralement l'hypothèse de travail. À d'autres moments, le chercheur a plusieurs hypothèses complémentaires ou alternatives à l'esprit.


Si nous examinons ces hypothèses de travail et ces alternatives, nous trouvons trois sous-types: les hypothèses attributive, causale et associative. Les hypothèses générales ou théoriques servent à établir une relation (négative ou positive) entre les variables, tandis que l’hypothèse de travail et les alternatives sont celles qui quantifient efficacement cette relation.

En revanche, l’hypothèse nulle traduit le fait qu’il n’existe aucun lien appréciable entre les variables étudiées. Dans le cas où il ne peut pas être vérifié que l'hypothèse de travail et l'hypothèse alternative sont valides, l'hypothèse nulle est considérée comme correcte.

Bien que ceux-ci soient considérés comme les types d'hypothèses les plus courants, il existe également des hypothèses relatives et conditionnelles. Dans cet article, nous allons découvrir tous les types d’hypothèses et leur utilisation dans les enquêtes scientifiques.


A quoi servent les hypothèses?

Toute étude scientifique doit être initiée en prenant en compte une ou plusieurs hypothèses. qui est destiné à confirmer ou infirmer.

Une hypothèse n'est rien de plus qu'une conjecture qui peut être confirmée ou non par une étude scientifique. En d'autres termes, les hypothèses sont la façon dont les scientifiques doivent poser le problème, en établissant des relations possibles entre les variables.

Types d'hypothèses utilisées dans une étude scientifique

Plusieurs critères peuvent être suivis lors de la classification des types d’hypothèses utilisées en science. Nous les connaîtrons ci-dessous.

1. Hypothèse nulle

L'hypothèse nulle fait référence à l'absence de relation entre les variables ayant fait l'objet d'une recherche. . On l'appelle aussi "hypothèse d'absence de relation", mais il ne faut pas la confondre avec une relation négative ou inverse. Simplement, les variables étudiées ne semblent suivre aucun schéma concret.


L’hypothèse nulle est acceptée si l’étude scientifique aboutit à l’hypothèse d’un travail et à l’absence de solutions de remplacement.

Exemple

"Il n'y a pas de relation entre l'orientation sexuelle des personnes et leur pouvoir d'achat."

2. Hypothèses générales ou théoriques

Les hypothèses générales ou théoriques sont celles que les scientifiques ont établies avant l’étude et conceptuellement , sans quantifier les variables. Généralement, l’hypothèse théorique naît des processus de généralisation à travers certaines observations préliminaires sur le phénomène qu’ils souhaitent étudier.

Exemple

"Plus le niveau d'études est élevé, plus le salaire est élevé". Il existe plusieurs sous-types dans les hypothèses théoriques. Les hypothèses de différence, par exemple, spécifient qu'il existe une différence entre deux variables, mais elles ne mesurent ni leur intensité ni leur ampleur. Exemple: "Dans la faculté de psychologie, le nombre d'étudiants est supérieur à celui des étudiants".

3. Hypothèse de travail

L’hypothèse de travail est celle utilisée pour tenter de démontrer une relation concrète entre variables à travers une étude scientifique. Ces hypothèses étant vérifiées ou réfutées au moyen de la méthode scientifique, elles sont parfois appelées aussi "hypothèses opérationnelles". En règle générale, les hypothèses de travail découlent de déductions: sur la base de certains principes généraux, le chercheur assume certaines caractéristiques d’un cas particulier. Les hypothèses de travail ont plusieurs sous-types: associatif, attributif et causal.

3.1. Associatif

L'hypothèse associative spécifie une relation entre deux variables. Dans ce cas, si nous connaissons la valeur de la première variable, nous pouvons prédire la valeur de la seconde variable.

Exemple

"Il y a deux fois plus d'élèves inscrits en première année de lycée qu'en deuxième année."

3.2. Attribuable

L'hypothèse attributive est celle utilisée pour décrire les événements qui se produisent entre les variables. Il est utilisé pour expliquer et décrire des phénomènes réels et mesurables.Ce type d'hypothèse ne contient qu'une seule variable.

Exemple

"La majorité des personnes sans abri ont entre 50 et 64 ans."

3.3. Causal

L'hypothèse causale établit une relation entre deux variables. Lorsque l'une des deux variables augmente ou diminue, l'autre augmente ou diminue. Par conséquent, l'hypothèse causale établit une relation de cause à effet entre les variables étudiées. Pour identifier une hypothèse de cause, il faut établir un lien de causalité ou une relation statistique (ou probabiliste). Il est également possible de vérifier cette relation par la réfutation d'explications alternatives. Ces hypothèses suivent le principe: "Si X, alors Y".

Exemple

"Si un joueur s'entraîne une heure supplémentaire chaque jour, son pourcentage de réussite dans les lancers augmente de 10%."

4. Hypothèses alternatives

Les hypothèses alternatives tentent de répondre à la même question que les hypothèses de travail . Cependant, et comme on peut le déduire de sa dénomination, l'hypothèse alternative explore différentes relations et explications. De cette manière, il est possible d'étudier différentes hypothèses au cours d'une même étude scientifique. Ce type d'hypothèse peut également être subdivisé en attribut, associatif et causal.

Plus de types d'hypothèses utilisées en science

Il existe d'autres types d'hypothèses peu communes, mais elles sont également utilisées dans différents types d'enquêtes. Ils sont les suivants.

5. Hypothèses relatives

Les hypothèses relatives témoignent de l'influence de deux variables ou plus sur une autre variable.

Exemple

"L'effet de la baisse du PIB par habitant sur le nombre de personnes bénéficiant de régimes de retraite privés est inférieur à celui de la baisse des dépenses publiques sur le taux de malnutrition infantile".

  • Variable 1: diminution du PIB
  • Variable 2: baisse des dépenses publiques
  • Variable dépendante: nombre de personnes ayant un régime de retraite privé

6. Hypothèses conditionnelles

Les hypothèses conditionnelles servent à indiquer qu'une variable dépend de la valeur de deux autres . C'est un type d'hypothèse très similaire à l'hypothèse causale, mais dans ce cas, il existe deux variables "cause" et une seule variable "effet".

Exemple

"Si le joueur reçoit un carton jaune et est également averti par le quatrième arbitre, il doit être exclu du match pendant 5 minutes."

  • Cause 1: recevoir un carton jaune
  • Cause 2: être averti
  • Effet: être exclu du jeu pendant 5 minutes. Comme on peut le constater, pour que la variable "effet" apparaisse, il est non seulement nécessaire de remplir l'une des deux variables "cause", mais aussi les deux.

Autres classes d'hypothèses

Les types d'hypothèses que nous avons expliqués sont les plus couramment utilisés dans la recherche scientifique et universitaire. Cependant, ils peuvent également être classés en fonction d'autres paramètres.

7. Hypothèses probabilistes

Ce type d’hypothèse indique qu’il existe une relation probable entre deux variables . C'est-à-dire que la relation est remplie dans la plupart des cas étudiés.

Exemple

"Si l'étudiant ne passe pas 10 heures par jour à lire, il ne réussira probablement pas."

8. Hypothèses déterministes

Les hypothèses déterministes indiquent des relations entre des variables toujours respectées , sans exception.

Exemple

"Si un joueur ne porte pas de bottes à tacos, il ne peut pas jouer."

Références bibliographiques:

  • Hernández, R., Fernández, C. et Baptista, M.P. (2010) Méthodologie de la recherche (5e éd.). Mexique: McGraw Hill Education
  • Salkind, N.J. (1999). Méthodes de recherche. Mexique: Prentice Hall.
  • Santisteban, C. et Alvarado, J.M. (2001). Modèles psychométriques. Madrid: UNED

Identifier les variables d'une hypothèse ????méthodo#3 (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes